DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in IB on 1/27/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PCT/IB2023/000026 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 365(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. EP22036520.2 and PCTIB2023000026, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The prior applications fail to describe a smartcard/prelaminated structure having three antennas (first wire antenna, second wire antenna, energy harvesting antenna) and two lighting elements, and the first antenna of the electronic carrier is configured to provide energy to both the lighting element of the electronic carrier and the light element of the lighting device, as recited in claims 13 and 20. The prior applications also fail to describe a second lighting element where the second lighting element is also powered by the first antenna, as recited in claim 12.
Accordingly, claims 12-21 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications. The effective filing date of claims 1-11 is 10/10/2022 (EP22306520.2), and the effective filing date of claims 12-21 is 4/9/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/9/2025 and 3/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a smartcard having the three antennas (first wire antenna, second wire antenna, energy harvesting antenna) and the two light emitting elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (claims 13 and 20). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Element 422 in Fig. 15
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains legal phraseology (e.g. comprising). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In independent claims 1 and 13, each element and “wherein” clause are all capitalized. Since the claims need to be written in a sentence, and the capitalization of the limitations is confusing since these limitations are not proper nouns and are not a beginning of a sentence. Therefore the elements and “wherein” clauses should not be capitalized.
Claims 14, 19 and 20 contain acronyms, however does not provide the full names. If the applicant is to claim the acronyms, the full names should be referenced at least once within the claims in parentheses (e.g. light emitting diode (LED)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, the specification does not appear to describe an embodiment of a smartcard/prelaminated structure having three antennas (first wire antenna, second wire antenna, energy harvesting antenna) and two lighting elements, and the first antenna of the electronic carrier is configured to provide energy to both the lighting element of the electronic carrier and the light element of the lighting device, as recited in claims 13 and 20. It is noted that the specification describes an energy harvesting antenna (104) and a payment antenna (102), and the energy harvesting antenna and the payment antennas can be wire antennas ([0044]). Additionally the specification describes a lighting device (200) having a lighting element (201) ([0061]), and that the smartcard can have the electronic carrier (100) having the two wire antennas (energy harvesting antenna and payment antenna) and the lighting device (200) on two different carriers ([0083], Fig. 13). As such, the specification does not describe the smartcard/prelaminated structure having three antennas and two lighting elements, as claimed in claims 13 and 20, and where the first antenna provides energy to both lighting elements.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is dependent from claim 1, and as such, claims the additional element of a lighting element. More specifically, the elements of claim 1 in addition to “a lighting element for a smartcard configured to be powered up by said first antenna” (i.e. two lighting elements, where the second lighting element is also powered by the first antenna). As such, the specification does not describe this embodiment, as described above.
Claims 7-9 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “an area of said electronic carrier is ideally divided into a first part and a second part by an ideal line”. The terms “ideally” and “ideal” are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ideally” and “ideal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Further, it is not clear if the applicant intends the “ideal line” to be a real/actual line, or does the applicant intend it be an axis? Please clarify.
Claim 12 recites the elements of claim 1 in addition to “a lighting element for a smartcard configured to be powered up by said first antenna”. As such, it is not clear if claim 12 is reciting a second lighting element, where second lighting element is also powered by the first antenna. Please clarify.
Claims 13 and 20 recite “an electronic carrier which comprises...a first wire antenna configure to provide energy to a lighting element...a second wire antenna...a lighting device for a smartcard which comprises: a lighting element configured for illuminating a portion of said smartcard; and a single diode suitable for providing energy to said lighting element when connected to an energy harvesting antenna wherein said first antenna of said electronic carrier is configured to provide energy to said lighting element of said lighting device. It is not clear if the lighting element of the electronic carrier is the same as, or different than, the lighting element of the lighting device of the smartcard. Please clarify. As such, it is also unclear if the energy harvesting antenna is different than the first wire antenna since both antennas are to provide energy to the lighting element. Please clarify. More specifically, it is unclear how many lighting elements and antennas there are that are used to provide energy to the respective lighting element(s). Please clarify. For examination purposes, the claim language will be interpreted as there being two lighting elements and two antennas (first wire antenna, energy harvesting antenna) that are used to provide energy to the respective lighting element.
Claims 16, 17 and 19 recite the limitation "said capacitor". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It is not clear what capacitor the applicant is referring to. Please clarify. It is noted that claim 15 recites a capacitor. As such, it is not clear if the applicant intended claims 16, 17 and 19 to be dependent from claim 15 instead of claim 13.
