DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKER et al. (US 2020/0277062 A1) in view of SENNOUN (US 10,774,741 B2).
Regarding claim 1, BECKER discloses a hybrid rotor drive system comprising: an gas turbine engine (104), and a first output shaft (@ 109a); an electric motor (106) including a second output shaft (@ 109b); and a gear box (107) including a first input interface (109a), a second input interface (109b), a speed reducer that reduces speed of rotational force input from the first input interface and the second input interface, and an output interface (@ 111) that outputs the rotational force, which has been reduced in speed by the speed reducer, to a rotor (105), wherein: the first output shaft of the gas turbine engine is mechanically connected to the first input interface; and the second output shaft of the electric motor is mechanically connected to the second input interface.
BECKER does not show the engine being a gas turbine engine including a compressor, a combustor and a turbine, and the first output shaft mechanically connecting the compressor to the turbine.
SENNOUN teaches a hybrid drive system comprising: a gas turbine engine (16) including a compressor (22), a combustor (26), a turbine (30), and a first output shaft (36) that mechanically connects the compressor (22) to the turbine (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention for the gas turbine engine of BECKER to include a compressor, a combustor and a turbine, and the first output shaft mechanically connecting the compressor to the turbine as taught by SENNOUN, since those components are essential and well known elements of a typical gas turbine engine.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses an inverter (see paragraph [0030] of BECKER) that supplies electric power to the electric motor; and processing circuitry (133, 121) configured to control the gas turbine engine and the inverter, wherein: the processing circuitry sets an amount of fuel supplied to the gas turbine engine such that output of the gas turbine engine becomes constant; and the processing circuitry controls the inverter such that a rotational frequency of the rotor becomes constant.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses forced induction equipment (see paragraph [0026] of BECKER) driven by energy generated by the gas turbine engine; and a compressed air passage through which compressed air generated by the forced induction equipment is guided to the compressor of the gas turbine engine.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses a clutch that cuts off rotational force of the first output shaft of the gas turbine engine which is input to the first input interface of the gear box (see paragraph [0025] of BECKER).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses a hybrid rotorcraft comprising: a main rotor; a gas turbine engine including a compressor, a combustor, a turbine, and a first output shaft that mechanically connects the compressor to the turbine; an electric motor including a second output shaft; and a gear box including a first input interface, a second input interface, a speed reducer that reduces speed of rotational force input from the first input interface and the second input interface, and an output interface that outputs the rotational force, which has been reduced in speed by the speed reducer, to the main rotor, wherein: the first output shaft of the gas turbine engine is mechanically connected to the first input interface; and the second output shaft of the electric motor is mechanically connected to the second input interface.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKER et al. (US 2020/0277062 A1) in view of SENNOUN (US 10,774,741 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of IMEL et al. (US 2022/0135240 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses an inverter (see paragraph [0030] of BECKER) that supplies electric power to the electric motor; and processing circuitry (121) configured to control the inverter.
The combination of BECKER-SENNOUN does not disclose the processing circuitry receives a start command, which requests start of the gas turbine engine, during stop of the gas turbine engine, the processing circuitry controls the inverter to make the electric motor drive the gas turbine engine.
IMEL teaches a hybrid rotor drive system having an electric motor (102) and a thermal engine (104) connected to a gearbox (112), and processing circuitry (110) that receives a start command (see paragraph 0018), which requests start of the gas turbine engine, during stop of the gas turbine engine, the processing circuitry controls the inverter to make the electric motor drive the gas turbine engine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention the use the electric motor of the hybrid rotor drive system disclosed by BECKER-SENNOUN to start the thermal engine of the hybrid rotor drive system as taught by IMEL as using the electric motor of the hybrid system would reduce weight and complexity of the aircraft, as taught by IMEL in paragraph [0002].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKER et al. (US 2020/0277062 A1) in view of SENNOUN (US 10,774,741 B2) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of VONDRELL et al. (US 10,837,304).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN discloses the first output shaft of the gas turbine engine and the second output shaft of the electric motor, but does not disclose them located on the same rotation axis.
VONDRELL teaches a hybrid rotor drive system wherein the first output shaft (24) of the gas turbine engine (22) and the second output shaft (rotor) of the electric motor are arrange in either an offset parallel layout (Fig. 7) or in a coaxial layout Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention the modify the hybrid rotor drive system disclosed by the combination of BECKER-SENNOUN such that the first output shaft of the gas turbine engine and the second output shaft of the electric motor are located on a same rotation axis, as taught by VONDRELL to accommodate vary design needs related to packaging and weight distribution. Since the art teaches both layouts, which one to use is a matter of design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655