DETAILED ACTION
Examiner note: Examiner respectfully suggests Applicant telephone Examiner Adams (571-270-3688) prior to filing a response to the instant office action to discuss claim clarifications in a scheduled interview to move the instant application in a Condition for Allowance. Including language directed towards sound signal phase considerations is disclosed in NAKAGAWA and would not assist towards allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) Novelty; Prior Art.— A person shall be entitled to a patent unless: (2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122 (b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(b) Exceptions: (2) Disclosures appearing in applications and patents.— A disclosure shall not be prior art to a claimed invention under subsection (a)(2) if: (A) the subject matter disclosed was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; (B) the subject matter disclosed had, before such subject matter was effectively filed under subsection (a)(2), been publicly disclosed by the inventor or a joint inventor or another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; or (C) the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person.
Claims 12-14, 17-19, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over NAKAGAWA et al. (Pub. No: US 2015-0273322).
As per Claim 12 NAKAGAWA discloses A vibration signal generation device configured to generate a vibration signal according to content, the device comprising a controller, wherein the controller is configured to (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 scene object content – controller information processing unit 10 generate vibration signal V10 in scene of display in Fig. 1 [Abstract] [0006] according to manipulation to generate the vibration [0061-0062] signal processing unit 133 [0086, 0088-0089] [0098-0099] [0170, 0178]):
obtain a sound signal of the content (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 [0046] sound signal acquisition unit 113 and signal processing unit 133 get the sound data content object [0073-0079[0086, 0088-0089]);
detect a plurality of vibration output units disposed in a vibration output mechanism (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 vibration acquire unit 111 for the plurality vibration units as each vibration direction component to be generated for simulation – see plurality of direction components [0054] [0162] [0170-0178] [0188]);
obtain at least one parameter value for each of the vibration output units (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 delays, phase/amplitudes weights and degrees available for the directional components as depicted in at least Fig. 6 [0113-0114]);
and generate the vibration signal for each of the vibration output units, based on sound signal and the parameter value for each of the vibration output units (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 based upon simulation feedback tactile response – as depicted in Fig. 1 [0046-0049] [0061-0062] [0077-0079] [0144] generate for each component [0178-0179]).
As per Claim 13 NAKAGAWA discloses The vibration signal generation device according to claim 12, further comprising
a memory configured to store the parameter value for each of the vibration output units (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 – as depicted in Fig. 17 memory 903 for apparatus 10 – see plurality of direction components for units [0054] [0178-0179] – and see vibration acquire unit 111 for the plurality vibration units as each vibration direction component to be generated for simulation [0162] [0170-0178] [0188]), wherein the controller is configured to obtain the parameter value corresponding to each vibration output unit from the memory (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 – as depicted in Fig. 17 each component [0054] [0178-0179]).
As per Claim 14 NAKAGAWA discloses The vibration signal generation device according to claim 13, wherein
the memory stores the parameter value corresponding to a scene of the content (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 – Fig. 1 for object scene v10 and to store in memory 903 vibration data available for the directional components [0113-0114]), and the controller is configured to detect the scene of the currently playing content (Fig. 1 object currently player v10 controller information processing unit 10 [0046-0049]), and obtain the parameter value corresponding to the scene and the vibration output unit from the memory (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 object currently player v10 controller information processing unit 10 [0046-0049] delays, phase/amplitudes weights and degrees available for the directional components [0113-0114]).
