DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
QTMS source further comprises two input ports (claim 6); and
the first amplifier is coupled to the QTMS source via a circulator (claim 7)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 1st paragraph recites:
a quantum signal source configured for generating a first signal and a second signal, the first signal and the second signal being in the frequency domain of between 4 and 300 GHz
There are no units for the first half of the frequency range and it is not clear if the lower end of the range is 4Hz or 4GHz or something else.
Claim 1, 2nd paragraph recites:
a first transmission line coupled between the quantum signal source and an emitter, the emitter operable to communicate the first signal to a target;
The “emitter” and “target” are inferentially claimed within the functionality of the transmission line. It is not clear if these elements are required (in which case the Examiner suggests affirmatively reciting them) or if they are non-limiting intended use (in which case the Examiner suggests deleting the non-limiting language to avoid confusion).
Claim 1, last paragraph recites:
wherein the first mode is amplified at least twice as much as the second mode between the quantum signal source and the receiver.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the “first mode” and the “second mode”. It may be that some claim language introducing the first and second modes was inadvertently omitted, or this may be a simple typographical error in the articles (i.e., “the” should be “a”). Also, because the first and second modes are not tied to any other elements of the claim, it is not clear what produces the first and second modes or whether they are amplified by the first amplifier or by something else (e.g., a second amplifier).
Claim 1, last paragraph recites:
wherein the first mode is amplified at least twice as much as the second mode between the quantum signal source and the receiver.
It is not clear how to interpret this language. It may be that this was intended to be:
wherein the first mode is amplified at least twice as much as the second mode is amplified between the quantum signal source and the receiver.
Or it may be that this was intended to be:
wherein the first mode is amplified to a magnitude of at least twice as much as a magnitude of the second mode between the quantum signal source and the receiver.
Or it may be that something else was intended. In any event it is not clear.
Furthermore, the claim does not recite amplifying either of the first and second modes, which makes it unclear how to interpret this language that defines the relative amplification of the first and second modes.
Claim 5 recites:
5. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the quantum signal source is a quantum two-mode squeezed state source, the first signal is a first mode of the QTMS source, the second signal is a second mode of the QTMS source, the QTMS source having a first mode port operable to output the first mode and a second mode port operable to output the second mode.
It is not clear if the first and second mode introduced in this claim are the same as the first and second mode in claim 1 (in which case the Examiner suggests using the article “the”) or if they are different (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terminology).
Claim 5 recites:
5. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the quantum signal source is a quantum two-mode squeezed state source, the first signal is a first mode of the QTMS source, the second signal is a second mode of the QTMS source, the QTMS source having a first mode port operable to output the first mode and a second mode port operable to output the second mode.
It is not clear if the first and second mode ports introduced in this claim are the same as the first and second ports that output first and second signals in claim 1 (in which case the Examiner suggests using consistent language and the article “the”) or if they are different (in which case the Examiner suggests using terminology to better differentiate the different ports). Claim interpretation is also complicated because it is not clear if and how the first and second signals and the first and second modes are related, as discussed in claim 1.
Furthermore, if the first and second mode ports in this claim are different from the first and second ports introduced in claim 1, then it is not clear how to interpret the system having the first and second ports outputting the first and second signals (see claim 1) and a separate set of first and second mode ports outputting the first and second modes in this claim. The Examiner cannot find evidence for these different sets of ports in the application. For the purposes of this Action, they will be treated as the same.
Claim 8 recites:
8. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first signal and the second signal are in the frequency domain of 4-100 GHz.
There are no units for the first half of the frequency range and it is not clear if the lower end of the range is 4Hz or 4GHz or something else.
Claim 9 recites:
9. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first signal and the second signal are in the frequency domain of 4-12GHz.
There are no units for the first half of the frequency range and it is not clear if the lower end of the range is 4Hz or 4GHz or something else.
Claim 10 recites:
10. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the gain of the first amplifier is of at least 100, preferably at least 1000, preferably at least 100 000.
It is not clear if the scope of the claim limits the gain to at least 100, or to at least 1,000, or to at least 100,000. The Examiner also notes that the claim recites gain values but does not require any additional structure.
Claim 11 recites:
11. The quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first amplifier is configured to provide an amplification of at least 20 dB, preferably at least 30dB, preferably at least 50dB.
