DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
General Note:
Presently, one or more claims stand rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) due to claim amendments for which no support appears to have been pointed out.
In the interest of compact prosecution and timely examination, Examiner respectfully requests that Applicant point out the support for any claim amendments which are considered to have changed the scope of a claim in accordance with the guidance of MPEP 2163. Lack thereof may be considered as an indication that Applicant does not find the claim scope to have changed or may establish a prima facie case for a rejection under 35 USC § 112(a). MPEP 2163 relates.
Claim Objections
The objection to the claim is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
A large portion of the rejections presented in the previous Office Action are resolved. Applicant however amended various claims differently from interpreted, and in doing so retained or reintroduced issues categorically addressed previously. These rejections are thus maintained, newly identified, and updated in the rejection below. Applicant furthermore generally introduced new issues of clarity. Applicant furthermore provided no comments which may have provided context to the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The rejection of the claim is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
As a matter of initial concern, Applicant appears to recite and refer to reference Nishimoto, but does not do so with any indication of the particular translation used. It is evident from the recitation of “Paragraph [0032] of Nishimoto” on Page 7 of Applicant’s Remarks that the translation relied upon differs from that cited, provided, and utilized by the Examiner. It is furthermore not indicated the purpose or reason for relying upon a different translation. Additionally, paragraphs were not provided in either the translation provided and utilized by the Examiner, or the Applicant filed translation as part of the IDS filed 05/15/2025 which was limited to only the Abstract and did not translate paragraph [0032]. Thus, any of Applicant’s arguments are from the outset suspect, as they do not rely on the same document as used in the rejection, or even any document available to the Examiner, frequently referring to paragraphs with no recitation so as to inform the Examiner as to any differences between the translations.
It is respectfully requested that Applicant clearly indicate the source used, and if not already provided, provide said reference.
Additionally, Examiner notes that any machine translation might be relied upon for support of a
rejection. If Applicant believes that one or more machine translations relied upon are not of sufficient quality, for example two different machine translation indicating divergent material as Applicant may be indicating (unclear), the Applicant may request for a human-assisted translation to be obtained. See MPEP 2120(II) which reads “A request by the applicant for the examiner to obtain a human language translation should be granted if the applicant provides evidence (e.g., a translation inconsistent with the machine translation) showing the machine translation does not accurately represent the document’s contents”. Until such a time as a human-assisted translation is requested and thereafter utilized, Applicant is respectfully requested to maintain their arguments to the document relied upon in the rejection.
As another matter of initial concern, Applicant appears to mischaracterize the disclosure of Nishimoto.
Applicant states on Page 7 of Applicant’s Remarks, “Nishimoto describes three independent inventions and explicitly identifies them beginning at paragraph [0006]”. Examiner finds this unsupported by the disclosure. Only two embodiments appear described, wherein one relies upon the description of the other and is thus far from “independent”. See page 8 wherein the last embodiment described is recited as a “Second Embodiment”, no third embodiment being described, and furthermore wherein it is stated “The remote operation device P of this embodiment has the same components as the remote operation device P of the first embodiment, and differs from the above in that the remote command device Q and the work machine control device are the same”. Furthermore, the purpose of such a statement is unclear. Applicant’s arguments do not appear to rely in any manner on Nishimoto disclosing a plurality of embodiments, let alone three or their independence or lack thereof.
Applicant states on Page 7 of Applicant’s Remarks, “Nishimoto therefore assumes that the work machine S remains stationary throughout the control process and that only two coordinate systems need to be defined”. Examiner could find no support for these statements in the disclosure of Nishimoto. These are assumptions made by the Applicant, not Nishimoto. Furthermore, the purpose of this statement is unclear.
With respect to what appear to be Applicant’s arguments, some reliant on the statements addressed above.
Applicant at times appears to merely argue the intended uses and similar contextual features of the disclosures of the present invention and the prior art. However, such statements are generally irrelevant. Such discussions and arguments fail to specifically point out how the language of the claims, not the disclosure, patentably distinguishes them from the referenced prior art, or otherwise do not clearly point out Applicant’s perceived patentable novelty presented by the claims in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made, or finally, how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See e.g. discussion of “demanding conditions” on Page 8.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “claim 1 requires, in addition to the machine coordinate system and the input coordinate system, defining a higher-level world coordinate system MW in which the orientations of the machine coordinate system and the input coordinate system can be determined and related to each other in order to ascertain a deviation”, Examiner notes several issues with this statement.
