DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, 21, 24, 27, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Permutation Invariant Training of Generative Adversarial Network for Monaural Speech Separation, 2018).
As per claim 1, Chen et al. teach a method for adversarial training of a separator for universal sound separation of an audio mixture m of arbitrary sound sources Sk=1,...,K, the method comprising:
training a context-based discriminator configured to provide a context-based loss cue based on a consideration of an input set of separated sound sources; and training the separator to minimize a loss based on the context-based loss cue provided by the context-based discriminator (“The generator network learns to model labeled data, e.g. the mapping from noisy speech samples to their clean counterparts, while the discriminator, usually a binary classifier, learns to discriminate between generated samples and target samples from training data. This framework is analogous to a two-player adversarial game, where minimax is a proven strategy. The key idea of GANs is to use the discriminator to shape the loss function of the generator”; pages 302, paragraph 2);
wherein training the context-based discriminator comprises maximizing a loss based on a set of ground-truth sound sources and a fake set of separated sound sources, wherein the fake set of separated sound sources is sorted to match an order of the set of ground-truth sound sources, and wherein the fake set of separated sound sources comprises sources corresponding to separated sound sources estimated by the separator and further comprises one or more ground-truth sound sources of the set of ground-truth sound sources (“adversarial training, where we have another component, called the discriminator (D). D is in charge of transmitting information to Gon what is real (x ∼ pdata) and what is fake (G(z) ∼ pG), such that G can slightly correct its output waveform towards the realistic distribution, getting rid of the noisy signals as those
are signaled to be fake…G is trained to minimize this objective, while D is trained to
maximize it”; page 303, col.2).
As per claim 2, Chen et al. further disclose the fake set of separated sound sources is obtained by: obtaining a set of separated sound sources corresponding to a set of estimated separated sound sources [s₁, sₖ] estimated by the separator from the audio mixture m; permuting the set of separated sound sources such that an order of the permuted set of separated sound sources matches an order of the set of ground-truth sound sources; and replacing one or more of the separated sound sources of the permuted set of separated sound sources with one or more ground-truth sound sources of the set of ground-truth sound sources to obtain the fake set of separated sound sources (“where φ∗ is the permutation that minimizes the utterance-level
Separation error defined as…and P is the set of all S! permutations. With uPIT, the permutation corresponding to the minimum utterance-level separation
Error is used for all frames in the utterance”; pages 302, 304).
As per claim 3, Chen et al. further disclose the set of separated sound sources is permuted using a permutation matrix P*, wherein P* is the permutation matrix among a set of all permutation matrices P minimizing a loss between the set of ground truth sources and the set of separated sound sources permuted using P(“where φ∗ is the permutation that minimizes the utterance-level Separation error defined as…and P is the set of all S! permutations. With uPIT, the permutation corresponding to the minimum utterance-level separation Error is used for all frames in the utterance”; pages 302, 304).
As per claim 4, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator is configured to operate in a waveform domain, a magnitude STFT domain, a filter-bank domain or a mask domain (“The STFT of waveform signal is computed with a 32-ms window and shifted every 16ms.”; page 304).
As per claim 8, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator (34) is configured to operate in a waveform domain, and wherein the set of ground-truth sound sources [s₁, sₖ] and the fake set of separated sound sources [s₁, ⁵ₖ] are represented in the waveform domain (“adversarial training, where we have another component, called the discriminator (D). D is in charge of transmitting information to Gon what is real (x ∼ pdata) and what is fake (G(z) ∼ pG), such that G can slightly correct its output waveform towards the realistic distribution, getting rid of the noisy signals as those are signaled to be fake…G is trained to minimize this objective, while D is trained to maximize it”; page 303, col.2).
As per claim 9, Chen et al. further disclose the fake set of separated sound sources [s₁, ⁵ₖ] is obtained by: obtaining a set of separated sound sources [s₁, sₖ] represented in the waveform domain and estimated by the separator from the audio mixture m; permuting the set of separated sound sources [s₁, sₖ] such that an order of the permuted set of separated sound sources [s*, matches an order of the set of ground- truth sound sources sₖ]; and replacing one or more of the separated sound sources Sₖ of the permuted set of separated sound sources [s₁, SK] with one or more ground-truth sound sources Sₖ of the set of ground-truth sound sources [s₁, sₖ] to obtain the fake set of separated sound sources [s₁,,,,,ₛₖ](“where φ∗ is the permutation that minimizes the utterance-level Separation error defined as…and P is the set of all S! permutations. With uPIT, the permutation corresponding to the minimum utterance-level separation Error is used for all frames in the utterance”; pages 302, 304; figs. 1, 2, and 3).
As per claim 11, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator is denoted Dwave and is trained to maximize Lₑₜₓ,S = Lreal,Stx,Stx,Stx,S + Lake where is based on Dwave (m, S₁, Sₖ) and Lfake is based on Dwave (m, S₁, Sₖ)[“discriminator (D). D is in charge of transmitting information to G on what is real (x ∼ pdata) and what is fake (G(z) ∼ pG), such that G can slightly correct its output waveform towards the realistic distribution, getting rid of the noisy signals as those are signaled to be fake. In this sense, D can be understood as learning some sort of loss, for G’s output to look real.”; page 303, col.2].
As per claim 12, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator is configured to operate in a magnitude STFT domain, and wherein the set of ground-truth sound sources [|S₁|, , |Sₖ|] and the fake set of separated sound sources [|S₁|, |⁵ₖ|] are represented in the magnitude STFT domain (pages 303, col.2; 304, col.2).