Claims not specifically addressed are indefinite due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (2023/0289553) in view of Cox (US 2019/0156994).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Ng. et al. discloses an electronic carrier for antennas for a smartcard comprising the following elements:
an antenna substrate (30) ([0103], Fig. 2A);
a first antenna (44) configured to provide energy to a lighting element (46) for a smartcard ([0109], [0115]); and
a second antenna (24) configured to provide energy to an electronic module (21) for contactless data transfer for a smartcard ([0101], [0115], [0109]);
wherein said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate ([0109], [0103], Fig. 2A), and
wherein said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element (“an electric current induced in the first antenna coil 24 powers or operates the card circuity; substantially at the same time, another electric current induced in the second antenna coil 44 power or operates the inductive circuitry, including the at least one LED module 46,”, implies that the first antenna coil does not power the electronic module (chip 21) and second antenna coil does not power the inductive circuitry (LED 46)) ([0115]).
Ng et al. additionally discloses said first wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said lighting element, and said second wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said electronic module (“an electric current induced in the first antenna coil 24 powers or operates the card circuity; substantially at the same time, another electric current induced in the second antenna coil 44 power or operates the inductive circuitry, including the at least one LED module 46,”, implies that the first antenna coil only powers the card circuitry (chip 21) and second antenna coil only powers the inductive circuitry (LED 46)) ([0115]).
Ng et al. fails to expressly disclose the first antenna and the second antenna being wire antennas.
It is well known in the art for an antenna to be a wire antenna, as taught by Cox ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first antenna and the second antenna to be wire antennas in order to provide suitable antennas depending on the desired application.
With respect to claim 4, the modified Ng et al. discloses a perimeter of said first antenna is smaller than a perimeter of said second antenna (Ng: Fig. 2A).
With respect to claim 10, the modified Ng et al. discloses said antenna substrate comprises a single layer (30) and said first and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said single layer (by combining layers 20 and 40 to 30) (Ng: Fig. 2A).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Ng et al. discloses said antenna substrate comprises a plurality of layers (20, 30, 40) and said first antenna (44) is formed on a first layer (40) and said second antenna (24) is formed on a second layer (20), so that, when said first layer is coupled to said second layer (via layer 30), said first antenna and said second antenna result on opposite sides of said antenna substrate (30) (Ng: Fig. 2A).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (2024/0394499) in view of Cox.
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Zhu et al. discloses an electronic carrier for antennas for a smartcard comprising the following elements:
an antenna substrate (43) ([0047], Fig. 2);
a first antenna (422) configured to provide energy to a lighting element (42) for a smartcard ([0036], [0038], [0043], [0047], Fig. 2); and
a second antenna (412) configured to provide energy to an electronic module (411) for contactless data transfer for a smartcard ([0033], [0038], [0043], Fig. 2)
wherein said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate (Fig. 2), and
wherein said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element ([0038], [0043]).
Zhu et al. additionally discloses said first wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said lighting element, and said second wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said electronic module ([0038], [0043]).
Zhu et al. fails to expressly disclose the first antenna and the second antenna being wire antennas.
It is well known in the art for an antenna to be a wire antenna, as taught by Cox ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first antenna and the second antenna to be wire antennas in order to provide suitable antennas depending on the desired application.
With respect to claim 4, the modified Zhu et al. discloses a perimeter of said first antenna is smaller than a perimeter of said second antenna (Zhu: Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 10, the modified Zhu et al. discloses said antenna substrate comprises a single layer (43) and said first and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said single layer (Zhu: Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Zhu et al. discloses said antenna substrate comprises a plurality of layers (43, 44) and said first antenna (412) is formed on a first layer (43) and said second antenna (422) is formed on a second layer (44), so that, when said first layer is coupled to said second layer, said first antenna and said second antenna result on opposite sides of said antenna substrate (43) (Zhu: [0047], Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 12, the modified Zhu et al. discloses said antenna substrate comprises a cutout portion for accommodating a lighting element for a smartcard configured to be powered up by said first antenna (Zhu: [0048]-[0051], Fig. 2)
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox in view of Zhu et al.
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Cox discloses an electronic carrier for antennas for a smartcard comprising the following elements:
an antenna substrate (inherent) ([0032]);
a first wire antenna (4) configured to provide energy to a lighting element (12) for a smartcard ([0032], [0047], [0058], [0060], Fig. 2); and
a second wire antenna (6) configured to provide energy to an electronic module (16) for contactless data transfer for a smartcard ([0032], [0036], [0058], [0062], Fig. 2).
Since Cox does not disclose that the first antenna provides energy to the electronic module, and also does not disclose that the second antenna provides energy to the lighting element with respect to Fig. 2, Cox is considered to teach said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element; and said first wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said lighting element, and said second wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said electronic module ([0060]-[0063]).
