DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/14/2025 was filed after the effective filing date of the instant application on 04/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2023/123752, filed on 10/10/2023, in which the certified copy has been retrieved,.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendments were filed on 04/10/2025 to the Specification and to the Claims have been accepted and entered.
Claims 18-19 and 22 have been canceled.
Claim 23 has been newly added.
Claims 1-17, 20-21 and 23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al (KR 101493729 B1 – an English translation version is provided herein in which the cited paragraphs corresponding to the original document).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a content presentation method, comprising:
displaying a first interface in a first display mode, and presenting first media content in a first manner in the first interface, wherein the first interface is configured to present shared media content in a shared media stream, and the shared media stream includes a media stream corresponding to shared interaction performed between a first user and at least one second user (Figures 23-24 and 31-33; ¶ [0089]-[0093] and ¶ [0105]-[0110] for displaying shared media content or a shared live video in a portrait mode in a first interface which presents shared content to a first user and his/her friends corresponding to a shared content request from the first user);
determining that a current display mode of the first interface is a second display mode, wherein the second display mode is different from the first display mode; and presenting the first media content in a second manner in the first interface, wherein the second manner is different from the first manner (Figures 25a-b; ¶ [0094]-[0100] and ¶ [0110]-[0111] for determining a changing output mode of the first interface from portrait mode to landscape mode, displaying the shared media content or shared live video in full screen of landscape mode).
Regarding claim 2, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Song further discloses wherein the second display mode includes a horizontal display mode, the second manner includes a horizontal manner, and before determining that the current display mode of the first interface is the horizontal display mode, the method further comprises: in response to the horizontal display mode being triggered, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the first display mode to the horizontal display mode (Figures 24-25; and ¶ [0092]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Song further discloses wherein the second display mode comprises a horizontal display mode, the second manner comprises a horizontal manner, and after presenting the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface (Figures 25a-b; ¶ [0094]-[0100] and ¶ [0110]-[0111]), in response to a preset operation input by the first user, implementing a first preset function on the first interface, wherein the preset operation is configured to implement a second preset function in a case that the first interface is in a vertical display mode (Figures 26-27).
Regarding claim 10, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 9. Song further discloses wherein in response to the preset operation input by the first user, implementing the first preset function on the first interface includes:
in response to a preset switching operation input by the first user, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to the vertical display mode, wherein the preset switching operation is configured to switch shared media content presented on the first interface in a case that the first interface is in the vertical display mode (Figures 26-27 and 32-33).
Regarding claim 20, all functionalities of an electronic device in claim 20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 1. Song discloses an electronic device comprising at least one processor; and a storage apparatus (Figure 34).
Regarding claims 21, all limitations of claim 21 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, all limitations of claim 23 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (KR 101493729 B1) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0121482).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Song further discloses the second display mode includes a horizontal display mode, the second manner includes a horizontal manner (Figures 24-25), but is silent about after presenting the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface, in response to a floating display mode being triggered, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to the floating display mode; and in the first interface displayed in a form of a horizontal floating control, continuing to present the first media content in the horizontal manner.
Lee discloses after presenting the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface, in response to a floating display mode being triggered, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to the floating display mode; and in the first interface displayed in a form of a horizontal floating control, continuing to present the first media content in the horizontal manner (Figures 5 and 7; and ¶ [0186]-[0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song system with the teaching of Lee, so to provide an alternative way of presenting contents in a user interface in a matter of designed choices.
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Lee discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. The combined system further discloses after in response to the floating display mode being triggered, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to the floating display mode, displaying a preset interface in a vertical display mode (Lee’s Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Song further discloses the second display mode includes a horizontal display mode, the second manner includes a horizontal manner, and after presenting the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface, in response to a second trigger operation input by the first user for a session interaction control corresponding to the shared interaction, displaying a session interaction interface corresponding to the shared interaction and continuing to present the first media content in the first interface (Figures 25-26 and 32-33), but is silent about switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to a floating display mode for continuing to present the first media content in a form of a floating control.
