DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/10/2025 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “is may be” and should recite - - may be - - .
Claim 10 recites “he” and should recite - - The - - .
Claim 16 recites “the first outlet end A1” and should recite - - the first outlet end - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11, line 4, recites “the first vertical line A1”. However, it is unclear what “first vertical line” is being referred to because there is a lack of antecedent basis for a “first vertical line A1”. For purposes of examination “the first vertical line A1” will be considered - - a first vertical line A1 - - .
Claim 11, line 5, recites “the inlet outlet end”. It is unclear what “inlet outlet end” is being referred to because there is a lack of antecedent basis for an “inlet outlet end”. For purposes of examination “the first inlet end” will be considered - -
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chandra et al. (US 20190383543).
Per claim 1, Chandra teaches
a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (120) having a storage space;
a door (128) configured to open and close the storage space;
an ice maker (160) provided in the door or the cabinet and configured to generate ice; and
a dispenser (140) provided in the door and configured to discharge ice generated by the ice
maker,
wherein the dispenser includes a dispenser housing (152) configured to form a receiving space (150),
an ice chute (202) configured to form an ice path (208) through which the ice generated by the ice maker moves, a cap duct (214) configured to open and close the ice path,
wherein the ice chute includes a chute body (body of 202) having an ice inlet and an ice outlet,
the ice inlet includes a first inlet end (see annotated figure below) and a second inlet end (see annotated figure below) spaced apart from the first
inlet end (see figure 4),
the second inlet end (see annotated figure below) is disposed closer to a front surface of the door (128) than the first inlet end (see annotated figure below) (see figure 4),
wherein the chute body includes a first extension wall (see annotated figure below) extending from the first inlet end (see annotated figure below), and a second extension wall (see annotated figure below) extending from the second inlet end (see annotated figure below),
the first extension wall is inclined in a direction closer to the second extension wall from an upper side to a lower side (see figure 4), and
the second extension wall is inclined in a direction closer to the first extension wall from an upper side to a lower side (see figure 4).
Per claim 3, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 2. Further, Chandra, as modified, teaches wherein a vertical length of the first extension wall (see annotated figure below) is greater than a vertical length of the second extension wall (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 4, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Chandra teaches wherein a length of the ice outlet in a front-back direction of the door is less than a length of the ice outlet in a left-right direction of the door (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 5, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Chandra teaches wherein the ice outlet includes a first outlet end (see annotated figure below) and a second outlet end (see annotated figure below) spaced apart from the first outlet end, and the second outlet end is disposed closer to a front surface of the door than the first outlet end (see figure 4).
Per claim 6, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein a first virtual line (see annotated figure below) passing through a point that bisects the first outlet end (see annotated figure below) and the second outlet end (see annotated figure below) in a front-back direction of the door is disposed closer to a front surface of the door (128) than a second virtual line (see annotated figure below) passing through a point that bisects the first inlet end and the second inlet end in a front-back direction of the door (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 7, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein a third vertical line A3 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first inlet end may be disposed outside the ice outlet (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 8, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 7. Further, Chandra teaches wherein an entirety of the ice path (path through 200) is disposed between the third vertical line A3 and a front surface of the door (see figure 4 and the annotated figure directly above).
Per claim 10, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance between a fourth vertical line A4 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the second inlet end and a second vertical line A2 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the second outlet end is less than a distance between a first vertical line A1 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first outlet end and a third vertical line A3 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first inlet end.
Per claim 11, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance between the first vertical line A1 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first outlet end and a third vertical line A3 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first inlet end is greater than a distance between the first vertical line A1 (see annotated figure below) and a second vertical line A2 extending vertically from the second outlet end (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 12, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein the ice chute further includes a fixing portion (see annotated figure below) extending from the first extension wall (see first annotated figure above) to be coupled to the dispenser housing (152) (to clarify, all elements of an assembly are considered to be “coupled” to one another structurally (directly/indirectly) or thermally).
Per claim 13, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 12. Further, Chandra teaches wherein the fixing portion (see annotated figure directly above) is disposed between a first vertical line A1 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first outlet end and a third vertical line A3 extending vertically from the first inlet end (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 14, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein in a state in which the cap duct opens the ice path (see figure 4), a fourth vertical line A4 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the second inlet end (see first annotated figure above) may not pass through the cap duct.
Per claim 15, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 14. Further, Chandra teaches wherein a rotation center of the cap duct is disposed between the fourth vertical line A4 and a front surface of the door (outer surface of 128).
