DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action is in response to amendments filed 09/03/2026. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims with respect to interpretation of Claims 1-8 under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretations of Claims 1-8 under 35 USC 112(f) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims with respect to prior art rejections of Claims 1-8 under 35 USC 102/103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that Iwasa fails to teach “obtaining a second path information”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Iwasa discloses actually operating the robot to move along the programmed path to determine measured data and calculate positional and force offsets between measured data and teaching data (see par. 0086). This example falls within the scope of the claim limitation.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that Iwasa fails to teach “calculating an error between the first path information and the second path information”, examiner respectfully disagrees. The repetition management unit taught by Iwasa reads on this step (see par. 0086). The repetition management unit calculates offsets between the robot tip position and the teaching data and repeatedly operates the robot until offset converges to an allowable condition (see par. 0086). As explained in the office action, the example in par. 0086 is minimizing a force offset, but par. 0063 is also cited to clarify that Iwasa also discloses the offset being minimized being a positional offset.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that Iwasa fails to teach “adding a teaching point”, examiner respectfully disagrees. The position thinning unit taught by Iwasa balances minimizing the offset of the robot tip position with adding excessive numbers of teaching points that reduces the efficiency of motion. (see par. 0121). Part of what Iwasa refers to as “position thinning” is adding more teaching points between teaching points in a time segment until a convergence condition is satisfied (see par. 0064), which is exactly what applicant is claiming. Iwasa’s position thinning unit performs additional steps to ensure that excessive teaching points are not added to the point that the robot motion is inefficient (thinning from an abundance of teaching points collected during demonstration), but still reads on each and every limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasa et al (US 20200122325, hereinafter Iwasa).
Regarding Claim 1, Iwasa teaches:
A programming device for generating, as a program, path information that indicates a movement path for a tip point of a robot the programming device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform: (see at least " a teaching computer 400. " in par. 0035 and “The teaching computer 400 acquires, from the demonstration device 30, data of the motion to be shown by the demonstration, and generates a motion command for the robot 100 based on the acquired data.” In par. 0037),
Generating a first path information that indicates a first movement path for the tip point of the robot, based on a movement command for the robot, (see at least “For example, after using the teaching positions at both ends in the time segment of at least part of the teaching position data (or adding the teaching positions of both ends in a time segment of at least part of the teaching position data to a selected group), the position thinning unit 414 repeats one or more operations including deriving a reference line connecting the used teaching positions (or the teaching positions added to the selected group), and determining whether to use another teaching position (or adding the other teaching position of the time segment to the selected group) based on the amount of offset from the reference line until a predetermined condition is satisfied." in par. 0064);
Generating a teaching point on the first movement path that is indicated by the first path information; (see at least "The teaching position acquisition unit 411 acquires teaching position data including a plurality of teaching positions arranged in time series based on the demonstration data of the operator. The teaching position may be other information for determining the target position of the distal end 110. For example, the teaching position may be information that directly determines the target position of the distal end 110 (for example, the target position of the distal end 110), or may be information that indirectly determines the target position of the distal end 110." in par. 0056)
Generating a program that corresponds to the first path information (see at least “Returning to FIG. 4, the position command generation unit 415 generates a position command based on the thinned position data. For example, the position command generation unit 415 calculates a plurality of target positions by performing an calculation including the coordinate conversion from the second coordinate system C2 to the first coordinate system C1 with respect to a plurality of teaching positions included in thinned position data to generate a plurality of movement commands corresponding to a plurality of target positions.” In par. 0072 and “The position command is a command for causing the distal end 110 to sequentially follow a plurality of target positions arranged in time series, and includes a plurality of movement commands corresponding to the plurality of respective target positions. The target positions include a target value of the position of the distal end 110 and a target value of the posture of the distal end 110.” In par. 0052 and "The command storage unit 418 stores the position command generated by the position command generation unit 415 and the force command generated by the force command generation unit 417. The command registration unit 419 registers the position command and the force command stored in the command storage unit 418 in the robot controller 200." in par. 0078);
Obtaining a second path information that indicates a second movement path for the tip point of the robot that is caused to move in accordance with the program (see at least " In other words, the position thinning unit may generate the thinned position data based on the amount of offset between the teaching position and the reference line. In some examples, the term “amount of offset” may be understood to include a difference, variation or measurement of: distance, force, angle, attitude, time, speed, acceleration, location, vectors, or any combination thereof. Additionally, the amount of offset may be determined with respect to the operating tip of the robot," in par. 0063 and "The repetition management unit 423 causes a control unit 212 (described in further detail later) of the robot controller 200 to repeat the motion of the robot 100, the measurement data acquisition unit 421 to repeat the acquisition of measurement data, and the position correction unit 422 to repeat the correction of the position command until the amount of offset between the measurement data and the teaching force data satisfies the allowable condition. " in par. 0086, note the highlighted portion shows that while Iwasa mainly discusses an example where the offset being minimized is a force, Iwasa also discloses that the force could be a position or orientation error of the operating tip of the robot being minimized) ;
Calculating an error between the first path information and the second path information (see at least " In other words, the position thinning unit may generate the thinned position data based on the amount of offset between the teaching position and the reference line. In some examples, the term “amount of offset” may be understood to include a difference, variation or measurement of: distance, force, angle, attitude, time, speed, acceleration, location, vectors, or any combination thereof. Additionally, the amount of offset may be determined with respect to the operating tip of the robot," in par. 0063 ); and