It is not clear if the scope of the claim limits the amplification to at least 20dB, or to at least 30dB, or to at least 50dB. The Examiner also notes that the claim recites gain values but does not require any additional structure.
Claims 2-16 are rejected because they depend from claim 1 and they fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejections.
Many of the claims were rejected above under 112. Nonetheless, in order to allow Applicant to make the most complete response, the following rejections are also made. To the extent the scope of the claims is unclear, the claims are interpreted to be consistent with the teachings in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) s 1-13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the paper by Bourassa entitled “Amplification Requirements for Quantum Rada Signals” (cited by Applicant) in view of the paper by Agarwal entitled “How much quantum noise of amplifiers is detrimental to entanglement” (cited by Applicant) and in view of US 2023/0054964 (Jo).
Regarding claim 1, Bourassa teaches a quantum system comprising :
a quantum signal source configured for generating a first signal and a second signal, the first signal and the second signal being in the frequency domain of between 4 and 300 GHz (FIG. 1b: TMSV generating signal 1 and signal 2);
the first signal having quantum correlations with the second signal;
the quantum signal source having a first port operable to output the first signal and a second port operable to output the second signal (FIG. 1b: outputs of the TMSV for signal 1 and signal 2);
a first transmission line coupled between the quantum signal source and an emitter, the emitter operable to communicate the first signal to a target (FIG. 1b: transmission line for signal 1 from TMSV, through amplifier, and to emitter);
a receiver operable to receive the first signal following an interaction between the first signal and the target, the receiver being sensitive to the quantum correlations between the first signal and the second signal (FIG. 1b: receiver for signal 1 on right side);
a second transmission line coupled between the second port and the receiver (FIG. 1b: transmission line for signal 2 from TMSV, through amplifier G, and to receiver at the bottom); and
a first amplifier coupled between the first port and the emitter, the first amplifier operable to induce a gain of at least 10 to the first signal (FIG. 1b: amplifier for signal 1 between TMSV and emitter);
wherein the first mode is amplified at least twice as much as the second mode between the quantum signal source and the receiver.
FIG. 1b is reproduced for reference.
This illustrates a quantum illumination system. See also page 1, left col., 1st paragraph:
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
This teaches the general quantum system of the claim.
Frequency Range.
The claim recites a frequency range that includes at least part of the microwave range. Bourassa teaches microwave quantum illumination was known and teaches operating with signals in the microwave range. See page 1, left col, 2nd paragraph:
Development of a microwave quantum illumination radar may benefit from the significant advances in microwave quantum superconducting circuits and in particular of Josephson parametric amplifiers (JPAs) [7]. These non-linear, non- dissipative devices have demonstrated microwave amplification with the minimal amount of noise added allowed by quantum mechanics [8]. In a different mode of operation, JPAs have also been shown to be bright sources of microwave TMSV signals [9], [10], [11].
In other words, microwave quantum illumination and the use of microwave signals was known in this field. It would have been obvious to implement the system of FIG. 1b in a known manner, such as within the recited frequency range.
See also Jo. which also teaches operating in the microwave frequency range. See:
[0035] Next, the degree of additional squeezing for the TMSV state as the light source 210 may be determined based on information of an object to be detected. According to the example embodiment, the information of the object may include reflectance of the object and thermal noise, and an appropriate degree of additional squeezing may be determined while changing information of the object through experiments. In addition, a signal in a signal mode 220 and a signal in an idler mode 230 may be additionally squeezed based on the determined degree of additional squeezing. Referring to FIG. 2, the additionally and locally squeezed signal in the signal mode 220 may be positioned toward the object, and the additionally and locally squeezed signal in the idler mode 230 may be positioned toward the receiver. In this case, the local squeezing operation may be applied through an OPO in the optical frequency range, and the local squeezing operation may be applied through a Josephson junction in a cryogenic superconducting circuit in the microwave frequency range. According to the example embodiment, the local squeezing operation may be performed in at least one of an optical frequency range and a microwave frequency range.
It would have been obvious to implement the system of FIG. 1b in a known manner, such as within the recited frequency range.
Quantum Correlations.
Bourassa teaches utilizing quantum correlations. See page 1, left col., 1st paragraph:
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
Ports.
Bourassa teaches a system with a transmitter that outputs first and second signals. Furthermore, ports were well-known in the art for inputting and outputting signals, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the TMSV (and other parts of the system) can be implemented in a known manner, such as with ports through which the first and second signals are output.
