DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 04/11/2025, the following is a Non-Final Office Action for Application No. 19120243.
Status of Claims
Claims 11-30 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 04/11/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2025, 03/26/2026, 04/02/2026, and 06/12/2026 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on: 19120243 filed 04/11/2025 is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2023/035956 , International Filing Date: 10/02/2023 claims foreign priority to 2022-169466, filed 10/21/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bustamante et al. (US 20210064154 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bustamante.
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 11. An input device comprising:
a main body (¶0051 FIG. 2A is the side view and FIG. 2B is the top view of the two pieces which form the modular design of the mouse of the present invention. It is manufactured with a main frame 36 and a hub section 30.);
a first operation button comprising a first upper surface portion configured to be operated by a user (¶0052 Referring now to FIG. 2C, there is shown an exploded view of the modular mouse design of the present invention. The main frame 400 of the modular design comprises, but is not limited to, a lower case 402 in which the compartment for power supply 403 is housed, which can have rechargeable or non-rechargeable batteries (A, AA, etc), its respective battery compartment cover 405, a main frame PCB 409 where the optical, laser of similar type of movement sensor, the push buttons and other electronic components for the mouse functions are located. On the side faces of the lower case 402 of the main frame 400, ergonomic side handles 404 are shown which facilitate the grip of the device and improve its ergonomic comfort.); and
a second operation button attached to the main body at a position different from a position at which the first operation button is attached, the second operation button comprising a second upper surface portion configured to be operated by the user and an extended portion disposed at a part of the second upper surface portion such that the extended portion covers a part of the first upper surface portion (¶0066 FIGS. 8A and 8B shows similarly, in a non-limiting example, an option to connect the main frame and the hub section of the modular design of the present invention. These figures show a version of a routed channel connector 106 located in the frontal area 96 of the main frame 97 of the modular mouse of this invention. The male connection end is composed of a pin extrusion 108 (FIG. 8A and FIG. 8B respectively), in the connection area 98 extending from each of the side walls of the hub section 99, which slots an extrusion 104 of the hub section into the cavity 102 of the main frame and guides the pins 108 into a press-to-fit hole for a secure connection of the hub section 99. This allows the user to connect peripherals or accessories at the top surface of the hub section 99 with power, data and/or audio, video signals in the accessory input port 100. The routed channel connector 106 is located on each of the side walls of the main frame 97 and may be a toothed path, such as FIG. 8A or a smooth angled path (FIG. 8B) made of elastic material for receiving the respective pin extrusions 108.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 12. The input device of claim 11, wherein: the second operation button is a push button having a push distance, and a clearance larger than the push distance is disposed between a lower surface of the extended portion and the first upper surface portion (¶0052 Referring now to FIG. 2C, there is shown an exploded view of the modular mouse design of the present invention. The main frame 400 of the modular design comprises, but is not limited to, a lower case 402 in which the compartment for power supply 403 is housed, which can have rechargeable or non-rechargeable batteries (A, AA, etc), its respective battery compartment cover 405, a main frame PCB 409 where the optical, laser of similar type of movement sensor, the push buttons and other electronic components for the mouse functions are located. On the side faces of the lower case 402 of the main frame 400, ergonomic side handles 404 are shown which facilitate the grip of the device and improve its ergonomic comfort.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 13. The input device of claim 11, further comprising a plurality of buttons arranged along an outer edge of the first operation button and attached to the main body, wherein the second operation button is one of the plurality of buttons (¶0065 FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate the mechanical port connections of the hub section with the main frame of the modular mouse. It securely and safely connects the opening 86 of the main frame with the hub section extrusion 84 which extends from the hub section 85. The opening 86 for receiving the hub section extrusion 84 is defined by an inner bottom surface 89, an inner top surface 93, and a pair of inner side walls 95 within the main frame).