DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/15/2025.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR
1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2025 is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.
102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aranyi (US 10368,868).
With regard to claim 1, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), comprising a staple cartridge assembly (22) and an anvil assembly (20) the staple cartridge assembly (22) and the anvil assembly (20) being rotatably connected, wherein; the staple cartridge assembly (22) comprises a staple cartridge body (fig.2), a staple cartridge fastener (423c), and a staple cartridge biological patch (24), the staple cartridge fastener (24) is movably connected to the staple cartridge body (fig.2) in a length direction of the staple cartridge body, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is movable between a first position of the staple cartridge fastener and a second position of the staple cartridge fastener, and the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is connected to the staple cartridge body (fig.2) in both the first position of the staple cartridge fastener (423c) and the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, when the staple cartridge fastener is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener (423c), the staple cartridge fastener (423c) connects a front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) to the staple cartridge body (fig.2), when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) enables the front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) to be separated from the staple cartridge body (fig.2).
With regard to claim 2, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), comprising a staple cartridge assembly (22) and an anvil assembly (20), the staple cartridge assembly (22 fig.2) and the anvil assembly (20) being rotatably connected, wherein; the anvil assembly (20) comprises an anvil body (fig.4), an anvil fastener (29), and an anvil biological patch (24),the anvil fastener (29) is movably connected to the anvil body (see fig.4) in a length direction of the anvil body (fig.4), the anvil fastener (29) is movable between a first position of the anvil fastener and a second position of the anvil fastener, and the anvil fastener (29) is connected to the anvil body (see fig.4) in both the first position of the anvil fastener and the second position of the anvil fastener, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener (5) connects a front end portion of the anvil biological patch (24) to the anvil body (see fig.4), when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener (29) enables the front end portion of the anvil biological patch (24) to be separated from the anvil body (see fig.4).
With regard to claim 3, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the staple cartridge fastener (423c) comprises a staple cartridge engagement protrusion (423b), and a staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement hole (451) is provided at the front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24 fig.2), when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener (423c), the staple cartridge engagement protrusion (423b) is inserted into the staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement hole (451), whereby the front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) is connected to the staple cartridge body (see fig.2),when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge engagement protrusion (423b) is withdrawn from the staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement hole (451), whereby the staple cartridge biological patch (24) and the staple cartridge body (see fig.2) can be separated.
With respect to claim 6, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein: the staple cartridge body is provided with a staple cartridge hook (423a fig.6) a rear end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch is provided with a staple cartridge biological patch socket hole, the staple cartridge hook (423a) is bent backward and hooks into the staple cartridge biological patch socket hole, and/or the anvil body is provided with an anvil hook (20b fog.9), a rear end portion of the anvil biological patch is provided with an anvil biological patch socket hole, and the anvil hook is bent backward and hooks into the anvil biological patch socket hole.
With regard to claim 7, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the anvil body (20) has a cavity (see fig.4), a front end of the anvil body (4) is provided with an anvil fastener mounting slot (as seen in fig.4) for mounting the anvil fastener (29), and a portion of the anvil fastener (29) passes through the anvil fastener mounting slot (see fig.4) and is accommodated in the cavity (fig.4).
With regard to claim 8, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the surgical stapler assembly further comprises a cutting assembly (70), the cutting assembly is accommodated in the staple cartridge assembly (22) and the anvil assembly (20),the staple cartridge fastener (22) and the anvil fastener (29) can be pushed by the cutting assembly (70) to move synchronously, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener.
With regard to claim 9, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein: the anvil fastener (29) comprises an anvil fastener engagement portion (451), and the front end of the anvil biological patch (24) is provided with an anvil biological patch (24) engagement hole (see fig.4),when the anvil fastener (29) is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener engagement portion (451) is inserted into the anvil biological patch (24) engagement hole (see fig.4), whereby the front end of the anvil biological patch (24) is connected to the anvil body (see fig.4), and when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener engagement portion (451) is withdrawn from the anvil biological patch (24) engagement hole (see fig.4), whereby the anvil biological patch (24) and the anvil body (see fig.4) can be separated.
