Claims 9-16 are being treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12, 14 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stegmaier (WO 2017/140908) in view of Nickless (US D872,441).
Regarding Claim 9, Stegmaier discloses a material (Figures 1-3) comprising: a superposition of at least three layers (Figures 1-3), a lower layer (106), at least one intermediate layer (104) and an upper layer (102), each layer comprising: a plurality of platelets (110) arranged in a juxtaposed manner while forming a paving (Figures 1-3), with a clearance between said platelets (Figures 1-3); a connector (117) to join the plurality of platelets together (Figures 1 & 2); said at least three layers being superposed on one another so that the plurality of platelets of one layer are offset with respect to the plurality of platelets of the other layers so as to remove all openings in the material (Figures 1-3). Stegmaier does not specifically disclose each platelet of the upper layer comprises a local thickening at a level of an outer periphery of said each platelet. However, Nickless disclose platelets (Figure 6) comprises a local thickening (edges shown in Figure 6) at a level of an outer periphery of said each platelet (Figure 6). It would have been obvious to modify the platelet to have various thicknesses, as disclosed of Nickless, in order to provide a textured surface which can add additional features to a material; such as tactile sensations .
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless disclose for one layer of said at least three layers, the connector is a fabric (120 or 117) and the plurality of platelets of said one layer are securely bonded to the fabric (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless disclose the fabric is trapped within a thickness of a set of platelets (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless disclose said at least three layers are fixedly secured together (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless disclose the plurality of platelets of one layer of said at least three layers are geometrically shaped as three hexagons (Stegmaier, Page 4, lines 40-51), each hexagon joined together at a level of two adjacent edges (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless disclose an article of clothing comprising the material of claim 9 (Page 1-2).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stegmaier (WO 2017/140908) in view of Nickless (US D872,441) in further view of Henry (USPN 8,354,170).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Stegmaier and Nickless do not disclose the plurality of platelets of said at least three layers are made by 3D printing. However, Henry discloses the use of 3d printing (Col. 8, lines 28-45)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732