Per claim 16, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein in a state in which the cap duct closes the ice path, a first vertical line A1 (see annotated figure below) extending vertically from the first outlet end (see first annotated figure above) may not pass through the cap duct.
Per claim 17, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein the dispenser further includes an ice guide (204) having an outlet (212) through which ice passing through the ice chute is discharged, and a center of the ice outlet (see annotated figure below) of the ice guide is disposed between a fourth vertical line (see annotated figure below) A4 extending vertically from the second inlet end and a front surface of the door (front surface of 128).
Per claim 18, Chandra teaches a refrigerator comprising:
a cabinet (120) having a storage space;
a door (128) configured to open and close the storage space;
an ice maker (160) provided in the door or the cabinet and configured to generate ice; and
a dispenser (140) provided in the door and configured to discharge ice generated by the ice maker,
wherein the dispenser includes a dispenser housing (152) configured to form a receiving space (150),
an ice chute (202) configured to provide an ice path (208) through which the ice generated by the ice maker moves,
wherein the ice chute includes a chute body (body of 202) having an ice inlet and an ice outlet,
the ice inlet includes a first inlet end (see first annotated figure above) and a second inlet end (see first annotated figured above) spaced apart from the first
inlet end,
the second inlet end is disposed closer to a front surface of the door than the first inlet end (see figure 4),
the ice outlet includes a first outlet end (see first annotated figure above) and a second outlet end (see first annotate figure above) spaced apart from the first
outlet end (see figure 4),
wherein the second outlet end is disposed closer to a front surface of the door than the first outlet end (see figure 4),
with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance between a fourth vertical line (see annotated figure below) A4 extending vertically from the second inlet end and a second vertical line (see annotated figure below) A2 extending vertically from the second outlet end is less than a distance between the second vertical line (see annotated figure below) A2 and a first vertical line (see annotated figure below) A1 extending vertically from the first outlet end.
Per claim 19, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 18. Further, Chandra teaches wherein with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance (see annotated figure below) between a fourth vertical line (see annotated figure below) A4 extending vertically from the second inlet end and a second vertical line (see annotated figure below) A2 extending vertically from the second outlet end is less than a distance (see annotated figure below) between a first vertical line (see annotated figure below) A1 extending vertically from the first outlet end and a third vertical line(see annotated figure below) A3 extending vertically from the first inlet end.
Per claim 20, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 18. Further, Chandra teaches wherein with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance (see annotated figure below) between the first vertical line (see annotated figure below) A1 extending vertically from the first outlet end and a third vertical line (see annotated figure below) A3 extending vertically from the first inlet end is greater than a distance (see annotated figure below) between the first vertical line (see annotated figure below) A1 and a second vertical line (see annotated figure below) A2 extending vertically from the second outlet end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra et al. (US 20190383543).
Per claim 2, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Chandra teaches an inclination angle of the first extension wall with respect to a horizontal plane (see annotated figure below) and an inclination angle of the second extension wall (see annotated figure below) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the inclination angle of the first extension wall is equal to or greater than an inclination angle of the second extension wall.
However, it is noted that the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a change in angle. There is no evidence of record that this claimed angle is critical or produces any unexpended results. In fact, it appears that a device having the claimed angle would not operate differently than the device disclosed by Chandra. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the inclination angle of the first extension wall is equal to or greater than an inclination angle of the second extension wall since it has been held that changes in size/proportion when the claimed device and a prior art device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04, section IV, paragraph A, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.”).
Per claim 9, Chandra meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 5. Further, Chandra teaches wherein with respect to a front-back direction of the door, a distance between a fourth vertical line A4 extending vertically from the second inlet end and a second vertical line A2 extending vertically from the second outlet end (see annotated figure below) and a distance between the second vertical line A2 and a first vertical line A1 extending vertically from the first outlet end (see annotated figure below) but fails to explicitly teach the distance between the fourth and second vertical lines being less than the distance between the second and first vertical lines.
However, it is noted that the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is a change in size. There is no evidence of record that this claimed proportion is critical or produces any unexpended results. In fact, it appears that a device having the claimed proportions would not operate differently than the device disclosed by Chandra. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the distance between the fourth and second vertical lines be less than the distance between the second and first vertical lines since it has been held that changes in size/proportion when the claimed device and a prior art device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04, section IV, paragraph A, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Culley et al. (US 20080156011) teaches a refrigerator including an ice maker, dispenser, and a chute.
Jeong et al. (US 20180164017) teaches a refrigerator including an ice maker, dispenser, and a chute.
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763