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 14. The input device of claim 11, wherein: the main body includes a button receiving portion to which the second operation button is attached, the second operation button includes an outer circumferential portion that crosses over an outer circumferential edge of the main body and extends outward, andthe extended portion has a smaller width than a width of the outer circumferential portion (¶0065 FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate the mechanical port connections of the hub section with the main frame of the modular mouse. It securely and safely connects the opening 86 of the main frame with the hub section extrusion 84 which extends from the hub section 85. The opening 86 for receiving the hub section extrusion 84 is defined by an inner bottom surface 89, an inner top surface 93, and a pair of inner side walls 95 within the main frame).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 15. The input device of claim 13, wherein the plurality of buttons is detachably attached to the main body (¶0065 FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate the mechanical port connections of the hub section with the main frame of the modular mouse. It securely and safely connects the opening 86 of the main frame with the hub section extrusion 84 which extends from the hub section 85. The opening 86 for receiving the hub section extrusion 84 is defined by an inner bottom surface 89, an inner top surface 93, and a pair of inner side walls 95 within the main frame.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 16. The input device of claim 11, wherein: the main body includes a switch and a button receiving portion configured to actuate the switch, the second operation button includes a first engaging portion that engages with the button receiving portion, and the first engaging portion is disposed on the second operation button at a position on a side opposite to the extended portion (¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes. This connecting port 423 can be USB type A, USB type C, HDMI, or any other port that allows the transmission of data, power and/or audio/video signal between the hub section 401 and other devices such as figurines, sensors, monitors, and other accessories, and the one or more pins 429 that mechanically secure these devices to the hub section 401.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 17. The input device of claim 16, wherein: the second operation button includes an outer circumferential portion that crosses over an outer circumferential edge of the main body and extends outward, and the second operation button includes a second engaging portion disposed near the extended portion and configured to engage the button receiving portion (¶0093 The general electronic concept of the operation of this invention, is that the hub section receives, from a computer and/or other apparatuses, the input of power, data and/or video signals in the hub section input port 424 of FIG. 2C. In the same FIG. 2C, the hub section input port 424 is directly connected to the hub section PCB 425, which can manage and transfer the power, data and/or video signals to other ports of this invention, including but not limited to, the accessories input port 423, the main frame PCB 409 using the connecting port 408, and other peripherals installed into this invention, such as the speaker 418, internal memory 425, additional USB 2.0 or 3.0 ports, video-camera, microphone, etc. The main frame PCB 409 receive and exchange power with the batteries located in the compartment 403 and pointing component of the mouse feature such as the optical sensor. ¶0057 With reference to FIG. 6B, there is described in an exploded view, the components of the unibody mouse version of the present invention along with how the components are assembled. The unibody version of the mouse of the present invention includes a bottom tray 602, a mid-chassis piece 638 and a fixed or interchangeable top cover 650. The bottom tray 602 includes a back end 604, a main frame section 606, and a neck section 608 extending from the main frame section 606. The main frame section includes a cavity 610 which stores the power/batteries, electronics and mechanical contacts which respond to user interaction and communicate with the computer or other devices. The neck section 608 extends from and narrows from the main frame section 606 by a pair of a side walls 614 angled inward from the main frame section 606 and culminates in an upwardly extending head section 616. The neck section side walls 614 may be shaped to include a concave curve for ergonomic comfort and ease of use.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 18. The input device of claim 16, wherein the second operation button includes a movable portion disposed on an outer circumferential portion of the second operation button and configured to release engagement of the first engaging portion (¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes. This connecting port 423 can be USB type A, USB type C, HDMI, or any other port that allows the transmission of data, power and/or audio/video signal between the hub section 401 and other devices such as figurines, sensors, monitors, and other accessories, and the one or more pins 429 that mechanically secure these devices to the hub section 401. There are different types of mechanical connecting methods between the objects to this invention, which will be explained later on herein. The hub section input port 424 for power, audio, video and/or data signal transmissions of this invention is shown on the front face of the hub section 401, which can be USB type A or USB Type C).