DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Romero Gonzalez (ES #2438618).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Romero Gonzalez teaches:
A current sensor, comprising:
a first coil comprising at least one first conductor and at least one second conductor twisted in a first twist direction (Fig.1 Elements 2, 2A, & 2B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation. See also Fig. 6A & 6B Elements 2A & 2B.); and
a second coil comprising at least one third conductor and at least one fourth conductor twisted in a second twist direction (Fig.1 Elements 3, 3A, & 3B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation. See also Fig. 6A & 6B Elements 3A & 3B.).
Regarding claim 2, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the first and second coils each comprise a Rogowski coil (Fig.1 Elements 2 & 3. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation wherein they are disclosed as Rogowski coils.).
Regarding claim 3, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the first Rogowski coil runs alongside the second Rogowski coil (Fig.1 Elements 2 & 3. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation wherein these Rogowski coils are intertwined next to each other.).
Regarding claim 6, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the current sensor is configured to measure a plasma current of a tokamak fusion machine (Fig.1 Elements 2 & 3. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation wherein the coils can measure electric current no matter the form it takes.).
Regarding claim 7, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the current sensor is configured to be disposed in a channel of a vacuum vessel of a tokamak plasma fusion machine (Fig.1 Elements 2 & 3. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation wherein the coils can measure electric current no matter the form it takes and can be placed wherever necessary .).
Regarding claim 8, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the first Rogowski coil is a first twisted-pair Rogowski coil and the second Rogowski coil is a second twisted-pair Rogowski coil (Fig.1 Elements 2, 3, 2A, 2B, 3A, & 3B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation wherein they are disclosed as twisted pair Rogowski coils.).
Regarding claim 14, Cancelled
Regarding Independent claim 15, Romero Gonzalez teaches:
A method of measuring an electromagnetic parameter, the method comprising:
processing signals from both of:
a first coil comprising at least one first conductor and at least one second conductor twisted in a first twist direction (Fig.1 Elements 2, 2A, & 2B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation.); and
a second coil comprising at least one third conductor and at least one fourth conductor twisted in a second twist direction (Fig.1 Elements 3, 3A, & 3B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation.).
Regarding claim 20, Cancelled.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rohollahi (Rohollahi, Akbar. Experimental Studies Using Compact Torus Injector. Diss. University of Saskatchewan, 2017.).
Regarding Independent claim 9, Rohollahi teaches:
An apparatus, comprising:
a vacuum vessel having at least one channel in an exterior of the vacuum vessel (See examiner amended Fig. 2.5 below. See copied text below.);
wherein a current sensor is disposed in the at least one channel (See examiner amended Fig. 2.5 below. See copied text below.).
Regarding claim 10, Rohollahi teaches all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi teaches the apparatus comprises a plasma fusion reactor (See Fig. 2.5 wherein it is a version of a tokamak reactor.).
Regarding claim 11, Rohollahi teaches all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi teaches the current sensor comprises at least one Rogowski coil (See Fig. 2.5 wherein the Rogowski coil is explicitly listed.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romero Gonzalez (ES #2438618) in view of Kojovic (U.S. PGPub # 2008/0106253).
Regarding claim 4, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez does not explicitly teach circuitry configured to determine a sum of a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil.
Kojovic teaches circuitry configured to determine a sum of a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil (See paragraphs 0034, 0043, & 0053 wherein addition and subtraction of signals is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojovic to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that circuitry would be configured to determine a sum of a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil because this is a common, well-known calculation that would be performed to determine an average, for example.
Regarding claim 5, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez does not explicitly teach circuitry configured to determine a difference between a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil.
Kojovic teaches circuitry configured to determine a difference between a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil (See paragraphs 0034, 0043, & 0053 wherein addition and subtraction of signals is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojovic to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that circuitry would be configured to determine a difference between a first signal from the first Rogowski coil and a second signal from the second Rogowski coil because this is a common, well-known calculation that would be performed to determine possible amounts of error between two different coils in their respective measurements.
Regarding claim 16, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez does not explicitly teach the measuring comprises subtracting a signal from the first coil from a signal from the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises a current.
Kojovic teaches the measuring comprises subtracting a signal from the first coil from a signal from the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises a current (See paragraphs 0034, 0043, & 0053 wherein addition and subtraction of signals is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojovic to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that the measuring comprises subtracting a signal from the first coil from a signal from the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises a current because this is a common, well-known calculation that would be performed to determine possible amounts of error between two different coils in their respective measurements.
Regarding claim 17, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez does not explicitly teach the measuring comprises adding a signal from the first coil to a signal form the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises diamagnetic flux.