With regard to claim 10, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), comprising a staple cartridge assembly (22) and an anvil assembly (20), the staple cartridge assembly (22) and the anvil assembly (20) being rotatably connected, wherein; the staple cartridge assembly (22) comprises a staple cartridge body (fig.7), a staple cartridge fastener (2), and a staple cartridge biological patch (24), the staple cartridge body (fig.7) being connected to a cutting assembly (70), and the cutting assembly can cut the staple cartridge biological patch (24),the cutting assembly can push the staple cartridge fastener (423c) in a front-rear direction of the staple cartridge body (fig.7) to move between a first position of the staple cartridge fastener (423c) and a second position of the staple cartridge fastener, when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) connects a front end of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) to the staple cartridge body (fig.7), when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, a cutting edge (70) or blade of the cutting assembly cuts through the staple cartridge biological patch (24), and the staple cartridge fastener (423c) enables the front end of the staple cartridge biological patch (3) to be separated from the staple cartridge body (see fig.7).
With regard to claim 11, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is movably connected to the staple cartridge body (see fig.7) in the front-rear direction of the staple cartridge body (fig.7), and the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is connected to the staple cartridge body (fig.7) in both the first position of the staple cartridge fastener and the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge fastener (423c) comprises two staple cartridge engagement protrusions (423b), the front end of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) is provided with two staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement holes (see fig.7), and the two staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement holes (see fig.7) are located respectively on both sides of an extension line of the cutting edge or blade of the cutting assembly (70), when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge engagement protrusions (423b) are inserted into the staple cartridge biological patch engagement holes (see fig.7), whereby the front end of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) is connected to the staple cartridge body (see fig.4), when the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge engagement protrusions (423b) are withdrawn from the staple cartridge biological patch (24) engagement holes (see fig.7), whereby the staple cartridge biological patch (24) and the staple cartridge body (see fig.7) can be separated.
With regard to claim 13, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the staple cartridge body (22) is provided with a staple cartridge hook (423a fig.6), a rear end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) is provided with a staple cartridge biological patch socket hole (23a), the staple cartridge hook (423a) hooks into the staple cartridge biological patch socket hole (23a), and the staple cartridge hook (423a) comprises two separated portions, which are located on respectively both sides of the cutting edge or blade (70) of the cutting assembly in a width direction (Y) of the surgical stapler assembly.
With regard to claim 14, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein a staple cartridge biological patch slot (28b) is provided at the front end of the staple cartridge biological patch (24 fig.3), and extends to a front end edge of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) to form an opening, and when the staple cartridge fastener (423a, 423a) is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the cutting edge or blade (70) of the cutting assembly moves to the staple cartridge biological patch slot (28b) to cut off the staple cartridge biological patch.
With regard to claim 15, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), comprising a staple cartridge assembly (22) and an anvil assembly (20), the staple cartridge assembly (22) and the anvil assembly (20) being rotatably connected, wherein; the anvil assembly (20) comprises an anvil body (see fig.4), an anvil fastener (29), and an anvil biological patch (24), the anvil body is connected to a cutting assembly (22 fig.2), and the cutting assembly (70) can cut the anvil biological patch (24),the cutting assembly (70) can push the anvil fastener (29) in a front-rear direction (X) of the anvil body to move between a first position of the anvil fastener and a second position of the anvil fastener, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener (29) connects a front end of the anvil biological patch (24 as seen in fig.4) to the anvil body, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, a cutting edge or blade (70)of the cutting assembly cuts through the anvil biological patch (24 see fig.4), and the anvil fastener (29) enables the front end of the anvil biological patch (24) to be separated from the anvil body.
