DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025 and 05/26/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asakage et al. (US 20060061106), hereinafter ‘Asakage’.
Asakage discloses:
1. (original) A control system for a work machine comprising:
a key switch (511) configured to be in one operation state of a key-off state, a key-on state, and
a key-start state by being operated (key switch 511 as an 'off', 'on', and 'start' state as seen in Fig. 2);
an electric fan (202, 201) configured to generate an airflow for cooling an object (fan 201 cools the fluid used in compressor 200) to be cooled that is part of a work machine; and
a controller configured to maintain the electric fan in a predetermined state in the key-on state (paragraph [0036], controller 540 is configured to maintain the electric fan in the 'on' state when switch 521 is detected to be 'on', and this occurs when the key switch 511 is in the 'on' state when the work machine has its engine 100 turned on; paragraph [0038] discloses the fan remaining rotating in the 'on' state during the key switch 'on' state).
2. (original) The control system for a work machine according to claim 1, wherein the controller maintains the electric fan in a driven state in the key-on state (paragraph [0036], controller 540 is configured to maintain the electric fan in the 'on' state when switch 521 is detected to be 'on', paragraph [0038] discloses the fan remaining rotating in the 'on' state during the key switch 'on' state).
4. (original) The control system for a work machine according to claim 1, wherein the controller maintains the electric fan in a stopped state in the key-on state (paragraph [0037], when the switch 521 is in an 'off' state, the fan maintains the fan 201, 202 in the 'off' state even when the key switch is in the 'on' state).
7. (original) A work machine comprising: the control system for a work machine according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 shows a work machine having the control system of claim 1).
8. (original) A control method for a work machine comprising:
acquiring an operation state of a key switch, the key switch being in one operation state of a key-off state, a key-on state, and a key-start state by being operated (510 obtains key switch 511 operation state); and
maintaining, in the key-on state, an electric fan in a predetermined state, the electric fan generating an airflow for cooling an object to be cooled that is part of a work machine (paragraph [0036], controller 540 is configured to maintain the electric fan in the 'on' state when switch 521 is detected to be 'on', and this occurs when the key switch 511 is in the 'on' state when the work machine has its engine 100 turned on; paragraph [0038] discloses the fan remaining rotating in the 'on' state during the key switch 'on' state).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imai (US 12084832).
Imai discloses:
1. (original) A control system for a work machine comprising:
a key switch (34) configured to be in one operation state of a key-off state (), a key-on state (second key position in Col. 5 lines 24-28), and
a key-start state (first key position in Col. 5 lines 24-28) by being operated ("As a result, based on the detection signals of the operation position [OFF position, ON position, start position] of the key switch 34", Col. 7 lines 23-31);
an electric fan (70) configured to generate an airflow for cooling an object (41) to be cooled that is part of a work machine; and
a controller configured to maintain the electric fan in a predetermined state in the key-on state (Col. 7 lines 36-40 discloses "when the key switch 34 is in the key-on state, electric power is supplied to the first electric device 70", and Col. 5 lines 35-50 discloses that the first electric device 70 includes a cooling fan, therefore the electric fan 70 is maintained in a powered state in the key-on state).
2. (original) The control system for a work machine according to claim 1, wherein the controller maintains the electric fan in a driven state in the key-on state (Col. 7 lines 36-40 discloses "when the key switch 34 is in the key-on state, electric power is supplied to the first electric device 70", and Col. 5 lines 35-50 discloses that the first electric device 70 includes a cooling fan, therefore the electric fan 70 is maintained in a powered state in the key-on state;
Col. 10 lines 62-65 states "(80) According to the above-described embodiment, the program can supply the electric power to the first electric device 70 based on the operating state of the key switch 34 and the electric power supply command";
Col. 12 lines 13-19 discloses that the first electric device 70 is a fan and is driven during charging of the drive battery 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai (US 12084832) in view of Kaneko (JPH 11285106).
Regarding claim 3, Imai discloses the control system for a work machine according to claim 2, but does not disclose:
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein the controller adjusts a rotation speed of the electric fan based on detection data of the temperature sensor in the key-on state, as claimed in claim 3; or
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein in the key-start state, when a temperature of the object to be cooled detected by the temperature sensor is lower than a temperature threshold, the controller stops the electric fan, and when the temperature of the object to be cooled is equal to or higher than the temperature threshold, the controller drives the electric fan, as claimed in claim 5; or
wherein the work machine includes an electric motor and a hydraulic pump driven by the electric motor, and the object to be cooled includes the electric motor, as claimed in claim 6.
