DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
reference to specific claim numbers should be removed from the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17, 20, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, line 9 delete “(3)” for consistency;
in claim 4, line 3 delete “(3a)” for consistency;
in claim 7, line 4 delete “(2)” for consistency;
in claim 8, line 3 delete “(2)” for consistency;
in claim 20, line 5 delete “(2)” for consistency; and
in claim 21, line 1 delete “one of” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an adhesive application apparatus which applies an adhesive to at least a sub-region of the lower side of the planar element” in claim 18 the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification is a toothed spatula structure, sprayer/spraying, or spreader/spreading (see page 19, line 28 to page 20, line 3);
“a feeding apparatus which moves the planar element provided with the adhesive to the concrete body, and presses the lower side of the planar element onto the upper side of the concrete body” in claim 18 the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification is a multi-axis robot (see page 20, lines 16-19);
“an activation apparatus is provided, which moves the planar element relative to the upper side of the concrete body while being pressed onto the concrete body, in order to activate the adhesive” in claim 19 the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification is a vibration and/or oscillation unit (see page 21, line 4);
“a cleaning apparatus is provided in order to clean the lower side of the planar element before applying the adhesive, and/or the upper side of the concrete body before pressing the planar element” in claim 21 the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification is a blower or brushing tool (see page 18, lines 17-18); and
“a measuring apparatus is provided to determine… …the position of the concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus” in claim 22 the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification is an optical measuring apparatus (see page 18, line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6-14, 16, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the surface of the concrete body” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 14, the phrase “preferably” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination the limitation(s) following each phrase are not considered part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 6, 12, 16, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, the phrase “in particular” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination the limitation(s) following each phrase are not considered part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 14-16, 18-20, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newitt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0049793).
Regarding claim 1, Newitt discloses a method for producing a composite body which comprises a concrete body and a planar element, whereupon a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and wherein an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, wherein an adhesive is applied to at least a sub-region of the lower side of the planar element (tile cap 292/742/902), and the planar element is subsequently moved to the concrete body (stiff but uncured concrete base 1002 or 1102) and is pressed onto the upper side of the concrete body (by robot arm 291 and head 294), and wherein pressing the planar element onto the concrete body is carried out in a green-stable state of the concrete body, in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable (stiff), but not yet cured (Figures 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9-11 and Paragraphs 0008 and 0054-0089).
Regarding claim 2, the planar element taught by Newitt is moved plane-parallel and/or orthogonal relative to the upper side of the concrete body during pressing onto the concrete body (Figure 7 Stage C and lowering the planar element onto the concrete body and/or a vibrating head settles the planar element by lateral vibration combined with compressive force pressing onto the concrete body, Paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 3, the planar element taught by Newitt is moved so as to vibrate and/or oscillate relative to the surface/the upper side of the concrete body during pressing (by vibrating head see paragraphs 0086-0087).
Regarding claim 4, the adhesive taught by Newitt is applied in portions (e.g. one half of the applied adhesive is considered a first portion and the other half of the applied adhesive is considered a second portion or alternatively, the adhesive is sprayed so that each spray droplet of adhesive is a portion) to the lower side of the planar element.
Regarding claim 6, the upper side of the concrete body taught by Newitt is at least structured (see Figures 10 and 11) prior to pressing the planar element.
Regarding claim 7, the upper side of the concrete body taught by Newitt is structured by a punch (press impressing a keying pattern) pressed on the upper side of the concrete body in the production of the concrete body (Paragraphs 0074-0081).
Regarding claim 8, the peripheral region (outermost indentations 1004 or outside of raised grid 1104) of the upper side of the concrete body taught by Newitt is provided with pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer, which are or is suitable to absorb adhesive that has been displaced by pressing the planar element (Paragraphs 0080 and 0081 and Figures 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 9, the pockets and/or the depressions and/or the indentations and/or the chamfer taught by Newitt are or is incorporated by a punch (press impressing a keying pattern) pressed in the production of the concrete body on the upper side of the concrete body which is used for compacting (compress the mix) the concrete body.
Regarding claim 10, the position of the concrete body taught by Newitt is determined to be at a tile delivery station (9) by rotating carousel (3) before pressing the planar element (Paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 14, the dimensions of the lower side of the planar element (902) taught by Newitt correspond substantially to the dimensions of the upper side of the concrete body (904) (see Figure 9).
Regarding claim 15, the planar element taught by Newitt is adhesively bonded to the concrete body while the concrete body is still in a production mold (mould 4/804) in which the concrete body is compacted (Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0076, 0077, and 0089).
