DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: please add “wherein” before “the base” in line 2 of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rezzonico et al. (US 20180354594 A1).
Examiner’s note: Claim 1 is written broadly such that the claims would also be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over at least the following documents:
Rezzonico (US 20180354593 A1)- Figures 1-5
Hynes et al. (US 20160355243 A1)- Figures 1-5
Douglas (EP 1582454 A1)- Figures 1-6
Regarding claim 1, Rezzonico teaches a fender for boats (abstract) adapted to couple with boat edges with a sandwich projection (¶[0005]), wherein it comprises a base adapted to be fixed to a boat edge by fixing means (Figures 1-5, element 2. Abstract, ¶ [0016-0017]), and an insert able to be reversibly coupled by interlocking with the base (element 3, Figures 1-5), wherein the base comprising an attachment portion adapted to rest on the edge of the boat (Figures 1-5, inasmuch as applicant), and an adapter portion comprising a cavity adapted to house the sandwich projection of the edge of the boat (Figures 1-5, bottom of base, element 2, comprises two unlabeled protuberances forming adapter portion and recessed cavity between protuberances).
Regarding claim 2, Rezzonico teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the attachment portion and the adapter portion are side by side (Figures 1-5, inasmuch as applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Rezzonico teaches the invention in claim 2, wherein the cavity interrupts a resting surface of the base (Figures 1-5, inasmuch as applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Rezzonico teaches the invention in claim 3, wherein the cavity is channel shaped (Figure 2) with two straight transverse surfaces mutually parallel facing each other (Figure 2) and a straight front surface orthogonal to the two straight transverse surfaces (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezzonico et al. (US 20180354594 A1) in view of Hynes et al. (US 20160355243 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Rezzonico teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the base comprises attachment protrusions (elements 25) able to couple with a first recess and a second recess of the insert (as depicted in Figures 1-5) which comprises attachment protrusions (elements 36) able to be housed in a cavity of the base (as depicted in Figures 1-5). Rezzonico fails to specifically teach wherein the first recess comprises a first straight flat surface, while the second recess comprises a second straight flat surface, wherein the first straight flat surface is shorter than the second straight flat surface, wherein the first straight flat surface of the insert is able to rest on a first straight flat surface of the base, while the second straight flat surface of the insert is able to rest on a second straight flat surface of the base, wherein the second straight flat surface of the base is longer than the first straight flat surface of the base. However, Rezzonico teaches a first and second recess surface, wherein the recess surfaces are able to rest on the surfaces of the base, and wherein the second surfaces is longer than that of the first surface, and of the first surface of the base (Figures 1-5). More, Figures 1-5 of Hynes teaches an analogous fender assembly wherein the insert comprises a first recess and a second recess, and the first recess comprises a first straight flat surface, while the second recess comprises a second straight flat surface, wherein the first straight flat surface is shorter than the second straight flat surface, wherein the first straight flat surface of the insert is able to rest on a first straight flat surface of the base, while the second straight flat surface of the insert is able to rest on a second straight flat surface of the base, wherein the second straight flat surface of the base is longer than the first straight flat surface of the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to replace the rounded insert recess surfaces of Rezzonico with the straight recess edges of Hynes, in order to find the optimum shape and friction coefficient to efficiently promote sliding to insert the insert portion into the base, while simultaneously providing friction for the insert to remain within the base after insertion, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (the teachings of Hynes and Rezzonico), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Rezzonico in view of Hynes teaches the invention in claim 5, wherein the base has two side portions (Figures 1-5 of Rezzonico) and a central curved portion (element 21 of Rezzonico) adapted for being inserted by the fixing means in a direction orthogonal to the attachment protrusions (adaptable inasmuch as applicant), wherein inclined portions (unlabeled inclined legs in base in Rezzonico) and the attachment protrusions (Figures 1-5 Rezzonico), together with the central curved portion (element 21 of Rezzonico), define the cavity of the base (Figures 1-5 of Rezzonico), wherein the attachment protrusions extend toward a symmetry axis of the cavity (Figures 1-5 of Rezzonico), toward each other, wherein the base further comprises two side fins (elements 27 of Rezzonico) that extend from the side portions toward said the symmetry axis so as to form a step (inasmuch as applicant), wherein the insert comprises a core with an outer surface able to interact with external bodies impacting against the fender (Figures 1-5 of Rezzonico and/or Hynes as cited in claim 5), and the two attachment protrusions V-shaped and forming a central groove with an arched profile (Figures 1-5 Rezzonico inasmuch as applicant) wherein the attachment protrusions provide straight outer portions able to couple with the inclined portions of the base (Figures 1-5 of Rezzonico and/or Hynes as cited in claim 5).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644