Kojovic teaches the measuring comprises adding a signal from the first coil to a signal form the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises diamagnetic flux (See paragraphs 0034, 0043, & 0053 wherein addition and subtraction of signals is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kojovic to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that the measuring comprises adding a signal from the first coil to a signal form the second coil and the electromagnetic parameter comprises diamagnetic flux because this is a common, well-known calculation that would be performed to determine an average, for example.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohollahi (Rohollahi, Akbar. Experimental Studies Using Compact Torus Injector. Diss. University of Saskatchewan, 2017.).
Regarding claim 13, Rohollahi teaches all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi does not explicitly teach the at least one channel has a depth of no more than 5 mm.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the at least one channel has a depth of no more than 5 mm because the 18 AWG wires of the plasma current Rogowski coils would be wires of about 1,02mm that would not require a channel to be much mor than the diameter to neatly fit within.
Claims 12 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohollahi (Rohollahi, Akbar. Experimental Studies Using Compact Torus Injector. Diss. University of Saskatchewan, 2017.) in view of Romero Gonzalez (ES #2438618).
Regarding claim 12, Rohollahi teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi does not explicitly teach the at least one Rogowski coil comprise a twisted-pair Rogowski coil or a Rogowski coil with a center conductor.
Romero Gonzalez teaches the at least one Rogowski coil comprise a twisted-pair Rogowski coil or a Rogowski coil with a center conductor (Fig.1 Elements 2, 2A, & 2B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Rohollahi to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that the at least one Rogowski coil comprise a twisted-pair Rogowski coil or a Rogowski coil with a center conductor because Rohollahi already suggests pairs of wires on page 33 last paragraph wherein it states that “the plasma current Rogowski coil is made of 18 AWG enameled wires.” Also, as stated in the translation of Romero Gonzalez paragraph 0025, “the coil of the invention provides a correct and highly accurate measurement of the current flowing through a conductor, regardless of the relative positioning and orientation between the measuring loop and the conductor whose current is to be measured.”
Regarding claim 18, Rohollahi teaches all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi teaches the exterior of the vacuum vessel has comprising: a neutron and/or shield or a thermal shield, the neutron shield or thermal shield comprising shielding tiles, wherein the at least one channel is formed between adjacent shielding tiles (See Fig. 2.5 wherein a tokamak reactor necessarily has all of these limitations in order to operate without destroying itself.); and (a Rogowski coil) disposed within the at least one channel (See examiner amended Fig. 2.5.).
Rohollahi does not explicitly teach wherein the current sensor comprises at least one twisted pair.
Romero Gonzales teaches the current sensor comprises at least one twisted pair (Fig.1 Elements 2, 2A, & 2B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Rohollahi to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that the current sensor comprises at least one twisted pair because Rohollahi already suggests pairs of wires on page 33 last paragraph wherein it states that “the plasma current Rogowski coil is made of 18 AWG enameled wires.” Also, as stated in the translation of Romero Gonzalez paragraph 0025, “the coil of the invention provides a correct and highly accurate measurement of the current flowing through a conductor, regardless of the relative positioning and orientation between the measuring loop and the conductor whose current is to be measured.”
Regarding claim 19, Rohollahi & Romero Gonzales teach all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Rohollahi does not explicitly teach at least one second twisted pair within the at least one channel.
Romero Gonzales teaches at least one second twisted pair within the at least one channel (Fig.1 Elements 3, 3A, & 3B. See paragraph 0067 of the provided translation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Rohollahi to the teachings of Romero Gonzalez such that at least one second twisted pair is within the at least one channel because Rohollahi already suggests pairs of wires on page 33 last paragraph wherein it states that “the plasma current Rogowski coil is made of 18 AWG enameled wires.” Also, as stated in the translation of Romero Gonzalez paragraph 0025, “the coil of the invention provides a correct and highly accurate measurement of the current flowing through a conductor, regardless of the relative positioning and orientation between the measuring loop and the conductor whose current is to be measured.”
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romero Gonzalez (ES #2438618) in view of Rohollahi (Rohollahi, Akbar. Experimental Studies Using Compact Torus Injector. Diss. University of Saskatchewan, 2017.).
Regarding claim 21, Romero Gonzalez teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Romero Gonzalez does not explicitly teach the at least one first conductor has a width of no more than 2 millimeters.
Rohollahi teaches the at least one first conductor has a width of no more than 2 millimeters (See bottom of page 33 wherein it states that “the plasma current Rogowski coil is made of 18 AWG enameled wires,) which equates to 1.02 mm.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Romero Gonzalez to the teachings of Rohollahi such that the at least one first conductor has a width of no more than 2 millimeters because this allows for more precise measurements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858