DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 16-35 are pending in the application. Claims 16-35 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 09/27/2026. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, see discussion below.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
The applicant argued that Jia fails to teach or suggest to "determine one or more gradient values and one or more location values of spatial samples in the reference area to be used as input to a cross- component prediction model" and "predict the target samples of the at least one color channel of the image block unit using the cross-component prediction model based on at least the one or more gradient values and the one or more location values of the spatial samples in the reference area", as recited in one form or another by the amended independent claims.
As to the above argument, JIA discloses determining one or more gradient values and/or one or more location values of spatial samples in the reference area to be used as input to a cross-component prediction model with the location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in a cross-component prediction model (CCLM) mode with locations of the samples used for the derivation of α and β in EQUATION: 2-1 ([0174], FIG. 9)having location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode ([0174], [0180], FIG. 9).
JIA discloses predicting the target samples of the at least one color channel of the image block unit using the cross-component prediction model applying a cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction with chroma samples are predicted based on the reconstructed luma samples with the parameters (α and β) derived with at most four neighbouring chroma samples and their corresponding down-sampled luma samples ([0163], [0164]) based on at least the one or more gradient values and/or the one or more location values of the spatial samples in the reference area applying a gradient linear model (GLM) utilizes luma sample gradients to derive the linear model. A gradient G is replaced in the CCLM process without changing the other designs of CCLM ([0197]).
It should be further noted that Applicant has not presented any specific arguments with regards to the rejections of the dependent claims.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection with regards to above arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by JIA et al. (US 20250220236, hereinafter JIA).
Regarding Claim 16, JIA discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor ([0097] FIG. 1, coding system 100), cause the apparatus to:
receive an image block unit of a frame, the image block unit comprising samples in color channels, wherein the color channels comprise at least one chrominance channel and one luminance channel ([0141] FIG. 4, nominal vertical and horizontal locations of 4:2:2 luma and chroma samples in a picture: two chroma components are sampled at half the sample rate of luma: the horizontal chroma resolution is halved while the vertical chroma resolution is unchanged);
reconstruct samples of the luminance channel of the image block unit ([0163] reconstructing luma samples of the Coding Unit (CU); FIG. 10);
determine a reference area for predicting target samples of at least one color channel of the image block unit ([0163] predict chroma samples based on reconstructed luma samples in a cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction mode used in the VVC; [0197], FIGS. 11A and 8B, reference samples for position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC) applied over various prediction modes ), wherein the reference area comprises:
one or more reference samples in a neighboring block in a current color channel or the frame ([0174] FIG. 9, location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode);
one or more of reference samples in a neighboring of a co-located block in a reference color channel or the frame; and/or one or more of reference samples inside the co-located block in the reference color channel or the frame ([0189] neighboring luma samples and neighboring chroma samples of the current block -classified into several groups to derive a linear model such as Multi-Model Linear Model (MMLM); [0191], FIG. 10, classifying the neighboring samples into two groups in which a threshold is calculated as the average value of the neighboring reconstructed Luma samples)
determine one or more gradient values and/or one or more location values of spatial samples in the reference area to be used as input to a cross-component prediction model ([0174] FIG. 9, location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode with locations of the samples used for the derivation of α and β in EQUATION: 2-1; [0180], FIG. 9, location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode); and
predict the target samples of the at least one color channel of the image block unit using the cross-component prediction model ([0163], [0164], a cross-component linear model (CCLM) prediction with chroma samples are predicted based on the reconstructed luma samples with the parameters (α and β) derived with at most four neighbouring chroma samples and their corresponding down-sampled luma samples) based on at least the one or more gradient values and/or the one or more location values of the spatial samples in the reference area ([0197] gradient linear model (GLM) utilizes luma sample gradients to derive the linear model. A gradient G is replaced in the CCLM process without changing the other designs of CCLM).
Regarding Claim 17, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: use the one or more gradient values and/or the one or more location values of the spatial samples along with or instead of values of the spatial samples in the cross-component prediction model ([0197] gradient linear model (GLM) utilizes luma sample gradients to derive the linear model. A gradient G is replaced in the CCLM process without changing the other designs of CCLM).
Regarding Claim 18, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use a combination of the one or more gradient values and the one or more location values of the spatial samples along with or instead of the spatial sample values in the cross-component prediction model ([0197] gradient linear model (GLM) utilizes luma sample gradients to derive the linear model. A gradient G is replaced in the CCLM process without changing the other designs of CCLM).
