DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the application filed on April 16, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are canceled.
Claims 15-28 are pending.
Claims 15-28 stand rejected as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 line 1: “Silo system” should be changed to “A silo system” for clarity.
Claim 15 line 2: “the upper end” should be changed to “an upper end” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 15 line 3: “the lower end” should be changed to “a lower end” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claims 16-25 line 1: “Silo system” should be changed to “The silo system” for clarity.
Claim 18 line 2: “with minimum one” should be changed to “with a minimum of one” for clarity.
Claim 20 line 1: “wherein said flat plates, have” should be changed to “wherein said flat plates have” for clarity.
Claim 26 line 1: “Method” should be changed to “A method” for clarity.
Claim 26 line 4: “the walls of said cells” should be changed to “walls of said cells” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 26 line 5: “said hopper part comprises a transition funnel restricting the passage from an initial rectangular cross section in the body part to an intermediate rounded rectangular cross section in the transition funnel to a final cross section at the outlet” comes from claim 15 line 3 and should be modified for continuity to read as “said hopper part comprises the transition funnel restricting the passage from the initial cross section in the body part to the intermediate rounded rectangular cross section in the transition funnel to the final cross section at the outlet”.
Claim 27 line 1: “Method” should be changed to “The method” for clarity.
Claim 27 line 3: The first instance of “the inner walls of said cell” should be changed to “inner walls of said cell” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 28 line 1: “Use” should be changed to “A use” for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 20, 22, 25, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 line 2: The relationship between the length and the width of the cells is not particularly pointed out due to the word ‘preferably’ in the language “where a length is at least 1/2 greater than a width, preferably where the length is at least 1/6 greater than the width, and most preferably where the length is at least 1/18 greater than the width”. It is assumed that a length is at least greater than a width of a cell.
Claim 20 line 1: The shape of the flat plates is not particularly pointed out due to the word ‘preferably’ in the language “a preferably rectangular shape”. It is assumed that the flat plates are rectangular in shape.
Claim 20 line 3: There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the same angle between the wall of the cell”. This language is interpreted as “a desired angle between a wall of the cell”, similar to claim 19 line 3.
Claim 22 line 1: Where the transition funnel is connected is not particularly pointed out due to the word ‘preferably’ in the language “said transition funnel is connected to an edge of said hopper, preferably connected to a flange of said hopper”. It is assumed that the transition funnel is connected to the hopper.
Claim 25 line 1: The shape of the flat connection plate and the number of partial plates is not particularly pointed out due to the word ‘preferably’ in the language “said flat connection plate is preferably rectangular shaped and comprises at least two, preferably four, in particular eight partial plates”. It is assumed the flat connection plate is rectangular in shape and that there are at least two partial plates.
Claim 28 line 2: The material to be stored is not particularly pointed out due to the word ‘preferably’ in the language “such as preferably a granular solid material, and more preferably fine-grained material such as flour”. Also, the phrase “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is assumed the silo should be able to store bulk and/or dump materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 16, 21-24, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silo Construction & Engineering (“SCE”) (DE 202015101491).
Regarding claim 15, SCE teaches a silo system (1) comprising one or more essentially rectangular silo cells (2), each silo cell (2) comprising an inlet part at an upper end (inlet at upper end of 2), an intermediate body part (body of 2), a hopper part, and an outlet (3) at a lower end (3 at lower end of 2), wherein said hopper part comprises a transition funnel (4) restricting the passage from an initial rectangular cross section in the body part (rectangular cross section of body of 2) to an intermediate rounded rectangular cross section in the transition funnel (rounded rectangular cross section of 4) to a final cross section at the outlet (cross section of 3). (fig 2a-c, 3)
Regarding claim 16, SCE teaches the silo system described above, wherein said one or more cells (2) have a rectangular cross-section (rectangular cross section of 2), where a length is greater than a width (length of 2 greater than a width of 2 in fig 2b). (fig 2a-c)
Regarding claim 21, SCE teaches the silo system described above, wherein said transition funnel (4) is attached to corresponding inner walls of said one or more cells (2) by means of a weld seam (pg 6 paragraph 5 line 2 “the transition plate is secured to the inner walls of the one or more cells by means of a weld”). (fig 2a-c)
Regarding claim 22, SCE teaches the silo system described above, wherein said transition funnel (4) is connected to an edge of said hopper by means of a weld seam (pg 7 paragraph 6 line 3 “the transition plate may also be connected to the one or more outlet orifices by means of a weld”).
Regarding claim 23, SCE teaches the silo system described above, comprising one or more outlets (3), shaped like a shaft, with an open base and top and wherein a size of said top is greater than the size of said base (size of open top of 3 is greater than open base of 3), with the final cross section (5) at the base of the outlet (3). (fig 2a-c)
Regarding claim 24, SCE teaches the silo system described above, wherein a flat connection plate (8) is provided between the outlet (3) and the hopper (fig 4).
