DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5 and 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-5, line 1, respectively; the phrase “a refrigerant into a heat transferring apparatus” should be changed to --the refrigerant into the heat transferring apparatus-- for proper antecedent basis.
In claim 3, line 8; the phrase “the pump” should be changed to --a pump-- for proper antecedent basis.
In claims 7-10, line 1, respectively; the phrase “a heat transferring apparatus” should be changed to --the heat transferring apparatus-- for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurihara et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2009/0320502 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kurihara et al ‘502.
Regarding claim 1, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose a method for charging a refrigerant (carbon dioxide) into a heat transferring apparatus (1), the method comprising: a pre-charging step (S1) of charging an inert gas (Nitrogen) into a refrigerant flow path (7) of the heat transferring apparatus to bring a pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to a predetermined pressure {as shown in Figs. 1 and 4: Abstract; ¶¶ [0013], [0079], [0142-0143]}; and a main charging step (S10) of charging the refrigerant into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to a predetermined amount required for the heat transferring apparatus to operate after the pre-charging step {see ¶¶ [0123] and [0144-0145}.
Regarding claim 4, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the method for charging the refrigerant into the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 1, wherein nitrogen as the inert gas is charged to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure in the pre-charging step {see ¶¶ [0142-0144}.
Regarding claim 6, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose a refrigerant-charging control apparatus for a heat transferring apparatus (1) comprising a controller (70) performing control to acquire a pressure in a refrigerant flow path (7) of the heat transferring apparatus detected by a pressure detector (P), wherein if conducting pre-charging to charge an inert gas (Nitrogen) into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to bring a pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to a predetermined pressure before conducting main charging (S10) to charge a refrigerant (Carbon dioxide) into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to a predetermined amount required for the heat transferring apparatus to operate, the controller performs control to determine whether the charging of the inert gas is completed based on the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus detected by the pressure detector {as shown in Figs. 2 and 4: ¶¶ [0081], [0102], [0104], [0119], [0124], [0141-0145] and [0156]}.
Regarding claim 7, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the refrigerant-charging control apparatus for the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller performs control to stop (END) the charging of the inert gas if determining that the charging of the inert gas is completed {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶¶ [0049-0050], [0055-0056], [0071], [0074], [0126] and [01430]}.
Regarding claim 8, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the refrigerant-charging control apparatus for the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 6 further comprising a notifier (73) providing notification of information about the charging of the refrigerant into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus, wherein the controller provides notification of information indicating that the charging of the inert gas is completed through the notifier if determining that the charging of the inert gas is completed {as shown in Fi. 2: ¶¶ [0104], [0122], [0126], [0143] and [0147]}.
Regarding claim 9, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the refrigerant-charging control apparatus for the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the controller performs control to provide notification (76) of the pressure acquired in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus as the information indicating that charging of the inert gas is completed through the notifier {see Fig. 2: ¶¶ [0104], [0119], [0122], [0124], [0143] and [0145]}.
Regarding claim 10, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the refrigerant-charging control apparatus for the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller (70) performs control relating to the main charging to charge (S10) the refrigerant into the refrigerant flow path (7) of the heat transferring apparatus (1) to the predetermined amount required for the heat transferring apparatus to operate if determining that the pre-charging is completed based on the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus detected by the pressure detector {as shown in Figs. 1-2 and 4: ¶¶ [0123-0124] and [0144-0145]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al ‘502, in view of SMAGUE (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2015/0300210 A1), hereinafter referred to as SMAGUE ‘210.
Regarding claim 2, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the method for charging the refrigerant into the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the inert gas is charged to the predetermined pressure at which no cavitation occurs and no gas is produced in a pump arranged on the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step.
SMAGUE ‘210 teaches: the concept of the inert gas (Nitrogen) is charged to the predetermined pressure at which no cavitation occurs and no gas is produced in a pump (12) arranged on the refrigerant flow path (16) of the heat transferring apparatus (10) during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step {as shown in Figure, ¶¶ [0016-0017], [0019], [0030], [0046], [0048] and [0053]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of SMAGUE ‘210 to include inert gas is charged to the predetermined pressure at which no cavitation occurs and no gas is produced in a pump arranged on the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step, in order to facilitate temperature decrease while guaranteeing an absence of cavitation risk at the inlet of the pump, even during transient operation thereof {SMAGUE ‘210 – ¶¶[0019] and [0046]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of SMAGUE ‘210 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the method for charging the refrigerant into the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the inert gas is charged to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure so as to bring the pressure of the refrigerant to not smaller than a saturation vapor pressure of the refrigerant before the refrigerant flows into the pump arranged on the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step.
SMAGUE ‘210 teaches: the concept of the inert gas (Nitrogen) is charged to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path (16) of the heat transferring apparatus (10) to the predetermined pressure so as to bring the pressure of the refrigerant to not smaller than a saturation vapor pressure of the refrigerant before the refrigerant flows into the pump (12) arranged on the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step {as shown in Figure: ¶¶ [0020], [0026], [0030], [0037], [0044-0046], [0051] and [0055-0056]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of SMAGUE ‘210 to include the inert gas being charged to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure so as to bring the pressure of the refrigerant to not smaller than a saturation vapor pressure of the refrigerant before the refrigerant flows into the pump arranged on the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus during operation of the heat transferring apparatus in the pre-charging step, in order to ensures that the fluid at the pump inlet has a sufficient subcooling level with nearly total absence of fluid in the vapor or gas phase, which avoids cavitation risks at the pump{SMAGUE ‘210 – ¶ [0046]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of SMAGUE ‘210 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al ‘502, in view of Matsuoka et al (U.S PG Pub No.: 2009/0133413 A1), hereinafter referred to as Matsuoka et al ‘413.
Regarding claim 5, Kurihara et al ‘502 disclose the method for charging the refrigerant into the heat transferring apparatus according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the refrigerant is charged into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus at a charging rate preventing that a solid of the refrigerant is produced to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to not smaller than a triple point pressure of the refrigerant after the inert gas is previously charged into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure in the pre-charging step {see .
Matsuoka et al ‘413 teach: the concept of a charging rate preventing that a solid of the refrigerant is produced to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to not smaller than a triple point pressure of the refrigerant after the inert gas is previously charged into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure in the pre-charging step {see Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0020], [0022], [0024], [0026], [0028], [0030], [0055], [0077], [0079], [0083-0085], [0087-0088], [0098], [0100], [0104-0106] and [0109]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of MATSUOKA et al ‘480 to include a charging rate preventing that a solid of the refrigerant is produced to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to not smaller than a triple point pressure of the refrigerant after the inert gas is previously charged into the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to bring the pressure in the refrigerant flow path of the heat transferring apparatus to the predetermined pressure in the pre-charging step, in order to reliably avoid the phase change of the refrigerant to the solid state due to the pressure drop when filling the refrigerant {MATSUOKA et al ‘480 - ¶ [0015]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Kurihara et al ‘502 method in view of MATSUOKA et al ‘480 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Conclusion
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/28/2026