DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As currently described, it is unclear as to what is being claimed in claim 3. “and in a state in which the main body portion is separated from the first cassette mounting portion due to interfering with the second cassette mounting portion, the second lid portion is rotatable relative to the second portion and enables the medications to be refilled.” It is unclear as to how portions are separated while also interfering, and additionally being able to rotate if interfering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamura et al. (US 6,471,090 B1 – hereinafter Inamura) in view of William Holmes (US 2023/0138334 A1 – hereinafter Holmes).
Re Claims 1-6:
Inamura discloses a medication storage cassette (at 3, at 4) mounted on a cassette mounting portion (at 26, at 52) provided in a medication packaging device (1), which is a device (1) that allows medications to be sorted and discharged for each single dose based on a medication dispensing request, to dispense the medications (see Figs. 1-6) (see col. 1 lines 5-10), the medication storage cassette (at 3, at 4) comprising: a main body portion (3,4) providing an inner space for storing the medications and mounted on a first cassette mounting portion (26, 52) of the cassette mounting portion (at 26, at 52) disposed in a plurality of layers (see Fig. 4) (see col. 3 lines 44-52); but fails to teach an opening/closing adjusting portion located toward one side of the main body portion to adjust opening and closing of the inner space, wherein the opening/closing adjusting portion enables the inner space to be open without interfering with a second cassette mounting portion protruding to a front of the main body portion and located at an upper side of the first cassette mounting portion based on a state in which the main body portion is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion, thereby enabling the medications to be refilled in the state in which the main body portion is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion.
Holmes teaches an opening/closing adjusting portion (at 195) located toward one side of a main body portion (155) to adjust opening and closing of an inner space, wherein the opening/closing adjusting portion (at 195) enables the inner space to be open without interfering with a second cassette mounting portion protruding to a front of the main body portion (155) and located at an upper side of a first cassette mounting portion (near 130) based on a state in which the main body portion (155) is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion (near 130), thereby enabling medications to be refilled in the state in which the main body portion (155) is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion (near 130) (see paragraph [0042] – see Figs. 1-8 and 16). Re Claim 2: Holmes teaches wherein: the opening/closing adjusting portion (at 195) has a fixing portion directly and indirectly connected to the main body portion and a lid portion state-changeably connected to the fixing portion to adjust the opening and closing of the inner space; and the lid portion (at 195) has a first lid portion rotatably connected to a first portion of the fixing portion provided to protrude to the front of the main body portion, thereby enabling the medications to be refilled in the state in which the main body portion is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion (see paragraphs [0042 and 0090] – see Figs. 1-8 and 16). Re Claims 3 and 4: Holmes teaches wherein: the lid portion (at 195) further has a second lid portion (680, 690) (see Fig. 26) connected to a second portion of the fixing portion located at a lower side of the second cassette mounting portion; and in a state in which the main body portion is separated from the first cassette mounting portion due to interfering with the second cassette mounting portion (see Fig. 26). Re Claim 5: Holmes teaches an expansion portion (at 175) disposed between the main body portion (155) and the opening/closing adjusting portion (at 195) to expand the size of the inner space (see Figs. 1-8 and 16). Re Claim 6: Holmes teaches wherein, in a state in which an upper side and a lower side of the expansion portion (at 175) are open, the lower side is coupled to an upper side of the main body portion, and the upper side is coupled to the opening/closing adjusting portion (see Fig. 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Inamura with that of Holmes to allow for refilling of a cartridge without having to remove the cartridge from a mounting position. Examiner further notes that the combination would be capable of providing a second lid portion rotatably connected , the second lid portion is rotatable relative to the second portion and enables the medications to be refilled, since Holmes already teaches that a plate cover may be rotatable, and making Holmes additional plate covers rotatable would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, which would result in a cover which is rotatable but still functional as a cover, thus, not deterring from the primary purposes of the covers. Examiner further notes that a second rotatable on a second dispensing mechanism would also read on claim 3, since it is unclear as to what is being claimed in clam 3 as currently recited.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamura in view of Holmes and further in view of Bae et al. (US 2014/0339252 A1 – hereinafter Bae).
Re Claims 7 and 8:
Inamura in view of Holmes discloses a division block (53) provided in the inner space and rotatable by rotation of a rotating portion (57) of the first cassette mounting portion (26, 52); a medication blocking unit (54) for, when the medication is dispensed through a space of the division block (53), blocking another medication from being dispensed (see col. 4 lines 8-10); a guide unit (see wall structures surrounding 54) for guiding a mounting position of the medication blocking unit (54) (see Holmes Figs. 1-16), but fails to specifically teach a pressing unit for pressing the guide unit to fix the guide unit to the main body portion; and a fixing unit for fixing the medication blocking unit.
Bae further in view teaches a pressing unit (410) for pressing the guide unit (420) to fix the guide unit (420) to the main body portion (at 250); and a fixing unit (423, 425, 350) for fixing a medication blocking unit (310) (see Fig. 5) (see Figs. 1-7). Re Claim 8: Bae further in view teaches wherein the fixing unit (423, 435, 350) has a first fixing unit (423, 435) engaged with the medication blocking unit (310) at various positions to adjust the mounting position of the medication blocking unit (310) and a second fixing unit (350) pressing (pressing into slots) the medication blocking unit (310) to fix the medication blocking unit (310) in a state in which the medication blocking unit (310) is engaged with the first fixing unit (423, 435) (see Figs. 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Inamura in view of Holmes with that of Bae to allow for a blocking member to be adjustable to a size of product that is to be dispensed.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inamura in view of Holmes and Bae and further in view of Yoshihito Omura (US 11,857,492 B2 – hereinafter Omura).
Re Claims 9 and 10:
Inamura in view of Holmes and Bae discloses the device of claim 7, but fails to teach a rotation preventing unit inserted into a recessed portion formed in a lower side end of the division block to prevent rotation of the division block before the medication storage cassette is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion; and an adjusting unit connected to the rotation preventing unit to implement movement of the position of the rotation preventing unit, wherein, when the medication storage cassette is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion, the adjusting unit enables the rotation of the division block by allowing the rotation preventing unit to move due to contact with the first cassette mounting portion and detach from the recessed portion.
Omura further in view teaches a rotation preventing unit (71) inserted into a recessed portion (at 61) formed in a lower side end of a division block (22A) to prevent rotation of the division block (22A, 80A, 60) before a medication storage cassette is mounted on a first cassette mounting portion; and an adjusting unit (70) connected to the rotation preventing unit (71) to implement movement of the position of the rotation preventing unit (71), wherein, when the medication storage cassette is mounted on the first cassette mounting portion, the adjusting unit (70) enables the rotation of the division block (22A, 80A, 60) by allowing the rotation preventing unit (71) to move due to contact with the first cassette mounting portion and detach from the recessed portion (at 61) (see Figs. 1-20B). Re Claim 10: Omura further in view teaches an elastic unit (73) allowing the rotation preventing unit (71) to return to its original position and be inserted into the recessed portion (at 61) again due to a restoration force caused by elasticity when the medication storage cassette is separated from the first cassette mounting portion (see Figs. 1-20B). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Inamura in view of Holmes and Bae with that of Omura to assure that a medication dispensing device does not rotate while in transport.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651