Regarding claim 16, the planar element taught by Newitt is formed at least as a tile (tile cap).
Regarding claim 18, Newitt teaches a device configured for producing a composite body including materials or articles worked upon such as a concrete body and a planar element, wherein a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, an adhesive application apparatus (sprayer 793, Figure 7 and Paragraph 0085, and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which applies a first material or article worked upon such as an adhesive to a second material or article worked upon such as at least a sub-region of a lower side of a planar element (tile cap 742), and a feeding apparatus (robot arm 709 and gripper, Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0084 and 0086, and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which moves the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element provided with the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive to a third material or article worked upon such as a concrete body, and presses the second material or article worked upon such as the lower side of the planar element onto the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body, and wherein a concrete body provisioning apparatus (mold 4) is provided, in which the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body is in a green-stable state in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable, but not yet cured, and wherein the feeding apparatus is positioned relative to the concrete body provisioning apparatus in such a manner that the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element can be pressed onto the third material or article worked upon such as the green-stable concrete body (Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Newitt teaches an activation apparatus (vibrating head and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided, which moves the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element relative to the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body while being pressed onto the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, such as in order to activate the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive (e.g. wherein as the first material or article worked upon is an activatable adhesive).
Regarding claim 20, Newitt teaches a lower side of a punch (press impressing a keying pattern), provided for compacting the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus is designed in such a manner that the punch at least structures the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, and/or the punch incorporates pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer into the peripheral region of the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, limitations directed to the adhesive, the planar element, and the concrete body are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115 and see further MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations of the apparatus). Newitt teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above which structure is configured for wherein the planar element is a slab and/or the planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate and wherein the adhesive is a mineral adhesive wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a mineral adhesive and as the second material or article worked upon is a planar element is a slab and/or a planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate.
Regarding claim 26, Newitt teaches a composite body, comprising a concrete body (stiff but uncured concrete base 1002 or 1102) and an adhered planar element (tile cap 292/742/902). As to the limitation of “wherein the composite body is produced according to a method as claimed in claim 1”, claim 26 is directed to a product-by-process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made/may have been made by a different process. The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art (see Newitt as described above), although even if somehow considered produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 13-17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (EP 3466625 and see also the machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer discloses a method for producing a composite body which comprises a concrete body and a planar element, whereupon a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and wherein an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, wherein an adhesive is applied to at least a sub-region of the lower side of the planar element (tile 30), and the planar element is subsequently moved to the concrete body (concrete slab 50) and is pressed onto the upper side of the concrete body (by a robot having a gripping device), and wherein pressing the planar element onto the concrete body is carried out in a green-stable state of the concrete body, in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable (retains its geometric shape), but not yet cured (Figures 1 and 2 and Pages 3 and 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, the planar element taught by Fischer is moved (by the robot having the gripping device) necessarily at least plane-parallel and/or orthogonal relative to the upper side of the concrete body during pressing onto the concrete body so that the planar element and concrete body are congruent or centric (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, the adhesive taught by Fischer is applied in portions (tooth profile so that each tooth is a portion) to the lower side of the planar element (Page 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, the position of the concrete body taught by Fischer is determined before pressing the planar element so that the planar element and concrete body are congruent or centric (Page 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, after adhesively bonding the planar element, Fischer teaches the concrete body is fed to a curing area which has a higher temperature than room temperature (such as 40oC for drying/curing) and in which the concrete body cures (Page 6 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, the dimensions of the lower side of the planar element (30) taught by Fischer correspond substantially to the dimensions of the upper side of the concrete body (50) (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, the planar element taught by Fischer is adhesively bonded to the concrete body while the concrete body is still in a production mold in which the concrete body is compacted, or the planar element is adhesively bonded to the concrete body once the concrete body has left a production mold in which the concrete body is compacted (Page 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, the planar element taught by Fischer is formed at least as a tile (30).
Regarding claim 17, Fischer teaches a mineral adhesive is used as adhesive (Page 5 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 26, Fischer teaches a composite body, comprising a concrete body (retains its geometric shape but not yet cured 50) and an adhered planar element (tile 30). As to the limitation of “wherein the composite body is produced according to a method as claimed in claim 1”, claim 26 is directed to a product-by-process (see above) wherein once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art (see Fischer as described above), although even if somehow considered produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113).
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gebhart et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2026/0145415 and including the prior foreign application, DE 102022127333.4, describes the subject matter being relied upon below).
