Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 7, line 4, the phrase “an engagement section with which the engageable section, “ is incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Walraven (US 20060249634 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Van Walraven discloses a pipe support for holding a pipe in suspension from a structural body (20, figures 5-8), the pipe support comprising:
an attachment section (30, figure 2) attached to a hanging bar-shaped body (1, figure 2) vertically hanging from the structural body (20, figures 5-8);
and a support section (10, figure 2) coupled to the attachment section (30) and configured to hold the pipe,
the support section (10) comprising:
an upper support section (US, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) placed upward of the pipe; and
a lower support section (120, figure 2) swingably coupled to the upper support section (US, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) via at least one swing pivot point (SP) and configured to support the pipe from below,
the lower support section (120, FIGURE 2) comprising:
a support main body (MB); and
an extension portion (EP) extending from the support main body to a position overlapping with the upper support section (US) across the at least one swing pivot point (SP), and
wherein the support section is changed from an open posture (FIGURES 2 AND 8); in which the upper support section and the lower support section are opened; to a closed posture (FIGURE 7); in which the upper support section and the lower support section are closed- in response to attaching of the pipe to the support section.
With respect to claim 2, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 1 as advanced above, further comprising: a posture maintaining mechanism (122, figure 2) configured to maintain the support section (120, figure 2) in the closed posture (figure 7).
With respect to claim 3, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein: the at least one swing pivot point comprises a plurality of swing pivot points (SP and SP2) , and the lower support section (120, figure 2) is swingably coupled to opposite ends (at SP and SP2) of the upper support section (US, see markup above) via the plurality of swing pivot points (SP, SP2).
With respect to claim 4, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 1 as advanced above,, wherein: the support main body (MB) is heavier than the extension portion (EP, since MB has more material then EP, it inherently would be heavier).
With respect to claim 5, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein: the at least one swing pivot point (SP, SP2) is set at a position deviating from a lowest point (122, figure 2 for example) of the support section.
With respect to claim 6, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein: the upper support section (US, see markup above) comprises a pair of right and left split bodies (L and R, see markup above), and the pair of right and left split bodies are coupled to each other and incapable of rotation relative to each other.
With respect to claim 7 as best understood, Van Walraven discloses the pipe support according to claim 2 as advanced above, wherein: the posture maintaining mechanism (122, figure 2) comprises: an engageable section (A) provided for the support main body, and an engagement section (B) with which the engageable section, and the pipe support further comprises an engagement guide section (C) disposed on a distal end side from the engagement section (B) and configured to guide the engageable section (A) for the engagement with the engagement section (B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate pipe suspension clamps of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
khc