DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1 recites the limitation “An optical device for detecting concentration of nano-scale particle” is grammatically incorrect. The limitation should read “An optical device for detecting a concentration of nano-scale particles”. Claims 2-5 are objected to for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1, line 16 recites the limitation “the motor” which lacks antecedent basis. For this examination, the limitation will be read as “a motor”. Claims 2-5 are objected to for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 1, lines 12-13 recites the limitation “ten number of neutral density filters” is grammatically incorrect and should read “ten neutral density filters”. Claims 2-5 are objected to for their dependence on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 10 recites the limitation “a lens” where the lens is arranged to converge the light beam onto the sample. However, claim 1, line 5 also recites “a lens” and it is unclear whether the lens referenced on line 5 and line 10 refer to the same optical element. For this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as referencing the same optical element and read as “the lens”. Claims 2-5 are rejected for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0158615 A1) in view of Moon et al. (US 2009/0051900 A1) further in view of Goebel et al. (US 2020/0383558 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses an optical device (Fig. 2A-B) for detecting a concentration of nano-scale particles, characterized in that: said optical device combines an extinction method and a dynamic light scattering method to detect the concentration of nanoparticles ([0127]),
said optical device comprises a sample pool (201), an APD detector (207), an PD detector (206), a laser device (202), a lens (203), a data acquisition card (102, 103) (Fig. 1B, 2A-B; [0071]; [0098], lines 1-9 and last 12 lines; [0099]; [0124]);
an incident light beam of said laser device is irradiated onto a sample in said sample pool through the lens where the lens is arranged to converge the light beam ([0100]);
a scattered light signal of the sample is received by said APD detector connected to said optical fiber at 90° or backward (Fig. 2A-B; [0103]-[0104]; [0171]);
said PD detector is placed in a 0° direction of laser incidence to detect an intensity of the transmitted laser (Fig. 2A-B; [0103]-[0104]; [0171]).
Shi does not disclose a rotating wheel;
a control unit and a microprocessor having a signal input terminal receiving instructions from said control unit, and an output terminal outputting control signals connected to a motor control loop;
an incident light beam of said laser device is irradiated onto a sample in said sample pool through a neutral density filter and a lens, said neutral density filter is arranged to adjust an intensity of the incident light beam, and the lens is arranged to converge the light beam;
in a light path, neutral density filters are installed in said rotating wheel, ten neutral density filters with different attenuation rates and one light-transmitting hole without filter installed are installed on the rotating wheel, said neutral density filters or said light-transmitting hole without filter installed thereon of said rotating wheel is arranged in the incident light path by rotating a motor.
However, Moon, in the same field of endeavor of particle measurement systems and methods, discloses a rotating wheel (see Fig. 2 showing the wheel with neutral density filter 21 on its surface and its central axis connected to motor 22) (Fig. 2; [0039]; [0050]);
a control unit (10 – control unit) and a microprocessor (2 – output control unit, 23 - controller) having a signal input terminal receiving instructions from said control unit, and an output terminal outputting control signals connected to a motor control loop (Fig. 1-2; [0039]; [0050]; [0053]);
an incident light beam of said laser device is irradiated onto a sample in said sample pool through a neutral density filter and a lens, said neutral density filter is arranged to adjust an intensity of the incident light beam, and the lens is arranged to converge the light beam ([0050]-[0053]);
in a light path, a neutral density filter (21) is installed on the rotating wheel and arranged in the incident light path and is rotated by a motor (22) (Fig. 1-2; [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shi with a rotating neutral density filter in the path of the incident light, and a control unit to control adjustments to the intensity of the light beam during the measurement process where the motivation would be to keep the output of the light beam at a constant level, improving the accuracy of the measurements made by limiting the influence of variations in laser beam strength or external light conditions (Moon: [0050]; [0053]).
Shi in view of Moon does not explicitly disclose that in a light path, neutral density filters are installed in said rotating wheel, ten neutral density filters with different attenuation rates and one light-transmitting hole without filter installed are installed on the rotating wheel, said neutral density filters or said light-transmitting hole without filter installed thereon of said rotating wheel is arranged in the incident light path by rotating a motor.
