DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 28, and 30 are pending; claims 15-27, 29, and 31 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 line 3: “performs” should be changed to read “perform”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu (US 2020/0189462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches:
A danger detection system (Fig. 1; [0034] “in-vehicle accident prevention system 100”) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions ([0046] “ The storage unit 2 includes a memory.”), and
at least one processor ([0046] “The control unit 1 includes a CPU”) configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether an inside of a parked or stopped vehicle ([0060] “ The control unit 1 of the in-vehicle accident prevention device 10 detects that the vehicle 50 is stopped (the vehicle 50 is parked and the travelling drive source thereof such as a power source and an engine is stopped)”) is in a dangerous state based on at least one of information of an environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of an environment on an outside of the vehicle ([0065] “the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; [0051] discloses occupant detection unit 1a for processing information inside the vehicle “the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.”; [0055] discloses abnormality detection unit 1b detecting an abnormality based on detection results of sensors 6b to 6i and [0054] discloses sensors 6b, 6c, and 6f for detecting external temperature, external humidity, and external CO concentration, respectively “The temperature sensor 6 b detects an external temperature of the vehicle 50 and a temperature in the vehicle interior. The humidity sensor 6 c detects an external humidity of the vehicle 50 and a humidity in the vehicle interior. The solar sensor 6 d detects the amount of solar radiation that illuminates the vehicle interior from the window of the vehicle 50 . The raindrop sensor 6 e detects raindrops attached to a predetermined position on the outer surface of the vehicle 50 . The CO sensor 6 f detects the CO concentration around the outside of the vehicle 50 and the CO concentration in the vehicle interior.”);
detect a person in the vehicle from a video of the inside of the vehicle ([0041] “The camera 7 captures an image of the inside of the vehicle.”; [0051] “The biometric information of the occupant in the vehicle is also detected from the image captured by the camera 7 ... In detail, the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.), the video being determined that the vehicle is in the dangerous state ([0065] “Next, the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; and
perform, based on a result of detection of the person in the vehicle, at least one of notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0093] “ Further, the horn 34 and the out-vehicle lighting device 35 are driven to warn the outside of the vehicle. Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”), unlocking of a door of the vehicle by an operation of an authorized person with respect to the vehicle, and opening of a window of the vehicle by the operation of the authorized person ([0093] “ At the danger level 3, the control unit 1 causes the opening and closing control device 42 to fully open the window and causes the locking and unlocking device 44 to unlocks the door of the vehicle 50 ... Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”; [0072] “The management center 61, which receives such warning and notifications, dispatches a staff member to a site to rescue the occupant from the inside of the vehicle or requests a rescue from a rescue organization such as a fire station and a police station.” –The unlocking of the door and opening of the window can be done by the dispatched staff member to rescue the occupant).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
notify a terminal device that manages a video when the vehicle travels as the notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0072] “At this time, position information of the vehicle 50 detected by the GPS 47, registered specific information of the vehicle 50, an abnormal state in the vehicle, the type, the state, and the image of the occupant in the vehicle, and the like together are notified to the management center 61. The management center 61, which receives such warning and notifications, dispatches a staff member to a site to rescue the occupant from the inside of the vehicle or requests a rescue from a rescue organization such as a fire station and a police station.”).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
control air conditioning in the vehicle ([0069] “ At the danger level “2”, the control unit 1 ... adjusts the temperature in the vehicle to a proper temperature by driving the air conditioner 41.”).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle is at least one of a temperature ([0054] “The temperature sensor 6b detects ... a temperature in the vehicle interior.”), humidity ([0054] “The humidity sensor 6c detects ... a humidity in the vehicle interior.”), a concentration of carbon monoxide ([0054] “The CO sensor 6f detects ... the CO concentration in the vehicle interior”), and
information of the environment on the outside of the vehicle is at least one of information indicating at least one of a temperature ([0054] “The temperature sensor 6b detects an external temperature of the vehicle 50”), humidity ([0054] The humidity sensor 6c detects an external humidity of the vehicle 50”).