Target.
Bourassa explicitly discusses a target. See page 1, left col., 1st paragraph:
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
Therefore, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that there can be a target. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, Jo is also cited. Jo at FIG. 1 illustrates quantum illumination radar with a signal mode and an idler mode, where the signal mode is sent to a target, bounced off the target, and received at a receiver.
See also:
[0027] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of quantum illumination.
[0028] The basic configuration of quantum illumination 100 is to detect a target 120 based on a dual mode light source 110 including a signal in the signal mode and a signal in the idler mode. Specifically, the quantum illumination 100 may transmit a signal in the signal mode to the target 120, transmit a signal in the idler mode to a receiver 130, and detect the presence or absence of the target 120 based on whether the signal in the signal mode reflected from the target 120 and the noise by the target 120 are sensed by the receiver 130.
Therefore, operation with a target as recited in the claim would have been obvious. In particular, Jo is in the same technical field and the results would have been predictable.
Receiver.
Bourassa teaches the advantages of signal correlation in quantum illumination radar. See page 1, left col., 1st paragraph:
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the system is sensitive to quantum correlation between the signals.
Furthermore, Bourassa teaches that the first and second signals are recombined. See page 1, left col., 1st paragraph:
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
Therefore, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the first and second signals can be received and the correlations are measured in the same receiver. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, Jo is also cited. Jo at FIG. 1 illustrates quantum illumination with a signal mode and an idler mode, where both the signal mode and the idler mode are received at the same receiver.
See also:
[0027] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of quantum illumination.
[0028] The basic configuration of quantum illumination 100 is to detect a target 120 based on a dual mode light source 110 including a signal in the signal mode and a signal in the idler mode. Specifically, the quantum illumination 100 may transmit a signal in the signal mode to the target 120, transmit a signal in the idler mode to a receiver 130, and detect the presence or absence of the target 120 based on whether the signal in the signal mode reflected from the target 120 and the noise by the target 120 are sensed by the receiver 130.
Therefore, it would have been obvious that the receiver in the quantum illumination in Bourassa can be implemented in a known manner, such as with the signal mode and the idler mode received at the same receiver as taught in Jo. In particular, both are in the same technical field and the results would have been predictable.
Gain and Amplification.
Bourassa contemplates alternative amplification schemes. See p 5, left col, Section V:
The amount of added noise being entirely dependant on the amplification chain, the symmetric amplification scheme described above may not prove to be optimal. In fact, there is no practical need to amplify both signals equally since only one is actually transmitted.
Hence, it may very well be that an asymmetrical amplification scheme may provide significant improvements on the maximum gain and minimum source power needed to achieve a quantum enhancement. Indeed, in Ref. [17] the authors extended their calculations of amplification of TMSV to asymmetric laser amplification and their results indicate that it may provide a pathway to entanglement-preserving amplification and quantum advantage in high-power applications. Finally, brute force amplification may not be the only way to achieve larger transmit powers. Indeed, arrays of TMSV sources could be build instead since they are naturally uncorrelated. Joseph- son parametric amplifiers are natural candidates for such arrays as they have a small foot print and many can be placed on the same electronic chip.
In particular, reference [17] cited in the above text teaches amplification in high power applications. Reference [17] is the Agarwal paper and it teaches amplification in which entanglement survives regardless of the gain. See Section 2.2, last paragraph:
In contrast to the symmetric case, here one finds V< is always less than 1/2 for n = 0 = and therefore, the entanglement survives no matter how large the gain is. The variation of V< in the two cases as a function of the gain is shown in the Fig. 2. The situation how- ever, is different if n is non zero. In this case there is a threshold va- lue of gain beyond which the entanglement of the initial state is lost. The threshold value of the gain depends on the value of n. Clearly for larger n the entanglement degrades faster. We show this behavior in the Fig. 3. As mentioned in the introduction, our results like (20) and (23) can be tested purely by means of linear optics [10].
In other words, this teaches that any gain with the asymmetric amplification as taught in Agarwal can be used and entanglement will be preserved. As a result, gain of a factor of 10 would have been obvious for the teachings in Agarwal. This will also result in one signal being amplified at least twice as much as the other.
In addition, Agarwal at FIG. 2 illustrates a specific case in which the gain of one signal (dashed line) to a factor of 2. In other words, one signals is amplified twice as much as the other.
See also FIG. 3 which illustrates entanglement vs gain for different values of ղ.