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 19. The input device of claim 11, wherein: the first operation button is disposed at a central portion of the main body, the extended portion extends toward the central portion of the main body, and the second operation button includes an outer circumferential portion that crosses over an outer circumferential edge of the main body and extends outward (¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes. This connecting port 423 can be USB type A, USB type C, HDMI, or any other port that allows the transmission of data, power and/or audio/video signal between the hub section 401 and other devices such as figurines, sensors, monitors, and other accessories, and the one or more pins 429 that mechanically secure these devices to the hub section 401. There are different types of mechanical connecting methods between the objects to this invention, which will be explained later on herein. The hub section input port 424 for power, audio, video and/or data signal transmissions of this invention is shown on the front face of the hub section 401, which can be USB type A or USB Type).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 20. An operation button configured to be attached to a main body, the operation button comprising:
an upper surface portion configured to be pushed by a hand (¶0051 FIG. 2A is the side view and FIG. 2B is the top view of the two pieces which form the modular design of the mouse of the present invention. It is manufactured with a main frame 36 and a hub section 30. ¶0052 Referring now to FIG. 2C, there is shown an exploded view of the modular mouse design of the present invention. The main frame 400 of the modular design comprises, but is not limited to, a lower case 402 in which the compartment for power supply 403 is housed, which can have rechargeable or non-rechargeable batteries (A, AA, etc), its respective battery compartment cover 405, a main frame PCB 409 where the optical, laser of similar type of movement sensor, the push buttons and other electronic components for the mouse functions are located. On the side faces of the lower case 402 of the main frame 400, ergonomic side handles 404 are shown which facilitate the grip of the device and improve its ergonomic comfort); and
an extended portion disposed at a part of the upper surface portion such that, when the operation button is attached to the main body, the extended portion covers a part of an upper surface portion of a different operation button attached to the main body (¶0066 FIGS. 8A and 8B shows similarly, in a non-limiting example, an option to connect the main frame and the hub section of the modular design of the present invention. These figures show a version of a routed channel connector 106 located in the frontal area 96 of the main frame 97 of the modular mouse of this invention. The male connection end is composed of a pin extrusion 108 (FIG. 8A and FIG. 8B respectively), in the connection area 98 extending from each of the side walls of the hub section 99, which slots an extrusion 104 of the hub section into the cavity 102 of the main frame and guides the pins 108 into a press-to-fit hole for a secure connection of the hub section 99. This allows the user to connect peripherals or accessories at the top surface of the hub section 99 with power, data and/or audio, video signals in the accessory input port 100. The routed channel connector 106 is located on each of the side walls of the main frame 97 and may be a toothed path, such as FIG. 8A or a smooth angled path (FIG. 8B) made of elastic material for receiving the respective pin extrusions 108).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 21. The operation button of claim 20, wherein the extended portion has a smaller width in a circumferential direction of the main body than a width of a remaining portion of the operation button (¶0051 FIG. 2A is the side view and FIG. 2B is the top view of the two pieces which form the modular design of the mouse of the present invention. It is manufactured with a main frame 36 and a hub section 30. The male mechanical connector 32 located at a first end 35 of the hub section 30 has a connector extrusion 34 that provides mechanical support between the main frame 36 and the hub section 30 when the male mechanical connector 32 enter in the receptor cavity 31 of the main frame 36. FIG. 2B shows the male mechanical connector 32 on the hub section 30 that mates up via press to fit type extrusions 34 located on the lateral sides 29 of the male mechanical connector piece 32.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 22. The operation button of claim 20, further comprising a first engaging portion configured to engage a button receiving portion of the main body, the first engaging portion being disposed on a side of the operation button opposite to the extended portion (¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes. This connecting port 423 can be USB type A, USB type C, HDMI, or any other port that allows the transmission of data, power and/or audio/video signal between the hub section 401 and other devices such as figurines, sensors, monitors, and other accessories, and the one or more pins 429 that mechanically secure these devices to the hub section 401.