DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant preliminary amendment filed on 4/11/25. Claims 3-8 amended. Claims 1-8 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “primary communication means”, “communication means”, “secondary communication means”, in claims 1, 3, 7, 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoyer et al. US Publication No. 20170019765A1.
Re Claim 1, Hoyer discloses a proximity card addon (108), and arranged to be attached to a proximity card (110) , said proximity card (110) comprising: - a chargeable battery (P136) ;
primary communication means, arranged for communication with a proximity card, wherein said proximity card comprising communication means arranged for Near Field Communication, NFC, with a card reader to exchange authorization data of a user of said card to a restricted area (P12, P18, P29, P43, P44, P46;
secondary communication means, arranged for communication with a mobile user equipment such as a mobile phone and devices (P11, P12, P52, , P75) within said restricted area through Wireless Personal Area Network, WPAN, communication with said mobile user equipment (124; fig. 1A) and said devices in said restricted area (P11, P12, P18, P43, P47, P52, P75) ;
a controller (216, 408; Figs. 2 and 4), arranged for control of said primary and said secondary communication means, and to operate said secondary communication means in an active scanning mode, for transmitting inquiry message and receiving response messages from said devices in said restricted area (figs. 1A-1C, P12… if wireless the communication device may broadcast physical location information continuous or periodically , wherein said controller is further arranged for transmitting to said mobile user equipment said response messages from said devices in said restricted area(P18, 52, 75, 76, 116-121; also see Paragraphs 12 and 18).
Hoyer fail to disclose a proximity card addon having a ISO/IEC7810 type ID-1 formfactor.
However Hoyer discloses a card addon in the shape of card or badge holder (P9, P10, P56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hoyer with a card addon having a form or a shape according to an ISO standard such as an ISO/IEC7810 type ID-1 formfactor since such modification is an obvious matter of design choice and relate only to ornamentation or design which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon for patentable distinction between the claimed invention and prior art.
Re Claim 2, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 1, wherein said controller is arranged for Out-Of-Band communication (Figs. 2 and 4; P12, P18, 29, P30, P43, P46, P52, P63, P75-P76, P116-121, using Out-of-band communication is implicitly disclosed) .
Re Claim 3, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 1, wherein said controller is arranged for Out-Of-Band communication wherein controller establishes a first communication channel over said primary communication means, initiating establishing a second communication channel over said secondary communication means, to exchange data between said mobile user equipment and said devices in said restricted area (P12, P18, 29, P30, P43, P46, P52, P63, P75-P76, P116-121).
Re Claim 4, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 3, wherein said first communication channel is established as an NFC channel, by said proximity card addon to be in close proximity with said mobile user equipment P44, P63).
Re Claim 5, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 1, wherein said controller is further arranged for transmitting to said mobile user
equipment said received authorization data from said proximity card (P12, P18, 29, P30, P43, P46, P52, P63, P75-P76, P116-121; Figs. 2 and 4).
Re Claim 6, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to
claim 1, further comprising: a charging unit, in electronic communication with said chargeable battery and said controller, and arranged for wireless charging of said chargeable battery (P10, wireless recharge, P37, P39: inductive , P69 and 126).
Re Claim 7, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 1, wherein said controller is further arranged for transmitting to said mobile user
equipment said authorization data of said user of said card to said restricted area, received through said primary communication means (P12, P18, 29, P30, P43, P46, P52, P63, P75-P76, P116-121; Figs. 2 and 4).
Re Claim 8, Hoyer discloses the proximity card addon according to claim 1, wherein said primary and secondary communication means are integrated into a single
communication unit arranged for establishing a primary communication channel with said proximity card, and a secondary communication channel with said mobile user equipment and with said devices in said restricted area (P12, P18, 29, P30, P43, P46, P52, P63, P75-P76, P116-121; Figs. 2 and 4).
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Garrity et al discloses a Smart Card Transmitter Apparatus.
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876