As a result, it would have been obvious that the system of Bourassa can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Agarwal. In particular, both are in the same technical field and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 further comprising a cryogenic refrigerator enclosing the quantum signal source, the cryogenic refrigerator operable to sustain a temperature of between 50K and 5mK.
Bourassa teaches to operate at cryogenic temperatures. See p4, left column:
As we can, preserving the entanglement over a noisy communication channel is difficult as it puts severe constraints on the total amount of added noise during preparation and measurement. Considering that in ambient conditions the average number of noise photons in the X-band if the of order of a few 100, both the preparation and measurement of symmetrically amplified TMSV states must be performed at cryogenic temperatures in order to preserve the fragile entanglement.
Furthermore, the range of temperatures is within the well-known range of cryogenics, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a cryogenic refrigerator operating within the range recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 2 wherein the target is located outside the cryogenic refrigerator.
Bourassa teaches that the preparation and measurement of the TMSV states is performed at cryogenic temperatures, but does not require that the emitter and target are kept at cryogenic temperatures. Furthermore, Bourassa and Jo teach quantum illumination in the context of detection systems analogous to RADAR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that at least some applications would use the system with the emitter and target outside of the cryogenic refrigerator. For example, when considering how existing LIDAR/RADAR is used, it would have been obvious that the target and the emitter would operate in ambient conditions.
Regarding claim 4, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 3 wherein the emitter is located outside the cryogenic refrigerator.
See the discussion of claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 wherein the quantum signal source is a quantum two-mode squeezed state source, the first signal is a first mode of the QTMS source, the second signal is a second mode of the QTMS source (FIG. 1: TMSV),
the QTMS source having a first mode port operable to output the first mode and a second mode port operable to output the second mode.
Regarding the first and second mode ports, see the discussion of ports in claim 1.
Regarding the QTMS, Bourassa teaches the use of a quantum two mode squeezed source to generate first and second modes, as discussed in claim 1. See also Jo which teaches the use of a quantum two mode squeezed source that generates signal and idle modes:
[0028] The basic configuration of quantum illumination 100 is to detect a target 120 based on a dual mode light source 110 including a signal in the signal mode and a signal in the idler mode. Specifically, the quantum illumination 100 may transmit a signal in the signal mode to the target 120, transmit a signal in the idler mode to a receiver 130, and detect the presence or absence of the target 120 based on whether the signal in the signal mode reflected from the target 120 and the noise by the target 120 are sensed by the receiver 130.
[0032] According to the example embodiment, in order to generate a squeezed quantum illumination light source, first, a TMSV state as a light source 210 including a signal mode and an idler mode may be generated. According to the example embodiment, the TMSV state as the light source 210 may be generated by a method using a spontaneous parametric down-conversion (SPDC) crystal, or a spontaneous four-wave mixing (SFWM) method using an atomic vapor cell or an optical fiber.
See also the more detailed discussion of Jo in claim 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the quantum signal source as a quantum two-mode squeezed state source producing the first and second mode signals as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 5 wherein the QTMS source further comprises two input ports.
The claim recites the QTMS source with two input ports. The input ports are not connected to anything (other than the QTMS) and are not recited as performing any function.
Input ports were well-known in the art and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof.. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the QTMS source can have input ports (e.g., spare ports, or ports for known inputs such as power, ground, and control signals).
Regarding claim 7, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 5 wherein the first amplifier is coupled to the QTMS source via a circulator.
The claim recites the first amplifier coupled to the QTMS source via a circulator, but the circulator is not recited as having any particular function other than connecting the amplifier and the QTMS source (e.g., acting a simple optical waveguide).
It was well-known that circulators operate by inputting an optical signal at one port and outputting the signal at another port, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. Because the claim does not require any particular function for the circulator other than passing a signal, it would have been obvious that a circulator can be used to pass a signal from one device (in one port of the circulator) to another (out another port of the circulator), as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first signal and the second signal are in the frequency domain of 4-100 GHz.
This range is within the microwave spectrum and would have been obvious. See the discussion of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first signal and the second signal are in the frequency domain of 4-12GHz.
This range is within the microwave spectrum and would have been obvious. See the discussion of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 wherein the gain of the first amplifier is of at least 100, preferably at least 1000, preferably at least 100 000.
