Detailed Action
This office action is in response to filing of 04/11/2025. Claims 1-14 & 16 are pending, and claim 15 is cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2025 appears to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ADAMS (US 20180158053 A1), hereafter ADAMS.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 1. A method for authenticating a user wearing a device for immersion in a virtual space(ADAMS [0031] “FIG. 4 is a flowchart of an embodiment of a method of dynamically authenticating a user in a virtual reality environment;”, [0048] “In the illustrated example, virtual reality user device 200 is configured as a head-mounted wearable device.”), the method comprising - detecting a first hand of the user placed in front of a camera of the immersion device(ADAMS [0025] “For example, in some embodiments the virtual or augmented reality authentication system enables a vision-impaired person to move a hand or finger in a particular pattern to enter an authentication code.”, [0063] “Virtual reality user device 200 comprises a processor 202, a memory 204, and one or more of a camera 206,”); - displaying a representation of the first hand of the user in the virtual space while the first hand is detected(ADAMS [0019] “The augmented reality user device displays the virtual authentication object to the user via the display and detects one or more gestures performed by the user on the displayed virtual authentication object.”, [0051] “User 102 may manipulate virtual authentication object 128 to enter an authentication code. For example, user 102 may use a finger to press virtual buttons “1”, “3”, and “5” in sequence.”); - displaying at least one virtual authentication object projected onto the representation of the first hand in the virtual space(ADAMS [0005] “The virtual reality user device displays the virtual authentication object to the user via the display. The user may manipulate the virtual authentication object to enter an authentication code.”, [0079] “For example, gesture recognition engine 226 is configured to identify hand gestures provided by user 102 to indicate various commands such as a command to initiate a request for virtual data for user 102, or to manipulate virtual authentication object 128.”, [0096] “Some embodiments may include a moldable shape that user 102 molds into a particular configuration to enter an authentication code.”); - detecting interaction movements performed by the user in the virtual space with said at least one virtual authentication object while said at least one virtual authentication object is displayed projected on the representation of the first hand in the virtual space(ADAMS [0095-0097] “Virtual reality user device 200 detects the gestures of user 102 as user 102 manipulates blocks 130….In some embodiments, the three-dimensional objects may include any suitable objects such as chess pieces, figurines, puzzle pieces, animals, sports equipment, or any other suitable symbol or object… FIG. 3C is an example of an abstract virtual authentication object. Virtual environment 126 includes abstract object 128…Abstract object 128 is a virtual object that exists within virtual environment 126. A person, such as user 102, may view abstract object 128 using virtual reality user device 200.”); - obtaining a user authentication decision based on at least two authentication factors including a first biometric factor verified from a biometric print acquired by the immersion device for the first hand while the first hand is detected (ADAMS [0063] “Virtual reality user device 200 comprises… one or more of a camera 206… and biometric devices 218.” [0073] “As another example, biometric device 218 is configured to perform a fingerprint scan of the user's finger and to generate biometric signal 231 for user 102 based on the fingerprint scan. Biometric signal 231 is used by a biometric engine 230 to identify and/or authenticate a person.”)and a second knowledge factor verified by comparing the detected interaction movements with a time series of secret interaction movements known to the user(ADAMS [0158] “The authentication code may include a pin number, security code, password, or another information suitable for authenticating a user, such as user 102.”, [0042] “particular embodiments are not limited to a conventional one-dimensional password. Particular embodiments enable two, three, and even four-dimensional dynamic passwords (e.g., manipulating objects in three-dimensional space over a particular time interval). The dynamic passwords are less susceptible to brute-force attacks than a conventional one-dimensional password.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the representation of the first hand is displayed at a position in the virtual space corresponding to the position of the first hand in the real space where the user is located while the interaction movements are performed(ADAMS [0061] “Virtual reality user device 200 is configured to receive virtual authentication object 128, and display virtual authentication object 128 to user 102 via the display of virtual reality environment 126. Virtual reality user device 200 detects one or more gestures performed by user 102 on the displayed virtual authentication object 128. The one or more gestures manipulate the virtual authentication object to enter an authentication code.”); wherein the representation of the first hand in the virtual space and said at least one virtual authentication object projected onto the representation of the first hand follow any movement of the first hand in the real space(ADAMS [0079] “Examples of gestures include, but are not limited to, hand movements, hand positions, finger movements, head movements, and/or any other actions that provide a visual signal from a person.”, [0096] “Although a particular number and shape of three-dimensional objects are illustrated, other embodiments may include any suitable number or shape of objects. In some embodiments, the three-dimensional objects may include any suitable objects such as chess pieces, figurines, puzzle pieces, animals, sports equipment, or any other suitable symbol or object. Some embodiments may include a moldable shape that user 102 molds into a particular configuration to enter an authentication code.