As per Claim 17 NAKAGAWA discloses A content reproduction system comprising (Fig. 1 system - for display 90, remote 80, collect and processing sound and vibration signals for the subject V10 to be reproduced [0046-0049] [0061-0062] [0077-0079] [0144] [0178-0179]):
a video display unit configured to display video according to a video signal (Figs. 1-2 display 50 [0052]);
a sound output unit configured to output sound according to a sound signal (Fig. 5 microphone 33 and processed signal unit 13 [0072-0076]);
a vibration output mechanism configured to output a vibration according to a vibration signal (Fig. 5 signal processing unit 133 [0072-0076]);
and a content reproduction device configured to output the video signal, the sound signal, and the vibration signal according to a content, to the video display unit, the sound output unit, and the vibration output mechanism (Figs 1-6, 11-15, 17 UI control output for reproduction 15 [0072-0079] [0086, 0088-0089]),
wherein the content reproduction device includes a controller, and the controller is configured to (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 scene object content – controller information processing unit 10 generate vibration signal V10 in scene of display in Fig. 1 [Abstract] [0006] according to manipulation to generate the vibration [0061-0062] signal processing unit 133 [0086, 0088-0089] [0098-0099] [0170, 0178])
obtain the sound signal of the content (See said analysis for Claim 12); detect a plurality of vibration output units disposed in the vibration output mechanism (See said analysis for Claim 12); obtain a parameter value for each of the vibration output units (See said analysis for Claim 12); and generate the vibration signal for each of the vibration output units, based on the sound signal and the parameter value for each of the vibration output units (See said analysis for Claim 12).
As per Claim 18 NAKAGAWA discloses The content reproduction system according to claim 17 (See said analysis for Claim 17), wherein the content reproduction device includes a memory configured to store the parameter value for each of the vibration output units (See said analysis for Claim 13), and the controller is configured to obtain the parameter value corresponding to each vibration output unit from the memory (See said analysis for Claim 13).
As per Claim 19 NAKAGAWA discloses The content reproduction system according to claim 18 (See said analysis for Claim 17), wherein the memory stores the parameter value corresponding to a scene of the content (See said analysis for Claim 14), and the controller is configured to detect the scene of the currently playing content (See said analysis for Claim 14), and obtain the parameter value corresponding to the scene and the vibration output unit from the memory (See said analysis for Claim 14).
As per Claim 22 NAKAGAWA discloses A method for generating a vibration signal according to content, performed by a controller (See said analysis for Claim 12), the method comprising (Figs. 1-12 [Abstract]):
obtain a sound signal of the content (See said analysis for Claim 12); detect a plurality of vibration output units disposed in a vibration output mechanism (See said analysis for Claim 12); obtain at least one parameter value for each of the vibration output units (See said analysis for Claim 12); and generate the vibration signal for each of the vibration output units, based on the sound signal and the parameter value for each of the vibration output units (See said analysis for Claim 12).
As per Claim 23 NAKAGAWA discloses The method for generating a vibration signal according to claim 22 (See said analysis for Claim 22), further comprising: storing the parameter value for each of the vibration output units in a memory (See said analysis for Claim 13); and obtaining the parameter value corresponding to each vibration output unit from the memory (See said analysis for Claim 13).
As per Claim 24 NAKAGAWA discloses The method for generating a vibration signal according to claim 23 (See said analysis for Claim 22), further comprising: storing the parameter value corresponding to a scene of the content in the memory (See said analysis for Claim 14); detecting the scene of the currently playing content (See said analysis for Claim 14); and obtaining the parameter value corresponding to the scene and the vibration output unit from the memory (See said analysis for Claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 20, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable NAKAGAWA et al. (Pub. No: US 2015-0273322) in view of YAMAMOTO et al. (US Pub. No: 2020-0173644).
