DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the louver detection submodule is configured to determine whether the louver is in an open state or a closed state by detecting a moving distance of a louver connecting rod of the louver device through a position sensor as recited in claim 5;
the current sensor provided on a power cable of a fan and a rotation speed feedback wire provided between a fan controller and the fan, a current value variation and a rotation speed variation of the fan device, to determine whether the fan device operates normally as recited in claim 6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“gas detection module,” “gas intake and discharge module” and “control module” in claim 1, where “module” is the placeholder and “gas detection,” “gas intake and discharge” and “control” are functional language;
“operation detection module” and “alarm module,” where “module” is the placeholder and “operation detection” and “alarm” are functional language
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." In the instant case, Applicant fails to include sufficient amount of direction as to how the louver detection submodule is configured to determine whether the louver is in an open state or a closed state by detecting a moving distance of a louver connecting rod of the louver device through a position sensor? Claim 5 recites “the louver detection submodule is configured to determine whether the louver is in an open state or a closed state by detecting a moving distance of a louver connecting rod of the louver device through a position sensor.” The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose, in detailed drawings and specification, how the louver detection submodule is configured to determine whether the louver is in an open state or a closed state by detecting a moving distance of a louver connecting rod of the louver device through a position sensor. The Examiner, hence the public, would not know if the louver detection submodule is detecting the louver by using electronic, mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic or a combination of all these means to achieve such determination? What device or devices is/are needed to detect a moving distance of a louver connecting rod? Is the detection of the moving distance of the louver connecting rod of the louver device is performed by the position sensor? Is the position sensor an electronic, mechanical or a combination of both, which means an electromechanics device? Is the louver detection submodule is configured to determine only two states (an open state or a closed state) of the louver? What happened if the louver is semi-opened or semi-closed? Is the open state or a closed state refers to fully open/closed states? Would it be reasonable to interpret the louver connecting rod as the flat horizontal or vertical slats of a louver device? Why and why not?
Based on the unknowns listed above, undue experimentations (in quantity and quality of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure) must be perform to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The Specification and the drawings fail to provide existence of working examples. Claims 1 and 5 recite a “system” as the Applicant’s invention, the breath of the claims are too broad for one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Applicant’s invention is a fire-fighting gas intake and discharge system, the level of predictability in the art (fire-fighting system) is rather low for one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Above listed questions were not satisfactorily resolved (from information available in the specification) and consequently raise doubt as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. Similar rejection applies to the limitations “the fan detection submodule is configured to monitor, through a current sensor provided on a power cable of a fan and a rotation speed feedback wire provided between a fan controller and the fan, a current value variation and a rotation speed variation of the fan device, to determine whether the fan device operates normally” as recited in claim 6.
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge system" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read -- the self-checking fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system.--
Claims 14 and 15 recite the limitation "the self-checking fire-fighting gas intake and discharge system" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read --the self-checking fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (李光立. CN113782851 (See attached English translation by Google Patents). Lee hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses a self-checking (automatic) fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system (Figs. 1 and 2), configured for (capable of) combustible gas detection (via 200, 500, 600) in an energy storage container (battery storage device), comprising: a gas detection module (200, 500, 600), configured to (capable of) detect a combustible gas concentration in the energy storage container (Page 4, fifth paragraph; Page 5, first, second, fourth and fifth paragraphs and Page 6, first and second paragraphs); a gas intake and discharge module (300 and 400), configured to (capable of) control ventilation in the energy storage container; and a control module (100), configured to (capable of) control operations of the gas detection module and the gas intake and discharge module, and control the gas intake and discharge module to (capable of) discharge a combustible gas in a case that the combustible gas concentration exceeds a preset concentration threshold (Page 5, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 1, further comprising an operation detection module (100, 300, 400) and an alarm module (800), wherein the operation detection module is configured to (capable of) detect an operation state (working state) of the gas intake and discharge module; and the control module is further configured to (capable of) control the alarm module to alarm (Page 5, fifth paragraph) in a case that the gas intake and discharge module operates abnormally (abnormal state).
With respect to claim 3, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 2, wherein the gas intake and discharge module is mounted in (within) the energy storage container, and comprises a louver device (310) and a fan device (410).
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 3, wherein the operation detection module comprises a louver detection submodule (operational control of 310) and a fan detection submodule (operational control of 410), wherein the louver detection submodule is configured to (capable of) determine the operation state of the gas intake and discharge module by detecting a state (ON/OFF) of a louver of the louver device; and the fan detection submodule is configured to (capable of) determine the operation state of the gas intake and discharge module by detecting current information and rotation speed information (ON/OFF) of the fan device.
With respect to claim 6, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 4, wherein the fan detection submodule is configured to (capable of) monitor, through a current sensor (of the control terminal) provided on a power cable of a fan (of 410) and a rotation speed feedback wire provided between a fan controller and the fan, a current value variation and a rotation (ON/OFF) speed variation of the fan device, to determine whether the fan device operates normally.
With respect to claim 7, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 2, further comprising: a temperature detection module (500), configured to (capable of) detect a temperature in the energy storage container; and a humidity detection module (600. In most smoke sources, such as cooking, or burning materials, would release water vapor along with particulate matter), configured to detect humidity in the energy storage container, wherein the control module is further configured to (capable of) control the gas intake and discharge module to operate in a case that the temperature exceeds a preset temperature threshold (second preset threshold. Page 5, fifth paragraph) and/or the humidity exceeds a preset humidity range (third preset threshold).