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the display (430) of said at least one virtual authentication object projected onto the representation of the first hand is performed so that, when the user performs the interaction movements with said at least one virtual authentication object, physical contact with the first hand occurs(ADAMS [0013-0014] “For example, in some embodiments the automatic teller machine comprises a physical keypad. The physical keypad comprises one more unmarked buttons for a user to enter an authentication code… The augmented reality user device may receive a virtual keypad overlay. The virtual keypad overlay assigns values to each of the one or more unmarked buttons of the physical keypad. The augmented reality user device uses the virtual keypad overlay to display values on the one more unmarked buttons of the physical keypad.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 8. The method according to claim 1, wherein detecting interaction movements comprises detecting movements performed by a virtual interaction object represented in the virtual space, wherein the virtual interaction object is a virtual object representing a real object manipulated by the user(ADAMS [0062] “In particular embodiments, virtual reality user device 200 may be operable to display a completely virtual environment or may be operable to augment a physical environment by overlaying virtual objects upon the physical environment.”, [0140] “As a first example where electronic transaction terminal 510 includes an automatic teller machine with keypad 512, augmented reality user device 200 may display a graphical representation of virtual object overlay 528 on the physical keypad of the automatic teller machine such that the values assigned by virtual object overlay 528 (e.g., assignment of alpha-numeric characters) appear on the keys of the physical keypad.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 9. The method according to claim 4, wherein the physical contact occurs between the first hand and the real object manipulated by the user(ADAMS [0142] “At step 616, user input is detected. In some embodiments, the electronic transaction terminal may detect an input sequence entered by the user on its physical keypad. In some embodiments, the augmented reality user device may detect one or more gestures performed by the user on the displayed virtual authentication object. The one or more gestures manipulate the virtual authentication object to enter the authentication code.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 11. The method according to claim 1, wherein detecting interaction movements comprises detecting movements made in the real world with the first hand of the user so that the representation of the first hand in the virtual space moves with respect to a fixed virtual interaction object present in the virtual space(ADAMS [0050] “In the illustrated embodiment, virtual authentication object 128 comprises a numbered keypad. In other embodiments, virtual authentication object 128 may comprise a dial, a combination lock, a three-dimensional object (e.g., a block, or other suitable geometric shape), a combination of two or three-dimensional objects, or any other suitable object or objects that a user may manipulate to enter an authentication code.”), the representation of the first hand being displayed at a position in the virtual space corresponding to the position of the first hand in the real space where the user is located during the interaction movements(ADAMS [0051] “User 102 may manipulate virtual authentication object 128 to enter an authentication code. For example, user 102 may use a finger to press virtual buttons “1”, “3”, and “5” in sequence.”, [0142] “At step 616, user input is detected. In some embodiments, the electronic transaction terminal may detect an input sequence entered by the user on its physical keypad. In some embodiments, the augmented reality user device may detect one or more gestures performed by the user on the displayed virtual authentication object. The one or more gestures manipulate the virtual authentication object to enter the authentication code.”), wherein the virtual interaction object is a virtual object representing a fixed real object (ADAMS [0125] “Augmented reality user device 200 may project values for the inputs of input device 512 in augmented reality environment 126. Augmented reality user device 200 may project values according to virtual object overlay 528 (similar to virtual object overlay 138 described with respect to FIG. 3D). For example, augmented reality user device 200 may project alpha-numeric characters onto each key of a keypad in the field of view of user 102. When user 102 looks at electronic transaction terminal 510 using augmented reality device 200, user 102 sees values on the keys of the keypad.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 12. The method according to claim 4, wherein the physical contact occurs between the first hand and the fixed real object(ADAMS [0011] “In an augmented reality environment, an augmented reality user device may overlay the virtual template on the physical object in the field of view of the user. For example, a physical keypad may include three rows of keys without any markings or labels on the keys. The augmented reality user device may display numbers on a physical keypad according to the template so that the user sees the physical keypad with virtual labels overlaid on each key.”, [0013-0015] “For example, in some embodiments the automatic teller machine comprises a physical keypad. The physical keypad comprises one more unmarked buttons for a user to enter an authentication code…The augmented reality user device may receive a virtual keypad overlay. The virtual keypad overlay assigns values to each of the one or more unmarked buttons of the physical keypad. The augmented reality user device uses the virtual keypad overlay to display values on the one more unmarked buttons of the physical keypad…The automatic teller machine detects an input sequence entered by the user on the physical keypad and sends the input sequence to the authentication server.”).
