Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (GB 813210).
Regarding claim-1. Walker discloses a conveyor system (Abstract, Fig.1-3) extending between an infeed end (defined at 12, Fig.1) and an outfeed end (defined at 11, Fig.2), the conveyor system comprising:
a foundation positioned on a terrain (Fig.2-3), the foundation comprising a plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 38, Fig.4, 6);
a cable assembly (18, Fig.6-8) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and supported on the foundation, the cable assembly comprising an elongate support cable (18) rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves (34) (See Fig.5-8); and
a conveyor belt (19, Fig.2-3, 5-8) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and freely supported on the cable assembly whereby a load path is defined that extends from the conveyor belt, through the cable assembly, and to the foundation (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-2. Walker discloses wherein the support cable (18) is rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 38) through metal-to-metal contact between the support cable and the plurality of idler sheaves (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-3. Walker discloses wherein the plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 38) each comprise a radially outer concave contact surface (Fig.6) in contact with the support cable of the cable assembly (18) (See Fig.6, 8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-4. Walker discloses wherein the cable assembly (18) comprises a plurality of carry frames (fixed members, Fig5-7) coupled along the support cable (18), and wherein the conveyor belt (19) is held in position on the plurality of carry frames through static friction between the conveyor belt and the plurality of carry frames (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-5. Walker discloses wherein each of the plurality of carry frames comprises a connector that couples the carry frame to the support cable (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-7. Walker discloses wherein the foundation comprises a stringer (Fig.1-3) that comprises an idler support frame positioned along the surface of the terrain and on which the plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 36) are positioned (See Fig.1-6, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-8. Walker discloses further comprising an end section corresponding to one of the infeed end and the outfeed end of the conveyor system (Fig.1-3), wherein the end section comprises one or more driven sheaves (tension pulley 16) configured to apply a tension to the cable assembly (via 16), and a driven pulley (belt tension carriage 12) configured to separately apply a tension (via 12 by a weight 20) to the conveyor belt (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line16).
Regarding claim-9. Walker discloses further comprising an end section corresponding to one of the infeed end and the outfeed end of the conveyor system (Fig.1-3), wherein the end section comprises one or more deflection sheaves configured to separate the cable assembly (18) from the conveyor belt (19) whereby the cable assembly is directed in a first direction while the conveyor belt is directed in a second direction disposed at a non-zero angle from the first direction (The belt passes over drums mounted in the discharge unit 11 and the belt tension carriage 12 to reverse its direction, the upper runs of the cable circuits being deflected outwardly to enable them to pass the bights in the belt, See Fig.1-6, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-10. Walker discloses a conveyor system (Fig.1-3) extending between an infeed (defined at 12, Fig.1) end and an outfeed end (defined at 11, Fig.1), the conveyor system comprising:
a foundation positioned on a terrain (Fig.1-3);
a cable assembly (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and supported on the foundation;
a conveyor belt (19) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and freely supported on the cable assembly whereby a load path is defined that extends from the conveyor belt, through the cable assembly, and to the foundation (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73, Fig.1-8); and
an end section corresponding to one of the infeed end and the outfeed end of the conveyor system, wherein the end section comprises one or more driven sheaves configured to apply a tension to the cable assembly, and a driven pulley configured to separately apply a tension to the conveyor belt (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line16).
Regarding claim-11. Walker discloses wherein the end section comprises a first powertrain (10, Fig.1) configured to apply a rotational torque to the one or more driven sheaves, and a second powertrain (10, Fig.1) configured to separately apply a rotational torque to the driven pulley (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-12. Walker discloses wherein: the foundation comprises a plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 38); and the cable assembly (18) comprises an elongate support cable (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end of the conveyor system and rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves (Fig.5-6, and 8).
