DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the application filed 4/10/205.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (CA 2202941).
With respect to claim 1, Wong (CA 2202941) is directed to a process for “depolymerization” of waste plastic material, including pyrolysis oil. Page 2. The process includes heating and reacting a feedstream comprising plastics to produce a pyrolysis oil. Pages 3-5, 8-13. The effluent is separated into a gaseous stream, a liquid stream, and a bottoms stream having paraffin wax and unreacted thermoplastics. Page 5. At the conclusion of the reaction, the heaters were turned off and allowed to cool and solidify. Page 17. Gases products are drawn from the reactor separately. The liquid is removed from the reactor/ tank through a valve in the bottom of the reactor. The solid was manually removed from the reactor. Page 16. The process may be a continuous process. Page 12. The liquid stream may then “be fed to a gasoline refiner” where it may be subject to e.g. naphtha steam cracking for the production of ethylene (i.e. olefins). Page 13. Pumping is a well-known and obvious means of feeding a liquid from one unit to another. The paraffin stream may be further dissolved in light oil or naphtha and passed to cracking. Page 13; claim 31. It is expected or else would have been obvious to heat during dissolve and processing of the paraffin wax to ensure flowable and capable of processing.
With respect to claim 3, Wong discloses removing the liquid from the bottom of the reactor, which includes a level no lower than 1 to 10 inches above the bottom of the tank.
With respect to claim 4, Wong discloses cooling to precipitate the wax. It would have been obvious to utilize any known cooler to achieve the desired reduction in effluent temperature. Additionally, it has been held that apparatus limitations are not entitled to patentable weight in method claims and do not support the patentability of the subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the criticality and superior results of the limitations. See Ex Parte Norio Akamatsu (BPAI 1992) and In re Gelnovatch, 595 F.2d 32, 37, 210 USPQ 136, 141 (CCPA 1979). Therefore, cooler apparatus using a circulating fluid through the tank or coil would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill to house the pyrolysis oil for separation absent a showing of criticality and superior results achieve from reaching the desired cold temperature using this type of cooler.
With respect to claim 5, Wong is silent regarding the cold filter plugging point of the pyrolysis oil stream. However, the process is designed for the removal of wax from the pyrolysis oil. Removal of the wax prevents downstream problems with processing such as The removal of wax affects the cold flow properties including the cold filter plugging point. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to operate the solids removal step to achieve the desired cold filter plugging point of the pyrolysis oil stream.
With respect to claim 8, Wong discloses cooling and separating a (1) paraffin wax in solid form and a (2) pyrolysis oil in liquid form. The art does not expressly state the separation occurs in a tank located in a bulk transportation vessel or vehicle. However, the claim is directed to a process and not an apparatus. It has been held that apparatus limitations are not entitled to patentable weight in method claims and do not support the patentability of the subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the criticality and superior results of the limitations. See Ex Parte Norio Akamatsu (BPAI 1992) and In re Gelnovatch, 595 F.2d 32, 37, 210 USPQ 136, 141 (CCPA 1979). Therefore, the separation tank taking the form of a bulk transportation vessel or vehicle would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill to house the pyrolysis oil for separation absent a showing of criticality and superior results.
Claim(s) 2, 6-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (CA 2202941) as applied to claims 1, 3-5 and 8 above, further in view of Willem (WO 2021115982).
With respect to claim 2, Wong discloses cooling to precipitate the wax but is silent regarding the temperature. Willem discloses dewaxing pyrolysis oil by reducing the temperature comprising “a) mixing the liquid hydrocarbon feedstock stream with a solvent resulting in a liquid mixture; b) cooling the liquid mixture obtained in step a) to a temperature in the range of from +5 °C to -30 °C to obtain wax crystals in the mixture; c) separating wax crystals from the cooled liquid mixture obtained in step b) to produce a wax comprising aliphatic hydrocarbons and a dewaxed liquid mixture comprising solvent.” Abstract. Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cool the pyrolysis oil in the process of Wong to a temperature in the range of -30 to 5C as taught in Willem because both are directed to reducing temperature of pyrolysis oil to precipitate the wax for separation and Willem discloses a temperature range which allows the precipitation.
With respect to claim 6, Williem discloses the feed may have “for example of from 5 to 50 carbon atoms”, leaving paraffin wax in the range up to C50 and overlapping the claimed range of carbon atoms ranging from C18 to C36.
With respect to claim 7, Williem discloses wherein the aliphatic hydrocarbons may be up to 100% paraffinic and may be cyclic, linear and branched and the aliphatic. Page 7-8 This includes 80-90 wt. % normal paraffin content and 10-20 wt. % branched paraffins (iso- paraffins) and cycloparaffins.
With respect to claim 9-10 and 13-15, Wong discloses sending the pyrolysis liquid to a first cracking unit comprising steam cracking to produce olefins and sending the paraffin to a cracking unit to produce olefins. Wong is silent regarding the operating temperature of the steam cracking reactor. Cracking of pyrolysis oil is known in the art. Williem steam cracking pyrolysis oil is performed at elevated temperatures, preferably in the range of from 650 to 1000 °C to produce olefins. The temperature encompasses the claimed range of 775 to 825 C or 826 to 875 C. Therefore, before filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a temperature of 650-1000C for cracking the pyrolysis oil of Wong as disclosed in Williem because Wong teaches sending the pyrolysis oil to cracking to produce olefins and Williem discloses a specific process for treating pyrolysis oil to produce olefins.
With respect to claims 11-12, Wong discloses producing ethylene. Page 13.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771