First, the claim does not require an additional coordinate system as argued. Any given coordinate system may similarly be arbitrarily labeled as both “higher-level” and of being of the “world”. The reference characters of “(MW)” does not alter the scope of the claim. See MPEP 608.01(m), “Generally, the presence or absence of such reference characters does not affect the scope of a claim”. See even [0017] of Applicant’s specification which explicitly supports such broad interpretation:
“After the two coordinate systems are defined, a deviation between the spatial orientation of the input coordinate system and the machine coordinate system is determined. This deviation can be determined for example as a deviation vector or a transformation matrix. The deviation thus also represents the spatial position of the dynamic input coordinate system within the stationary machine coordinate system, which can therefore also be understood as a higher-level coordinate system. Alternatively, a separate higher-level world coordinate system can be defined in which the orientations of the machine coordinate system and the input coordinate system can be determined and related to each other in order to ascertain a deviation”
In other words, the capability to represent a spatial position of one coordinate system within another using a transformation matrix makes it “higher-level”. However, this is an inherent feature of all coordinate systems. Furthermore, even [0017] appears to make a distinction of “separate” which is further supported as illustrated in the Figures but which again is not claimed. Finally, see Applicant’s originally filed claims which recites “machine coordinate system (MW)” and “machine coordinate system (MM)”.
Second, the scope of the claim effectively ends at “higher-level world coordinate system (MW)”. The phrase “in which the orientations of the machine coordinate system and the input coordinate system can be determined and related to each other” merely indicates the capacity for such an action (determination). An actual step of determining thereof is not claimed, and this is possible in any coordinate system, a fundamental understanding of any person having ordinary skill in the art, as evidenced and demonstrated by Agarwal et al. in the Conclusion section. The further statement of “in order to ascertain a deviation” merely indicates the intended result or purpose of the preceding, in this case, capacity. Examiner made such interpretations clear in the Claim Interpretation section and often specifically within the rejections of the previous Office Action.
Thus, either coordinate system disclosed by Nishimoto may read on this limitation, in particular the machine coordinate system as it is the system converted to.
Furthermore, and in the interest of compact prosecution, alternatively, the use of a “world coordinate system” is again ubiquitous to robotics. Examiner takes official notice that such a “higher-level world coordinate system” is common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art. While on Page 10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues “Nishimoto provides no reason to introduce an additional higher-level world coordinate system. From the standpoint of Nishimoto, such an additional coordinate system would initially appear more complicated and unnecessary, because Nishimoto assumes that the work machine remains stationary and that the two coordinate systems used in Nishimoto are sufficient”. Nishimoto does not disclose exclusion of any other coordinate systems. Additionally, as discussed previously, Nishimoto does not appear to assume the work machine remains stationary. Finally, the merit of such an argument appears non-existent as Applicant, on Page 9, previously states “a stationary machine coordinate system MM of the suction excavator 10” when describing their own disclosure and claimed invention, and again, the use of such a fundamentally common feature does not appear precluded in any manner.
With respect to Applicant’s remaining arguments, they appear to rely on one or more limitations of the newly amended final clause, which exhibit significant issues under 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) as addressed below. Furthermore, between pages 10 and 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant states “Nishimoto … does not teach or suggest confirmation of measurement of that higher-level world coordinate system by at least two independent measuring systems”. No such feature exists in the claim. No “confirming” step is positively recited anywhere in the claims, let alone of the particular form argued. Finally, even if considered positively recited, the terms and phrasing of the statement are especially broad. The nature of “confirming”, any measurement of the coordinate system, the measuring systems, etc., are not claimed with any level of particularity whatsoever. See the 112(b) rejection below. As provided in the previous Office Action, Nishimoto discloses more than two sensors related to position/velocity/speed/etc. measuring information which therefore read on the claim under a wholly undefined nature of “confirmed/confirming”.
With respect again to the final amended clause, the intent of this limitation appears to be that of making a previously required clause conditional, or in other words, contingent. Per MPEP 2111.04(II) , “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met”. Thus, all this limitation appears to accomplish, except for Claim 12, is to remove the requirement for the prior art to teach the “transforming” limitation. However, even in the case of Claim 12 an opinion on the patentability of the limitation cannot be accomplished due to the significant 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) issues.