Regarding Claim 19, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to indicate the use of gradient values and/or the one or more location values of the spatial samples in signaling in or along a bitstream comprising predicted image block units ([0197] gradient linear model (GLM) utilizes luma sample gradients to derive the linear model. A gradient G is replaced in the CCLM process without changing the other designs of CCLM).
Regarding Claim 20, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to predict the target samples of at least one color channel of the image block unit using a cross-component prediction model comprising:
where pred is a predicted chroma sample, P is a model coefficient for each tap of a M-tap filter, (C, N, S, W, E) are examples of spatial samples for (Center, North, South, West, East) locations, and grad_hor, grad_ver, graddiag are directional gradient values in horizontal, vertical and diagonal directions, respectively, and β is an offset or bias value ([0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term. The input to the spatial 5-tap component of the filter consists of a center (C) luma sample which is collocated with the chroma sample to be predicted and its above/north (N), below/south (S), left/west (W) and right/east (E) neighbors).
Regarding Claim 21, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use a sum or average values of the one or more gradient values in different directions as parameters in the cross-component prediction model ([0510], FIG. 36, template matching cost is measured by the SAD (Sum of absolute differences) between the neighboring samples of the current CU and their corresponding reference samples)
Regarding Claim 22, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use one or more of the one or more gradient values in a non-linear function and use an output of the non-linear function as parameters in the cross-component prediction model ([0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term; [0535] The nonlinear term P is represented as power of two of the center luma sample C and scaled to the sample value range of the content)
Regarding Claim 23, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use higher order differentials of the one or more gradient values as parameters in the cross-component prediction model ([0324], [0325], First, the horizontal and vertical gradients; auto- and cross-correlation of the gradients, Equations (2-17) to (2-19)).
Regarding Claim 24, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to predict the target samples of at least one color channel of the image block unit using the a cross-component prediction model comprising:
pred=P_0-C+P_1-N+ P_2-S+ P_3-W+ P_4-E+ ...+ P_n-X+P_(n+1)-Y+---+P_(M-1).β
where pred is a predicted chroma sample, P is a model coefficient for each tap of a M-tap filter, (C, N, S, W, E) are examples of spatial samples for (Center, North, South, West, East) locations, and X and Y are horizontal and vertical coordinates of a center sample, respectively, and β is an offset or bias value([0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term. The input to the spatial 5-tap component of the filter consists of a center (C) luma sample which is collocated with the chroma sample to be predicted and its above/north (N), below/south (S), left/west (W) and right/east (E) neighbors).
Regarding Claim 25, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use a horizontal and/or a vertical location of a center sample ([0174] FIG. 9, location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode with locations of the samples used for the derivation of α and β in EQUATION: 2-1; [0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term. The input to the spatial 5-tap component of the filter consists of a center (C) luma sample which is collocated with the chroma sample to be predicted and its above/north (N), below/south (S), left/west (W) and right/east (E) neighbors).
Regarding Claim 26, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 25, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use a horizontal and/or a vertical location of one or more spatial neighboring samples along with or instead of location information of the center sample ([0174] FIG. 9, location of the left and above samples and the sample of the current block involved in the CCLM mode with locations of the samples used for the derivation of α and β in EQUATION: 2-1; [0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term. The input to the spatial 5-tap component of the filter consists of a center (C) luma sample which is collocated with the chroma sample to be predicted and its above/north (N), below/south (S), left/west (W) and right/east (E) neighbors).
Regarding Claim 27, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to use one or more of the location values in a non-linear function; and use an output of the non-linear function as parameters in the cross-component prediction model ([0541], FIG. 58, convolutional 7-tap filter consist of a 5-tap plus sign shape spatial component, a nonlinear term and a bias term; [0535] The nonlinear term P is represented as power of two of the center luma sample C and scaled to the sample value range of the content).
Regarding Claim 28, JIA discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
use a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) algorithm to determine a combination of a filter and the gradient values and/or the one or more location values of the spatial samples to be used along with or instead of spatial sample values in the cross-component prediction model ([0627], all luma and chroma Rate-Distortion (RD) cost of every original and modified picture are calculated, and then the encoder may select modification or non-modification with least cost).
Regarding Claims 29-35, Method claims 29-35 of using the corresponding the apparatus claimed in claims 16-28, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487