As per claim 15, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator is denoted DSTX,STX, StX, Stx,Stx,Stx, and is trained to maximize Lctx,S = + Lake where Lreal is based on DSTX,S |Sₖ|) and Lfake is based on DSTX,S (|M|, |S₁|, |Sₖ|), where M = STFT(m) [pages 303, col.2; 304, col.2].
As per claim 16, Chen et al. further disclose the context-based discriminator is configured to operate in a ratio mask domain, and wherein the set of ground-truth sound sources [R₁, Rₖ] and the fake set of separated sound sources [R₁, πₖ] are represented in the ratio mask domain (the model infers idea ratio mask (IRM)… D is in charge of transmitting information to G on what is real (x ∼ pdata) and what is fake (G(z) ∼ pG),
such that G can slightly correct its output waveform towards the realistic distribution, getting rid of the noisy signals as those are signaled to be fake.; page 303).
As per claim 19, Chen et al. further disclose training an instance-based discriminator configured to provide an instance-based loss cue based on a consideration of an individual separated sound source, wherein the loss minimized to train the separator is further based on the instance- based loss cue provided by the instance-based discriminator (“while the discriminator, usually a binary classifier, learns to discriminate between generated samples and target samples from training data. This framework is analogous to a two-player adversarial game, where minimax is a proven strategy. The key ideaof GANs is to use the discriminator to shape the loss function of the generator”; pages 302, paragraph 2).
As per claim 21, Chen et al. further disclose the instance-based discriminator is configured to operate in a waveform domain, a magnitude STFT, a filter-bank domain or a mask domain (“The STFT of waveform signal is computed with a 32-ms window and shifted every 16ms.”; page 304).
As per claim 24, Chen et al. further disclose the instance-based discriminator and the context-based discriminator are jointly trained (pages 302, paragraph 2).
As per claim 27, Chen et al. further disclose a neural network-based system for universal sound separation of an audio mixture m of arbitrary sound sources Sk=1,...,K , wherein the system is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (“To better explore time dependencies, recurrent neural networks (RNNs) with long short-term memory (LSTM) are adopted for both generator and discriminator”; page 302).
As per claim 28, Chen et al. further disclose a method for universal sound separation, comprising: estimating by a separator a set of separated sound sources [ˢ₁,...,ₛₖ] from an audio mixture m of arbitrary sound sources Sk=1,...,K, wherein the separator is trained using the method according to claim 1 (pages 302, 303).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 13, 17, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 5, 6, the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest the context-based discriminator is a first context-based discriminator configured to operate in a first domain and the method further comprises training a second context-based discriminator configured to operate in a second domain different from the first domain and to provide a second context-based loss cue based on a consideration of an input set of separated sound sources represented in the second domain, wherein the loss minimized to train the separator is further based on the context- based loss cue provided by the second context-based discriminator.
As to claim 13, the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest the fake set of separated sound sources [|S₁|, |Sₖ|] is obtained by: obtaining a set of separated sound sources [|ˢ₁|, |$ₖ|] represented in the magnitude STFT domain and corresponding to a set of estimated separated sound sources [s₁, , sₖ] estimated by the separator (30) from the audio mixture m; permuting the set of separated sound sources [|$₁| |ˢₖ|] such that an order of the permuted set of separated sound sources [|ˢ₁|, |S*|] matches an order of the set of ground- truth sound sources [|S₁|, |Sₖ|]; replacing one or more of the separated sound sources |Sₖ| of the permuted set of separated sound sources [|ˢ₁|, |Sₖ|] with one or more ground-truth sound sources |Sₖ of the set of ground-truth sound sources [|S₁|, |Sₖ|] to obtain the fake set of separated sound sources [|S₁|, wherein Sₖ and Sₖ | denote the magnitude STFTs of the ground-truth sound sources Sₖ and the estimated separated sound sources Sₖ, respectively.
As to claim 17, the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest the fake set of separated sound sources [|R₁|, |Rₖ|] is obtained by: obtaining a set of separated sound sources [R₁, Řₖ] represented in the ratio mask domain and corresponding to a set of estimated separated sound sources [s₁, ₛₖ] estimated by the separator (30) from the audio mixture m; permuting the set of separated sound sources [R₁,...,Řₖ] such that an order of the permuted set of separated sound sources [R₁, R*] matches an order of the set of ground- truth sound sources [R₁, , Rₖ]; replacing one or more of the separated sound sources Rₖ of the permuted set of separated sound sources [R₁, Rₖ] with one or more ground-truth sound sources Rₖ of the set of ground-truth sound sources [R₁, Rₖ] to obtain the fake set of separated sound sources [R₁, Rₖ].
As to claim 22, the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest the instance-based discriminator is a first instance-based discriminator configured to operate in a first domain and the method further comprises training a second instance-based discriminator configured to operate in a second domain different from the first domain and to provide a second instance-based loss cue based on a consideration of an individual separated sound source represented in the second domain, wherein the loss minimized to train the separator is further based on the second instance-based loss cue provided by the second instance-based discriminator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. teach Targeted Voice Separation by Speaker For Speech Recognition. Xiao et al. teach DENOISING DIFFUSION GENERATIVE ADVERSARIAL NETWORKS. Zeghidour et al. teach Separating Speech By Source In Audio Recordings By Predicting Isolated Audio Signals Conditioned On Speaker Representations. Mesgarani et al. teach Methods For Speech Separation And Neural Decoding Of Attentional Selection In Multi-speaker Environments.
/LEONARD SAINT-CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658