DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I: claims 1-25, drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one lipid nanoparticle (LNP) specific for targeting Langerhans cells (LC), wherein the LNP encapsulates at least one mRNA, is capable of specifically binding to the receptor Langerin and facilitates Langerin-mediated uptake and intracellular delivery of said mRNA and its translation into at least one protein or peptide.
Group II: claims 26-27, drawn to a method of treatment or prevention of cancer, of an autoimmune disease, of a bacterial infection, of a viral infection, of a fungal infection, of a graft-vs.host disease, of a local or systemic inflammation, of an allergy, or for hyposensitization comprising administering to a subject a therapeutically effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition as defined in any one of 1 to 24.
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
L
R
A stealth lipid
A helper lipid
A structural lipid
An ionizable lipid
A targeting lipid
A solvent
A further compound (claims 12 and 14)
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claims are generic: 2-6, 8, and 13-14.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a lipid nanoparticle specific for targeting Langerhans cells, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Rademacher (WO 2019/141731, publication year: 2019). Rademacher teaches a vehicle for the specific molecular targeting of Langerin+ cells wherein the vehicle is capable of specifically binding to a Langerin+ cell, said vehicle comprising at least one carrier and at least one saccharide moiety [0001]. The vehicle binds specifically to Langerin+ cells and effectively delivers the cargo into a Langerin+ cell, which in turn may present internalized substances on its surface [0012]. RNA may be introduced to the cell via the cargo-carrier concept [0014].
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Daniel Clark on 10/20/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-25 and the following species elections:
L: DSPE-PEG
R: 4-methyl phenyl (p-tolyl)
A stealth lipid: DSPE-PEG2000
A helper lipid: DSPC
A structural lipid: cholesterol
An ionizable lipid: SM-102
A targeting lipid: I-5
A solvent: phosphate buffered saline (PBS)
A further compound: DMSO
Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Group II, claims 25-26 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-27 are pending. Claims 1-25 are under current examination. Claims 26-27 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-25 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 5-25 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the phrases "preferably" and “more preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rademacher (WO 2019/141731, publication year: 2019, cited in the IDS filed 4/11/2025).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Rademacher teaches a pharmaceutical composition [0062] comprising a vehicle for specific molecular targeting of Langerin+ cells, such a Langerhans cells [0127]. The vehicle comprises at least one carrier in the form of a soft particle such as a liposome [0039]. The vehicle may comprise a cargo for delivery into a Langerin+ cell [0058]. The cargo may be a nucleic acid [0202], such as RNA with selected sequences designed for expressing nucleic acid transcripts or proteins encoded by the sequences [0225].
Regarding claim 2, Rademacher teaches that the soft particle carrier comprises a conjugate with the formula (II):
wherein n is an integer from 0 to 150 [0042]. The Examiner considers the structure recited by Rademacher to read on the “modified lipid, such as…DSPE-PEG” limitation of the instant claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Rademacher teaches that the glycomimetic Langerin ligand may be coupled to NHS-PEG-DSPE (PEG MW 2000) [0381].
Regarding claim 4, Rademacher teaches that the liposome may contain DSPC [0172].
With regards to the “stealth lipid” limitation of instant claim 3 and the “helper lipid” limitation of instant claim 4, the prior art teaches the same lipids as claimed and therefore, the “stealth” and “helper” properties are necessarily present; the Examiner directs attention to MPEP 2112.01 (II) which states: “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-4, Rademacher does not teach a single embodiment or example meeting all limitation of the invention of claims 1-4.
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-4, within the broader scope of Rademacher all of the limitations of the invention of claims 1-4 are met. It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to choose the limitations in the instant claims from those disclosed by Rademacher and arrive at this conclusion because such was contemplated by Rademacher.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,535.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘535 patent embrace a composition comprising a vehicle capable of specifically binding to a Langerin+ cell. The vehicle comprises at least one soft particle carrier such as a liposome and at least one conjugate of the structure:
The vehicle also comprises a cargo which may be an RNA. The liposome may include DSPC (col. 36 line 22) and DSPE-PEG wherein the PEG linker has a molecular weight of 2000 Da (col. 45 line 16).
The Examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the claims of the ‘535 patent, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614