DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 as filed on 04/16/2025 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elements listed below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A discontinuous portion – Claims 7 (line 6) and Claim 12 (line 6)
Figs. 1-9 are objected to because they include photographs and/or shading. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications unless the photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The use of shading may be used if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but NOT for cross sections. See MPEP § 608.02. In the instant case, legibility is reduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 2, “the upper and lower portions” as recited in line 4, lack proper antecedent basis. It appears “the upper and lower portions” is intended to recite “the separate portions”.
In regards to Claim 3 and 8, “the shape” as recited in line 3, respectively, lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the shape” is intended to recite “a shape”.
In regards to Claims 4-5, 9-10 and 12, “the polarity” as recited throughout lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 4, “the polarity” as recited in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 5, “the polarity” as recited in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 7, “the polarity” as recited in line 4 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 7, “the polarities” as recited in line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarities” is intended to recite “polarities”.
The term “crescent-type” in Claim 6, line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “crescent-type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “crescent-type lock keeper” is intended to recite “lock keeper”.
In regards to Claim 9, “the polarity” as recited in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 10, “the polarity” as recited in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
The term “crescent-type” in Claim 11, line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “crescent-type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears “crescent-type lock keeper” is intended to recite “lock keeper”.
In regards to Claim 12, “the polarity” as recited in line 4 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarity” is intended to recite “polarity”.
In regards to Claim 12, “the polarities” as recited in line 5 lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears “the polarities” is intended to recite “polarities”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwankl (US 4510986 A) in view of Harary et al. (US 6429961 A)(Herein Harary).
In regards to Claim 1, Schwankl discloses
A structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1], wherein
the structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] is a structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching the sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a surface of the window pane (16/18) [Fig 1], and
the structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] comprises:
a first magnet piece or magnetic material piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3]
a second magnet piece or magnetic material piece (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] attached to both sides (24a/24b) [Fig 3-4] [Col 4; Lines 22-25] of the sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4], and configured to be attached [Col 3; Lines 17-20] to the corresponding first magnet piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] or magnetic material piece by magnetism [Col 3; Lines 17-20].
However, fails to disclose
a first magnet piece or magnetic material piece attached to the surface of the window pane along stiles on both sides of a sash;
Furthermore,
Harary discloses
a first magnet piece or magnetic material piece (22, Schwankl) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] attached to the surface [Fig 1A-1C] [Col 10, Line 64-67] of the window pane (16/18, Schwankl) [Fig 1] along [Merriam Webster Definition “in a line matching the length or direction of”] stiles [Sides of (12/14), Schwankl, [Fig 1-2]] on both sides of a sash (12/14, Schwankl) [Fig 1-2];
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure by Schwankl to further include a first magnet piece or magnetic material piece attached to the surface of the window pane along stiles on both sides of a sash as disclosed by Harary. When modified, attaching the sheet directly to the windowpane reduces draft, allowing a more consistent airtight seal, and better insulation performance.
Examiners Interpretation: As disclosed in Schwankl [Col 2; Lines 42-48] “numeral 10 designates a conventional wooden window frame having vertical opposite sides 10a and 10b, and a top frame portion 10c and a bottom frame portion 10d. Upper and lower sashes 12 and 14 are received within the window frame and hold respective glass panes 16 and 18.” The claims as written (in the preamble) do not require a direct connection between the sheet member and the window pane.
Additionally, the language "for attaching" is language that suggests or makes optional the limitation. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See § MPEP 2114 (II)
In regards to Claim 3, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1, wherein
the sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4]
However, fails to disclose
the sheet member is in the shape of a bag.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheet member of Schwankl to have a shape of a bag in order to allow functionality of storage. When modified, the bag shaped sheet member allows for use of sealing. Since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (I).
