DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 4/15/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 were canceled and new claims 13-24 were added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-16, 19-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,483,221 to Pawellek et al. (hereinafter Pawellek; cited by Applicant on 4/15/2025) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0185935 to Seiler.
Regarding claim 13, Pawellek teaches an apparatus for a laminated stator core (FIG. 1, 1), comprising: a stator lamination (FIG. 1, 6; Column 4 lines 4-14), wherein the stator lamination is completely closed in a circumferential direction and has a plurality of star elements (FIG. 1; 2, 3), wherein two adjacent star elements of the plurality of star elements are connected to one another by a respective bridge (FIG. 1, 4), and wherein each of the respective bridges is narrowed in a radial direction by a respective groove (see annotated FIG. 2).
Pawellek does not teach the apparatus being for a brushless DC motor.
However, Seiler teaches a brushless DC motor (Paragraph [0001]) formed from a segmented laminated stator core (FIG. 1, 10; Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Pawellek by incorporating it into the brushless DC motor of Seiler for the brushless DC motor of Seiler to benefit from the features of the apparatus of Pawellek.
Regarding claim 14, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein Pawellek further teaches the respective groove of one of the respective bridges being open inward in the radial direction (see annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein Pawellek further teaches the respective groove of one of the respective bridges being open outward in the radial direction (see annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, Pawellek further teaches a first residual portion of a first one of the respective bridges which is left by a respective groove being at a different radial distance from a central point of the stator lamination that a second residual portion of a second one of the respective bridges which is left by the respective groove (see annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein Pawellek further teaches two of the respective bridges having a same configuration (see annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 19, wherein Pawellek further teaches the two of the respective bridges that have the same configuration being disposed diametrically with respect to one another (see annotated FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 21, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein Pawellek further teaches the respective groove of the respective bridge (FIG. 1, 4) being disposed centrally between the two adjacent star elements (FIG. 1; 2, 3) with respect to the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 22, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches a laminated stator core (Pawellek FIG. 1, 1) for a brushless DC motor (Seiler Paragraph [0001]), comprising: a plurality of apparatuses as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of apparatuses are stacked one on top of another in an axial direction (Pawellek Column 4 lines 4-14).
Regarding claim 24, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches a brushless DC motor (Seiler Paragraph [0001]), comprising: a laminated stator core (Pawellek FIG. 1, 1), wherein the laminated stator core comprises: a plurality of apparatuses as claimed in claim 13, wherein the plurality of apparatuses are stacked one on top of another in an axial direction (Pawellek Column 4 lines 4-14).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawellek in view of Seiler and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 2019/0097474 to Hirotani et al. (hereinafter Hirotani; cited by Applicant on 4/15/2025).
Regarding claim 17, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13.
Pawellek in view of Seiler does not teach the respective groove of one of the respective bridges being open inward in the radial direction and wherein the one of the respective bridges has an additional groove which is open outward in the radial direction.
However, Hirotani teaches a laminated stator core (FIG. 3, 403) having a bridge (FIG. 4, 424) with a groove (FIG. 4, 425) being open inward in the radial direction and an additional groove (FIG. 4, 426) being open outward in the radial direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Pawellek in view of Seiler with the teachings of Hirotani to add an additional groove in the bridge to decrease a deformation of the stator core in the radial direction and improve the cogging torque of the motor (Paragraph [0109]).
Regarding claim 18, Pawellek in view of Seiler and Hirotani teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 17.
Pawellek in view of Seiler and Hirotani does not teach a residual portion of the one of the respective bridges which is left by the respective groove and the additional groove being at a different radial distance from a central point of the stator lamination than a respective residual portion of a second one of the respective bridges left by the respective groove and a respective residual portion of a third one of the respective bridges left by the respective groove.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative dimensions of the residual portions of the respective bridges to be at different radial distances from a central point of the stator lamination as a matter of design choice in an effort to further balance the rotational forces exerted on the stator core (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawellek in view of Seiler and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0248218 to Schmid.
Regarding claim 23, Pawellek in view of Seiler teaches the laminated stator core as claimed in claim 22.
Pawellek in view of Seiler does not teach two adjacent stator laminations of the plurality of apparatuses being stacked incongruently.
However, Schmid teaches axially stacked stator laminations with two axially adjacent stator laminations being stacked incongruently due to their different orientations (Paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laminated stator core of Pawellek in view of Seiler with the teachings of Schmid to incongruently stack the stator laminations to minimize closed current paths in the stator core (Paragraph [0009]-[0010]; [0020]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834