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 23. The operation button of claim 22, further comprising a second engaging portion disposed near the extended portion and configured to engage the button receiving portion (¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes. This connecting port 423 can be USB type A, USB type C, HDMI, or any other port that allows the transmission of data, power and/or audio/video signal between the hub section 401 and other devices such as figurines, sensors, monitors, and other accessories, and the one or more pins 429 that mechanically secure these devices to the hub section 401.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 24. The operation button of claim 22, further comprising an outer circumferential portion configured to cross over an outer circumferential edge of the main body and extend outward (¶0072 FIG. 13C is a frontal isometric view of the female connector 150 which shows the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 protruding through the opening space 170 of the wall 166 of the female connector. The downward force on the clip, indicated by the arrows, permits the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 to bend down and then permit reception of the male connector shown in FIG. 15 to enter and be secured by the female connector and clip 152. The two side bars, such as the one shown at 164, guide the male connector over the base 162 of the female connector 150. One or more side bars may be used on corresponding sides. A similar downward force on the clip 152 releases the connection and allows the male connector to slide out.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 25. The operation button of claim 24, further comprising a movable portion disposed on the outer circumferential portion and configured to release engagement of the first engaging portion (¶0059 The neck section 608 extends from and narrows from the main frame section 606 by a pair of a side walls 614 angled inward from the main frame section 606 and culminates in an upwardly extending head section 616. The neck section side walls 614 may be shaped to include a concave curve for ergonomic comfort and ease of use. The neck section 608 has a top surface 620 which includes one or more openings 622 which allow contact pins 624 to protrude through from the internal mechanics and receive contact from the function buttons 626 of mid-chassis piece 638 when the function buttons 626 are pressed by the user. ¶0052 The upper case 410 of the main frame 400 closes the device by covering and protecting the electronic components inside. The top cover 411 is an interchangeable piece that can have different printed designs that allows the user to customize the device according to their taste and hobby, in this cover includes the standard (right and left) buttons 414 of the mouse in addition to the indicator light 412 that shows the device's power level and the scroll wheel 413 of the main frame. The hub section 401 is formed by an upper casing 416 on which the hub alternate buttons 415 are located and which has in the front section 419, an opening 420 through which a connection port 423 protrudes.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 26. The operation button of claim 25, wherein the movable portion includes a slope extending downward and toward a central portion of the main body (¶0059 The neck section 608 extends from and narrows from the main frame section 606 by a pair of a side walls 614 angled inward from the main frame section 606 and culminates in an upwardly extending head section 616. The neck section side walls 614 may be shaped to include a concave curve for ergonomic comfort and ease of use. The neck section 608 has a top surface 620 which includes one or more openings 622 which allow contact pins 624 to protrude through from the internal mechanics and receive contact from the function buttons 626 of mid-chassis piece 638 when the function buttons 626 are pressed by the user.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 27. The operation button of claim 20, wherein a lower surface of the extended portion is spaced from the upper surface portion of the different operation button by a clearance greater than a push distance of the operation button (¶0101 The standard mouse operates normally from within the mouse seat section (base frame) since there is a hole or opening 438 in the bottom and the optical sensor will detect the movement of the mouse. This apparatus has the same features as the hub section of this invention, including a section 450 which has an accessory port 460 extending upward for the connection of the character, monitor, sensors or other devices 470 and a connecting port 480 on the front end 482 which is able to connect with a cable 490 and receive power, data and/or video signals from a computer or other apparatuses.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 28. The operation button of claim 20, further comprising a fitting protrusion configured to be received by a fitting recess of the main body, the fitting protrusion including a guided slope formed on an outer circumferential surface thereof (¶0059 The neck section 608 extends from and narrows from the main frame section 606 by a pair of a side walls 614 angled inward from the main frame section 606 and culminates in an upwardly extending head section 616. The neck section side walls 614 may be shaped to include a concave curve for ergonomic comfort and ease of use. The neck section 608 has a top surface 620 which includes one or more openings 622 which allow contact pins 624 to protrude through from the internal mechanics and receive contact from the function buttons 626 of mid-chassis piece 638 when the function buttons 626 are pressed by the user. ¶0072 FIG. 13C is a frontal isometric view of the female connector 150 which shows the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 protruding through the opening space 170 of the wall 166 of the female connector. The downward force on the clip, indicated by the arrows, permits the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 to bend down and then permit reception of the male connector shown in FIG. 15 to enter and be secured by the female connector and clip 152. The two side bars, such as the one shown at 164, guide the male connector over the base 162 of the female connector 150. One or more side bars may be used on corresponding sides. A similar downward force on the clip 152 releases the connection and allows the male connector to slide out).