With respect to the dependent claims, including claims rejected under 35 USC § 103, Applicant does not appear to provide any further and separate arguments except with respect to Claim 6.
It is however unclear what argument Applicant is trying to make with respect to Claim 6 beyond what was made with respect to Claim 1. Applicant merely provides a conclusory statement. A coordinate system as illustrated in Nishimoto and the instant application is inherently defined by at minimum four reference points (if not an infinite number thereof), as a coordinate system is a collection of three intersecting lines. This interpretation was previously presented with respect to Claim 8 in the previous Office Action which Applicant does not appear to respond to within these remarks. The claim does not further define “reference point” in any manner. Furthermore, the claim does not define what is “local” in any manner, and thus appears readily disclosed by the coordinate systems of Nishimoto.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “wherein defining an input coordinate system (Mi) comprises: determining …, correcting the detected target movement”. The subscript should read “I” rather than “i”, and there should be no comma between the verbs as the list is only of two items. It should therefore read “wherein defining an input coordinate system (MI) comprises: determining … and correcting the detected target movement”.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites a same issue of lacking subscript capitalization.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim recites “system and and”. It should recite “system and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant makes frequent use of phrases which under their plain English meaning indicate only intent, intended results, purpose, or similar and not a positively recited limitation. Claims recite actual steps of a method or process claims or structures or functions of said structures for apparatus and machine claims. Recitation of the intended use, implementation, purpose of a structure, etc. does not amount to a limitation. Examples include “so that”, “for”, “to”, and “in order to”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “selected from the group consisting of”. This particular phrasing is that of a Markush claim, and therefore the requirements thereof govern. MPEP 2117 relates. Per MPEP 2113(II), “A claim element defined by selection from a group of alternatives (a Markush grouping; see MPEP §§ 2117 and 2173.05(h)) requires selection from a closed group “consisting of” (rather than “comprising” or “including”) the alternative members. Abbott Labs. v. Baxter Pharmaceutical Products Inc., 334 F.3d 1274, 1280, 67 USPQ2d 1191, 1196-97 (Fed. Cir. 2003)” and “The transitional phrase “consisting of” excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948)”.
Examiner could find no supporting language for the measuring systems to be of an exclusive, or closed, group. At most, Applicant appears to list some preferences, of which not all of the listed items even are. There is no indication whatsoever that the systems contemplated are only those listed, and in fact the opposite. See [0034] “Preferably, various measuring systems are used to detect the orientation of the input coordinate system in relation to the orientation of the machine coordinate system” which is then followed by examples, some preferential with no indication of limitation thereto.
Therefore, the claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the transformation from the input coordinate system to the machine coordinate system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously recites “transforming the target movement direction into a transformed movement direction using the 3D deviation between the input coordinate system (Mi) and the machine coordinate system (MM)”. This limitation does not state “from the input coordinate system to the machine coordinate system”.
In the interest of compact prosecution, this limitation is instead interpreted as reading “the target movement direction into a transformed movement direction”.
Examiner furthermore notes that a more clean and clear approach to this contingent limitation would be to simply append this if statement to the limitation in question directly.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the measurement of the higher-level world coordinate system (Mw) is confirmed by at least two independent measuring systems”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No such measuring, measurement, etc. exists previously.
Furthermore, and as provided in the previous Office Action, what “is confirmed”, “confirming”, etc. actually should mean remains unclear. Measurements do not confirm, other entities use measurements to confirm information using criteria, etc. The specification is non-clarifying and only leaves one of ordinary skill in the art to guess at the meaning.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as instead reading “two independent measuring systems are measuring”. Examiner notes that a step of confirming is still not positively recited, and support for this limitation is unclear.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “one or more of an optical measuring systems … and inertial sensors …”. The grammar is incorrect, as “an” should not be used with the plural “systems” and “sensors”, however at the same time it is contradictory to state “one or more of” as they are both already plural and thus cannot be singular (one) but are always “or more”. Additionally, it is unclear if the list should be interpreted in the disjunctive form as suggested by the “one or more of” despite the use of the conjunctive “and” in the list.