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 13. The method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one virtual authentication object comprises a device for entering a secret code corresponding to a time sequence of input actions forming the time series of secret interaction movements known to the user(ADAMS [0011] “In some embodiments, the virtual object template may correspond to a physical object, such as a physical keypad. The virtual template may specify values for each input of the physical keypad. In an augmented reality environment, an augmented reality user device may overlay the virtual template on the physical object in the field of view of the user.”), the detection of interaction movements comprising the detection of input actions performed by the user by interacting with the input device.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 14. The method according to claim 1 wherein said at least one virtual authentication object comprises several virtual authentication objects each associated with at least one respective interaction movement, the time series of interaction movements known to the user being a time series of interaction movements each of which is an interaction movement associated with one of the virtual authentication objects, wherein an interaction movement with a virtual authentication object comprises at least one movement among a movement for moving the virtual object(ADAMS [0004] “The virtual authentication object may be a number of blocks, or other geometric shapes, where a particular arrangement of the shapes in space or in relation to each other represents an authentication code.”, [0024] “Particular embodiments enable two, three, and even four-dimensional dynamic passwords (e.g., manipulating objects in three-dimensional space over a particular time interval).”), a movement for rotating the virtual object(ADAMS [0091] “Combination dial 128 includes a numbered rotating portion. User 102 may virtually manipulate combination dial 128 in virtual environment 126 similar to a dial on a conventional padlock or safe. For example, user 102 may virtually rotate combination dial left, right, or a sequence of left and right rotations. User 102 may virtually rotate combination dial 128 at a particular speed or sequence of varying speeds.”), a movement for selecting the virtual object and a movement for modifying the appearance of the virtual object(ADAMS [0095] “User 102 virtually manipulates blocks 130 to enter an authentication code. In some embodiments, user 102 may virtually rotate blocks 130 so that a particular combination of labels are facing forward, or virtual arrange blocks 130 in a particular order. In some embodiments, user 102 may virtually arrange blocks 130 in three-dimensional space. The arrangement of blocks 130 with respect to each other may represent a particular authentication code.”).
Claim 16 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 1 in the form of a device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory comprising program instructions, such as demonstrated by ADAMS ([0054] “Authentication server 122 is a networked device comprising hardware and software to authenticate a user, such as user 102. For example, authentication server 122 includes one or more processors implemented as one or more central processing unit (CPU) chips, logic units, cores (e.g. a multi-core processor), field-programmable gate array (FPGAs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), or digital signal processors (DSPs). The one or more processors are configured to implement various instructions to authenticate a user and may be implemented in hardware and/or software. Authentication server 122 includes a memory that stores database 124”). Thus, claim 16 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) (2, 5-7, 10) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADAMS, in view of YEE (US 20230143628 A1), hereafter YEE.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the representation of the first hand is a representation of the first hand (ADAMS [0079] “Gesture recognition engine 226 is configured to identify gestures performed by user 102 and/or other people. Examples of gestures include, but are not limited to, hand movements, hand positions, finger movements, head movements, and/or any other actions that provide a visual signal from a person. For example, gesture recognition engine 226 is configured to identify hand gestures provided by user 102 to indicate various commands such as a command to initiate a request for virtual data for user 102, or to manipulate virtual authentication object 128.”).