Regarding claim-13. Walker discloses wherein the cable assembly (18) comprises a plurality of carry frames (fixed frames Fig.5-8), and wherein the conveyor belt (19) is held in position on the plurality of carry frames through static friction between the conveyor belt (19) and the plurality of carry frames (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-14. Walker discloses wherein the cable assembly (18) comprises an elongate support cable (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end of the conveyor system, and wherein each of the plurality of carry frames comprises a connector that couples the carry frame to the support cable (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-15. Walker discloses wherein the end section comprises one or more deflection sheaves configured to separate the cable assembly (18) from the conveyor belt (19) whereby the cable assembly is directed in a first direction while the conveyor belt is directed in a second direction disposed at a non-zero angle from the first direction (The belt passes over drums mounted in the discharge unit 11 and the belt tension carriage 12 to reverse its direction, the upper runs of the cable circuits being deflected outwardly to enable them to pass the bights in the belt, See Fig.1-6, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-16. Walker discloses a conveyor system extending between an infeed end (defined at 12, Fig.1) and an outfeed end (defined at 11, Fig.1), the conveyor system comprising:
a foundation positioned on a terrain (Fig.1-3);
a cable assembly (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and supported on the foundation;
a conveyor belt (19) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and freely supported on the cable assembly whereby a load path is defined that extends from the conveyor belt, through the cable assembly, and to the foundation (Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73, Fig.1-8); and
an end section corresponding to one of the infeed end and the outfeed end of the conveyor system, wherein the end section comprises one or more deflection sheaves configured to separate the cable assembly (18) from the conveyor belt (19) whereby the cable assembly is directed in a first direction while the conveyor belt is directed in a second direction disposed at a non-zero angle from the first direction (The belt passes over drums mounted in the discharge unit 11 and the belt tension carriage 12 to reverse its direction, the upper runs of the cable circuits being deflected outwardly to enable them to pass the bights in the belt, See Fig.1-6, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-17. Walker discloses wherein: the foundation comprises a plurality of idler sheaves (34 or 38); and the cable assembly comprises an elongate support cable (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end of the conveyor system and rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves (Fig.5-6, and 8).
Regarding claim-18. Walker discloses wherein the cable assembly (18) comprises a plurality of carry frames (fixed frames Fig.5-6, and 8), and wherein the conveyor belt (19) is held in position on the plurality of carry frames through static friction between the conveyor belt and the plurality of carry frames (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73).
Regarding claim-19. Walker discloses wherein the cable assembly (18) comprises an elongate support cable (18) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end of the conveyor system (Fig.1-5), and wherein each of the plurality of carry frames comprises a connector that couples the carry frame to the support cable (Fig.5-8, Pg.1 line77 to Pg.2 line73, Fig.1-6, and 8).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (SU 585111).
Regarding claim-1. SU discloses a conveyor system extending between an infeed end and an outfeed end (Fig.1), the conveyor system comprising: a foundation positioned on a terrain, the foundation comprising a plurality of idler sheaves (Fig.1); a cable assembly (rope 2) extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and supported on the foundation, the cable assembly comprising an elongate support cable rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves Fig.1); and a conveyor belt extending from the infeed end to the outfeed end and freely supported on the cable assembly whereby a load path is defined that extends from the conveyor belt, through the cable assembly, and to the foundation (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-2. SU discloses wherein the support cable is rollably supported by the plurality of idler sheaves through metal-to-metal contact between the support cable and the plurality of idler sheaves (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-3. SU discloses wherein the plurality of idler sheaves each comprise a radially outer concave contact surface in contact with the support cable of the cable assembly (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-4. SU discloses wherein the cable assembly comprises a plurality of carry frames coupled along the support cable, and wherein the conveyor belt is held in position on the plurality of carry frames through static friction between the conveyor belt and the plurality of carry frames (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-5. SU discloses wherein each of the plurality of carry frames comprises a connector that couples the carry frame to the support cable (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-6. SU discloses wherein the foundation comprises a plurality of spaced support towers, each support tower comprising a vertically extending tower column and an idler support frame positioned atop the tower column, wherein at least one of the plurality of idler sheaves is coupled to the idler support frame (Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (GB 813210) in view of (SU 585111).
Regarding claim-6 and 20. Walker doesn’t teach wherein the foundation comprises a plurality of spaced support towers, each support tower comprising a vertically extending tower column and an idler support frame positioned atop the tower column, wherein at least one of the plurality of idler sheaves is coupled to the idler support frame and which rollably support the cable assembly.
SU discloses a conveyor system supported by rope (Fig.1) and also, teaches wherein the foundation comprises a plurality of spaced support towers (Fig.1), each support tower comprising a vertically extending tower column (defined at 1) and an idler support frame positioned atop the tower column, wherein at least one of the plurality of idler sheaves is coupled to the idler support frame and which rollably support the cable assembly (Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally provide Walker with support towers as taught by Su for purpose to handle loads without sagging, bending, or failing of conveyor belt.
Conclusion
Note: Examiner suggest applicant to take a look at Notice of References cited PTO-892 as there are other multiple prior arts especially DE 102019219482 A1, US 20200331705 A1, US 20200172342 A1, WO 2017152294 A1, US 20040168890 A1, US 6588583 B2, WO 0063096 A1, US 4440293 A, US 4234073 A with BRI can used to reject some claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure See PTO-892.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651