In the interest of compact prosecution, and based on the prior claim language which appears to suggest a single system as a possibility, the limitation is instead interpreted as reading “one or more of an optical measuring system … or an inertial sensor …”.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites the limitation “the measurement of the Earth’s magnetic field”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term, as the claim previously recites the unusual phrasing of “a measure of the Earth’s magnetic field”. In the interest of compact prosecution, the first “measure” should instead read “measurement”.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “and with a mobile remote control unit” in a list. It is unclear what the “with” refers to. Furthermore, there is an additional “and” following this “and” in the list. It appears that there is possibly a noun phrase missing before this limitation, however the correct noun phrase is unclear. In the interest of compact prosecution, the limitation is thus instead interpreted as reading “a mobile remote-control unit”.
With respect to Claims 3, 6, and 9, the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be based on a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Examiner will first provide a list of issues, followed by the re-interpreted claims used in the interest of compact prosecution for examination of the claims in this Office Action.
The non-exhaustive (as issues are inter-related and not all are possible to individually address) list of issues is as follows:
First, the claims frequently use verb construction in opposition to the construction of Claim 1 and typical for clear recitation of a positively recited step of a method or process claim. In specific, the claims frequently use the phrasing “is [verb]ed” or “that … [X] is [verb]ed”, or similar rather than specifying the method further comprises “[verb]ing”. Specific examples include “is corrected” and “is determined” of Claims 2 and 3 or “that the target movement vector is transformed” of Claim 4. This renders it unclear if the recitation is referring to a step of the claim or something external to the method/process.
Second, the claims have repeated issues of proper antecedent basis, and more particularly in doing so often appear to insert additional limitation(s) to noun-phrases that were not previously indicated as being limited as such. A short list of examples include:
“the input coordinate system of the remote control unit” of Claim 2. Claim 1 instead recites “an input coordinate system (MI) which is linked to the remote control unit)
Third, some claims use the phrase “preferably”. While MPEP 2173.05(h) discusses the use of claim construction whereby alternative limitations are presented, this does not appear to even be an alternative limitation, let alone a Markush group or use of “optionally” to an existing list (and is not support for amendment thereto). Instead, these appear to merely indicate a preference. As a Markush group is closed which is particularly narrowing for a claim presently constructed at the preamble level as a “comprising claim”, and no alternatives are presented, the intended narrowing, if any, is unclear and these limitations are instead interpreted in light of their plain English meaning wherein again they merely indicate a preference. In other words, they hold no patentable weight as they are wholly optional. Thus, these recitations are removed in the interpretations presented below as they do not amount to limitations.
While not an issue, Examiner reiterates (see Claim Interpretation section above) that Applicant makes frequent use of phrases which under their plain English meaning indicate only intent, intended results, purpose, or similar and not a positively recited limitation. As Examiner is already re-writing the claims to correct issues such as the above, these non-limiting recitations are omitted for clarity and brevity.
The claims are therefore interpreted as reading as follows:
Claim 3:
The method according to claim 2,
wherein determining the reference plane comprises determining the reference plane on the basis of a gravitation vector.
Examiner’s further note: Applicant continues to use the phrase “is corrected” in combination with the preposition “to” indicating the purpose of “is corrected” and not a particular step of the method.
Claim 6:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the higher-level world coordinate system (MW) is a reference coordinate system local to the articulated arm and the mobile remote control unit comprising at least three reference points.
Examiner’s further note:
Applicant recites the limitation “a local reference coordinate system … is used as the higher-level world coordinate system”. If a “higher-level world coordinate system is not inherently a local reference coordinate system, the limitation appears to lack support and is new matter. [0043] which is the only support for the parent limitation states “Preferably, the proposed automatic transformations from the input coordinate system to the machine coordinate system are only applied if the measurement of a common reference coordinate system is confirmed by at least two independent measuring systems”.
Additionally, the term “local” is a relative term that requires grounding in what it is in relation to.
Claim 9:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises: carrying out position measurements using one or more measuring systems, wherein the one or more measuring systems comprise:
optical measuring systems;
laser based positioning systems;
stereo cameras;
one or more cameras arranged on the remote control unit;
a mechanical measuring system on the articulated arm; and
inertial sensors on the joints of the articulated arm and/or the remote-control unit.
Examiner’s further note:
Applicant continues to use the phrase “can be” which does not appear limiting, particularly in the claimed context. It is unclear how a given optical measuring system would not be capable of detecting passively or actively illuminated markers under any and all circumstances. Such a determination appears furthermore extremely subjective if it were to hold any patentable weight, and thus still be of unknown claim scope.
