Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The examiner notes these claims disclose a " recording medium" that is suggested in the specification, i.e. US2026/0134861A1 [0050], to include “ a computer readable medium” and [0054] as “..signal may, for example, be stored in a recording medium or embodied as an electrical signal, or as sound” ; however "is not limited to" a particular statutory class. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed medium covers both forms of non- transitory media and transitory media, i.e. propagating signals per se. A claim drawn to such a medium that encompasses both scenarios may be amended to narrow the claim to over only statutory embodiments by adding the “non-transitory” limitation to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-22, 28 , 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haelvoet, Tom et al. (WO2022/128595A1), hereinafter “ Tom”.
As to Claim 18, Tom teaches a method of synthesizing an audio signal for use by a horn apparatus for a vehicle to produce an audible warning sound, wherein the audio signal contains a fundamental frequency and harmonics corresponding to the fundamental frequency, ( [0025] teaches a method for creating a sound signal to be added to a sound library for an audible vehicle warning system, said sound library comprising one or more sound signals intended as a horn signal when output by a loudspeaker of said audible vehicle warning system. The method comprises analyzing a frequency domain representation of a candidate sound signal and extracting one or more dominant spectral components from said frequency domain representation, synthesizing a sound signal from the one or more extracted dominant spectral components: the method including: selecting weights for each of a plurality of harmonics corresponding to a fundamental frequency; using the selected weights to synthesize a precursor audio signal from only the fundamental frequency and the plurality of harmonics ( At device level the power sum of A-weighted 2kHz, 2.5kHz and 3.15kHz third octave frequency bands of the generated horn signal should be at least 105 dB sound pressure level (SPL), See at least [0048] and further on [ 0073] teaches it can be seen from the spectrum that a lot of harmonics are present in the recorded horn signal. Dominant spectral lines are extracted by finding local maxima in the spectrum. This results in step C in a table with dominant spectral lines and their respective amplitudes.) Regarding the following: compressing the precursor audio signal one or more times to provide an audio signal which has a crest factor that is below a predetermined threshold, Tom teaches crest factor (peak value) of 5dB in amplitude level [0060] and [0066] teaches Fig.5b the resulting frequency response is shown. The highest peak results from the tuned SPL peak of the front resonator. A less pronounced SPL peak is obtained from the tuned resonance frequency of the loudspeaker box. This SPL peak can be increased by lowering the damping (by increasing the quality factor Q), and [0067] teaches a phase plug can be used to optimize the tuning of the peak frequencies. In further embodiments also other acoustic attributes (tube, horn, etc...) can be used to maximize the SPL in the frequency band of interest. Thus, as specified in the applicant’s specification on [0030] compressing a signal is reducing overall dynamic range .. and has the effect of reducing the crest factor of the signal or reducing the peaks which is shown on Figure 5B, 6 and 7.
As to Claim 19, Tom teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and wherein the predetermined threshold is 6dB or lower, Tom teaches crest factor (peak value) of 5dB in amplitude level.
As to Claim 20, Tom teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and, wherein the audio signal is configured to mimic a single tone vehicle horn sound, [0054] teaches A horn has a typical frequency spectrum. An illustration is provided in Fig.1, showing a power spectrum of a horn signal. The spectrum displays a fundamental tone at a frequency corresponding to the rate at which the hammer of the vehicle horn beats against the tone disk. This frequency usually lies in the octave between 300 Hz and 600 Hz. Further the spectrum shows several overtones, some of which are higher in amplitude than the fundamental tone.
As to Claim 21, Tom teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and, wherein the fundamental frequency is between 100Hz- 800Hz, [0054] teaches his frequency usually lies in the octave between 300 Hz and 600 Hz.
As to Claim 22, Tom teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and, further comprising: synthesizing at least one additional audio signal using a method according to any previous claim, wherein the audio signal and the additional audio signal have different fundamental frequencies, [0054] teaches the spectrum shows several overtones, some of which are higher in amplitude than the fundamental tone. In the example of Fig.1 the strongest overtone is around 3150 Hz, which is in the most sensitive region of the human auditory system. This overtone also falls within the 2.5 kHz octave band which is the window of the homologation procedure for vehicle horns, as already mentioned.
As to Claim 28, Tom teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and wherein the audio signal or composite audio signal has a crest factor that is 3dB or lower when stored in digital form ( [0060] teaches he frequency response of the loudspeaker is so designed that, when representing the frequency response using 1/3 octave frequency bands and determining for each of those bands an average value of the response, there is a 1/3 octave frequency band frequency band corresponding to the reference frequency band that has an amplitude level which is at least a certain amount, e.g. 3 dB or 5 dB or 6 dB or 12 dB above the average amplitude level in the rated frequency range, i.e. in the frequency range from 400 Hz to 2kHz, preferably from 300 Hz to 5 kHz.