However, Goebel, in the same field of endeavor of particle measurement systems and methods, discloses a system where, in a light path, neutral density filters (54) are installed on a rotating wheel (58), ten neutral density filters with different attenuation rates and one light-transmitting hole (though Goebel does not explicitly disclose a light transmitting hole in the rotating wheel, Fig. 2 shows that the neutral density filter 54 can be removed from the light path; it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that positioning the neutral density filter outside of the light path is equivalent to allowing the laser beam to pass through a hole in the filter where both features would still require some mechanism for controlling the position of the hole/wheel and yield a reference measurement for light scattered by the sample without a neutral density filter adjustment) without filter installed are installed on the rotating wheel, said neutral density filters or said light-transmitting hole without filter installed thereon of said rotating wheel is arranged in the incident light path by rotating a motor ([0016]-[0017]; [0067], last 2 lines; [0072]; [0074], last 5 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shi in view of Moon’s with a plurality of neutral density filters on a rotating wheel, where the motivation would be to allow for flexibility in controlling the strength of light reduction where changes in external light conditions or laser strength may have a negative impact on measurement results while also providing predictability compared to continuous variable neutral density filter wheels.
Regarding claim 2, Shi in view of Moon and Goebel discloses the optical device for detecting a concentration of nano-scale particles according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses an optical system characterized in that: said sample pool (201) has a square or rectangular cross section, wherein opposite sides are parallel (See Fig. 2A-B; [0099]).
Regarding claim 3, Shi in view of Moon and Goebel discloses the optical device for detecting a concentration of nano-scale particles according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses an optical system characterized in that: said ten neutral density filters with different attenuation rates and said one light-transmitting hole without filter installed thereon can adjust a light transmission from 100% to one millionth of the light transmission (Goebel: [0016]; [0070]; [0074], lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 4, Shi in view of Moon and Goebel discloses the optical device for detecting a concentration of nano-scale particles according to claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses an optical system characterized in that: in a process of detecting I0 and detecting the original scattered light signal, said rotating wheel is automatically adjusted by the motor to select an appropriate neutral density filter to adjust an intensity of the incident laser beam, so that the transmitted light I0 is within a linear response range of said PD detector, and the original scattered light signal is within a linear response range of said APD (Goebel: [0025], last 6 lines; [0026]; [0070] – where calibrating the light intensity so “that the background illumination does not outshine the fluorescence in the image camera” is interpreted as implying adjustments to ensure that the measured electrical output is directly proportional to the amount of light entering each detector, i.e. the light signals are within the linear response range of their respective detectors).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0158615 A1) in view of Moon et al. (US 2009/0051900 A1) in view of Goebel et al. (US 2020/0383558 A1) in view of Lerche et al. (US 2022/0334047 A1) further in view of Sevick-Muraca et al. (US 7187441 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Shi in view of Moon and Goebel discloses a detection method applied by said optical device for detecting concentration of nano-scale particle according to claim 1 (Shi: [0127]), as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose a method characterized in that:
Step 1: collecting the original scattered light signal by said APD detector, processing calculation of correlation function, and performing multi-exponential fitting on the correlation function to obtain a particle size light intensity distribution of the particles in the sample, and by combining a wavelength of the laser, a known refractive index of the particles and a refractive index of a dispersant with Mie theory, converting the light intensity distribution into volume distribution, surface area distribution and number distribution, and the corresponding distribution intensities are all relative values;
Step 2: calculating an average surface area diameter D3,2 of the sample through the surface area distribution; and calculating an average particle size Di of each particle size peak through the volume distribution;
Step 3: collecting light intensity I0 in the transmission direction of the laser beam through a blank dispersant and light intensity IT in the transmission direction after passing through the sample by said PD detector, calculating an extinction coefficient Qe through combining the laser wavelength, the known refractive index of the particles, the refractive index of the dispersant and D3,2 with Mie theory, and calculating a volume fraction Φ of the sample by Qe and D3,2 through the extinction method;
Step 4: calculating a volume fraction Φi of each particle size peak by combining the area content of each particle size peak calculated from the volume distribution and the sample volume fraction;
Step 5: calculating a number concentration of each particle size peak by combining the average particle size within each particle size peak and volume fraction of each peak.