Lee discloses after presenting the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface, in response to a second trigger operation input by the first user, switching the current display mode of the first interface from the horizontal display mode to a floating display mode; and continuing to present the first media content in the first interface displayed in a form of a floating control (Figures 5 and 7; and ¶ [0186]-[0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song system with the teaching of Lee, so to provide an alternative way of presenting contents in a user interface in a matter of designed choices.
Regarding claim 7, Song in view of Lee discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. The combined system further discloses wherein displaying the session interaction interface corresponding to the shared interaction comprises: displaying a session interaction interface corresponding to the shared interaction in a vertical display mode (Song’s Figures 26 and 32-33); and
wherein continuing to present the first media content in the first interface displayed in the form of the floating control comprises: continuing to present the first media content in the horizontal manner in the first interface displayed in a form of a horizontal floating control (Lee’s Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Song in view of Lee discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. The combined system further discloses after displaying the session interaction interface corresponding to the shared interaction, receiving first session information input by the first user based on the session interaction interface (Song’s Figures 25-26 and 32-33).
Claims 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (KR 101493729 B1) in view of Liu et al (US 2021/0127171).
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Song further discloses the first media content comprises a live stream in a live broadcast room, wherein presenting the first media content in the first interface in the second manner comprises: presenting the first media content and comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface (Figures 31-33; ¶ [0104]-[0117]).
Song is silent about the display mode comprises a bullet comment display mode, and presenting the first media content and bullet comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface.
Liu discloses the first media content comprises a live stream in a live broadcast room, the display mode comprises a bullet comment display mode, and presenting the first media content and bullet comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface (Figures 4-5 and 7; ¶ [0047]-[0052], ¶ [0094]-[0096] and ¶ [0110]-[0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Song system with the teaching of Liu, so to provide an alternative way of presenting live content stream in a bullet comment display mode in a live broadcast room as a matter of designed choices in the benefits of improving user viewing experience.
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Liu discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 11. The combined system further discloses after presenting the first media content and the bullet comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface, the method further comprises at least one of the following: receiving a first target message input by the first user, wherein the first target message includes a conversation message for a participating user of the shared interaction to view; and receiving a second target message input by the first user, wherein the second target message includes bullet comment information for audience in the live broadcast room to view (Song’s Figures 31-33; and taught by Liu; Figure 7; ¶ [0050]-[0053], ¶ [0088]-[0095] and ¶ [0110]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Liu discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 11. The combined system further discloses after presenting the first media content and the bullet comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface, the method further comprises: in response to a bullet comment hiding operation input by the first user, canceling a presentation of the bullet comment information area (taught by Liu; Figures 11-12, 14 and 17; ¶ [0125] and ¶ [0142]).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Liu discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 13. The combined system further discloses wherein in response to the bullet comment hiding operation input by the first user, canceling the presentation of the bullet comment information area comprises: in response to a third trigger operation input by the first user for a preset area in the first interface, canceling the presentation of the bullet comment information area, wherein the preset area and the bullet comment information area do not have an intersection (taught by Liu; Figure 16 and ¶ [0150]-[0151] and ¶ [0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claim 15, Song in view of Liu discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 11. The combined system further discloses after presenting the first media content and the bullet comment information area corresponding to the first media content in the first interface, the method further comprises: in response to a fourth trigger operation input by the first user for a bullet comment release control, displaying a preset input control in the first interface; and receiving first bullet comment information input by the first user based on the preset input control (taught by Liu; ¶ [0047]-[0053], ¶ [0150]-[0151] and ¶ [0154]-[0155]).
Regarding claim 17, Song in view of Liu discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 11. The combined system further discloses in response to receiving second session information based on the shared interaction sent by the second user, displaying the second session information in a target associated area of a user identification corresponding to the second user in the first interface (Song’s Figures 19-26 and 32-33), wherein the target associated area is different from the bullet comment information area (taught by Liu; Figures 4-5 and 11-16; ¶ [0052]-[0053] and ¶ [0110]-[0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421