Applicant continues to use the phrase “preferably”.
The list of measuring systems as presented in Applicant’s amendments is a Markush grouping and is thus governed under MPEP 2117. The claim is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
The term “mechanical measuring system” lacks clear metes and bounds such that under the broadest reasonable interpretation it can be considered as always sharing a single structural similarity. Furthermore, the claims are generally phrased with terms of similar breadth such that determining a single structural similarity that each and every listed measuring system must be bound by is unclear.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Additionally, one skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the Markush claim due to an inability to envision all of the members of the Markush grouping. See again e.g. the especially broad phrase of “mechanical measuring system”. In other words, a boundary cannot be drawn separating embodiments encompassed by the claim from those that are not.
Regarding Claims 2, 4 – 5, 7, and 11, the claim depends from claim(s) rejected above and inherit the deficiencies of said claim(s) as described above. Therefore, Claims 2, 4 – 5, 7, and 11 are rejected under the same logic presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimoto (JP 5342298 B2).
Examiner notes all claims are examined in light of the rejections made above. For clarity, Claims 3, 6, and 9 have instead been recited below in their re-interpreted form from the rejections above.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that the claims appear to generally encompass well-known concepts of transforming between coordinate systems. This includes by use of a tilt angle, gravitational direction, inclination angle, or similar, these being common means of defining/determining the rotation matrix of a given transformation matrix. See Conclusion section below for pertinent prior art which may help demonstrate this.
Regarding Claim 1, Nishimoto teaches:
A method for controlling an articulated arm (See at least telescopic boom 43) with a mobile remote control unit and an articulated arm control unit spatially remote therefrom (See at least Page 2 , “The remote control device P includes a remote command device Q”), comprising the following steps:
defining a machine coordinate system (MM) (See at least Page 2, “II: Basic idea of control The basic idea of control in the remote control device P will be described. The basic idea of the remote control device P is that the work machine S side has a reference coordinate system and the remote commanding device Q side has a specific coordinate system”) which is linked to the articulated arm (The arm is linked to the machine) so that (Indicating intended purpose rather than a limitation) the position of at least one end piece at the free end of the articulated arm can be (Further particularly broad language indicating mere capacity or capability rather than a positive limitation) determined in this machine coordinate system (See at least Figure 8 illustrating control of telescopic boom 42 with respect to each coordinate system);
defining an input coordinate system (Mi) which is linked to the remote control unit (See at least Page 2, “II: Basic idea of control The basic idea of control in the remote control device P will be described. The basic idea of the remote control device P is that the work machine S side has a reference coordinate system and the remote commanding device Q side has a specific coordinate system”);
determining a three-dimensional (3D) deviation between the 3D spatial orientation of the input coordinate system and the 3D spatial orientation of the machine coordinate system (The nature of the deviation is not particularly claimed. See at least Page 3, “The remote command device Q is provided with a reference signal transmission unit 24 for transmitting a reference signal having a high degree of straightness such as laser light, and has a specific coordinate system (U axis, V axis, W axis). Yes. In this case, one axis of the specific coordinate system, here the U axis, is made to coincide with the transmission direction of the reference signal. In addition, each axis of the specific coordinate system of the remote commanding device Q does not match the gravitational acceleration direction unless the remote commanding device Q is set in a horizontal posture, and the reference coordinate system and the specific coordinate system are not matched. There will be misalignment.
