DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-21, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed April 21, 2025 amends claims 1-21. Claims 1-21 presented for Examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Priority
3. As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on October 13, 2023 (PCT/EP2023/078527) and October 13, 2022 (EP 22201374.0) and May 26, 2023 (EP 23175578.6).
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/11/25 and 7/28/25 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
Claim 1:
Step Analysis 1: Statutory Category? Yes. The claim is a system claim.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of sensing modules acquire measurements for measurements area and provide output signals. This limitation, as drafted, is an system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “sensing modules acquire measurements for measurements area and provide output signals,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “sensing modules acquire measurements for measurements area and provide output signals, the claim encompasses a user simply sensing modules acquire measurements for measurements area and provide output signals in his/her mind. The mere nominal recitation of a generic sensing modules acquire measurements for measurements area and provide output signals does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claim recites two additional elements: data processing system to process acquired measurements to create datasets-based output of sensor module measurements step and process data. The measurements step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering data for use in the measurements step), and amounts to mere data gathering or manipulations, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The data processing system to process acquired measurements that performs the measurement step is also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the measurements step to create datasets. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the data processing system to process acquired measurements to create datasets).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the data processing system to process acquired measurements to create datasets). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the determination step was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background of the example does not provide any indication that the driver circuit is anything other than a generic, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or data processing system to process acquired measurements to create datasets is a well understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the measurements step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible
Claim 2-21:
Similar analysis applied noise-reduced dataset indicative of the difference in the measurements acquired from sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 5-6, and 12-13, the phrase "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase " so as to" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-21 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-8, 10-25 and 27 of Application No. 19/120567. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sørensen (US 20190124914 A1) (hereinafter Sørensen) in view of Weber-Grabau (US 20180203114 A1) (hereinafter Weber-Grabau).
Regarding claim 1, Sørensen discloses an insect sensor system for detection of insects (para 234, Fig. 1, system 10, para 73, measurement volume for illumination of a living organism, such as an insects, bird, bat, an aquatic organism, etc), the insect sensor system comprising:
- an even number of sensor modules, the sensor modules being paired two-and-two (para 90, 92, determine data based on electromagnetic radiation received from the object, para 50-51, system may comprise at least one first detector and second detector, para 56, detector of electromagnetic radiation comprise an array of detectors, such as a two-dimensional array of detectors, a linear array of detectors, etc.,)
each sensor module being configured to acquire measurements indicative of an electric field strength at one or more measurement areas (para 385, signal of a detector of field LIDAR system with an insect in the measurement volume),
each measurement area being sensitive to the electric field at the measurement area, each sensor module being further configured to provide a single output based on the acquired measurements (para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is the equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector with the same signal strength, para 286, The relative strength of the odd and even harmonics is used for the determination of observed orientation of the insect), and
- a data processing system (Fig. 1, para 241, processor unit 22 adapted for, based on output signal from detector(s)) configured to process the acquired measurements to create a noise-reduced dataset for each sensor module pair based on the single output from each sensor module in the respective pair of sensor modules so as to reduce or remove common mode noise from the measurements (para 299-301, sliding window averaging performed on the dark frames before subtracting in order to obtain noise reduction),
wherein the data processing system is further configured to detect one or more insects based at least in part on one or more noise-reduced datasets (para 386, FIG. 11 shows a histogram of numbers of detected insects 114).
Even though Sørensen discloses signal strength for detecting insects in a area but In analogous art, Weber-Grabau more specifically discloses space 545 between the bottom housing and the upper housing is selectively adjustable to optimize sensitivity [120], and senses disturbances in light intensity due to scattering, reflection, or absorption of the light by objects within the interaction volume, and a controller that is configured to detect an object or object behavior within interaction volume based on the disturbances in the light intensity [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of systems are provided for quantifying aerial or aquatic fauna with respect to number of living organisms, such as animals, such as insects disclosed by Sørensen to use system includes an enclosure formed by a sidewall to define an interaction volume as taught by Weber-Grabau to detect objects sensed are insects to calculate a wing beat frequency of an insect by detecting a waveform of light that is resultant from a modulation of light intensity by the wing beat frequency [Weber-Grabau, paragraph 0016].
Regarding claim 2, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the noise-reduced dataset is indicative of the difference in the measurements acquired by the two sensor modules in a respective pair of sensor modules (para 309, signal comprises normal distributed noise and additional rare events. By determining the standard deviation on the lower half of the normal distribution, and standard deviation of the noise can be determined).