The applied reference has a common applicant and a joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Thus, the effective filing date of claims 1-26 is 10/16/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Gebhart discloses a method for producing a composite body which comprises a concrete body and a planar element, whereupon a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and wherein an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, wherein an adhesive (4) is applied to at least a sub-region of the lower side of the planar element (3), and the planar element is subsequently moved to the concrete body (2) and is pressed onto the upper side of the concrete body, and wherein pressing the planar element onto the concrete body is carried out in a green-stable state of the concrete body, in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable, but not yet cured (Figures 13, 18, and 19 and Paragraphs 0196-0241).
Regarding claim 2, the planar element taught by Gebhart is moved plane-parallel and/or orthogonal relative to the upper side of the concrete body during pressing onto the concrete body (Paragraph 0239).
Regarding claim 3, the planar element taught by Gebhart is moved so as to vibrate and/or oscillate relative to the surface/the upper side of the concrete body during pressing (Paragraph 0239).
Regarding claim 4, the adhesive taught by Gebhart is applied in portions to the lower side of the planar element (Paragraph 0202).
Regarding claim 5, the adhesive taught by Gebhart is applied with a toothed spatula structure to the lower side of the planar element, wherein the adhesive is applied in such a manner that the adhesive has a thickness of 3 mm to 10 mm in those regions in which it has a greater thickness on the lower side of the planar element (Paragraph 0203).
Regarding claim 6, the upper side of the concrete body taught by Gebhart is at least structured prior to pressing the planar element (Paragraph 0204).
Regarding claim 7, the upper side of the concrete body taught by Gebhart is structured by a punch pressed on the upper side of the concrete body in the production of the concrete body (Paragraphs 0204-0207).
Regarding claim 8, the peripheral region of the upper side of the concrete body taught by Gebhart is provided with pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer, which are or is suitable to absorb adhesive that has been displaced by pressing the planar element (Paragraph 0204).
Regarding claim 9, the pockets and/or the depressions and/or the indentations and/or the chamfer taught by Gebhart are or is incorporated by a punch pressed in the production of the concrete body on the upper side of the concrete body which is used for compacting the concrete body (Paragraphs 0204-0207).
Regarding claim 10, the position of the concrete body taught by Gebhart is determined before pressing the planar element (Paragraph 0210).
Regarding claim 11, Gebhart teaches the position of an entire production layer of concrete bodies is measured (Paragraph 0210).
Regarding claim 12, the lower side of the planar element taught by Gebhart is cleaned of dust before applying the adhesive (Paragraph 0212).
Regarding claim 13, after adhesively bonding the planar element the concrete body taught by Gebhart is fed to a curing area which has a higher temperature and in which the concrete body cures (Paragraph 0213).
Regarding claim 14, the dimensions of the lower side of the planar element taught by Gebhart correspond substantially to the dimensions of the upper side of the concrete body (Paragraph 0214).
Regarding claim 15, the planar element taught by Gebhart is adhesively bonded to the concrete body while the concrete body is still in a production mold in which the concrete body is compacted (Paragraphs 0207 and 0217).
Regarding claim 16, the planar element taught by Gebhart is formed at least as a slab (Paragraph 0218).
Regarding claim 17, Gebhart teaches a mineral adhesive is used as the adhesive (Paragraph 0201).
Regarding claim 18, Gebhart teaches a device configured for producing a composite body including materials or articles worked upon such as a concrete body and a planar element, wherein a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, an adhesive application apparatus (toothed spatula structure and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which applies a first material or article worked upon such as an adhesive to a second material or article worked upon such as at least a sub-region of a lower side of a planar element, and a feeding apparatus (multi-axis robot and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which moves the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element provided with the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive to a third material or article worked upon such as a concrete body, and presses the second material or article worked upon such as the lower side of the planar element onto the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body, and wherein a concrete body provisioning apparatus (16) is provided, in which the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body is in a green-stable state in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable, but not yet cured, and wherein the feeding apparatus is positioned relative to the concrete body provisioning apparatus in such a manner that the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element can be pressed onto the third material or article worked upon such as the green-stable concrete body (Paragraphs 0220, 0236, and 0238).
Regarding claim 19, Gebhart teaches an activation apparatus (vibration and/or oscillation unit and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided, which moves the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element relative to the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body while being pressed onto the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, such as in order to activate the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive (Paragraph 0239).
Regarding claim 20, Gebhart teaches a lower side of a punch, provided for compacting the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus is designed in such a manner that the punch at least structures the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, and/or the punch incorporates pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer into the peripheral region of the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body (Paragraph 0204).