However, based on the examiner’s present interpretation, ADAMS does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations for which YEE is relied upon to demonstrate:
wherein the representation of the first hand is a representation of the palm of the first hand (YEE [0019] “Generally, micromovements may be considered smaller portions of a movement required to perform the movement. For instance, a hand-washing movement by a patient (or motion capture actor) may comprise soaping his hands, lowering his hands under a faucet, and rinsing his hands in separate steps. Micromovements may be referred to as smaller movements, sub-movements, partial movements, and/or small motions. In some embodiments, signatures of micromovements may be incorporated in a movement signature.”, [0069] “FIG. 1B is an illustrative depiction of a captured movement and a movement signature for a VR therapy platform, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. Scenario 100B of FIG. 1B depicts, e.g., a VR avatar washing his hands.”; [0072] “the VR system may generate avatar skeletal data based on sensor data and may render and animate a virtual avatar mimicking her movements.” YEE thus renders and animates a virtual representation of the user’s hand, including the palm, during the depicted hand-washing interaction.)
Since both ADAMS and YEE are from the same field of endeavor as both are directed to virtual/augmented reality, which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the teachings of ADAMS and YEE by incorporating the teachings of YEE into ADAMS for providing a representation of the palm of the first hand. The motivation to combine is to improve the visual depiction of user actions. (ADAMS [AB], YEE [0009]). This motivation is equally applicable to rejections hereafter.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 5. The method according to claim 1,
However, based on the examiner’s present interpretation, ADAMS does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations for which YEE is relied upon to demonstrate:
wherein the detection of interaction movements comprises the detection of movements performed with the second hand of the user detected by the immersion device and represented in the virtual space at the same time as the first hand(YEE [0069] “Scenario 100B of FIG. 1B depicts, e.g., a VR avatar washing his hands.”).
The motivation for combination recited within the rejection of claim 2 is similarly applied.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 6. The method according to claim 4,
However, based on the examiner’s present interpretation, ADAMS does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations for which YEE is relied upon to demonstrate:
wherein the physical contact occurs between the first hand and the second hand(YEE [0072] “As the mocap performer washes his hands, while wearing an HMD and sensors, the VR system may generate avatar skeletal data based on sensor data and may render and animate a virtual avatar mimicking her movements.”).
The motivation for combination recited within the rejection of claim 2 is similarly applied.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein detecting interaction movements comprises detecting movements performed by a virtual interaction object represented in the virtual space(ADAMS [0079] “For example, gesture recognition engine 226 is configured to identify hand gestures provided by user 102 to indicate various commands such as a command to initiate a request for virtual data for user 102, or to manipulate virtual authentication object 128.”), wherein the virtual interaction object is a virtual object present in content reproduced by the immersion device(ADAMS [0066] “Display 208 is configured to present visual information to user 102 using virtual or graphical objects in virtual environment 126 in real-time. In an embodiment, display 208 is a wearable optical head-mounted display configured to reflect projected images for user 102 to see.”).
However, based on the examiner’s present interpretation, ADAMS does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations for which YEE is relied upon to demonstrate: audiovisual content (YEE [0183] “The displays are configured to present 3D images to the patient. VR headsets typically include speakers and microphones for deeper immersion.”)
The motivation for combination recited within the rejection of claim 2 is similarly applied.
