DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“forming means for the plastic molten material” in claim 14. The sufficient structure to perform the acts in the claim is “at least one forming die.”
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. (US 2012/0291631), hereinafter Noda, in view of Rockstedt (US Patent No. 5,762,975).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Noda discloses an apparatus for degassing molten plastic material comprising:
(a) an intake chamber provided with an entry port and an exit port (“discharge passage 101” – par. 0082; Fig. 2) for molten plastic material;
(b) an evacuation chamber (“degassing chamber 22”) for a gas present in the molten plastic material, provided with an entry opening (“inlet port 24”) and an exit opening for plastic material (“outlet port 25”), which is arranged downstream of said intake chamber (as shown in Fig. 2) along a flow direction of the material with the entry opening associated with the exit port of the intake chamber (in Fig. 2, discharge passage 101 and inlet port 24 are labeled at the same point, thus meeting this limitation); and
(c) a forming means for the molten plastic material in transit through said evacuation chamber comprising at least one die (par. 0058).
Noda does not explicitly disclose that the forming means/at least one die moves in an alternate sliding motion along a movement direction transverse to the flow of the material as is required in the claim.
However, Rockstedt discloses a die head (7) (Fig. 4) including a die plate (12) and manifold (21) that is configured as to move in a sliding motion (see Fig. 4) from a first configuration (see Fig. 3) where the die (7) would be in communication with the intake (cavity 3) and evacuation chambers if applied to the apparatus of Noda above at the point between the intake and evacuation chambers (which is a “die” opening); and a second configuration (see Fig. 4) where the die is accessible from outside the chambers of the extruder (Rockstedt, 4:4-4:32). Either the die plate (12) or the die head (7) could read upon the claimed forming die.
Noda discloses a “base” system including an extruder and a degassing apparatus. Rockstedt discloses an “improvement” to the base system above in that it includes a die as configured in the claimed invention, usable with an extruder as in Noda above.
One of ordinary skill in the art, with predictable results, would have had a reasonable expectation of success from having included a die/forming means as in Rockstedt, in the system of Noda above, as to have provided a shaping means for the polymer leaving the intake chamber (extruder) for the molten plastic material as it is degassed in accordance with Noda above.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have specified that the die of Rockstedt is incorporated into the system of Noda as is required in the claims.
Regarding claims 15-17, Noda/Rockstedt discloses the subject matter of claim 14, and further discloses a supporting table (Rockstedt, Figs. 3-4, die head 7) interposed between said intake chamber and said evacuation chamber (as modified above), and includes at least one receptacle for the die with a raised portion (see Fig. 1 and 4) abutting the die.
Regarding claim 18, Noda/Rockstedt discloses the subject matter of claim 15, and the modification above would require the plates from Rockstedt in the modification, as to attach the die to the intake chamber/evacuation chamber, as is required above.
Regarding claims 19-22, Noda/Rockstedt discloses the subject matter of claim 18, and further discloses that there are two retaining clamps (Rockstedt, 3:24-3:40) and screws (threaded elements) used to attach the die to the plate(s).
Regarding claims 23-25, Noda/Rockstedt discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses a rail guide (Rockstedt, 3:7-3:23) as to facilitate the alternating sliding motion (as in Figs. 3-4) and a screw which requires actuation by rotation as outlined above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742