Regarding claim 28, Shimizu teaches:
A danger detection method (Fig. 1; [0034] “in-vehicle accident prevention system 100”) comprising:
determining whether an inside of a parked or stopped vehicle ([0060] “ The control unit 1 of the in-vehicle accident prevention device 10 detects that the vehicle 50 is stopped (the vehicle 50 is parked and the travelling drive source thereof such as a power source and an engine is stopped)”) is in a dangerous state based on at least one of information of an environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of an environment on an outside of the vehicle ([0065] “the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; [0051] discloses occupant detection unit 1a for processing information inside the vehicle “the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.”; [0055] discloses abnormality of the CO concentration around the outside of the vehicle detected by CO sensor 6f “Further, abnormality of the CO concentration around the outside of the vehicle 50 or in the vehicle interior is detected based on a result of the detection by the CO sensor 6f.”);
detecting a person in the vehicle from a video of the inside of the vehicle ([0041] “The camera 7 captures an image of the inside of the vehicle.”; [0051] “The biometric information of the occupant in the vehicle is also detected from the image captured by the camera 7 ... In detail, the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.), the video being determined that the vehicle is in the dangerous state ([0065] “Next, the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; and
performing, based on a result of detection of the person in the vehicle, at least one of notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0093] “ Further, the horn 34 and the out-vehicle lighting device 35 are driven to warn the outside of the vehicle. Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”), unlocking of a door of the vehicle by an operation of an authorized person with respect to the vehicle, and opening of a window of the vehicle by the operation of the authorized person ([0093] “ At the danger level 3, the control unit 1 causes the opening and closing control device 42 to fully open the window and causes the locking and unlocking device 44 to unlocks the door of the vehicle 50 ... Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”; [0072] “The management center 61, which receives such warning and notifications, dispatches a staff member to a site to rescue the occupant from the inside of the vehicle or requests a rescue from a rescue organization such as a fire station and a police station.” –The unlocking of the door and opening of the window can be done by the dispatched staff member to rescue the occupant).
Regarding claim 30, Shimizu teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium that records a program for causing a computer to execute (Fig. 1; [0046] “ The control unit 1 includes a CPU and a memory. The control unit 1 is provided with an occupant detection unit la, an abnormality detection unit 1b , and a position detection unit 1c. The storage unit 2 includes a memory.”):
determining whether an inside of a parked or stopped vehicle ([0060] “ The control unit 1 of the in-vehicle accident prevention device 10 detects that the vehicle 50 is stopped (the vehicle 50 is parked and the travelling drive source thereof such as a power source and an engine is stopped)”) is in a dangerous state based on at least one of information of an environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of an environment on an outside of the vehicle ([0065] “the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; [0051] discloses occupant detection unit 1a for processing information inside the vehicle “the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.”; [0055] discloses abnormality of the CO concentration around the outside of the vehicle detected by CO sensor 6f “Further, abnormality of the CO concentration around the outside of the vehicle 50 or in the vehicle interior is detected based on a result of the detection by the CO sensor 6f.”);
detecting a person in the vehicle from a video of the inside of the vehicle ([0041] “The camera 7 captures an image of the inside of the vehicle.”; [0051] “The biometric information of the occupant in the vehicle is also detected from the image captured by the camera 7 ... In detail, the occupant detection unit 1a of the control unit 1 detects biometric information such as motion (a behavior) of the occupant in the vehicle, motion of a chest interlocked with the respiration of the occupant, and motion of a pupil of the occupant, based on image data of the captured image processed by the image processing unit 3.), the video being determined that the vehicle is in the dangerous state ([0065] “Next, the control unit 1 executes determination processing for a danger level in the vehicle, based on the results of the detection by the occupant detection unit 1a and the abnormality detection unit 1b (step S12).”; and
performing, based on a result of detection of the person in the vehicle, at least one of notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0093] “ Further, the horn 34 and the out-vehicle lighting device 35 are driven to warn the outside of the vehicle. Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”), unlocking of a door of the vehicle by an operation of an authorized person with respect to the vehicle, and opening of a window of the vehicle by the operation of the authorized person ([0093] “ At the danger level 3, the control unit 1 causes the opening and closing control device 42 to fully open the window and causes the locking and unlocking device 44 to unlocks the door of the vehicle 50 ... Further, a warning is provided to the facility, the terminal device, or the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”; [0072] “The management center 61, which receives such warning and notifications, dispatches a staff member to a site to rescue the occupant from the inside of the vehicle or requests a rescue from a rescue organization such as a fire station and a police station.” –The unlocking of the door and opening of the window can be done by the dispatched staff member to rescue the occupant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Lim et al. (US 2016/0063315 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu further teaches:
the operation of the authorized person is an operation of ... of a person on the outside of the vehicle registered in advance ([0072] “The management center 61, which receives such warning and notifications, dispatches a staff member to a site to rescue the occupant from the inside of the vehicle or requests a rescue from a rescue organization such as a fire station and a police station.”; [0093] “the management center 61 registered in advance via the public communication device 36 and the public communication network 60.”).