Regarding claim 3, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the data processing system is configured, based at least in part on the one or more noise-reduced datasets, to detect a presence of one or more insects in a proximity of the insect sensor system and, optionally, to classify the one or more detected insects (para 309, signal comprises normal distributed noise and additional rare events, para 23, determined histograms of wing beat frequencies for each sex and each species for identification of possible presence of the respective sex and species in the determined field data, para 17, determination of at least one parameter of the received electromagnetic radiation relating to the species of the detected animals, para 228, FIG. 8 is a flowchart of determining and classifying fauna with system).
Regarding claim 4, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1 , wherein the combined measurement area of each of the sensor modules is larger than 0.5 cm2,or larger than 0.7 cm2,or larger than 0.8 cm2,or larger than 0.9 cm2,or larger than 1 cm2, or larger than 2cm2,or larger than 3 cm2,or larger than 6 cm2 (para 25, he measurement volume may have a diameter ranging from 5 cm to 20 cm, such as from 8 cm to 15 cm), and/or
wherein the combined measurement area of each of the sensor modules is between 0.5 cm2 and 500 cm2, or between 0.7 cm2 and 470 cm2, or between 0.8 cm2 and 450 cm2, or between 0.9 cm2 and 430 cm2, or between 1 cm2 and 400 cm2, or between 2 cm2 to 300 cm2, or between 6 cm2 to 250 cm2 (para 383, Fig. 9, The measurement volume of the system 10 has approximately 3 m).
Regarding claim 5, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1 , wherein a measurement area in a sensor module has a corresponding measurement area in the paired sensor module, and wherein corresponding measurement areas are of substantially equal size, and have substantially the same overall shape (para 69-70, substantially the same, spot size and spot centre for different centre wavelengths w1, w2, . . . , wn., and equal spot size and beam center, para 259, iving organism, such as an insect, bird, bat, an aquatic organism, etc., with the same, or substantially the same, spot size).
Regarding claim 6, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 5, wherein corresponding measurement areas are configured and arranged to sense an electric field from at least substantially parallel and opposite directions (Fig. 2, 9, para 13, electromagnetic radiation for emission of electromagnetic radiation towards a measurement volume, para 277, If an insect has a furry body and shine wing or opposite, total scatter cross-section will be a combination of diffuse and specular reflections, para 372, In optical imaging systems, an object plane is usually imaged onto an image plane that is parallel to object plane).
Regarding claim 7, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 5, wherein each measurement area defines a primary direction, and wherein the primary directions of corresponding measurement areas are directed oppositely (Fig. 2, 9, para 13, electromagnetic radiation for emission of electromagnetic radiation towards a measurement volume, para 277, If an insect has a furry body and shine wing or opposite).
Regarding claim 8, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 7, wherein the primary direction of a measurement area is defined as the normal direction of the plane of largest projection area (para 111, data is obtained from operating a LIDAR for aerial fauna in an area with predetermined species of bats, or from operating LIDAR with simultaneously determination of species, para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector).
Regarding claim 9, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 5 , wherein paired sensor modules are spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance, and wherein the predetermined distance between paired sensor modules is between 0.05 m and 3 m, or between 0.1 m and 2 m, or between 0.15 m and 1.5 m, or between 0.2 and 1 m, or between 0.25 and 0.5 m (para 25, he measurement volume may have a diameter ranging from 5 cm to 20 cm, such as from 8 cm to 15 cm), and/or wherein the predetermined distance between paired sensor modules is equal to or larger than 0.05 m,or equal to or larger than 0.1 m,or equal to or larger than 0.15 m, or equal to or larger than 0.2 m,or equal to or larger than 0.25 m (para 383, Fig. 9, The measurement volume of the system 10 has approximately 3 m).
Regarding claim 10, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 5, wherein the predetermined distance between paired sensor modules is determined as the distance between the centroid of corresponding measurement areas (para 252, measurement volume for illumination of a living organism, such as an insect, bird, bat, an aquatic organism, etc., e.g., with same, or substantially same, spot size and spot centre for different respective wavelengths w1, w2, . . . , wn).