With respect to claim 8, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 2, further comprising a communication module (electrical lines or data links shown in Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the control module is configured to (capable of) receive commands (electrical signals) from (200-800 in Figs. 1 and 2) an exterior (outside of 100) through the communication module, and send state information (via the electrical signals) of the energy storage container to the exterior; and wherein the commands from the exterior comprise an operation command (detections from 200, 500, 600 and 700 in Figs. 1 and 2) for (capable of) controlling the gas intake and discharge module, and operation commands for controlling the gas detection module, the operation detection module, and a temperature detection module and/or a humidity detection module; and the state information comprises the combustible gas concentration, a temperature in the energy storage container, humidity in the energy storage container and the operation state of the gas intake and discharge module (Page 5, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 8, wherein the control module is further configured to (capable of) control the alarm module to alarm in a case that a communication abnormality occurs in the communication module (by shutting OFF the whole system).
With respect to claim 10, Lee discloses the fire-fighting gas intake and discharge control system according to claim 8, wherein the control module is configured to (capable of) control operations of the gas intake and discharge module, the gas detection module, the operation detection module, and the temperature detection module and/or the humidity detection module according to the commands from the exterior received by the communication module (Page 5, fourth and fifth paragraphs); or the control module is configured to (capable of) control the operations of the gas intake and discharge module, the gas detection module, the operation detection module, and the temperature detection module and/or the humidity detection module at a preset (predetermined) time interval (from the first preset threshold to the second preset threshold and finally to the third preset threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee.
With respect to claim 11, Lee discloses a control method (Figs. 1 and 2) of the self-checking fire-fighting gas intake and discharge system according to claim 2, comprising:
obtaining real-time data (electrical lines or data links shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the combustible gas concentration collected by the gas detection module;
sending, by the control module in a case that the combustible gas concentration is higher than the preset concentration threshold (Page 5, fourth and fifth paragraphs), a control (elements in 100) command (signal) to the gas intake and discharge module to control the gas intake and discharge module to discharge the combustible gas (by using 300 and 400);
obtaining real-time data of the operation state (working and non-working states) of the gas intake and discharge module collected by the operation detection module; and
alarming by the alarm module (Page 5, fifth paragraph) in a case that the operation state is abnormal (abnormal state).
Alternatively, Lee does not specifically disclose obtaining real-time data of the control method.
However, since Lee is disclosing a time sensitive protection device that is highly combustible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the disclosed data in real time during execution of the control method because enabling the controller to respond to changing operating conditions, maintain control accuracy, provide feedback, or update the control operation is highly critical in this kind of time sensitive protection device. Such modification would merely involve obtaining the already-disclosed operational/control data contemporaneously with execution of the control method, using known real-time monitoring/feedback techniques to improve the responsiveness of the disclosed control system. This interpretation is applies to pending claims 12 and 13.
With respect to claim 12, Lee discloses the control method according to claim 11, further comprising: obtaining real-time data of an ambient temperature (the surrounding temperature of the battery energy storage system) collected by a temperature detection module (using 500); in a case that the combustible gas concentration is higher than the preset concentration threshold (third detection signal. Page 5, fourth paragraph), sending, by the control module, the control command to the gas intake and discharge module to control the gas intake and discharge module to discharge the combustible gas (Page 6, first and second paragraphs); and in a case that the ambient temperature is higher than the preset temperature threshold (second preset threshold value. Page 5, third paragraph), sending, by the control module, another control command (signal) to a fire extinguishing module to control the fire extinguishing module to perform cooling or fire extinguishing, and alarming by the alarm module.
Lee fails to disclose in a case that the ambient temperature is lower than a preset temperature threshold.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to sending, by the control module, another control command in a case that the ambient temperature is lower than a preset temperature threshold if the condition of temperature lower than a preset temperature threshold is harmful to the system. Because enabling the controller to respond to changing operating conditions, maintain control accuracy, provide feedback, or update the control operation is highly critical in this kind of time sensitive protection device. Such modification would merely involve reversal of the essential working parts of a device (from detecting higher temperature to detecting lower temperature) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
With respect to claim 13, Lee discloses the control method according to claim 11, further comprising: obtaining real-time data of ambient humidity collected by a humidity detection module (by 600. In general conditions, smoke detectors are designed to sense smoke particles, not water vapor. However, high humidity, steam, or condensation can mimic smoke particles, causing the alarm to activate erroneously); and sending, by the control module in a case that the ambient humidity is higher than a preset humidity threshold, another control command (possibly erroneous signal) to the gas intake and discharge module to control the gas intake and discharge module to perform ventilation.
With respect to claims 14, 15 and 16, Lee discloses a control method (Figs. 1 and 2) of the self-checking fire-fighting gas intake and discharge system according to claims 3, 4 and 5, comprising:
obtaining real-time data (electrical lines or data links shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the combustible gas concentration collected by the gas detection module;
sending, by the control module in a case that the combustible gas concentration is higher than the preset concentration threshold (Page 5, fourth and fifth paragraphs), a control (elements in 100) command (signal) to the gas intake and discharge module to control the gas intake and discharge module to discharge the combustible gas (by using 300 and 400);
obtaining real-time data of the operation state (working and non-working states) of the gas intake and discharge module collected by the operation detection module; and
alarming by the alarm module (Page 5, fifth paragraph) in a case that the operation state is abnormal (abnormal state).
Alternatively, Lee does not specifically disclose obtaining real-time data of the control method.
However, since Lee is disclosing a time sensitive protection device that is highly combustible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the disclosed data in real time during execution of the control method because enabling the controller to respond to changing operating conditions, maintain control accuracy, provide feedback, or update the control operation is highly critical in this kind of time sensitive protection device. Such modification would merely involve obtaining the already-disclosed operational/control data contemporaneously with execution of the control method, using known real-time monitoring/feedback techniques to improve the responsiveness of the disclosed control system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a fire-fighting control system: Suzuki et al., Takanezawa et al. and Lee et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 September 11, 2026