Shimizu does not specifically teach the operation of a biometric authentication of a person on the outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches:
the operation of the authorized person is an operation of biometric authentication of a person on the outside of the vehicle registered in advance (Fig. 2; [0020] “Here, the image obtaining part 10 obtains an image of outside of a vehicle, removes noises from an input image, and converts the input image to a binary image, thereby minimizing effects from disturbances outside the vehicle. The image obtaining part 10 may be a camera installed inside a vehicle as shown in FIG. 2, where a face image and a motion image regarding a person outside the vehicle is obtained via the camera.”; [0021] “The face recognizing part 20 is a part for finding and tracking a face of a person from an input image based on feature elements constituting human faces and extracts feature information regarding a face of a person.”; [0022] “ The face authenticating part 30 compares the feature information extracted by the face recognizing part 20 to feature information regarding faces of persons registered in advance and, if a difference therebetween is less than or equal to a critical value, authenticates that the recognized face as a registered face.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to perform an operation of biometric authentication of a person on the outside of the vehicle registered in advance, as taught by Lim, in order to identify whether the person can access the vehicle.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Kuwabara et al. (US 2020/0142400 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: operate a wiper of the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kuwabara teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
operate a wiper of the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0067] “ The control device 10 may notify the external operator of the existence of an obstacle by turning on an annunciation device 80 ... Examples of the annunciation device 80 also include a wiper ... The wiper may be operated to notify the external operator of the existence of an obstacle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to operate a wiper of the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle, as taught by Kuwabara. In order to alert an external operator.
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect whether there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle, wherein ,and operate the wiper of the vehicle in a case where it is detected that the person is present in the vicinity.
However, Kuwabara teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
detect whether there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle (Fig. 2B; [0037] “The position of the operator M refers to a position at which the operator M observes the movement of the vehicle V and performs the operations for the parking process. The position of the operator M may be detected on the basis of the sensor signals from sensors provided in the vehicle V or may also be obtained through detecting the position of the operation terminal 5 carried by the operator M and calculating the position of the operator M on the basis of the position the operation terminal 5.”), and
operate the wiper of the vehicle in a case where it is detected that the person is present in the vicinity ([0067] “ The control device 10 may notify the external operator of the existence of an obstacle by turning on an annunciation device 80 ... Examples of the annunciation device 80 also include a wiper ... The wiper may be operated to notify the external operator of the existence of an obstacle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu, in view of Kuwabara, to detect whether there is a person in a vicinity of the vehicle, and operate the wiper of the vehicle in a case where it is detected that the person is present in the vicinity, as taught by Kuwabara, in order to alert the person of an abnormality.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Grochowicz et al. (US 2022/0219687 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
control an illumination device ... in such a way that the notification can be identified as the notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0070] “the out-vehicle lighting device 35 is blinked to request a rescue from a person around the vehicle 50, so as to warn the outside of the vehicle.”).