As to Claim 30, Tom teaches an audio signal or a composite audio signal for use by a horn apparatus for a vehicle,( an audible vehicle warning system arranged for generating a horn signal, abstract) wherein the audio signal contains a fundamental frequency and harmonics corresponding to the fundamental frequency,( [0025] teaches a method for creating a sound signal to be added to a sound library for an audible vehicle warning system, said sound library comprising one or more sound signals intended as a horn signal when output by a loudspeaker of said audible vehicle warning system. The method comprises analyzing a frequency domain representation of a candidate sound signal and extracting one or more dominant spectral components from said frequency domain representation, synthesizing a sound signal from the one or more extracted dominant spectral components [0054] teaches a horn has a typical frequency spectrum. An illustration is provided in Fig.1, showing a power spectrum of a horn signal. The spectrum displays a fundamental tone at a frequency corresponding to the rate at which the hammer of the vehicle horn beats against the tone disk. This frequency usually lies in the octave between 300 Hz and 600 Hz. Further the spectrum shows several overtones, some of which are higher in amplitude than the fundamental tone., Tom the method including: selecting weights for each of a plurality of harmonics corresponding to a fundamental frequency; using the selected weights to synthesize a precursor audio signal from only the fundamental frequency and the plurality of harmonics ( At device level the power sum of A-weighted 2kHz, 2.5kHz and 3.15kHz third octave frequency bands of the generated horn signal should be at least 105 dB sound pressure level (SPL), See at least [0048] and further on [ 0073] teaches it can be seen from the spectrum that a lot of harmonics are present in the recorded horn signal. Dominant spectral lines are extracted by finding local maxima in the spectrum. This results in step C in a table with dominant spectral lines and their respective amplitudes.) Regarding the following: compressing the precursor audio signal one or more times to provide an audio signal which has a crest factor that is below a predetermined threshold, Tom teaches crest factor (peak value) of 5dB in amplitude level [0060] and [0066] teaches Fig.5b the resulting frequency response is shown. The highest peak results from the tuned SPL peak of the front resonator. A less pronounced SPL peak is obtained from the tuned resonance frequency of the loudspeaker box. This SPL peak can be increased by lowering the damping (by increasing the quality factor Q), and [0067] teaches a phase plug can be used to optimize the tuning of the peak frequencies. In further embodiments also other acoustic attributes (tube, horn, etc...) can be used to maximize the SPL in the frequency band of interest. Thus, as specified in the applicant’s specification on [0030] compressing a signal is reducing overall dynamic range .. and has the effect of reducing the crest factor of the signal or reducing the peaks which is shown on Figure 5B, 6 and 7.
As to Claim 31, Tom teaches a recording medium having stored thereon an audio signal or a composite audio signal for use by a horn apparatus for a vehicle, ( an audible vehicle warning system arranged for generating a horn signal and comprising - a loudspeaker system comprising a loudspeaker arranged for outputting sound signals at least in a selected frequency range. See at least abstract and Figure 10 teaches a possible process to obtain a sound signal for the sound library. The procedure illustrated in Fig.10 uses a recording of a time signal of an existing horn in operation measured at evaluation distance as prescribed. The recorded signal is taken as input signal and from this input signal is derived a signal one would like to use as horn signal and store in the sound library.) wherein the audio signal contains a fundamental frequency and harmonics corresponding to the fundamental frequency, [0025] teaches a method for creating a sound signal to be added to a sound library for an audible vehicle warning system, said sound library comprising one or more sound signals intended as a horn signal when output by a loudspeaker of said audible vehicle warning system. The method comprises analyzing a frequency domain representation of a candidate sound signal and extracting one or more dominant spectral components from said frequency domain representation, synthesizing a sound signal from the one or more extracted dominant spectral components [0054] teaches a horn has a typical frequency spectrum. An illustration is provided in Fig.1, showing a power spectrum of a horn signal. The spectrum displays a fundamental tone at a frequency corresponding to the rate at which the hammer of the vehicle horn beats against the tone disk. This frequency usually lies in the octave between 300 Hz and 600 Hz. Further the spectrum shows several overtones, some of which are higher in amplitude than the fundamental tone., Tom teaches the audio signal or composite audio signal being synthesized according to a method that includes: selecting weights for each of a plurality of harmonics corresponding to a fundamental frequency; using the selected weights to synthesize a precursor audio signal from only the fundamental frequency and the plurality of harmonics ( At device level the power sum of A-weighted 2kHz, 2.5kHz and 3.15kHz third octave frequency bands of the generated horn signal should be at least 105 dB sound pressure level (SPL), See at least [0048] and further on [ 0073] teaches it can be seen from the spectrum that a lot of harmonics are present in the recorded horn signal. Dominant spectral lines are extracted by finding local maxima in the spectrum. This results in step C in a table with dominant spectral lines and their respective amplitudes.) Regarding the following: compressing the precursor audio signal one or more times to provide an audio signal which has a crest factor that is below a predetermined threshold, Tom teaches crest factor (peak value) of 5dB in amplitude level [0060] and [0066] teaches Fig.5b the resulting frequency response is shown. The highest peak results from the tuned SPL peak of the front resonator. A less pronounced SPL peak is obtained from the tuned resonance frequency of the loudspeaker box. This SPL peak can be increased by lowering the damping (by increasing the quality factor Q), and [0067] teaches a phase plug can be used to optimize the tuning of the peak frequencies. In further embodiments also other acoustic attributes (tube, horn, etc...) can be used to maximize the SPL in the frequency band of interest. Thus, as specified in the applicant’s specification on [0030] compressing a signal is reducing overall dynamic range .. and has the effect of reducing the crest factor of the signal or reducing the peaks which is shown on Figure 5B, 6 and 7.