ADAMS provides, in regard to claim number: 10. The method according to claims 1, wherein the detecting interaction movements comprises detecting movements performed in the real world with the first hand of the user so that the representation of the first hand in the virtual space moves with respect to a fixed virtual interaction object present in the virtual space(ADAMS[0050] “In the illustrated embodiment, virtual authentication object 128 comprises a numbered keypad. In other embodiments, virtual authentication object 128 may comprise a dial, a combination lock, a three-dimensional object (e.g., a block, or other suitable geometric shape), a combination of two or three-dimensional objects, or any other suitable object or objects that a user may manipulate to enter an authentication code.”), the representation of the first hand being displayed at a position in the virtual space corresponding to the position of the first hand in the real space where the user is located while the interaction movements are performed(ADAMS [0051] “User 102 may manipulate virtual authentication object 128 to enter an authentication code. For example, user 102 may use a finger to press virtual buttons “1”, “3”, and “5” in sequence.”, [0142] “At step 616, user input is detected. In some embodiments, the electronic transaction terminal may detect an input sequence entered by the user on its physical keypad. In some embodiments, the augmented reality user device may detect one or more gestures performed by the user on the displayed virtual authentication object. The one or more gestures manipulate the virtual authentication object to enter the authentication code.”), wherein the virtual interaction object is a fixed virtual object in content reproduced by the immersion device(ADAMS [0038] “For example, in particular embodiments an augmented or virtual reality user device displays or overlays a virtual authentication object, such as a virtual keypad or virtual combination lock, within a field of view of a user via a display. The user dynamically manipulates the virtual authentication object to enter an authentication code. For example, the user may perform gestures associated with pushing buttons of a keypad.”).
However, based on the examiner’s present interpretation, ADAMS does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations for which YEE is relied upon to demonstrate: audiovisual content (YEE [0183] “The displays are configured to present 3D images to the patient. VR headsets typically include speakers and microphones for deeper immersion.”)
The motivation for combination recited within the rejection of claim 2 is similarly applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Diehl; Eric (US 12086221 B2) disclose authenticating for a virtual reality (VR) system using a plurality of factors of authentication, including: collecting a password entered into a virtual keyboard for a first factor of the plurality of factors of authentication, wherein the password is entered by a user selecting a series of data including numbers, letters, or images on the virtual keyboard displayed on a display of the VR system; and collecting a biometric fingerprint from movements of the VR system for a second factor of the plurality of factors of authentication. [AB]
Cho; Youjean (US 20240070243 A1) disclose a collaborative session (e.g., a virtual time capsule) in which access to a collaborative object and added virtual content is selectively provided to participants/users. In one example of the collaborative session, authentication of the collaborative object is performed by all of the users to complete the collaborative session. Each user authenticates the collaborative object, such as using a stamping gesture on a user interface of a client device or in an augmented reality session. User specific data is recorded with the stamping gesture to authenticate the collaborative object and the associated virtual content. In an example, user specific data may include device information, participant profile information, or biometric signal information. Biometric signal information, such as a fingerprint from a mobile device or a heart rate received from a connected smart device can be used to provide an authenticating signature to the seal. [AB]
Guignon; Richard (US 20230237139 A1) disclose authentication of a user of a first electronic device, such as a communication terminal or a virtual or augmented reality headset. The first electronic device is connected to a second electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being separately portable by the user. The authentication device includes an analyser capable of checking whether a detected value of a relative characteristic parameter of the second electronic device corresponds to a stored value of this relative characteristic parameter of the second electronic device associated with an identifier of a user requiring an authentication, the relative characteristic parameter corresponding to the characteristic parameter of the second electronic device measured relative to the characteristic parameter of the first electronic device. [AB]
INVENTOR (US 20230130648 A1) disclose systems, computer program products, and methods for multifactor authentication utilizing augmented reality. The present invention may be configured to provide an augmented reality application for installation on a user device; receive authentication credentials from a user; receive, from the augmented reality application, a real-time visual feed of an environment of the user, wherein the environment comprises one or more unique objects; develop a three-dimensional rendering of the one or more unique objects; and store the three-dimensional rendering of the one or more unique objects in a user data configuration. The present invention may be configured to compare the one or more unique objects to the three-dimensional rendering to determine authenticity of the user. [AB]
ROSS; David (US 20180324229 A1) disclose providing expert assistance from a remote expert to a user operating an augmented reality device. Particular systems and methods receive, at a server, a remote assistance request from a first user device operated by a first user located at a first location, and establish a network connection between the first user device and a second user device operated by a second user located at a second location in response to the remote assistance request. Visual information captured by a camera of the first user device is provided to the second user device operated by the second user. Assistance content generated by the second user using the second user device is provided to the first user device for presentation of the assistance content to the first user. [AB]
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reached on (571) 270-5440. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408