Cox fails to expressly disclose wherein said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate.
Zhu et al. teaches it is well known in the art for a first antenna and a second antenna to be formed on opposite sides of an antenna substrate ([0047], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wire antenna and the second wire antenna to be formed on opposite sides of the antenna substrate in order to avoid the two antennas from affecting each other and improves reliability, as taught by Zhu et al. ([0047]).
With respect to claim 5, the modified Cox discloses a perimeter of said first antenna (4) is larger than a perimeter of said second antenna (6) (Cox: Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman (US 2023/0214627) in view of Cox and Zhu et al.
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Cox discloses an electronic carrier for antennas for a smartcard comprising the following elements:
an antenna substrate (115) ([0028], Figs. 3 and 5);
a first antenna (170) configured to provide energy to a lighting element (124) for a smartcard ([0040], [0041], Fig. 6);
a second antenna (120, 173, 158) configured to provide energy to an electronic module (130) for contactless data transfer for a smartcard ([0033], [0040], [0041], Fig. 6);
Since Coleman does not disclose that the first antenna provides energy to the electronic module, and also does not disclose that the second antenna provides energy to the lighting element with respect to Fig. 6, Cox is considered to teach said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element; and said first wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said lighting element, and said second wire antenna is configured to provide energy only to said electronic module ([0040], [0041]).
Coleman fails to expressly disclose the first antenna and the second antenna being wire antennas. Coleman additionally fails to expressly disclose said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate.
It is well known in the art for an antenna to be a wire antenna, as taught by Cox ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first antenna and the second antenna to be wire antennas in order to provide suitable antennas depending on the desired application.
The combined teachings of Coleman and Cox disclose the invention set forth above, they fail to expressly disclose wherein said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate.
Zhu et al. teaches it is well known in the art for a first antenna and a second antenna to be formed on opposite sides of an antenna substrate ([0047], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wire antenna and the second wire antenna to be formed on opposite sides of the antenna substrate in order to avoid the two antennas from affecting each other and improves reliability, as taught by Zhu et al. ([0047]).
With respect to claim 5, the modified Coleman discloses a perimeter of said first antenna (120) is larger than a perimeter of said second antenna (170) (Coleman: Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 6, the modified Coleman discloses said second wire antenna comprises at least two coil parts (first wire and second wire 158) ([0035], [0040], Fig. 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-7, 10 and 19-25 of copending Application No. 19/119684 in view of Huang et al. (AU 202209353).
INSTANT CLAIM(S)
COPENDING CLAIM(S)
1. (Currently Amended) An electronic carrier for antennas for a smartcard comprising the following elements: - An antenna substrate; - A first wire antenna configured to provide energy to a lighting element for a smartcard; and - A second wire antenna configured to provide energy to an electronic module for contactless data transfer for a smartcard; Wherein said first antenna and said second antenna are formed on opposite sides of said antenna substrate, and Wherein said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element.
19. (Original) A pre-laminated structure for a smartcard comprising: - a lighting device comprising; a lighting element configured for illuminating a portion of said smartcard, a single diode suitable for providing energy to said lighting element when connected to an energy harvesting antenna, and a printed circuit board (PCB) connected to said lighting element, wherein said single diode is formed on said PCB and an area of said PCB is designed to accommodate only said diode; and - an electronic carrier for antennas comprising an antenna substrate, a first wire antenna configured to provide energy to said lighting element of said lighting device, and a second wire antenna configured to provide energy to an electronic module for contactless data transfer for a smartcard.
The copending claims do not recite said first wire antenna does not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna does not provide energy to said lighting element.
Huang et al. teaches it is well known in the art for a first antenna (122)to provide energy to a lighting element (121) and to not provide energy to an electronic module (131), and a second antenna (132) to provide energy to the electronic module and to not provide energy to the lighting element ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify said first wire antenna to not provide energy to said electronic module and said second wire antenna to not provide energy to said lighting element, in order to improve operation efficiency of the lighting element and the electronic module, as taught by Huang et al.
Regarding the dependent claims, the copending claims recite similar limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Examiner’s Remarks
With respect to claim(s) 7-9 and 13-21, the examiner makes no prior art rejection. However, these claims are not allowable pursuant to the pending 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, rejection (where applicable) and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejection (where applicable).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Finkenzeller et al. (US 2019/0213460) discloses a portable data carrier having an LED which is supplied with energy via a first antenna coil, and a chip supplied with energy via a second antenna coil ([0027]).
Telephone/Fax Information
/SUEZU ELLIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876