Adding a teaching point to the path that corresponds to the first movement path that is indicated by the first path information until the error becomes equal to or less than a tolerance value. (see at least "For example, after using the teaching positions at both ends in the time segment of at least part of the teaching position data (or adding the teaching positions of both ends in a time segment of at least part of the teaching position data to a selected group), the position thinning unit 414 repeats one or more operations including deriving a reference line connecting the used teaching positions (or the teaching positions added to the selected group), and determining whether to use another teaching position (or adding the other teaching position of the time segment to the selected group) based on the amount of offset from the reference line until a predetermined condition is satisfied. " in par. 0064 and “In other words, the position thinning unit 414 may repeat operations including deriving the reference line and adding another teaching point to the selected group based on the amount of offset from the reference line to the other teaching position until there is no teaching position to which the amount of offset from the reference line exceeds a predetermined threshold value. For example, the position thinning unit 414 may regard a condition in which there is no teaching position at which the amount of offset from the reference line exceeds a predetermined threshold value as the repetition completion condition.” In par. 0068)
Regarding Claim 2, Iwasa teaches:
the programming device according to claim 1,
wherein generating the program is configured to use a movement command which instructs the tip point of the robot to pass through a position corresponding to the teaching point. (see at least “Returning to FIG. 4, the position command generation unit 415 generates a position command based on the thinned position data. For example, the position command generation unit 415 calculates a plurality of target positions by performing an calculation including the coordinate conversion from the second coordinate system C2 to the first coordinate system C1 with respect to a plurality of teaching positions included in thinned position data to generate a plurality of movement commands corresponding to a plurality of target positions.” In par. 0072 and “The position command is a command for causing the distal end 110 to sequentially follow a plurality of target positions arranged in time series, and includes a plurality of movement commands corresponding to the plurality of respective target positions. The target positions include a target value of the position of the distal end 110 and a target value of the posture of the distal end 110.” In par. 0052 and "The command storage unit 418 stores the position command generated by the position command generation unit 415 and the force command generated by the force command generation unit 417. The command registration unit 419 registers the position command and the force command stored in the command storage unit 418 in the robot controller 200." in par. 0078);
Regarding Claim 3, Iwasa teaches:
the programming device according to claim 1,
wherein the first path information is configured to be a sequence of points that indicate positions of the tip point of the robot. (see at least “The position command is a command for causing the distal end 110 to sequentially follow a plurality of target positions arranged in time series, and includes a plurality of movement commands corresponding to the plurality of respective target positions. The target positions include a target value of the position of the distal end 110 and a target value of the posture of the distal end 110.” In par. 0052)
Regarding Claim 4, Iwasa teaches:
the programming device according to claim 3,
adding the teaching point is configured to add the teaching point to at least one position in the sequence of points. (see at least "For example, after using the teaching positions at both ends in the time segment of at least part of the teaching position data (or adding the teaching positions of both ends in a time segment of at least part of the teaching position data to a selected group), the position thinning unit 414 repeats one or more operations including deriving a reference line connecting the used teaching positions (or the teaching positions added to the selected group), and determining whether to use another teaching position (or adding the other teaching position of the time segment to the selected group) based on the amount of offset from the reference line until a predetermined condition is satisfied. " in par. 0064 and “In other words, the position thinning unit 414 may repeat operations including deriving the reference line and adding another teaching point to the selected group based on the amount of offset from the reference line to the other teaching position until there is no teaching position to which the amount of offset from the reference line exceeds a predetermined threshold value. For example, the position thinning unit 414 may regard a condition in which there is no teaching position at which the amount of offset from the reference line exceeds a predetermined threshold value as the repetition completion condition.” In par. 0068 and “Returning to FIG. 4, the position command generation unit 415 generates a position command based on the thinned position data. For example, the position command generation unit 415 calculates a plurality of target positions by performing an calculation including the coordinate conversion from the second coordinate system C2 to the first coordinate system C1 with respect to a plurality of teaching positions included in thinned position data to generate a plurality of movement commands corresponding to a plurality of target positions.” In par. 0072)
Regarding Claim 5, Iwasa teaches:
the programming device according to claim 1,
generating the program is configured to generate the program that corresponds to the first path information, based on a teaching point generated on the first movement path that is indicated by the first path information. (see at least “Returning to FIG. 4, the position command generation unit 415 generates a position command based on the thinned position data. For example, the position command generation unit 415 calculates a plurality of target positions by performing an calculation including the coordinate conversion from the second coordinate system C2 to the first coordinate system C1 with respect to a plurality of teaching positions included in thinned position data to generate a plurality of movement commands corresponding to a plurality of target positions.” In par. 007)
Regarding Claim 6, Iwasa teaches:
the programming device according to Claim 1,
wherein generating the first path information is configured to obtain the movement command for the robot from a second control device that differs from a first control device that directly controls the robot. (see at least "The command storage unit 211 stores the position command and the force command registered by the command registration unit 419 of the teaching computer 400. The control unit 212 operates the robot 100 based on at least the position command stored in the command storage unit 211." in par. 0092)
Regarding Claim 7, Iwasa also teaches:
a programming method for generating (see method in par. 0069), as a program, path information that indicates a movement path for a tip point of a robot, the programming method comprising:
performing, step by step, each function of the device of Claim 1 (see Claim 1 for analysis of the device)
Regarding Claim 8, Iwasa also teaches:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (see at least "non-volatile storage medium" in par. 0099) for causing a computer to execute the programming method that includes each step set forth in claim 7. (see Claim 7 analysis for rejection of the method)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657