However, Kaneko (JPH 11285106) discloses a vehicle machine with a fan similar to Imai and therefore constitutes analogous art. Kaneko discloses a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein
the controller adjusts a rotation speed of the electric fan based on detection data of the temperature sensor in the key-on state (Kaneko paragraph [0036]-[0037] discloses controlling the electric fan 49 or 53 speed according to control inputs such as the battery temperature sensor 25 of main battery 15; coil temperature of each motor 1 and 4; high electric system cooling water temperature; key switch position, etc. which indicates implicit temperature sensors; the system would be in a key-on state during this fan control because the vehicle is powered on, and therefore would be a key-on state).
Kaneko also discloses a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein in the key-start state, when a temperature of the object to be cooled detected by the temperature sensor is lower than a temperature threshold, the controller stops the electric fan, and when the temperature of the object to be cooled is equal to or higher than the temperature threshold, the controller drives the electric fan (Kaneko charts 1-4 have operation states in which the fan is “OFF” when the detected temperature is below the lower temperature threshold. This would appear to include the key-start state because it makes a determination whether the engine is on or off as part of the fan control. Kaneko also discloses that it is not desirable for the fan to be repeatedly turned on and off frequently and discloses a control scheme in which the fan continues operating at least for a period of time after the fan stop temperature threshold is read. This indicates that the fan would remain off for a period of time, including when in the key-start state when starting the engine if the temperature detected is lower than the fan off threshold, and the fan would remain on in the key-start state when starting the ending if the temperature detected is greater than the fan off threshold);
Kaneko further discloses wherein the work machine includes an electric motor (Kaneko 10) and a hydraulic pump (Kaneko “oil pump” driven by motor 10, paragraph [0020]) driven by the electric motor, and the object to be cooled includes the electric motor (Kaneko paragraph [0034] states that the electric fan 49 cools the motor 10)
It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method or apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, Imai teaches all elements except a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein the controller adjusts a rotation speed of the electric fan based on detection data of the temperature sensor in the key-on state. Kaneko teaches a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein the controller adjusts a rotation speed of the electric fan based on detection data of the temperature sensor in the key-on state, which has the function of efficiently cooling an object of the vehicle (Kaneko, paragraph [0044]). When combined into Imai by implementing temperature sensors for the electronics such as the electric motor and implementing the control based off the temperature, it maintains its function of efficiently cooling the electric motor. One of ordinary skill would expect predictable results because both references pertain to active fan cooling and electric motors that function in the same manner in the environment of vehicle machines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Imai in view of Kaneko because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of Imai and Kaneko therefore renders obvious:
5. (currently amended) The control system for a work machine according to claim 2, comprising: a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein in the key-start state, when a temperature of the object to be cooled detected by the temperature sensor is lower than a temperature threshold, the controller stops the electric fan, and when the temperature of the object to be cooled is equal to or higher than the temperature threshold, the controller drives the electric fan (It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method or apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, Imai teaches all elements except a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein in the key-start state, when a temperature of the object to be cooled detected by the temperature sensor is lower than a temperature threshold, the controller stops the electric fan, and when the temperature of the object to be cooled is equal to or higher than the temperature threshold, the controller drives the electric fan. Kaneko teaches a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the object to be cooled, wherein in the key-start state, when a temperature of the object to be cooled detected by the temperature sensor is lower than a temperature threshold, the controller stops the electric fan, and when the temperature of the object to be cooled is equal to or higher than the temperature threshold, the controller drives the electric fan (see discussion of Kaneko’s disclosure above), which has the function of efficiently cooling an object of the vehicle. When combined into Imai by implementing temperature sensors for the electronics such as the electric motor and implementing the control based off the temperature, it maintains its function of efficiently cooling the electric motor. One of ordinary skill would expect predictable results because both references pertain to active fan cooling and electric motors that function in the same manner in the environment of vehicle machines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Imai in view of Kaneko because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art).
6. (original) The control system for a work machine according to claim 5, wherein the work machine includes an electric motor (Imai 32) and a hydraulic pump (Imai 21) driven by the electric motor, and the object to be cooled includes the electric motor (in light of the teachings from Kaneko, electric motors are known to be cooled by electric fans to prevent overheating of the electric system as discussed in Kaneko paragraph [0043], and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Imai to have its electric motor cooled as taught by Kaneko to prevent overheating of the electronics).
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tuhy et al. (US 2008/0108032), Andreuccetti et al. (US 11982070), Nakagawa et al. (US 6959671), Nomura et al. (US 12163313), Takeo et al. (US 2024/0150999),
Ishii (US 12180679) all disclose various electric fan control systems with disclosures relating to key switch states
/DUSTIN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 June 11, 2026