DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 7/10/2025. Currently claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miyamae (JP 2017 105 564 A), hereafter, referred to as “Miyamae”, in view of Horigome et al. (JPH 06 399 07 A), hereafter, referred to as “Horigome”.
Regarding claim 1, and 6-7, Miyamae teaches a rotational conveyance system and a synchronous operation regulation device for a rotary conveyance part, and the method for controlling the rotary conveyance device, the synchronous operation regulation device comprising: an image acquisition unit that acquires a captured image showing a first mark that is a portion of a first rotary conveyance part and a second mark that is a part of a second rotary conveyance part of a pair of rotary conveyance parts that transfer a workpiece between a first gripper provided to the first rotary conveyance part and a second gripper provided to the second rotary conveyance part while rotating relative to each other; a displacement amount specification unit that specifies the amount of displacement between the positional relationship between the first mark and the second mark shown in the captured image and a prescribed target positional relationship; and a rotation control unit that controls the rotational driving of at least one of the first rotary conveyance part and the second rotary conveyance part so as to reduce the amount of displacement (claims 1 and 6). Furthermore, it is found that, in order to drive the rotary conveyance parts in the rotation direction, the foregoing has a motor and a drive mechanism that transmits the power of the motor to the rotary conveyance parts.
But Miyamae fails to explicitly teach that the foregoing is provided with a positioning part that engages with the rotary conveyance parts at a stop position and restrains the rotary conveyance parts in the horizontal direction. However, Horigome teaches a rotary-drive-type blow-molding machine wherein a lock pin 50 is positioned by being inserted into a positioning hole 54 of a rotary disk 6 (para. [0025]). Additionally, Miyamae and Horigome pertain to rotational conveyance in a blow-molding machine (para. [0004], Miyamae; and para. [0001] of Horigome). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Horigome, and easily apply the feature of providing a positioning part that engages with the rotary conveyance parts at a stop position and restrains the rotary conveyance parts in the horizontal direction to the invention disclosed in Miyamae, in order to transfer a workpiece at a suitable position, provide a positioning hole in the rotary conveyance parts, and restrain the rotary conveyance parts in the horizontal direction by using a lock pin. It would also have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that a non-transitory storage medium on which is stored a computer program for causing a computer of a rotary conveyance device (as part of control unit), the rotary conveyance device including a conveyance body configured to rotationally convey a workpiece between a plurality of stations by moving in a rotation direction.
Regarding claim 2, Horigome teaches that correction is performed with respect to a stop position ahead in the rotation direction to which the rotary conveyance parts have advanced by an inertial force. Therefore, it would not be particularly difficult to configure the invention disclosed by Miyamae, such that the rotational drive is controlled by using, as the amount of displacement, the position stopped after the rotary conveyance parts have moved due to inertia.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being directly or indirectly dependent upon rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject
matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of references (of record) do not teach or fairly suggest the (by themselves or in combination) a rotary conveyance device, “wherein the control unit detects the first stop position and the second stop position based on a rotation amount of the
motor”.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of references (of record) do not teach or fairly suggest the (by themselves or in combination) a rotary conveyance device, “wherein the control unit detects a gap of a gear of the drive mechanism by driving the motor in a conveyance direction with a torque at which the conveyance body to be restrained does not move after detecting the second stop position, and the control unit determines a shift direction of the conveyance body when the positioning unit engages with the conveyance body based on a size of the gap.”
Claim 5 depend on claim 4.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner included a few prior arts which were not used in the rejection but are relevant to the disclosure.
JP 2007 069 241 A (Fujioka et al.): Fujioka teaches to provide a method and an apparatus for rotary type blow-molding capable of enhancing the added value, increasing the production rate, and reducing the production cost through the blow molding for matching the pattern of a container with an expansion part. Fujioka teaches a rotary blow molding apparatus comprising: a continuously rotating member; a plurality of holding means provided on the periphery of the rotating member for holding the upper or lower part of a pre-molded body having one end open and the other closed; a blow molding die provided on the central side of the rotating member for each of the holding means for blow molding the pre-molded body; a circumferential positioning means provided on the rotating member for each of the holding means, having a sensor for detecting the angular position of the pre-molded body with respect to the circumferential direction and a positioning motor for controlling the angular position of the pre-molded body with respect to the circumferential direction based on the detection signal of the sensor; and a moving means provided on the rotating member for moving the holding means at least between a pre-molded body transfer position and a blow molding position.
US 5,229,143 (Ogura et al.): Ogura teaches a rotary blow molding machine comprising: extruder means for extruding a parison, a turntable arranged under said extruder means and having plural sets of mold means mounted thereon for holding said parison therebetween and for blow-molding the parison, motor means for rotating said turntable, an annular driven gear provided on said turntable, a driving gear driven by said motor means, and one pair of idle gear means for substantially reducing backlash between said driven gear and said driving gear, said idle gear means being positioned between and meshing with both said driven gear and said driving gear for transmitting the rotation of said motor to said turntable.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742