With regard to claim 16, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the anvil fastener (29) is movably connected to the anvil body (as seen in fig.5) in the front-rear direction (X) of the anvil body, and the anvil fastener (29) is connected to the anvil body in both the first position of the anvil fastener and the second position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener (29) comprises two anvil fastener engagement portions (34a, 34d fig.5), and the front end of the anvil biological patch (24) is provided with two anvil biological patch engagement holes (28a, 28b), which are located respectively on both sides of an extension line of the cutting edge or blade (70) of the cutting assembly, when the anvil fastener (29) is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener engagement portions (28a, 28b) are inserted into the anvil biological patch engagement holes (28a, 28b), whereby the front end of the anvil biological patch (24) is connected to the anvil body (see fig.4),when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the anvil fastener engagement portions (34a, 34d) are withdrawn from the anvil biological patch engagement holes (28a, 28b), whereby the anvil biological patch (24) and the anvil body can be separated.
With regard to claim 19, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein the anvil body is provided with an anvil hook (20b fig.9), a rear end portion of the anvil biological patch (24) is provided with an anvil biological patch socket hole (23a, 23b fig.3), the anvil hook (20b) hooks into the anvil biological patch socket hole (20a, 23b), and the anvil hook (20b) comprises two separated portions, which are located respectively on both sides of the cutting edge or blade (70) of the cutting assembly in a width direction (Y) of the surgical stapler assembly.
With regard to claim 20, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), wherein an anvil biological patch slot (28b) is provided at the front end of the anvil biological patch (24 fig.3), and extends to a front end edge of the anvil biological patch (24) to form an opening, and when the anvil fastener (29) is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the cutting edge or blade (70) of the cutting assembly moves to the anvil biological patch slot (208b) to cut off the anvil biological patch.
With regard to claim 21, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly (10), comprising a staple cartridge assembly (22) and an anvil assembly (20), the staple cartridge assembly and the anvil assembly being rotatably connected, the staple cartridge assembly comprises a staple cartridge body (22), a staple cartridge fastener, and a staple cartridge biological patch (24), the staple cartridge fastener (423c) is movably connected to the staple cartridge body (see fig.7) in a length direction of the staple cartridge body, the staple cartridge fastener is movable between a first position of the staple cartridge fastener and a second position of the staple cartridge fastener, and the staple cartridge fastener is connected to the staple cartridge body in both the first position of the staple cartridge fastener and the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, when the staple cartridge fastener is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge fastener connects a front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24 see fig.2) to the staple cartridge body, when the staple cartridge fastener is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the staple cartridge fastener enables the front end portion of the staple cartridge biological patch (24) to be separated from the staple cartridge body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected
base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the anvil fastener comprises an elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener, when the anvil fastener is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener abuts against the anvil body to prevent the anvil fastener from moving forward, when the anvil fastener is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener is compressed to produce elastic deformation.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the anvil fastener comprises a check portion, and the anvil body comprises a blocking portion, when the anvil fastener is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the check portion is compressed and deformed by the blocking portion, when the anvil fastener is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the check portion moves to a front side of the blocking portion, whereby the blocking portion can prevent the anvil fastener from moving from the second position of the anvil fastener to the first position of the anvil fastener.
With regard to claim 12, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the staple cartridge fastener comprises an elastic retaining portion of the staple cartridge fastener, when the staple cartridge fastener is in the first position of the staple cartridge fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the staple cartridge fastener remains in its original state or undergoes slight deformation, when the staple cartridge fastener is in the second position of the staple cartridge fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the staple cartridge fastener is compressed to generate elastic deformation or undergoes further elastic deformation.
With regard to claim 17, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the anvil fastener comprises an elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener, when the anvil fastener is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener abuts against the anvil body, whereby the anvil fastener is prevented from moving forward, when the anvil fastener is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the elastic retaining portion of the anvil fastener is compressed to generate elastic deformation.
With regard to claim 18, Aranyi discloses a surgical stapler assembly but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the anvil fastener comprises a check portion, and the anvil body comprises a blocking portion, when the anvil fastener is in the first position of the anvil fastener, the check portion is compressed and deformed by the blocking portion, when the anvil fastener is in the second position of the anvil fastener, the check portion moves to a front side of the blocking portion, whereby the blocking portion can prevent the anvil fastener from moving from the second position of the anvil fastener to the first position of the anvil fastener.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
9/8/2026