Regarding claim 21, Gebhart teaches a cleaning apparatus (blower or brushing tool and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided in order to clean the second material or article worked upon such as the lower side of the planar element before applying the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive, and/or the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body before pressing the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element (Paragraph 0212).
Regarding claim 22, Gebhart teaches a measuring apparatus (optical measuring apparatus and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided to determine the position of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus (Paragraph 0211).
Regarding claim 23, Gebhart teaches a curing area which has a higher temperature and into which the materials or articles worked upon such as the composite body is able to be moved after such as adhesively bonding the planar element to the concrete body is provided (Paragraph 0213).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, limitations directed to the adhesive, the planar element, and the concrete body are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115 and see further MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations of the apparatus). Gebhart teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above which structure is configured for wherein the planar element is a slab and/or the planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate and wherein the adhesive is a mineral adhesive wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a mineral adhesive and as the second material or article worked upon is a planar element is a slab and/or a planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate (Paragraphs 0201 and 0218).
Regarding claim 26, Gebhart teaches a composite body, comprising a concrete body (in a green-stable state) and an adhered planar element. As to the limitation of “wherein the composite body is produced according to a method as claimed in claim 1”, claim 26 is directed to a product-by-process (see above) wherein once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art (see Gebhart as described above), although even if somehow considered produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6-9, 18-20, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Newitt.
Fischer is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 18, Fischer discloses a device configured for producing a composite body including materials or articles worked upon such as a concrete body and a planar element, wherein a lower side of the planar element is adhesively bonded to an upper side of the concrete body, and an upper side of the planar element forms an upper side of the composite body, a feeding apparatus (robot having a gripping device and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which moves a second material or article worked upon such as a planar element provided with a first material or article worked upon such as an adhesive to a third material or article worked upon such as a concrete body, and presses the second material or article worked upon such as the lower side of the planar element onto the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body, and wherein a concrete body provisioning apparatus (mold) is provided, in which the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body is in a green-stable state in which the concrete body is dimensionally stable, but not yet cured, and wherein the feeding apparatus is positioned relative to the concrete body provisioning apparatus in such a manner that the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element can be pressed onto the third material or article worked upon such as the green-stable concrete body (Figures 1 and 2 and Pages 3 and 5 of the machine translation).
As to the limitation in claim 18 of “an adhesive application apparatus which applies an adhesive”, Fischer teaches applying a first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive to the second material or article worked upon such as at least a sub-region of the lower side of the planar element without expressly teaching the apparatus to apply the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to apply adhesive as a first material or article worked upon (including for adhesively bonding a planar element and a concrete body) using an adhesive application apparatus comprising a sprayer which applies the adhesive as evidenced by Newitt (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Fischer comprises an adhesive application apparatus (sprayer and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) which applies the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art for conventional and predictable application of the first material or article worked upon such as the adhesive as evidenced by Newitt.
Regarding claims 3 and 19 (claim 2 further rejected herein as an alternative to that above), Fischer does not expressly teach an activation apparatus is provided so that the planar element (as the second material or article worked upon) is moved so as to vibrate and/or oscillate relative to the surface/the upper side of the concrete body (as the third material or articled worked upon) during pressing. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art an activation apparatus of a vibrating head is provided so that the planar element (as the second material or article worked upon) is moved so as to vibrate and/or oscillate relative to the surface of the concrete body (as the third material or articled worked upon) during pressing to ensure sound contact therebetween as evidenced by Newitt (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method and device taught by Fischer and Fischer as modified by Newitt, respectively, comprise an activation apparatus (vibrating head and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided so that the planar element is moved (so as to vibrate and/or oscillate and thus moving plane-parallel and/or orthogonal) relative to the upper side surface of the concrete body while being pressed onto the concrete body (in order to activate the adhesive e.g. wherein as the first material or article worked upon is an activatable adhesive) for sound contact between the planar element, the adhesive, and the concrete body as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Newitt.
Regarding claims 6-9 and 20, Fischer teaches a lower side of a plunger, provided for compacting the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus without teaching a particular design (Page 3 of the machine translation). It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the lower side of the press mold/plunger is of a punch (press impressing a keying pattern), provided for compacting the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body by being pressed on the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body in the production of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus is designed in such a manner that the punch at least structures the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body prior to pressing the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element, and/or the punch incorporates pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer into the peripheral region of the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body which are or is suitable to absorb adhesive that has been displaced by pressing the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element as evidenced by Newitt (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method and device taught by Fischer and Fischer as modified by Newitt, respectively, comprise the lower side of the plunger is of a punch (press impressing a keying pattern), provided for compacting the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body by being pressed on the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body in the production of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus is designed in such a manner that the punch pressed on the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body in the production of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body at least structures the upper side of the third material or article worked upon such as the concrete body prior to pressing the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element, and/or the punch incorporates pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer into the peripheral region of the third material or article worked upon such as the upper side of the concrete body which are or is suitable to absorb adhesive that has been displaced by pressing the second material or article worked upon such as the planar element as taught by Newitt (described above in full detail).