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 29. The operation button of claim 28, wherein the fitting protrusion includes a first fitting portion comprising a wall surface perpendicular to a bottom surface of the fitting protrusion (¶0059 The neck section 608 extends from and narrows from the main frame section 606 by a pair of a side walls 614 angled inward from the main frame section 606 and culminates in an upwardly extending head section 616. The neck section side walls 614 may be shaped to include a concave curve for ergonomic comfort and ease of use. The neck section 608 has a top surface 620 which includes one or more openings 622 which allow contact pins 624 to protrude through from the internal mechanics and receive contact from the function buttons 626 of mid-chassis piece 638 when the function buttons 626 are pressed by the user. ¶0072 FIG. 13C is a frontal isometric view of the female connector 150 which shows the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 protruding through the opening space 170 of the wall 166 of the female connector. The downward force on the clip, indicated by the arrows, permits the back edge 168 of the flexible clip 152 to bend down and then permit reception of the male connector shown in FIG. 15 to enter and be secured by the female connector and clip 152. The two side bars, such as the one shown at 164, guide the male connector over the base 162 of the female connector 150. One or more side bars may be used on corresponding sides. A similar downward force on the clip 152 releases the connection and allows the male connector to slide out. ¶0058 The bottom tray 602 includes a back end 604, a main frame section 606, and a neck section 608 extending from the main frame section 606. The main frame section includes a cavity 610 which stores the power/batteries, electronics and mechanical contacts which respond to user interaction and communicate with the computer or other devices.).
Bustamante teaches:
Claim 30. The operation button of claim 20, further comprising a magnetic body fixed to a lower member of the operation button and configured to be attracted to the main body by magnetic force (¶0027 FIGS. 11A and 11B are illustrations of a magnetic lock connection option between the hub section and the main frame of the modular design embodiment of the present invention. ¶0069 FIGS. 11A and 11B similarly, in a non-limiting example, shows another option to connect the main frame and the hub section of the modular design of the present invention. These figures show a connection with a magnetic lock for use in the present invention that is composed of a magnetic lining inlay/inserts 142 within the hub section 138 and also by corresponding magnetic inlay/inserts 140 inside of the main frame 131. FIG. 11B is a top view of the main frame 131 through its top surface. When the hub section 138 is moved in direction arrow 132 of the main frame, then both frames are magnetically connected allowing the power, inputs, and data transfer through the USB port 134 of the main frame and port 136 of the hub section 138. ¶0080 For applications involving a touch-screen monitor 240, the user or a third-party user can interact with the cloud or the computer or other apparatus, such as a gaming console, using this invention as an interface with the IoT. Magnetic attachments 238 can be located on the edge, corners or periphery of the monitor 240 and used for storing it as described below with reference to FIG. 21A. A mechanical guide(s) 241 installed on each side of the monitor 240 helps to align and maintain the monitor attached to this invention, when the monitor 240 is stored in a cavity located underneath the main frame or hub section (see FIGS. 21A and 21B) for additional mechanical support.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210211130 A1
Bilbeisi; Haitham
BUTTON ASSEMBLY
CA 3100820 A1
BAR-OR JONATHAN et al.
AN INPUT DEVICE WITH A VARIABLE TENSIONED JOYSTICK WITH TRAVEL DISTANCE FOR OPERATING A MUSICAL INSTRUMENT, AND A METHOD OF USE THEREOF
US 20060155441 A1
Berg; Frederick J. et al.
Vehicle information system with steering wheel controller
US 20060125785 A1
McAlindon; Peter J.
Apparatus and method for generating data signals
US 20050147447 A1
Macor, James J.
Compact ergonomic telephony keypad
US 20040155868 A1
Hui, Cheuk Fai Howard
Devices, apparatus and appliances with location reconfigurable input keys
US 20020154038 A1
Houston, John S.
Interchangeable keyboard with self defining keys
US 4688020 A
Kuehneman; Gary et al.
Reconfigurable keyboard
NPL
Alexander Mekelburg,
Ergonomic, Adaptable Keyboard for Fast Data Entry on Mobile Computing Devices
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624