DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youk et al. (KR 20230051053, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 1: Youk teaches a method for cleaning a reactor, the method comprising: filling the inside of a reactor by supplying a cleaning solvent from a cleaning solvent supply unit to the reactor through a cleaning solvent supply line (pg. 3, sixth full paragraph);
filling the reactor with the cleaning solvent by passing the cleaning solvent from the cleaning solvent supply unit to the reactor through the cleaning solvent supply line (pg. 3, sixth full paragraph), and
transporting a cleaning solvent stream including polymers to the cleaning solvent supply unit through a cleaning solvent discharge line(pg. 4, sixth full paragraph).
Youk does not expressly disclose heating the cleaning solvent in the reactor, wherein heating the cleaning solvent in the reactor comprises passing a lower discharge stream of the reactor to one or more heating devices and to a side of the reactor. However, Youk teaches that solvent may be heated by a heating device and introduced into the reactor at a side of the reactor (pg. 3, sixth full paragraph, pg. 4, eight full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Youk by heating a lower discharge stream of the reactor with the heating device and passing the stream to the side of the reactor in order to contact sidewall with heated solvent as suggested by Youk.
Regarding Claim 7: Youk further teaches preheating the cleaning solvent within the claimed range (pg. 3, final paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8: Youk further teaches circulating the cleaning solvent preheated in the cleaning solvent supply unit through an auxiliary circulation line connecting the cleaning solvent supply line and a cleaning solvent discharge line to each other while heating the cleaning solvent in the reactor (Fig. 4, L10, L11)
Regarding Claim 9: Youk further teaches the cleaning solvent is passed from the cleaning solvent supply unit to one or more of a lower part and a side part of the reactor (pg. 4, eighth full paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10: Youk further teaches an internal temperature of the reactor is within the claimed range (pg. 5, first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 11: Youk further teaches wherein a temperature of the cleaning solvent stream discharged from the upper part of the reactor is within the claimed range (pg. 3, final paragraph).
Regarding Claim 12: Youk further teaches the claimed cleaning solvents(pg. 3, fifth full paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13: Youk teaches a system for cleaning a reactor, the system comprising:
a cleaning solvent supply unit (element 20) configured to receive, store, and preheat a cleaning solvent supplied from the outside and configured to supply the cleaning solvent, wherein the solvent supply unit being connected to one or more of a lower part of the reactor or a side of the reactor through a cleaning solvent supply line (lower element L12), and wherein the cleaning solvent supply unit is configured to recover the cleaning solvent discharged from the reactor, wherein the cleaning solvent supply unit is connected to an upper part of the reactor through a cleaning solvent discharge line (upper element L12);
wherein an auxiliary circulation line connects the discharge line to each other, and the auxiliary circulation line has a first side connected between a valve disposed on the cleaning solvent supply line and the cleaning solvent supply unit, and a second side connected between a valve disposed on the cleaning solvent discharge line and the cleaning solvent supply unit.
Though Youk does not expressly disclose a first heating device configured to heat the cleaning solvent in the reactor using a steam as a heat source. However, steam heat sources are well known in the art and used conventionally to heat solvents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Youk to provide a heat source which uses steam as is known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The reviewed prior art does not anticipate or fairly suggest the method or system for cleaning a reactor as set forth in the claims. The closest prior art of record is that of Youk as discussed above. Youk does not, however, disclose or fairly suggest passing a first lower stream to a first heating device and then passing the first lower stream to a first reflux inlet, and passing a second lower stream to a second heating device and then to a second reflux inlet in the manner required by claim 2. Youk does not teach or fairly suggest heating the cleaning solvent in the manner as required by claim 5. Youk does not disclose or fairly suggest the first and second heating devices in the manner as required by claim 14.
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714