As per Claim 15 NAKAGAWA discloses The vibration signal generation device according to claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to (See said analysis for Claim 12): the parameter value corresponding to the vibration (See said analysis for Claim 12)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but YAMAMOTO discloses separate the sound signal into a sound signal for air vibration and a sound signal for structural vibration (Figs. 1, 11a, 77-78, 95, 97 vibrational sounds individual bands separate process [0201, 0240, 0258] [0284, 0295] [0473-0474] separation of components [0501, 0519]); generate an air vibration signal based on the sound signal for air vibration corresponding to the air vibration (Figs. 1, 11a, 77-78, 95, 97 separate-generate and output [0201, 0240, 0258] [0284, 0295] [0473-0474] [0501, 0519]); and generate a structural vibration signal based on the sound signal for structural vibration corresponding to the structural vibration (Figs. 1, 11a, 77-78, 95, 97 separate-generate and output [0201, 0240, 0258] [0284, 0295] [0473-0474] [0501, 0519]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include separate the sound signal into a sound signal for air vibration and a sound signal for structural vibration; generate an air vibration signal based on the sound signal for air vibration corresponding to the air vibration; and generate a structural vibration signal based on the sound signal for structural vibration corresponding to the structural vibration as taught by YAMAMOTO into the system of NAKAGAWA because of the benefit taught by YAMAMOTO to include ambient or unwanted sound contributions processing by separation of sound components which would benefit the sound signal processing/measurement system of NAKAGAWA by accounting for undesirable effects to improve upon the accuracy of measurement data.
As per Claim 20 NAKAGAWA discloses The content reproduction system according to claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to (See said analysis for Claim 17): the parameter value corresponding to the vibration (See said analysis for Claim 12)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but YAMAMOTO discloses separate the sound signal into a sound signal for air vibration and a sound signal for structural vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15); generate an air vibration signal based on the sound signal for air vibration corresponding to the air vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15); and generate a structural vibration signal based on the sound signal for structural vibration corresponding to the structural vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15).
As per Claim 25 NAKAGAWA discloses The method for generating a vibration signal according to claim 22, further comprising (See said analysis for Claim 12): the parameter value corresponding to the vibration (See said analysis for Claim 12)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but YAMAMOTO discloses separating the sound signal into a sound signal for air vibration and a sound signal for structural vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15); generating an air vibration signal based on the sound signal for air vibration corresponding to the air vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15); and generating a structural vibration signal based on the sound signal for structural vibration corresponding to the structural vibration (See said analysis for Claim 15).
Claims 16, 21, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable NAKAGAWA et al. (Pub. No: US 2015-0273322) in view of OOHASHI et al. (US Pub. No: 2015-0216762).
As per Claim 16 NAKAGAWA discloses The vibration signal generation device according to claim 12, wherein
the parameter value is selected from the group consisting of (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 delays, phase/amplitudes weights and degrees available for the directional components as depicted in at least Fig. 6 [0113-0114]): a delay time that delays the sound signal (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 delay amounts affecting sound [0076-0079]); and an amplification factor for the sound signal (Figs. 1-6, 11-15, 17 sound amplitude variations [0064, 0080, 0084]); a sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 12)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but OOHASHI discloses a cutoff frequency of a low-pass filter that extracts a low-frequency component from the signal (in at least Figs. 4-5 [0249] [0251]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cutoff frequency of a low-pass filter that extracts a low-frequency component from the signal as taught by OOHASHI into the system of NAKAGAWA because of the benefit taught by OOHASHI to include extend signal processing measurement detection sound component values into separate components to provide the ability to filter out unwanted signal bands to improve upon the sound measurement system of NAKAGAWA
As per Claim 21 NAKAGAWA discloses The content reproduction system according to claim 17, wherein
the parameter value is selected from the group consisting of (See said analysis for Claim 16): a delay time that delays the sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16); and an amplification factor for the sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16); a sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but OOHASHI discloses a cutoff frequency of a low-pass filter that extracts a low-frequency component from the signal (See said analysis for Claim 16)
As per Claim 26 NAKAGAWA discloses The method for generating a vibration signal according to claim 22, wherein
the parameter value is selected from the group consisting of (See said analysis for Claim 16): a delay time that delays the sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16); and an amplification factor for the sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16); a sound signal (See said analysis for Claim 16)
NAKAGAWA does not disclose but OOHASHI discloses a cutoff frequency of a low-pass filter that extracts a low-frequency component from the signal (See said analysis for Claim 16)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EILEEN M ADAMS whose telephone number is 571-270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481