As discussed in claim 1, it would have been obvious that any gain with the asymmetric amplification as taught in Agarwal can be used and entanglement will be preserved. Furthermore, the claim does not require any additional structure to achieve the recited gain, which supports an interpretation that the structure of claim 1 supports the gain values in this claim. Therefore, the cited art teaches the system recited in the claim. If some additional structure is required to achieve the recited functionality, then the additional structure should be added to the claim.
Regarding claim 11, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 wherein the first amplifier is configured to provide an amplification of at least 20 dB, preferably at least 30dB, preferably at least 50dB.
As discussed in claim 1, it would have been obvious that any gain/amplification with the asymmetric amplification as taught in Agarwal can be used and entanglement will be preserved. Furthermore, the claim does not require any additional structure to achieve the recited amplification, which supports an interpretation that the structure of claim 1 supports the amplification values in this claim. Therefore, the cited art teaches the recited structure of the claim. If some additional structure is required to achieve the recited functionality, then the additional structure should be added to the claim.
Regarding claim 12, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 further comprising a second amplifier coupled between the first amplifier and the emitter.
It would have been obvious that more than one amplifier can be used. For example, if more amplification was desired. There is mere duplication of the amplifier already taught.
Regarding claim 13, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 further comprising a second amplifier coupled between the second mode port and the receiver, the second amplifier having a gain of at least half of the gain of the first amplifier, preferably less than 1/10 (FIG. 1b: amplifier for signal 2).
Regarding claim 16, Bourassa teaches the quantum system of claim 1 further comprising a computer configured for performing a digital correlation of the first signal and the second signal.
Computer.
Regarding the use of a computer, this would have been obvious because the use of computers for implementing functionality was well-known, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof.
Digital Correlation.
The use of correlations between the signals would have been obvious, as discussed in claim 1. Regarding digitizing data for processing, it was well-known to digitize signals, such as when performing digital signal processing, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the system can be implemented in a known manner, such as by digitizing signals, such as when determining or using the correlation between the signals.
Regarding claim 17, Bourassa teaches a method of interrogating a target, the method comprising :
generating a first signal and a second signal at a quantum signal source, the first signal having quantum correlations with the second signal (FIG. 1b: TMSV generating signal 1 and signal 2);
propagating the second signal to a receiver (FIG. 1b: signal 2 from TMSV, through amplifier G, and to receiver at the bottom);
propagating the first signal to the receiver via the target (FIG. 1b: signal 1 from TMSV, through amplifier G, to emitter and to receiver on right side),
including amplifying the first signal at least 2 times more between the quantum signal source and the target than any amplifying of the second signal between the quantum signal source and the receiver (FIG. 1b: amplifier G for signal 1 between TMSV and emitter), and
including the target altering the first signal;
digitizing the second signal and the altered first signal at the receiver; and
performing a correlation measurement between the received second signal and the received altered first signal.
See more detailed discussion of the art in the rejection of claim 1.
Target.
It would have been obvious that the system can include a target, as discussed in claim 1. See also FIG. 1 of Jo which illustrates that it was known that a target can alter the detection signal.
Digitizing the Signals.
It was well-known to digitize signals, such as when performing digital signal processing, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the system can be implemented in a known manner, such as by digitizing signals.
Correlation measurement.
Regarding performing a correlation measurement between the signals, this would have been obvious. See Bourassa at page 1, left col., 1st paragraph, which teaches the advantages of signal correlation in quantum illumination radar.
Quantum illumination uses quantum entanglement between two signals as a resource to increase target detection efficiency [1]. At the heart of quantum illumination is a quantum source generating two entangled random thermal noise signals with larger correlations than classically allowed, also known as two-mode squeezed vacuum states (TMSV). Quantum illumination is realized by sending one of the two signals out to a distant target and recombining the received signal with the other one kept in the lab. The extra correlations allowed by quantum entanglement filter-out the received uncorrelated noise more effectively than conventional signals, providing a significant theoretical gain in detection sensitivity [2], [3]. In the last decade several quantum illumination experiments performed using optical lasers have displayed a quantum enhancement in the detection sensitivity using single photon detectors, paving the way to quantum-enhanced LIDAR systems [4], [5], [6].
In other words, one signal is sent to the target and then recombined with a reference signal, and the quantum correlations offer advantages in detection. To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the system performs correlation measurement between the signals to realize the benefits taught by Bourassa.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 2010/0177297 (Guha).