Therefore, in order to accurately move the work machine S to a predetermined position on the reference coordinate system by the operation of the remote command apparatus Q, a specific coordinate system on the remote command apparatus Q side is set to the work machine control apparatus R. It is necessary to convert to the side reference coordinate system. In this case, it is necessary to determine the direction and orientation of the remote command device Q with respect to the work machine control device R”
or alternatively Page 4 “From this point of view, in this embodiment, the remote command device Q is provided with a three-axis angular velocity sensor, detects the angular velocity around each axis, and based on the angular velocity around each axis, by calculation using a rotation matrix, Obtain the coordinate system “U2, V2, W2” of the remote command device Q after rotation from the original coordinate system [U1, V1, W1] (the coordinate system of the remote command device Q when the reception of the reference signal is interrupted), Based on the interpolated coordinate system, the direction and attitude of the remote commander Q with respect to the work implement controller R are updated”);
detecting a target movement direction and target movement speed of the end piece of the articulated arm in the input coordinate system input via operating elements of the remote control unit (See at least Page 5, “The operation unit 20 corresponds to “operation means B” in the claims, and is tilted by an operator. The operation direction and the operation amount of the operation unit 20 are detected by the operation lever sensor 21 and input to the lever operation input processing unit 1. The lever operation input processing unit 1 calculates an operation command signal corresponding to the operation direction and the operation amount input from the operation lever sensor 21, and the speed signal related to the operation speed among the operation command signals is the communication processing unit 8. In addition, an operation direction signal related to the operation direction is output to an operation direction calculation unit 7 described later. The operation lever sensor 21 and the lever operation input processing unit 1 correspond to “operation command signal output means C” in the claims”);
transforming the target movement direction into a transformed movement direction using the 3D deviation between the input coordinate system (Mi) and the machine coordinate system (MM) (See again above);
transmitting the transformed movement direction and the movement speed to an articulated arm control unit (See at least work implement controller R and above), and controlling at least one drive unit of the articulated arm to move the end piece to the specified target position (See again above and “actuator operation speed” throughout);
defining a higher-level world coordinate system (Mw) (The nature of “defining” and “higher-level”, or even “world coordinate system” are not claimed. See again at least Page 2, “The basic idea of the remote control device P is that the work machine S side has a reference coordinate system and the remote commanding device Q side has a specific coordinate system”), in which the orientations of the machine coordinate system and the input coordinate system can be (Particularly broad language indicating mere capacity or capability rather than a positive limitation) determined and related to each other in order to (Indicating intended purpose rather than a limitation) ascertain a deviation (Even if positively recited, this appears inherent to coordinate systems);
wherein the transformation from the input coordinate system to the machine coordinate system is carried out only if the measurement of the higher-level world coordinate system (Mw) is confirmed by at least two independent measuring systems (This appears to if anything to just transform the “transforming” limitation into a contingent limitation, and is consequently only relevant with respect to Claim 12. For Claim 12, Nishimoto discloses more than two sensors related to position/velocity/speed/etc. measuring).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein defining an input coordinate system (MI) comprises:
determining a reference plane (See “Reference coordinate system” throughout the disclosure or the coordinate system of the remote commanding device Q. The claim does not define what is meant by “reference”. A given coordinate system includes an infinite number of planes), correcting the detected target movement direction (See at least Page 5, “The posture detection processing unit 6 corresponds to the “posture calculation means F” in the scope of claims, and includes a gravitational acceleration direction signal from the gravitational acceleration detection processing unit 3 and a communication processing unit 4. In response to a direction signal output from the work implement control device R described later, the specific coordinate system on the remote command device Q side with respect to the gravitational acceleration direction common to the remote command device Q and the work implement control device R The inclination is converted into the reference coordinate system of the work machine control device R, the specific coordinate system of the remote commanding device Q is calculated as an attitude on the reference coordinate system, and the attitude signal is processed as described below”) to (Indicating intended purpose rather than a positively recited limitation) compensate for a deviation between a position of a vertical axis of the remote control unit and a reference axis located on the reference plane (See again above, even if not positively recited).
Regarding Claim 3, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 2,
wherein determining the reference plane comprises determining the reference plane on the basis of a gravitation vector (See again above).
Regarding Claim 4, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
detecting the target movement direction and target movement speed of the end piece as a target movement vector in the input coordinate system (It is unclear what use of the term “vector” is meant to add to the claim, as a vector is defined as quantity and direction, which a movement direction and movement speed together define. As needed, see at least Page 4, “From this point of view, in this embodiment, the remote command device Q is provided with a three-axis angular velocity sensor, detects the angular velocity around each axis, and based on the angular velocity around each axis, by calculation using a rotation matrix, Obtain the coordinate system “U2, V2, W2” of the remote command device Q after rotation from the original coordinate system [U1, V1, W1]”, or Page 5, “The operation direction and the operation amount of the operation unit 20 are detected by the operation lever sensor 21 and input to the lever operation input processing unit 1”); and transforming the target movement vector into a transformed movement vector using the three-dimensional deviation between the input coordinate system and the machine coordinate system (See again above); and transmitting the transformed movement vector to the articulated arm control unit (See again above, commands are used in the given coordinate system).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the higher-level world coordinate system (MW) is a reference coordinate system local to the articulated arm and the mobile remote control unit comprising at least three reference points (See Figure 6 wherein the coordinate systems are defined as three lines sharing an intersecting origin, as is standard for an XYZ (3D) coordinate system).