However, Lerche, in the same field of endeavor of particle measurement systems and methods, discloses a method (Fig. 6; [0161]) characterized in that:
Step 1: collecting original scattered light signal by an APD detector, processing calculation of correlation function, and performing multi-exponential fitting on the correlation function to obtain a particle size light intensity distribution of particles in a sample, and by combining a wavelength of a laser, a known refractive index of the particles and a refractive index of a dispersant with Mie theory, converting the light intensity distribution into volume distribution, surface area distribution and number distribution, and the corresponding distribution intensities are all relative values (Fig. 1a, 6 – steps 1, 3; Abstract; [0076]; [0080]; [0090]; [0138]; [0140]-[0142]; [0161] – although Lerche does not explicitly disclose performing multi-exponential fitting on a correlation function, the method discloses determining and/or correcting for deviations in particle size using known quantitative methods e.g., deconvolution, and comparing to experiment in order to obtain number-based distributions of features in the measured total population; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use alternative known mathematical methods to extract desired properties from measured data and desired distributions).
Step 2: calculating an average surface area diameter D3,2 of the sample through the surface area distribution; and calculating an average particle size Di of each particle size peak through the volume distribution (Fig. 6 – steps 9, 11 and 13; Abstract; [0025]; [0027]; [0032]; [0037] – where calculations of sample/particle properties from derived distributions is interpreted as being obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art);
Step 3: collecting light intensity I0 in a transmission direction of the laser beam through a blank dispersant and light intensity IT in the transmission direction after passing through the sample by a PD detector, calculating an extinction coefficient Qe through combining the laser wavelength, the known refractive index of the particles, the refractive index of the dispersant and D3,2 with Mie theory, and calculating a volume fraction Φ of the sample by Qe and D3,2 through the extinction method (Fig. 6 – steps 9, 11 and 13; [0037]; [0040]-[0041]; [0045]; [0133]; [0169] – though volume fractions are not explicitly disclosed, the method appears to indicate a means for classifying particle fractions according to features including size, shape, refractive index and number of particles requiring a stable laser beam cross-section and utilizing a comparison with reference particles interpreted as the blank dispersant).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shi in view of Moon and Goebel with a method which is able to determine characteristics of dispersed particles in a sample where the motivation would be to increase the size range that can be measure by the system without the need to change or adapt the geometry of the sample measurement chamber (Lerche: Abstract).
Shi in view of Moon, Goebel and Lerche does not explicitly disclose
Step 4: calculating a volume fraction Φi of each particle size peak by combining the area content of each particle size peak calculated from the volume distribution and the sample volume fraction;
Step 5: calculating a number concentration of each particle size peak by combining the average particle size within each particle size peak and volume fraction of each peak.
However, Sevick-Muraca, in the same field of endeavor of particle measurement systems and methods, discloses a method which calculates a volume fraction Φi of each particle size peak by combining area content of each particle size peak calculated from a volume distribution (interpreted as particle size distribution – see Table 10) and a sample volume fraction (Fig. 2 – steps 520, 530, 543; Abstract; ); calculating a number concentration of each particle size peak by combining the average particle size within each particle size peak and volume fraction of each peak (where the determination of a number concentration from a derived average particle size and volume fraction would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be a routine mathematical calculation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shi in view of Moon, Goebel and Lerche with a method which can iteratively update the particle size distribution and volume fraction, improving the accuracy of size distribution estimates and volume fraction at high concentrations and ascertaining information about the behavior of colloidal suspensions and emulsions (Sevick-Muraca: Col. 20, lines 19-41).
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877