As to Claim 32, Tom teaches an apparatus configured to synthesize an audio signal or a composite audio signal for use by a horn apparatus for a vehicle,( an audible vehicle warning system arranged for generating a horn signal and comprising - a loudspeaker system comprising a loudspeaker arranged for outputting sound signals at least in a selected frequency range. See at least abstract and Figure 10 teaches a possible process to obtain a sound signal for the sound library. The procedure illustrated in Fig.10 uses a recording of a time signal of an existing horn in operation measured at evaluation distance as prescribed. The recorded signal is taken as input signal and from this input signal is derived a signal one would like to use as horn signal and store in the sound library.) wherein the audio signal contains a fundamental frequency and harmonics corresponding to the fundamental frequency, [0025] teaches a method for creating a sound signal to be added to a sound library for an audible vehicle warning system, said sound library comprising one or more sound signals intended as a horn signal when output by a loudspeaker of said audible vehicle warning system. The method comprises analyzing a frequency domain representation of a candidate sound signal and extracting one or more dominant spectral components from said frequency domain representation, synthesizing a sound signal from the one or more extracted dominant spectral components [0054] teaches a horn has a typical frequency spectrum. An illustration is provided in Fig.1, showing a power spectrum of a horn signal. The spectrum displays a fundamental tone at a frequency corresponding to the rate at which the hammer of the vehicle horn beats against the tone disk. This frequency usually lies in the octave between 300 Hz and 600 Hz. Further the spectrum shows several overtones, some of which are higher in amplitude than the fundamental tone., Tom teaches the audio signal or composite audio signal being synthesized according to a method that includes: selecting weights for each of a plurality of harmonics corresponding to a fundamental frequency; using the selected weights to synthesize a precursor audio signal from only the fundamental frequency and the plurality of harmonics ( At device level the power sum of A-weighted 2kHz, 2.5kHz and 3.15kHz third octave frequency bands of the generated horn signal should be at least 105 dB sound pressure level (SPL), See at least [0048] and further on [ 0073] teaches it can be seen from the spectrum that a lot of harmonics are present in the recorded horn signal. Dominant spectral lines are extracted by finding local maxima in the spectrum. This results in step C in a table with dominant spectral lines and their respective amplitudes.) Regarding the following: compressing the precursor audio signal one or more times to provide an audio signal which has a crest factor that is below a predetermined threshold, Tom teaches crest factor (peak value) of 5dB in amplitude level [0060] and [0066] teaches Fig.5b the resulting frequency response is shown. The highest peak results from the tuned SPL peak of the front resonator. A less pronounced SPL peak is obtained from the tuned resonance frequency of the loudspeaker box. This SPL peak can be increased by lowering the damping (by increasing the quality factor Q), and [0067] teaches a phase plug can be used to optimize the tuning of the peak frequencies. In further embodiments also other acoustic attributes (tube, horn, etc...) can be used to maximize the SPL in the frequency band of interest. Thus, as specified in the applicant’s specification on [0030] compressing a signal is reducing overall dynamic range .. and has the effect of reducing the crest factor of the signal or reducing the peaks which is shown on Figure 5B, 6 and 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-27 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 33-37 are allowed. The independent Claim 33, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “ A horn apparatus for a vehicle including: a horn activation mechanism operable by a user of the vehicle; a loudspeaker for producing sound which radiates outwardly from the vehicle; wherein the loudspeaker is configured to produce an audible warning sound based on an audio signal or composite audio signal in response to the horn activation mechanism being operated by a user of the vehicle,… the audio signal or composite audio signal being synthesized according to a method that includes: selecting weights for each of a plurality of harmonics corresponding to a fundamental frequency; using the selected weights to synthesize a precursor audio signal from only the fundamental frequency and the plurality of harmonics..”
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691