Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: functional module (900). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neville (US 11,407,107).
Regarding Claim 1, Neville discloses a robot (100) comprising:
A robot main body (110) configured to accommodate therein a motor and a battery (see Col. 7 Lines 50-67).
A leg part (120) configured to support the robot main body (see Fig. 1A).
A wheel part (130) rotatably coupled to the leg part and configured to roll on a ground surface (see Fig. 1A).
An arm (150) rotatably coupled to two opposite surfaces of the robot main body (see Fig. 1A).
A coupling part (160) disposed on the arm and configured to couple the arm to a functional module (20) configured to move together with the robot main body (see Fig. 1A), the arm being configured to be separably coupled to the functional module (see Fig. 1A)
Regarding Claim 3, Neville further discloses the robot of claim 1, wherein the coupling part comprises a catching member (see Fig. 1A, showing the suction portion of the end effector that is in contact with the functional module) caught by and coupled to the functional module at a position corresponding to the functional module (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 7, Nevill further discloses the robot of claim 1, wherein the coupling part is disposed outside a rotation radius of the arm (see Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neville (US 11,407,107) in view of Guerin (US 10,471,599).
Regarding Claim 2, Neville further discloses the robot of claim 1, wherein the coupling part comprises an attaching/detaching member detachably coupled to the functional module (see Fig. 1A, showing the coupling member as a vacuum type end effector).
However, Guerin teaches the use of magnet (124) for manipulating and object (i.e. the end effector uses an electromagnet; see Col. 2 Lines 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the robot disclosed in Neville with an electromagnet end effector instead of a vacuum end effector as taught in Guerin based on the application of the robot and what type of object is being manipulated by it.
Regarding Claim 6, Neville does not disclose a connection terminal for the robot of claim 1.
However, Guerin teaches the use of magnet (124) for manipulating and object (i.e. the end effector uses an electromagnet; see Col. 2 Lines 25-26). For the rejection of Claim 1, the coupling part is remapped to the connection between the robot arm and end effector, and the function module is remapped to the end effector (124). Since an electromagnet is being used an electric connection terminal connecting the coupling part to the functional module would necessarily be present for the end effector to operate as designed (i.e. electricity being supplied to energize the electromagnet).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the robot disclosed in Neville with an electromagnet end effector having an electrical connection terminal instead of a vacuum end effector as taught in Guerin based on the application of the robot and what type of object is being manipulated by it.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 allowed.
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY ROBERT WEBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618