Regarding claim 23, Fischer teaches a curing area which has a higher temperature and into which the materials or articles worked upon such as the composite body is able to be moved after such as adhesively bonding the planar element to the concrete body is provided (Page 6 of the machine translation).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, limitations directed to the adhesive, the planar element, and the concrete body are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115 and see further MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations of the apparatus). Fischer as modified by Newitt teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims set forth above which structure is configured for wherein the planar element is a slab and/or the planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate and wherein the adhesive is a mineral adhesive wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a mineral adhesive and as the second material or article worked upon is a planar element is a slab and/or a planar element is a tile, a natural stone or a laminate.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newitt in view of Paolo (IT MO20000287 and see also the machine translation). Additionally, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Paolo.
Newitt and Fischer are each described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 5, Newitt and Fischer do not expressly teach the adhesive is applied with a toothed spatula structure to the lower side of the planar element. Fischer teaches the adhesive has a tooth profile (Page 5 of the machine translation). Neither Newitt nor Fischer teach away from a toothed spatula structure. Newitt and Fischer do not expressly teach the thickness of the adhesive. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to conveniently apply adhesive (usually of 2-3 mm thickness) to the lower side of a planar element such as a tile for adhering the tile using a toothed spatula structure as evidenced by Paolo (Pages 1 and 2 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive is applied to the lower side of the planar element as taught by Newitt and Fischer with a toothed spatula structure as a simple substitution of one known adhesive application apparatus for another to yield predictable and convenient results as evidenced by Paolo wherein the adhesive is applied in such a manner that the adhesive has a thickness of 3 mm to 10 mm in those regions in which it has a greater thickness on the lower side of the planar element as is the conventional/usual and predictable thickness as also evidenced by Paolo it being noted in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newitt in view of Fischer and Sievers (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0251862).
Newitt is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 11 (claim 10 further rejected herein as an alternative to that above), Newitt does not expressly teach the position of an entire production layer of concrete bodies is measured. Newitt does not expressly require a particular relationship between the facing area of the planar element and the concrete body. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the facing area of the concrete body slightly exceeds that of the planar element to protect the edge of the planar element as taught by Fischer (Page 4 of the machine translation) wherein the planar element is then centered with the concrete body by measuring the position of the upper side of the concrete body as taught by Sievers (Paragraphs 0087-0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the position of the upper side of each concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus of an entire production layer of concrete bodies on the carousel taught by Newitt is measured to center a respective planar element with the concrete body and including to protect the edge of the planar element as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Fischer and Sievers.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Sievers.
Fischer is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 11 (claim 10 further rejected herein as an alternative to that above), Fischer teaches the facing area of the concrete body slightly exceeds that of the planar element to protect the edge of the planar element (Page 4 of the machine translation). It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the planar element is then centered with the concrete body by measuring the position of the upper side of the concrete body as taught by Sievers (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method taught by Fischer comprises the position of the upper side of each concrete body (on the concrete body provisioning apparatus) of an entire production layer of all composite bodies produced in Fischer is measured for centering a respective planar element and the concrete body as is well understood by one of ordinary kill in the art as evidenced by Sievers.
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newitt in view of Xie et al. (CN 211691306 and see also the machine translation). Additionally, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Xie. Additionally, claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer and Newitt as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Xie.
Newitt and Fischer are each described above in full detail.
Regarding claims 12 and 21, Newitt and Fischer do not expressly teach the lower side of the planar element (as a second material or article worked upon) is cleaned of dust before applying the adhesive. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art of adhering (including a planar element such as tile) to clean the surface to be adhered of dust (using air blowing nozzles) before applying the adhesive as dust reduces the adhesive strength as evidenced by Xie (Abstract of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method and device as taught by Newitt and Fischer and Fischer as modified by Newitt comprise a cleaning apparatus (air blowing nozzles and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided in order to clean the lower side of the planar element of dust before applying the adhesive to increase the adhesive strength as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Xie.