Regarding claim 11, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the two sensor modules in any of the one or more sensor module pairs each comprise a plurality of measurement areas (FIG. 5 system with two detectors, para 56, detector of electromagnetic radiation comprise an array of detectors, such as a two -dimensional array of detectors, a linear array of detectors, etc., e.g., a two -dimensional CCD or, wherein each of detectors arranged for reception of electromagnetic radiation from a specific part of the measurement volume), and
wherein each measurement area of the plurality of measurement areas is configured such that at least one normal vector to the respective measurement area is substantially perpendicular to at least one normal vector of each of the remaining measurement areas in the plurality of measurement areas (para 68, system may have two or more detectors, and a dichroic beam splitter positioned in front of the, e.g. two, detectors, e.g. a Si detector, e.g. a Si quadrant detector, for detection of electromagnetic radiation, para 206, measuring one, two or more species of insects using system, analyse data from the measurement).
Regarding claim 12, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1 , wherein the insect sensor system comprises two or more pairs of sensor modules, and wherein the data processing system is further configured to determine a speed and/or a direction of movement of a detected insect based at least in part on two or more noise-reduced datasets (para 381, FIG. 7 system with two detectors operating according to the Scheimpflug principle, para 259, electromagnetic radiation of at least two different polarization states p1, p2; wherein beams coinciding, or substantially coinciding, in the measurement volume for illumination of a living organism, insect, para 172, sliding window averaging performed in order to obtain noise reduction).
Regarding claim 13, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1 , wherein the insect sensor system comprises two or more pairs of sensor modules, and wherein at least one measurement area of a sensor module is configured such that at least one normal vector to the respective measurement area is substantially perpendicular to at least one normal vector of a measurement area of a sensor module belonging to a different pair of sensor modules and/or substantially perpendicular to at least one normal vector of each measurement area of a sensor module belonging to a different pair of sensor modules (para 360, system 10 used in vector control, such as malaria control in monitoring mosquitoes, para 372, optical axis perpendicular to the object plane and the image, para 68, system have two or more detectors, and for detection of electromagnetic radiation).
Regarding claim 14, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1, wherein at least part of one measurement area in a sensor module is shaped as a flat plate, a curved plate, a spherical dome, a semi-sphere, or a sphere (Fig. 2-7, para 191, reflective object in the beam, e.g. a small sphere with known reflectivity and size somewhere at a known distance along path, para 319, reflective object in the beam, e.g. a small sphere with known reflectivity and size distance along the path, para 111, data is obtained from operating aerial fauna in an area with predetermined species, para 273, directing the received electromagnetic radiation from an area).
Regarding claim 15, Sørensen discloses the insect sensor system according to claim 1, wherein the insect sensor system is configured to measure electric field variations arising from freely moving insects, i.e. from insects moving outside of any cage or enclosure (para 384-385, FIG. 10 shows plots of detector signals and processed detector signal. The curve 100 is a plot of an output signal of a detector of a system with an insect in the measurement volume. The output signal is recorded with sample frequency and intensity variations).
Regarding claim 16 , Sørensen discloses a method for detection of insects (para 234, Fig. 1, system 10, para 73, measurement volume for illumination of a living organism, such as an insects, bird, bat, an aquatic organism, etc), the method comprising the steps of:
- acquiring measurements indicative of an electric field strength, the measurements being acquired by an even number of sensor modules paired two-and-two, each sensor module providing a single output based on the acquired measurements (para 90, 92, determine data based on electromagnetic radiation received from the object, para 50-51, system may comprise at least one first detector and second detector, para 56, detector of electromagnetic radiation comprise an array of detectors, such as a two-dimensional array of detectors, a linear array of detectors, etc., para 385, signal of a detector of field LIDAR system with an insect in the measurement volume, para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is the equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector with the same signal strength, para 286, The relative strength of the odd and even harmonics is used for the determination of observed orientation of the insect),
- processing the acquired measurements to create a noise-reduced dataset for each sensor module pair based on the single output from each sensor module in the respective pair of sensor modules so as to reduce or remove common mode noise from the measurements (para 299-301, sliding window averaging performed on the dark frames before subtracting in order to obtain noise reduction, para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is the equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector with the same signal strength),
wherein the method further comprises: - detecting one or more insects based at least in part on one or more noise-reduced datasets (para 386, FIG. 11 shows a histogram of numbers of detected insects 114).