Regarding Claim 7, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: measuring the orientation of the input coordinate system in relation to the machine coordinate system (See at least Page 5, “The posture detection processing unit 6 corresponds to the “posture calculation means F” in the scope of claims, and includes a gravitational acceleration direction signal from the gravitational acceleration detection processing unit 3 and a communication processing unit 4. In response to a direction signal output from the work implement control device R described later, the specific coordinate system on the remote command device Q side with respect to the gravitational acceleration direction common to the remote command device Q and the work implement control device R The inclination is converted into the reference coordinate system of the work machine control device R, the specific coordinate system of the remote commanding device Q is calculated as an attitude on the reference coordinate system, and the attitude signal is processed as described below”) using one or more of an optical measuring systems (See at least Page 3 “the direction detection method may be, for example, a method using … an image using a camera”) with which passively or actively illuminated markers can be (An extremely broad phrase indicating mere capacity or capability) detected (A camera is capable of detecting any markers without any claimed restrictions on detection conditions) and inertial sensors (See at least Page 5, “The acceleration sensor 23 and the gravitational acceleration detection processing unit 3 correspond to “gravity acceleration direction detecting means D” in claims”) that can be (An extremely broad phrase indicating mere capacity or capability) used to determine the gravitation vector and the Earth’s magnetic field (Presumably any inertial sensor works as Applicant does not describe any particular structural characteristics requisite for this capacity, and furthermore appears to imply that they do not directly measure the Earth’s magnetic field but are used to augment other sensors that do (See “electronic compasses” of [0053] of Applicant’s specification)).
Regarding Claim 8, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
deriving a relative rotation of the input coordinate system and a relative rotation of the machine coordinate system from a position measurement of at least three points (The claim does not specify what the points are of, if they are measurements made at the same time, etc. Furthermore, a measurement of a coordinate system is of an infinite number of points, the system being defined by three lines and the point where they intersect, wherein each line defines an infinite number of points.
See at least Page 5, “The posture detection processing unit 6 corresponds to the “posture calculation means F” in the scope of claims, and includes a gravitational acceleration direction signal from the gravitational acceleration detection processing unit 3 and a communication processing unit 4. In response to a direction signal output from the work implement control device R described later, the specific coordinate system on the remote command device Q side with respect to the gravitational acceleration direction common to the remote command device Q and the work implement control device R The inclination is converted into the reference coordinate system of the work machine control device R, the specific coordinate system of the remote commanding device Q is calculated as an attitude on the reference coordinate system, and the attitude signal is processed as described below”).
Regarding Claim 9, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
carrying out position measurements using one or more measuring systems (See at least Page 3, “By obtaining the coordinate position”, a system is inherently a measuring system if it can carry out position measurements), wherein the one or more measuring systems comprise:
optical measuring systems (See at least the bottom of Page 3 and top of Page 4, “In addition to the combination of “laser light, fisheye lens 27 and image sensor 28” as described above, the direction detection method may be, for example, a method using ultrasonic waves by sensors arranged in an array or an image using a camera. A technique based on processing can also be adopted.
In this embodiment, the receiving unit 25 is arranged on both the left and right sides of the boom head 44 at the tip of the telescopic boom 43”);
laser based positioning systems (See again above);
stereo cameras;
one or more cameras arranged on the remote control unit;
a mechanical measuring system on the articulated arm (See again above); and
inertial sensors on the joints of the articulated arm and/or the remote-control unit (See at least Page 5, “The acceleration sensor 23 detects the acceleration in the remote command device Q and outputs it to the gravitational acceleration detection processing unit 3”).