Claims 13, 17, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newitt in view of Fischer and/or Sievers.
Newitt is described above in full detail.
Regarding claims 13 and 23, after adhesively (as the first material or article worked upon) bonding the planar element (as the second material or article worked upon), Newitt teaches the composite body comprising the concrete body (as the third material or article worked upon) is fed to a curing area (for drying/curing) and in which the concrete body cures (Paragraph 0088). Newitt does not expressly teach the curing area has a higher temperature. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the curing area has a higher temperature than room temperature for drying/curing as evidenced by Fischer (described above in full detail) and/or including for fast setting as evidenced by Sievers (Paragraph 0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the curing area taught by Newitt has a higher temperature for conventionally and predictably drying/curing and including for fast setting as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Fischer and/or Sievers.
Regarding claim 17 (and claim 25 further rejected herein as an alternative to that set forth above), Newitt does not expressly teach a mineral adhesive is used as the adhesive (first material or article worked upon). Newitt does not teach away from a mineral adhesive is used as the adhesive. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the adhesive is a mineral adhesive as evidenced by Fischer (described above in full detail) and/or Sievers (Paragraph 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive taught by Newitt is a mineral adhesive as a simple substitution of one known adhesive well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to yield predictable results of adhesively bonding a planar element and a concrete body as evidenced by Fischer and/or Sievers.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newitt, Fischer, and Sievers as applied to claims 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Paolo.
Regarding claim 22, Newitt as modified by Fischer and Sievers above teach measuring to determine the position of the upper side of the concrete body (as the third material or article worked upon) on the concrete body provisioning apparatus without expressly teaching a measuring apparatus. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to measure the actual size and orientation of a body (such as a tile) using a laser device as evidenced by Paolo (Page 5 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Newitt as modified by Fischer and Sievers comprise a measuring apparatus (laser device and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided to determine the position of the upper side of the concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus for then centering the planar element thereon wherein a measuring apparatus is well understood by one of ordinary kill in the art for measuring the actual size and orientation of a body as evidenced by Paolo.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer and Sievers as applied to claims 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Paolo.
Regarding claim 22, Fischer as modified by Sievers above teach measuring to determine the position of the upper side of the concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus without expressly teaching a measuring apparatus. Paolo is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Fischer as modified by Sievers comprise a measuring apparatus (laser device and considered the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof) is provided to determine the position of the upper side of the concrete body on the concrete body provisioning apparatus for then centering the planar element thereon wherein a measuring apparatus is well understood by one of ordinary kill in the art for measuring the actual size and orientation of a body as evidenced by Paolo.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 10-13, 15, 16, 18, 19, and 21-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 fully encompass claims 1-4, 10-13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 21-24, and 26 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 in view of Paolo. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 fully encompass claim 5 of the instant application but for a specific teaching of the adhesive thickness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive taught by claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 is applied in such a manner that the adhesive has a thickness of 3 mm to 10 mm in those regions in which it has a greater thickness on the lower side of the planar element as is the conventional/usual and predictable thickness as evidenced by Paolo (described above in full detail) it being noted in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 6-9 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 in view of Newitt. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 fully encompass claims 6-9 and 20 of the instant application but for a specific teaching the concrete body is at least structured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method and device taught by claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 comprise a punch (press impressing a keying pattern), provided for compacting the concrete body by being pressed on the upper side of the concrete body in the production of the concrete body, of a concrete body production apparatus is designed in such a manner that the punch pressed on the upper side of the concrete body in the production of the concrete body at least structures the upper side of the concrete body prior to pressing the planar element, and/or the punch incorporates pockets and/or depressions and/or indentations and/or a chamfer into the peripheral region of the upper side of the concrete body which are or is suitable to absorb adhesive that has been displaced by pressing the planar element as taught by Newitt (described above in full detail).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 in view of Newitt or Fischer. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 fully encompass claim 14 of the instant application but for a specific teaching of the dimensions of the planar element and the concrete body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the dimensions of the lower side of the planar element taught by claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 correspond substantially to the dimensions of the upper side of the concrete body as are the conventional and predictable dimensions as would have been well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Newitt or Fischer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 in view of Fischer or Sievers. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 fully encompass claim 17 of the instant application but for a specific teaching a mineral adhesive is used as the adhesive (claim 25 rejected herein as alternative to that above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adhesive taught by claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/121,518 is a mineral adhesive as a simple substitution of one known adhesive well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to yield predictable results of adhesively bonding a planar element and a concrete body as evidenced by Fischer or Sievers (each described above in full detail).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746