Shimizu does not specifically teach the illumination device is installed in a parking lot where the vehicle is parked or stopped.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Grochowicz teaches:
an illumination device installed in a parking lot where a vehicle is parked or stopped (Fig. 1; [0037] “Another technical functional unit may for example be a lighting device 19, of which in this case only a few of the light sources are provided with reference numbers. In particular, the lighting device may be operated automatically. For example, this may be the case in that, when a living creature enters the parking area of a level 4 to 6, the lighting device 19 is automatically activated. This may for example be the case depending on a recognition of such an entrance of a living creature by a motion detector 16 to 18. It is provided that at least one operating state of at least one of the aforementioned functional units is monitored in the parking garage 1 in which the vehicle 20 is located.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to install the illumination device in a parking lot where the vehicle is parked or stopped, as taught by Grochwicz, in order to alert people in the parking lot.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Takeya (JP 2011141581 A).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify a terminal device of a facility that manages a parking lot where the vehicle is parked or stopped as the notification to the outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takeya teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
notify a terminal device of a facility that manages a parking lot where the vehicle is parked or stopped as the notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0026] “ When the host machine 140 receives the vehicle identification information and the abnormality information (S25), the host machine 140 identifies the automobile 100 based on the vehicle identification information, searches the vehicle information management DB 150, and identifies the vehicle identification information (vehicle number) and vehicle characteristic information (vehicle type). , Color, parking position, etc.) is read (S26). Based on the read vehicle information and the received abnormality information, the host machine 140 creates predetermined information including a message notifying the occurrence of an abnormality, a vehicle number, a vehicle type, a color, a position, and the like, and displays the generated predetermined information It is displayed on the part 142 (S27). Thereby, the manager of the parking lot can know the abnormality of the automobile 100 by the abnormality notification issued from the automobile 100 in the parking lot, and the abnormality is immediately generated by knowing the vehicle number, the vehicle type, the color, and the position. It is possible to respond promptly, such as express to the car 100, contact with the driver (in-house broadcasting), and report to the police and medical institutions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to notify a terminal device of a facility that manages a parking lot where the vehicle is parked or stopped as the notification to the outside of the vehicle, as taught by Takeya, in order to allow a manager of the parking lot to respond promptly, such as contact with the driver and report to the police and medical institutions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Mukai (US 2017/0225689 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu does not specifically teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to notify a terminal device provided in another vehicle communicable with the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mukai teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
notify a terminal device provided in another vehicle communicable with the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle ([0091] “The abnormality occurrence notification section 122 also issues an instruction to the outward-facing output device 95 to output an output alerting nearby vehicles or occupants in nearby vehicles (step S104). For example, the abnormality occurrence notification section 122 issues an instruction to the outward-facing output device 95 to illuminate the hazard lamp 96, sound the audible alarm 97, communicate wirelessly with the communications device 98 (inter-vehicle communication), or the like. The abnormality occurrence notification section 122 thereby alerts nearby vehicles or occupants in nearby vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to notify a terminal device provided in another vehicle communicable with the vehicle as the notification to the outside of the vehicle, as taught by Mukai, in order to alert nearby vehicles or occupants in nearby vehicles.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu.
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
lower a security of the vehicle and performs control according to the security level in a case where the inside of the vehicle is in the dangerous state ([0069] “At the danger level “2”, the control unit 1 opens the window included in the opening and closing body 43 by the opening and closing body control device 42 slightly (by a predetermined amount) or adjusts the temperature in the vehicle to a proper temperature by driving the air conditioner 41.”; [0070] “At the danger level “3”, the control unit 1 fully opens the window by the opening and closing body control device 42 or rapidly decreases the temperature in the vehicle by the air conditioner 41 to adjust the temperature to a proper temperature ... Further, at the danger level “3”, the door of the vehicle 50 is unlocked by the locking and unlocking device 44.” – The security level of the vehicle is lower as the danger level increases, e.g. window is slightly opened for danger level 2 and fully opened for danger level 3, door is unlocked for danger level 3, etc., as disclosed in [0069] and [0070] and Fig. 4.).
Shimizu does not explicitly teach assigning a level to the security of the vehicle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to assign a security level of the vehicle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum value, in this case, a security level, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215.
Regarding claim 11, the teachings of “the security level” has been discussed above with respect to claim 10. Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
perform control in such a way that the security becomes lower as a state in the vehicle becomes dangerous ([0069] “At the danger level “2”, the control unit 1 opens the window included in the opening and closing body 43 by the opening and closing body control device 42 slightly (by a predetermined amount) or adjusts the temperature in the vehicle to a proper temperature by driving the air conditioner 41.”; [0070] “At the danger level “3”, the control unit 1 fully opens the window by the opening and closing body control device 42 or rapidly decreases the temperature in the vehicle by the air conditioner 41 to adjust the temperature to a proper temperature ... Further, at the danger level “3”, the door of the vehicle 50 is unlocked by the locking and unlocking device 44.” – The security level of the vehicle is lower as the danger level increases, e.g. window is slightly opened for danger level 2 and fully opened for danger level 3, door is unlocked for danger level 3, etc., as disclosed in [0069] and [0070] and Fig. 4.).
