Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 9, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Arteta et al., WO 2020 101932).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-3, a multi-piece sealing plug for sealing a panel opening (6) in a panel (5), the multi-piece sealing plug comprising:
a cap (4) defining a central portion and a lip portion (4 has a central portion and a lip portion extending toward 5);
a collar (42) protruding perpendicularly from an underside of the cap (3) and configured to extend into the panel opening (6);
an outer clip (2) configured to engage the collar (42) and the panel opening (6); and
a sealing lip (portion of 3 extending toward 5) coupled to the lip portion and configured to contact the panel (5) when assembled (Figure 3.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug of claim 1, wherein the cap and the collar are fabricated from a rigid plastic material (Para. [0032].)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug of claim 1, wherein the central portion (41) is round (Figure 1.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, wherein the sealing lip (portion of 3 toward 5) is coupled to the cap (4) via an interference fit or adhesive (Figures 1-3.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, wherein the sealing lip (portion of 3 toward 5) defines an outer leg (portion of 3 that contacts 5) that extends outwardly from a central axis of the multi-piece sealing plug (Figure 3.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, wherein the outer clip (2) is configured to surround the collar (42) when assembled (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, wherein the collar (42) defines a ledge (axial edge toward 2) configured to engage the outer clip (2, Figures 2-3.)
For claim 14, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug of claim 13, wherein the outer clip (2) comprises a first feature (axial end of 2 toward 6) configured to guide the outer clip (2) during assembly, a second feature (tip of 2) configured to engage the collar (42), and a third feature (bottom of groove of 2 that receives 42) configured to engage the collar (42) via the ledge (Figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Arteta et al., WO 2020 101932) in view of D2 (Weiler, US Pub. 2014-0361015).
For claim 2, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the central portion comprises one or more cross members.
D2 teaches a sealing plug with central portion having a plurality of cross members 46 to provide stability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with the central portion to have one or more cross members, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing stability.
For claim 3, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the lip portion (112b) comprises a plurality of notches (504) distributed along a perimeter the lip portion (112b).
D2 teaches a sealing plug with multiple sealing portion (portion of 20 and 22) having notches on both sides and provides effective sealing (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lip portion of D1 with a plurality of notches distributed along a perimeter the lip portion, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing effective sealing.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Arteta et al., WO 2020 101932) in view of D3 (Jaeger et al., US 6,319,436).
For claim 8, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the sealing lip (118) is coupled to the cap (112) via a 2k molding process.
D2 teaches a sealing plug made of 2k molding process (abstract) for controlled molding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the sealing lip is coupled to the cap via a 2k molding process, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a controlled molding.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Arteta et al., WO 2020 101932) in view of D4 (Ulsamer et al., DE 10 2017 128814).
For claim 10, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the sealing lip (118) defines an inner leg (118b) that extends inwardly toward a central axis (204) of the multi-piece sealing plug (110).
D4 teaches, in Figure 4, a device the lip 22 with an inner leg (protrusion toward central axis) extends inwardly toward central axis for secured sealing contact. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the sealing lip defines an inner leg that extends inwardly toward a central axis of the multi-piece sealing plug, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured sealing contact.
For claim 11, D1 discloses the multi-piece sealing plug (110) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the sealing lip (118) defines an inner leg (118b) that extends inwardly toward a central axis (204) of the multi-piece sealing plug (110) and an outer leg (118a) that extends outwardly from the central axis (204) of the multi-piece sealing plug (110).
D4 teaches, in Figure 4, a device the lip 22 with an inner leg (protrusion toward central axis) extends inwardly toward central axis and an outer leg (protrusion away from axis) for secured sealing contact. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the sealing lip defines an inner leg that extends inwardly toward a central axis and an outer leg that extends outwardly from the central axis of the multi-piece sealing plug, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured sealing contact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied include US 9,609,972 – Hot plug; US 7,114,632 – Sealing cover; and US 2021-0048105 – Sealing plug.
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675