Regarding claim 26, SCE teaches a method for the construction of a silo system described above, comprising the steps of (i) vertically constructing one or more cells (2) having an angular cross-section (angular cross section of 2); (ii) positioning one or more outlets (3) underneath the aforementioned cells (2); and (iii) connecting walls of said cells (2) to the corresponding outlets (3) by means of a transition hopper, characterized in that said hopper part comprises the transition funnel (4) restricting the passage from the initial rectangular cross section in the body part (rectangular cross section of body of 2) to the intermediate rounded rectangular cross section in the transition funnel (rounded rectangular cross section of 4) to the final cross section at the outlet (cross section of 3). (fig 2a-c, 3)
Regarding claim 28, SCE teaches a use of a silo system described above, for the storage of bulk and/or dump materials (pg 1 second to last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silo Construction & Engineering (“SCE”) (DE 202015101491) as applied to claim 15 and 26 above, respectively, and further in view of Vermij et al (“Vermij”) (WO 2020214032).
Regarding claim 17, SCE teaches the silo system described above.
SCE does not teach wherein said transition funnel consists of a set of alternated flat and curved interconnected plates. SCE only has a set of curved interconnected plates 4a-c in fig 3.
Vermij teaches a transition funnel (210) with flat plates (216, 217). (fig 5) In addition, the connecting plates and/or the transition plates can be curved or flat (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the curved plates of SCE with the flat plates of Vermij. The flat plates of Vermij could be alternated with the curved plates of SCE to aid in containing flowable materials.
Regarding claim 18, SCE as modified teaches the silo system described above; four curved plates (pg 5 paragraph 6 line 2 “the transition plate comprises four sub-panels for covering the respective four base corners of the cell.” Three of the four sub-panels are indicated by 4a-c in fig 3).
Vermij in the modification teaches at least two flat plates (216, 217). (fig 5)
With the curved plates of SCE and the flat plates of Vermij in hand, a person having ordinary skill in the art could form a funnel with a rounded rectangular cross section.
Regarding claim 19, SCE as modified teaches the silo system described above, wherein said curved plates cover corresponding four base angles of said cell (pg 5 paragraph 6 line 2 “the transition plate comprises four sub-panels for covering the respective four base corners of the cell.” Three of the four sub-panels are indicated by 4a-c in fig 5) and are obtained by a central point bend of a substantially triangular plate to the desired curvature (pg 7 paragraph 3 line 3“each sub-panel is centered by a central point bend a predominantly triangular plate”), corresponding to a desired angle between a wall of the cell and said transition funnel (angle alpha in fig 1c).
Regarding claim 20, SCE as modified teaches the silo system described above; curved plates 4a-c in fig 3.
Vermij in the modification teaches wherein said flat plates (216, 217) have a rectangular shape (fig 5), are interconnecting plates between the curved plates (claim 7), and are provided at a desired angle between a wall of the cell and said transition funnel (angle alpha_1 seen in fig 2).
With the curved plates of SCE and the flat plates of Vermij in hand, a person having ordinary skill in the art could place the flat plates of Vermij to cover a longest side of the rectangular cell of SCE.
Regarding claim 27, SCE teaches the method described above, wherein said transition funnel (4) comprises curved partial plates (4a-c) arranged adjacent next to one another, in adjacent connection with inner walls of said cell (4a-c and inner wall of 2 in fig 3), and subsequently are connected to the inner walls of said cell by means of a weld seam (pg 6 paragraph 5 line 2 “the transition plate is secured to the inner walls of the one or more cells by means of a weld”).
SCE does not teach flat plates.
Vermij teaches a transition funnel (210) with flat plates (216, 217). (fig 5) In addition, the connecting plates and/or the transition plates can be curved or flat (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the curved plates of SCE with the flat plates of Vermij. The flat plates of Vermij could be arranged next to the curved plates of SCE to aid in containing flowable materials.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silo Construction & Engineering (“SCE”) (DE 202015101491) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Cherepanov (DE 102020105997).
Regarding claim 25, SCE teaches the silo system described above, wherein said flat connection plate (8) is rectangularly shaped (fig 4).
SCE does not teach said flat connection plate comprises at least two partial plates. The connection plate of SCE appears to be made of one piece.
Cherepanov teaches a flat connection plate comprising at least two partial plates (see Cherepanov fig 1 annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flat connection piece with at least two partial plates of Cherepanov with the silo system of SCE in order to more easily install and uninstall sections of the connection plate.
[AltContent: textbox (Second partial plate)][AltContent: textbox (First partial plate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Cherepanov fig 1 annotated
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/ZACHARY P HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635