Even though Sørensen discloses signal strength for detecting insects in a area but In analogous art, Weber-Grabau more specifically discloses space 545 between the bottom housing and the upper housing is selectively adjustable to optimize sensitivity [120], and senses disturbances in light intensity due to scattering, reflection, or absorption of the light by objects within the interaction volume, and a controller that is configured to detect an object or object behavior within interaction volume based on the disturbances in the light intensity [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of systems are provided for quantifying aerial or aquatic fauna with respect to number of living organisms, such as animals, such as insects disclosed by Sørensen to use system includes an enclosure formed by a sidewall to define an interaction volume as taught by Weber-Grabau to detect objects sensed are insects to calculate a wing beat frequency of an insect by detecting a waveform of light that is resultant from a modulation of light intensity by the wing beat frequency [Weber-Grabau, paragraph 0016].
Regarding claim 17, Sørensen discloses the method for detection of insects according to The method for detection of insects according to wherein the data representative of an electric field strength is acquired by an insect sensor system according to claim 1 (para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is the equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector with the same signal strength, para 286, The relative strength of the odd and even harmonics is used for the determination of observed orientation of the insect).
Regarding claim 18, Sørensen discloses the method for detection of insects according to claim 16 , wherein the step of creating a noise-reduced dataset further comprises creating a dataset indicative of the difference in the data acquired by the two sensor modules in a respective pair of sensor modules (para 309, signal comprises normal distributed noise and additional rare events. By determining standard deviation on the lower half of normal distribution, and standard deviation of noise determined).
Regarding claim 19, Sørensen discloses the method for detection of insects according to claim 16 , wherein the step of detecting one or more insects further comprises detecting a presence of one or more insects in a proximity of the insect sensor system, and wherein, optionally, the method further comprises classifying the one or more detected insects (para 309, signal comprises normal distributed noise and additional rare events, para 23, determined histograms of wing beat frequencies for each sex and each species for identification of possible presence of the respective sex and species in the determined field data, para 17, determination of parameter of the received electromagnetic radiation relating to the species of the detected animals, para 228, FIG. 8 is a flowchart of determining and classifying fauna with system).
Regarding claim 20, Sørensen discloses the method for detection of insects according to claim 16, wherein the method further comprises determining a speed and/or a direction of movement of a detected insect based at least in part on two or more noise-reduced datasets (para 299-301, sliding window averaging performed on the dark frames before subtracting in order to obtain noise reduction, para 309, signal comprises normal distributed noise and additional rare events. By determining the standard deviation on the lower half of the normal distribution, and standard deviation of the noise can be determined).
Regarding claim 21, Sørensen discloses a computer-implemented method for detection of insects (para 234, Fig. 1, system 10, para 73, measurement volume for illumination of a living organism, such as an insects, bird, bat, an aquatic organism, etc), the method comprising the steps of:
- receiving acquired measurements indicative of electric field strength from an even number of sensor modules paired two-and-two (para 90, 92, determine data based on electromagnetic radiation received from the object, para 50-51, system may comprise at least one first detector and second detector, para 56, detector of electromagnetic radiation comprise an array of detectors, such as a two-dimensional array of detectors, a linear array of detectors, etc.),
each sensor module providing a single output based on the acquired measurements (para 191, measurement volume generating the signal, which is the equivalent area of a white Lambertian reflector with the same signal strength, para 286, The relative strength of the odd and even harmonics is used for the determination of observed orientation of the insect),
- processing the acquired measurements (Fig. 1, para 241, processor unit 22 adapted for, based on output signal from detector(s)) to create a noise-reduced dataset for each sensor module pair based on the single output from each sensor module in the respective pair of sensor modules so as to reduce or remove common mode noise from the measurements (para 299-301, sliding window averaging performed on the dark frames before subtracting in order to obtain noise reduction, para 385, signal of a detector of field LIDAR system with an insect in the measurement volume), and
- detecting one or more insects based at least in part on one or more noise-reduced datasets (para 386, FIG. 11 shows a histogram of numbers of detected insects 114).
Even though Sørensen discloses signal strength for detecting insects in a area but In analogous art, Weber-Grabau more specifically discloses space 545 between the bottom housing and the upper housing is selectively adjustable to optimize sensitivity [120], and senses disturbances in light intensity due to scattering, reflection, or absorption of the light by objects within the interaction volume, and a controller that is configured to detect an object or object behavior within interaction volume based on the disturbances in the light intensity [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of systems are provided for quantifying aerial or aquatic fauna with respect to number of living organisms, such as animals, such as insects disclosed by Sørensen to use system includes an enclosure formed by a sidewall to define an interaction volume as taught by Weber-Grabau to detect objects sensed are insects to calculate a wing beat frequency of an insect by detecting a waveform of light that is resultant from a modulation of light intensity by the wing beat frequency [Weber-Grabau, paragraph 0016].
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688