Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2025 and 07/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kriveshko et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2022/0234209 A1 hereinafter “Kriveshko”).
Regarding claim 1 Kriveshko discloses:
A simulation device for a robot system comprising at least one robot, (Kriveshko [0050] [0067] [0079-0080] wherein a robot is used in the collaborative work environment) at least one sensor for detecting a moving body in a detection area around the robot, (Kriveshko [0050] [0055] wherein the sensors in the system monitor the workspace and environment including moving persons) and at least one control device for controlling the robot, (Kriveshko [0056] wherein the robot system is controlled by a robot controller) wherein the control device corresponding to the sensor decelerates or stops an operation of the robot in response to the sensor detecting the moving body, (Kriveshko [0081] wherein the robot slows or completely stops when a human reaches a certain distance to the robot i.e. is detected by the sensors of the robot with trigger conditions) the simulation device comprising at least one processor, (Kriveshko [0052-0053] [0055] [0063] wherein the robot system including the control system includes computers and microprocessors for simulations) at least one memory, (Kriveshko [0055] wherein the system includes a memory to run operations) and an input device, (Kriveshko [0052] wherein the system includes an input to control the system such as a keyboard and mouse, see also [0054] wherein the workspace includes sensors such as cameras to scan for operators or humans in the workspace) wherein: the memory stores layout information on the robot system; (Kriveshko [0054-0055] wherein the memory stores workspace models and machinery models for the system) the input device receives input of movement information on the moving body; (Kriveshko [0054-0055] wherein the movement of the human operator is determined based on images from the sensors converted to digital form) and the processor executes simulation of an operation of the robot system on a basis of the layout information and the movement information, (Kriveshko [0055] [0098] wherein the system operates simulations to determine the operating parameters of the robot based on machine and human predictions) and calculates a delay time of the operation with respect to a case in which the moving body is not detected in the detection area. (Kriveshko [0025-0026] [0093-0094] wherein the system operates to acknowledge when movement is determined or not determined around the robot to set the actual working zone and speed of the robot).
Regarding claim 2 Kriveshko discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Kriveshko further discloses:
The simulation device for the robot system according to claim 1, wherein the processor calculates a cycle time of the operation of the robot system. (Kriveshko [0095-0096] wherein the system determines a cycle time to update and ensure the robot will not collide with an operator).
Regarding claim 3 Kriveshko discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Kriveshko further discloses:
The simulation device for the robot system according to claim 1, the simulation device further comprising a display device for displaying the layout information, (Kriveshko [0014] [0072] wherein the system includes a display for the human and machine during operation) wherein the processor causes the display device to display, on a basis of the movement information and the layout information, an area in which the moving body is detected by the sensor so as to be superimposed on the layout information. (Kriveshko [0072] wherein the user and the machine operation are highlighted and shown along with potential movements to allow for motion planning).
Regarding claim 4 Kriveshko discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Kriveshko further discloses:
The simulation device for the robot system according to claim 1, wherein the movement information includes a movement path of the moving body (Kriveshko [0078-0080] wherein the system includes movement path of the machinery and operators) and time at which the moving body is present at each position in the movement path. (Kriveshko [0083] wherein the robot operations are determined based on the robot and human points reachable at a unit of time).
Regarding claim 7 Kriveshko discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Kriveshko further discloses:
The simulation device for the robot system according to claim 1, wherein: the processor determines whether or not there is a possibility that the moving body enters the detection area on a basis of the movement information input to the input device; (Kriveshko [0068] wherein the robot movements determines if the human operator is capable or anticipated to move in a time interval) and in response to determining that there is a possibility of the moving body entering the detection area, the processor executes the simulation. (Kriveshko [0098] wherein the robot system determines when potential occupation or movement by the human is used in the simulation to determine safe operation by the robot).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5-6 the relevant art Kriveshko in view of Denenberg et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2021/0379762 A1 hereinafter “Denenberg”) further in view of Kimoto et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2017/0021501 A1 hereinafter “Kimoto”) discloses a robotic system determining when an object enters a region based on simulations and predicted actions (Kriveshko [0055] [0098]) but fails to disclose determining the number of times the object enters or the time the object will state in the zone. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “wherein the movement information includes a number of times the moving body enters the detection area per unit time and a staying time per entry.” or “wherein: the movement information includes a number of times the moving body enters the detection area and a staying time per entry, each of which is classified into a plurality of levels; and the processor estimates the delay time on a basis of a sum value of values obtained by respectively quantifying the levels.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0278427 A1 discloses a simulation system for a robot arm in a space calculating the qualities of the arm during a task
US 20200331146 A1 discloses a system for determining zones of a robot operation where movements would be safe or unsafe
US 2021/0379762 A1 discloses a system for finding save envelopes for a robot operating around other obstacles and users
US 2017/0021501 A1 discloses a system for a human collaboration robot determining motion controls based on simulations of the operation
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656