Regarding claim 12, the teachings of “the security level” has been discussed above with respect to claim 10. Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
perform control in such a way that an operation from a person other than an owner of the vehicle can be received as the security level is lower ([0069] “At the danger level “2”, the control unit 1 opens the window included in the opening and closing body 43 by the opening and closing body control device 42 slightly (by a predetermined amount) or adjusts the temperature in the vehicle to a proper temperature by driving the air conditioner 41.”; [0070] “At the danger level “3”, the control unit 1 fully opens the window by the opening and closing body control device 42 or rapidly decreases the temperature in the vehicle by the air conditioner 41 to adjust the temperature to a proper temperature ... Further, at the danger level “3”, the door of the vehicle 50 is unlocked by the locking and unlocking device 44.” – The security of the vehicle becomes lower in danger level 3, e.g., window is fully opened and door is unlocked, enabling a person from outside to reach inside the vehicle to perform an operation).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, in view of Kaur et al. (US 2020/0279471 A1), and further in view of Furuto et al. (JP 2008068819 A), hereinafter Furuto (see attached translation).
Regarding claim 14, Shimizu further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether the inside of the vehicle is in a dangerous state based on whether information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle is equal to or greater than a threshold ([0069] “if the abnormality detection unit 1 b detects that the temperature in the vehicle exceeds a predetermined temperature T 1 (for example, 35°C.) ... the control unit 1 determines the danger level as “2”.”),
open the window in a case where the inside of the vehicle is in a dangerous state ([0069] “At the danger level “2”, the control unit 1 opens the window included in the opening and closing body 43 by the opening and closing body control device 42 slightly (by a predetermined amount)”).
Shimizu does not specifically teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether the inside of the vehicle is in a dangerous state based on whether a difference between information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of the environment on the outside of the vehicle is equal to or greater than a threshold, and an elapsed time from when the difference becomes equal to or greater than the threshold is equal to or greater than a predetermined time.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kaur teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine whether the inside of the vehicle is in a dangerous state based on a difference between information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle and (a maximum safe temperature) is equal to or greater than a threshold ([0017] “Alarm module 108 may activate an alarm if a living being has been present in an enclosed space, and the ambient temperature of the enclosed space has been outside the safe temperature range”; [0014] “A safe temperature range may foe a range of ambient temperatures that do not pose a health risk to a living being ... Different living beings may have different safe temperature ranges, and a safe temperature range may be adjusted based on what type of living being system 100 will be used for. For example, a pet dog may have a higher average body temperature than a human baby, and thus the maximum temperature of a safe temperature range for the dog may be higher than the maximum temperature of a safe temperature range for the baby.” – The threshold in this case corresponds with a value greater than 0 because Kaur teaches the vehicle is in a dangerous state when the ambient temperature inside the vehicle exceeds the maximum temperature of the safe temperature range), and
an elapsed time ([0016] “a threshold amount of time”) from when the difference becomes equal to or greater than the threshold is equal to or greater than a predetermined time ([0016] “Timing module 106 may determine, based on such data, whether both the conditions of a living being's presence and an ambient temperature outside the safe temperature range have been concurrently satisfied continuously for the threshold amount of time.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shimizu to determine an elapsed time from when the difference becomes equal to or greater than the threshold is equal to or greater than a predetermined time, as taught by Kaur, in order to activate an alarm, preventing harm that the living being may have suffered due to extreme temperatures.
Kaur does not specifically teach the difference is a difference between information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of the environment on the outside of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Furuto teaches:
a difference between information on the inside of information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of the environment on the outside of the vehicle ([0019] “The vehicle air conditioner according to the present invention is configured such that the determination means determines whether or not the temperature inside the vehicle compartment is higher than a temperature outside the vehicle by a predetermined value or more”; [0020] “ According to the present invention, the vehicular air conditioner opens / closes the opening / closing member at this time when the temperature in the vehicle compartment increases from a temperature lower than a temperature higher by a predetermined value than a temperature outside the vehicle to a predetermined value or more.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the difference taught by the combination of Shimizu and Kaur, to determine a difference between information on the inside of information of the environment on the inside of the vehicle and information of the environment on the outside of the vehicle, as taught by Furuto. Such modification allows the air conditioner to be able to obtain a more rapid cooling effect while reducing the load on the compressor when cooling air by taking in and cooling, as suggested by Furuto in [0005].
Conclusion
/NHI Q BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656