In regards to Claim 4, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1 , wherein
the first (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] and second magnet pieces (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] have the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a length direction thereof. [Col 4; Lines 2-10]
In regards to Claim 5, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1, wherein
the first (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] and second magnet pieces (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] have the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a width direction thereof. [Col 4; Lines 2-10]
In regards to Claim 6, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1, wherein
the first magnet or magnetic material piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper. [(22) is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper]
Examiners Interpretation: As understood by the specifications and Drawings, the limitation is not directed to the shape of the crescent-type lock only the keeper. Which is understood to be a holder.
In regards to Claim 7, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 6, wherein
the first magnet piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] that is not provided at the position of the crescent-type lock keeper [(22) is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper] has the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a length direction thereof [Col 4; Lines 2-10], and maintains continuity [As disclosed in Col 4; Lines 2-10, maintaining polarities] of the polarities of an upper and a lower portion [Upper and Lower of (22)] of said first magnet piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] above and below a discontinuous portion [Col 11, Lines 30-32 disclosing a “continuous or discontinuous and positioned in almost any imaginable orientation”.]
Claim(s) 2, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwankl (US 4510986 A) in view of Harary et al. (US 6429961 A)(Herein Harary) and Clark (US 5524689 A)
In regards to Claim 2, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1,
However, fails to disclose
the sheet member includes separate portions configured to be arranged vertically, side by side with the upper and lower portions overlapping when the sheet member is attached to the surface of the window pane.
Furthermore, Clark discloses
the sheet member (20, Schwankl) [Figs 1-4] includes separate portions (30a/30b) [Fig 3] configured to be arranged vertically, side by side, [As shown in Fig 3, Arranged Vertically, side-by-side in the vertical direction] with the upper and lower portions (30a/30b) [Fig 3] overlapping [Col 3, Lines 45-46] when the sheet member (20, Schwankl) [Figs 1-4] is attached to the surface [Fig 1A-1C, Harary] [Col 10, Line 64-67] of the window pane (16/18) [Fig 1].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure by Schwankl to further include the sheet member includes separate portions configured to be arranged vertically, side by side with the upper and lower portions overlapping when the sheet member is attached to the surface of the window pane as disclosed by Clark. When modified, having a sheet component that is separate reduces film shrinkage and improves seam strength.
In regards to Claim 8, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 1, wherein
the sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4]
However, fails to disclose
the sheet member is in the shape of a bag.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sheet member of Schwankl to have a shape of a bag in order to allow functionality of storage. When modified, the bag shaped sheet member allows for use of sealing. Since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (I).
In regards to Claim 9, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 2, wherein
the first (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] and second magnet pieces (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] have the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a length direction thereof. [Col 4; Lines 2-10]
In regards to Claim 10, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 2, wherein
the first and second magnet pieces (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] have the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a width direction thereof. [Col 4; Lines 2-10]
In regards to Claim 11, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 2, wherein
the first magnet (24) [Col 3; Lines 17-20] [Figs 1-4] or magnetic material piece is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper [(22) is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper].
Examiners Interpretation: As understood by the specifications and Drawings, the limitation is not directed to the shape of the crescent-type lock only the keeper. Which is understood to be a holder.
In regards to Claim 12, Schwankl as modified discloses
The structure [Abstract] [Col 2; Lines 49-51] for attaching a sheet member (20) [Figs 1-4] to a window pane (16/18) [Fig 1] according to claim 11, wherein
the first magnet piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] that is not provided at the position of the crescent-type lock keeper [(22) is not provided at a position of a crescent-type lock keeper] has the polarity that alternates at predetermined intervals in a length direction thereof, [Col 4; Lines 2-10] and maintains continuity [as disclosed in Col 4; Lines 2-10, maintains continuity throughout] of the polarities of an upper and a lower portion [Upper and Lower of (22)] of said first magnet piece (22) [Cols 2 and 3; Lines 65-68 and 1-2] [Fig 3] above and below a discontinuous portion [Col 11, Lines 30-32 disclosing a “continuous or discontinuous and positioned in almost any imaginable orientation”., Harary].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635