Regarding Claim 11, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the articulated arm is a component of one of the following devices:
suction excavator;
concrete pump;
sewer cleaning machine;
sewer inspection machine;
drill;
lifting platform (See “boom” and “crane” throughout disclosure. The particular nature of “lifting platform” is not claimed or even disclosed with any particularity. Nishimoto clearly discloses a vehicle platform designed for heavy lifting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimoto in view of Boca et al. (US 20170006209 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 4,
Nishimoto does not disclose, but as demonstrated by Boca it is well known to:
wherein the method further comprises:
calculating spherical coordinates of the target position based on the transformed movement vector (See at least [0046] “As indicated above, in some embodiments, the accuracy of the transformation may be optimized or improved. In doing so, the points in the PTU frame may be expressed in terms of spherical coordinates rather than Cartesian coordinates”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spherical coordinates for any coordinate system or calculations thereof as taught by Boca in the system of Nishimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. As indicated in Boca, it can relate to more accurate expression of coordinate system information such as transformations.
Examiner notes that Applicant does not appear to disclose a reason for using spherical coordinates and therefore the choice appears wholly arbitrary.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimoto in view of Schautt et al. (US 20170129106 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Nishimoto teaches:
The method according to claim 1,
Nishimoto does not teach, but in combination with Schautt teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: measuring the Earth’s magnetic field to (Intended use or purpose and not a positively recited limitation) determine a measurement of the Earth’s magnetic field, wherein defining an input coordinate system (Mi) comprises using the measurement of the Earth’s magnetic field (See at least [0022] “The orientation sensor can be any type of sensor which makes it possible to measure an angle between a reference direction of the input instrument and an external preferred direction such as the direction of the gravitational acceleration or of the earth's magnetic field”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the earth’s magnetic field as the preferred direction or in addition to the preferred direction of gravitational acceleration as taught by Schautt in the system and methods of Nishimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Both gravity and magnetic north are readily identified constants identifiable by likewise readily accessible components.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renger et al. (US 20200217043 A1) in view of Nishimoto.
Regarding Claim 12, Nishimoto teaches:
A remote controlled vehicle comprising: a suction excavator (See at least suction dredge 01) with a vehicle frame (See at least vehicle frame 02), a fan unit (See at least suction fan 26), a filter unit (See at least filter unit 25), a material collection container (See at least collecting chamber 23), a multi-link articulated hose carrier (See at least articulated hose mount 40), and with a mobile remote control unit (See at least [0023] “the user specifies the direction vector in the X direction, for example, by manipulating a joystick on a remote control unit”) for (Intended use or purpose, not a positively recited limitation) controlling the movement of the articulated hose carrier (Disclosed, see previous and Figures as necessary), and a control unit of the suction excavator (See at least [0023] “The controller according to the invention then takes over the control of all the n joints of the articulated hose mount and produces a steady linear movement of the suction connection in the X direction”),
…
Renger does not teach, but in combination with Nishimoto teaches:
…
wherein the mobile remote control unit and the control unit of the suction excavator are configured to perform the method of claim 1 (See rejection of Claim 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate at least the features disclosed in Claim 1 as taught by Nishimoto into the remotely operated vehicle of Renger with a reasonable expectation of success. Renger already discloses remote control operation, and Nishimoto teaches a more advanced form of control allowing a user to more directly control the operations of the articulated hose mount.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng et al. (CN 102561700 A) which discloses a remote-control system for controlling a mechanical arm using the angle at which the remote-control system is tilted with respect to a reference.
Suzuki et al. (US 20250137224 A1) which discloses transforming between two coordinate frames based on a tilt angle sensor and rotation angle sensor.
Aoki (US 20220088795 A1) which discloses a system correcting for the difference in tilt in the transformation matrix for transforming commanded coordinates, etc. between a commanded reference coordinate system presumed to have no tilt (e.g. a camera with a field of view plane co-planar with the ground) and a robot manipulator coordinate system which may undergo some tilt due to an uneven surface beneath it.
Ogawa et al. (20180272535) which discloses coordinate transforms in the context of mobile robotic arms in general.
Agarwal et al. (20230071384) which discloses coordinate transformations and explicitly states that “a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that poses can be mathematically transformed to equivalent representations in different coordinate systems”, or in other words that any given coordinate transformation is effectively within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Berme et al. (US 11311209 B1) which discloses the use of a “magnetic north vector and the acceleration of gravity” to determine a “local-to-global rotation's matrix”.
Crawford et al. (US 20210330273 A1) which discloses the use of a gravity vector for determination of a rotation matrix.
Jagoda et al. (US 20210262199 A1) which discloses the use of magnetic north, gravity, and gyroscopes with relation to rotation matrices for the kinematic model of a mobile hydraulic machine.
/MATTHEW C GAMMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657