Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Figures 13-14 and 16-18 do not include any reference characters to designate the features depicted.
In Figure 3 (B), recess reference character “28” should read ---29---.
In Figure 4 (B), mating connection element reference character “27” should read ---227---.
In Figure 8, robot reference character “10” should read ---30---.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
In the last line of page 6, support elements reference character “216”.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, lines 1-2, “one or more a means” should read ---one or more means---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a means to” in line 2 of claim 6.
“one or more a means to” in line 1 of claim 9.
“spooling device” in line 4 of claim 1.
“sensing device” in line 4 of claim 9.
“rotating device” in line 2 of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the machine" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the known pickup location" in line 4. How does the “known pickup location” in line 4 relate to the “known location” in line 2? Are there two different locations being claimed? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-13 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorrentino (US9114896B2) in view of Neal (US20030006034A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sorrentino discloses a coiler for coiling pipe (1; Figure 5) in spool form, the coiler comprising: b) a split spooling device (10, 20; Figure 7) comprising a first half (10) and a second half (20), wherein the first half (10) and the second half (20) when joined form a rotating spool, the first (10) and the second half (20) each comprise a support structure (15, 25) mounted on a track (base 2) running perpendicular to the longitudinal direction the pipe (1) is fed and a half of the spool, but fails to teach a) a multi-axis robot comprising a robot end effector configured to pick up and direct the pipe.
Neal teaches a similar coiler and further teaches a) a multi-axis robot (15; Figure 1) comprising a robot end effector (80) configured to pick up and direct the pipe (13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coiler of Sorrentino to include the robot as taught by Neal in order to quickly and efficiently align the pipe in a compact pattern on the spool.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorrentino, in view of Neal, and in further view of Jones (US6701831B2).
Regarding claim 2, Sorrentino discloses wherein each half (10; 20) of the spool comprises a central shaft element (CS for each half; see Sorrentino annotated Figure 6 below) and a plurality of substantially equally spaced frame elements (11a, 21a; Figure 5) that form the outer circumference of the spool, wherein the central shaft elements (CS for each half) of the first and second half (10; 20) are configured to interlock together (Figure 6) and the frame elements (11a, 21a) are moveable between an extended and retracted position (column 5, lines 39-41), but fails to teach wherein the frame elements are pivot mounted.
Sorrentino, Annotated Figure 6
Jones teaches a similar coiler and further teaches wherein the frame elements (100; Figure 7) are pivot mounted (pivot mounted by pivot links 130B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coiler of Sorrentino to include the pivot mounted frame elements as taught by Jones in order to collapse the spool to a smaller diameter to reduce storage space.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sorrentino discloses wherein the pivot mounted frame elements (11a, 21a; 100 of Jones) are mounted directly on support elements (SE; see Sorrentino annotated Figure 3 below) attached to the central shaft (CS).
Sorrentino, Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 4, Sorrentino discloses wherein each half (10; 20) of the spool comprises a strapping array comprising a plurality of substantially equally spaced strapping tracks and wherein the strapping tracks of one half lines up with a corresponding strapping track of the second half (column 5, lines 8-28; plurality of inner semi-channels distributed over angular positions on each half reel for guiding the strap during tying operation).
Regarding claim 5, Sorrentino discloses comprising one strapping system (30, 40; Figures 2-3), the strapping system (30, 40) comprising a strapping engine or head (40), and dispenser (30) and excess strap take-up unit (column 4, line 51 – column 5, line 7, excess strap portion recovered by a flywheel/jockey roller assembly)
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorrentino, in view of Neal, in view of Jones, and in further view of Cocovi (US20090178757A1).
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Sorrentino discloses the above coiler and further teaches wherein the robot end effector (80 of Neal) comprises a means (82, 83, 84, 86 of Neal; Figures 4-5) to direct the pipe (13 of Neal) and a guide device (45 of Neal; Figure 3) configured to provide proper tracking of the pipe and allow for the pipe to be packed on either side of each layer of the coil (¶0038, cylinders 46 help guide the piping uniformly on the reel); wherein the means (82, 83, 84, 86 of Neal) to direct the pipe (13 of Neal) includes rollers (84, 86 of Neal) and guide (guide plates 82, 83 of Neal), but fails to teach a brake to hold the pipe during priming, a tensioning system that allows for the tension being applied to the pipe to be varied as the coil is created. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coiler of Sorrentino to include the means to direct the pipe and guide device as taught by Neal in order to align and control the path of the pipe onto the spool.
Cocovi teaches a similar coiler and further teaches wherein the robot end effector (feed device; ¶0053-0054, feed device held by a robot) comprises a brake (4; ¶0037) to hold the pipe (pipe 1 of Sorrentino) during priming, a tensioning system (3, 5; ¶0038, length of loop 5 determines tension and regulates speed of drive pulley) that allows for the tension being applied to the pipe to be varied as the coil is created. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coiler of Sorrentino to include the brake and tensioning system as taught by Cocovi in order to prevent overfeeding and excessive tension of the pipe.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorrentino, in view of Neal, in view of Jones, in view of Cocovi, and in further view of Hofhus (US10266363B2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sorrentino discloses the above coiler, but fails to teach a priming apparatus.
Hofhus teaches a similar coiler and further teaches a priming apparatus (6, 15; Figure 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coiler of Sorrentino to include the priming apparatus as taught by Hofhus in order to guide and feed the pipe from a supply source to the spool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing a sensing device to detect the pipe at the known pickup location.
Hofhus teaches a similar coiler and further teaches wherein the priming apparatus (6, 15) comprises one or more a means (15 and rollers 28; Figure 13) to direct the pipe to a known location inside the machine, a device (30) to cut the pipe, a device (15) to advance the pipe forward when required, but fails to teach a device to brake and hold the pipe in place and a sensing device to detect the pipe at the known pickup location. Eggimann (US10974924B2) teaches a similar priming apparatus and further teaches a device (96; Figure 11) to brake and hold the pipe in place. However, the prior art fails to teach a sensing device to detect the pipe at the known pickup location.
Claims 10-13 would be allowable because they are dependents of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654