Regarding claim 18, Bourassa teaches the method of claim 17 wherein said performing the correlation measurement includes measuring one of a cross-correlation and a cross-covariance between the received second signal and the received altered first signal.
Bourassa teaches the measurement of a correlation between the first and second signals. Furthermore, Guha teaches to use cross-correlation in quantum illumination devices. See:
[0063] In some embodiments, e.g., the embodiment of FIG. 1C, under hypothesis H.sub.0, the mean photon number per mode of the output beam is given by
and the mean photon count across all K modes in KN.sub.0. Under hypothesis H.sub.1, the mean photon number per mode of the output beam is given by:
and the mean photon count across all modes in KN.sub.1. The term labeled "cross-correlation" is representative of the remnant phase-sensitive cross-correlation between the return beam 112 and the delayed idler beam 146. This term would only appear when a quantum-illumination transmitter is used to interrogate the target region 104.
[0064] In other embodiments, e.g., the embodiment of FIG. 1D, under hypothesis H.sub.0, the mean photon number per mode of the output beam is given by
and the mean photon count across all K modes in KN.sub.0. Under hypothesis H.sub.1, the mean photon number per mode of the output beam is given by:
and the mean photon count across all modes in KN.sub.1. The term labeled cross-correlation in EQN. 4 is representative of the remnant phase-sensitive cross-correlation between the phase-conjugated return beam 112 and the phase-conjugated delayed idler beam 146. Again, this term would only appear when a quantum-illumination transmitter is used to interrogate the target region 104.
This specifically teaches using cross-correlation when quantum illumination is used for interrogating a target.
It would have been obvious that the correlation used in the quantum illuminator can including performing cross-correlation as taught in Guha. In particular, Guha is in the same technical field and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0076503 (Habif) at FIG. 1A illustrates a quantum illumination detection system including a quantum illuminator transmitter 106 that generates a signal beam 110 that is directed to a target 102, and an idler beam 108 directed to a receiver 118.
This also includes a computer processor system 120 that controls the device. See also:
[0040] FIG. 1A is a block diagram of a quantum illumination detection system 100, according to an illustrative embodiment. Detection system 100 may be either a target detection system or an optical communication system as described below. System 100 includes a quantum illumination transmitter 106 and a quantum-illumination receiver 118. In addition, system 100 includes a computer processor system 120 ("processor") that is in communication with both transmitter 106 (via link 116) and receiver 118 (via link 114). There may also be an electrical or optical link 122 between the receiver 118 and the transmitter 106. In system 100, it is assumed that the target 102 is at a distance d from the receiver 118 and/or transmitter 106.
[0041] In operation, detection system 100 outputs an output beam including a signal beam 110 and an idler beam 108, wherein the photons in the idler beam 108 are quantum-mechanically entangled in frequency with corresponding photons in the signal beam 110. The output beam may be generated using any suitable quantum mechanical entanglement source, examples of which are described below with respect to FIGS. 1B and 1C. The signal beam 110 is directed towards a remote surface 102 within region 104. A spectrometer within the transmitter 106 is used to measure a frequency band associated with photons in the idler beam 108. This measurement may occur within the transmitter 106 and/or the receiver 118. Thus, this measurement may occur prior to, concurrent with, or after the signal beam 110 has been directed away from the transmitter 106. The return beam 112, including photons from the signal beam 110 reflected by the remote surface 102 within region 104, is received by a beam collector within receiver 118. A spectrometer within receiver 118 is used to determine the frequency band associated with the photons in the received return beam 112. Processor 120 processors the outputs of the first and second spectrometers as described below.
[0042] In operation as a target detection system, remote surface 102 is a target 102 within a target region 104, and system 100 detects the presence or absence of the target 102 in the target region 104 by the transmitter 106 generating and emitting a signal beam 110 towards target region 104, and generating and emitting an idler beam 108 whose photons are quantum mechanically entangled in frequency with corresponding photons in the generated signal beam 110, to receiver 118. Receiver 118 then determines the presence of target 102 by processing the received return beam 112 and the retained idler beam 108. In some target detection applications, e.g., for applications in which joint-detection is employed, it is useful to delay the retained idler beam 108 before processing it together with the received return beam 112. In these applications, the idler beam 108 is synchronized with the return beam 112 based on an estimate of the distance d and/or a (time) delay in receiving the return beam 112, as described below in relation to FIG. 1C or 1D.
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634