DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 4/16/2025, 7/9/2025, 12/2/2025, & 8/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 19, 22, 23, 27 - 34, & 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matzelle (US 2021/0123218 A1).
Regarding Claim 18:
Matzelle discloses: A demolition robot, comprising: (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0013 wherein a work machine may be provided, configured for breaking operations, the work machine being autonomously, semi-autonomously, or remotely controlled as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0014 [i.e. the work machine encompasses a demolition robot])
a movable arm connectable to a tool; and (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0015 – 0016 & Figure 1, below, wherein the work machine may include a boom and stick, articulable with respect to one another [i.e. together, a movable arm] with a machine coupler, which may connect the work machine to an interchangeable work tool [i.e. the movable arm is connectable to a tool])
a controller configured to: (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0005, 0017, & 0018 wherein an electronic machine controller, which may include a processor and memory, may be provided to perform configuration of a work machine’s operational parameters based on performing identification of the connected work tool)
detect presence of the tool upon connection of the tool to the movable arm; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0033 wherein a coupler determination step may be used to determine if an unidentified work tool is attached to the work vehicle, the step including the detection of if a machine coupler is closed or open by a coupler sensor, a work tool being identified to be attached if the coupler is closed [i.e. presence of the tool upon connection of the tool to the movable arm is detected])
retrieve identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool responsive to detecting the presence of the tool; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0024 wherein a data transmission device may be installed and located on a work tool attachment, the data transmission device including a wireless transmission functionality. At least Paragraph 0025 of Matzelle further discloses wherein a data storage on said transmission device may include identifying information and data about the work tool attachment, such as type or make of the attachment device, which may be broadcast from the data transmission device on the tool, and received by the work machine as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0027 [i.e. retrieve identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool]. At least Paragraphs 0033 & 0034 of Matzelle further discloses wherein the tool identification takes place following a determination of the machine coupler being closed [i.e. responsive to detecting the presence of the tool])
retrieve working data associated with the tool based on the identification data, the working data usable by the controller to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool; and (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0025 & 0027 wherein identification data, including operating parameters, settings, and limitations for the work tool attachment may be transmitted from a data transmission device attached to the tool [i.e. retrieve working data associated with the tool based on the identification data], said operating parameters including kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine for the coupled work tool attachment as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0037 [i.e. the working data usable by the controller to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool])
affect operation of the demolition robot based on the working data. (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0037 wherein the work machine may be configured for the coupled work tool attachment by configuring the kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine, the machine being operated autonomously or semi-autonomously based on said parameters as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0037 of Matzelle [i.e. affect operation of the demolition robot based on the working data])
Regarding Claim 19:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from the electronic memory of the tool.
Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0025 & 0027 wherein identification data, including operating parameters, settings, and limitations for the work tool attachment may be transmitted from a data transmission device attached to the tool, which may include an associated memory [i.e. wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from the electronic memory of the tool].
Regarding Claim 22:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to detect the presence of the tool based on data received from a sensor located on the movable arm.
Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0033 wherein a coupler determination step may be used to determine if an unidentified work tool is attached to the work vehicle, the step including the detection of if a machine coupler is closed or open by a coupler sensor, a work tool being identified to be attached if the coupler is closed [i.e. the controller is configured to detect the presence of the tool based on data received from a sensor located on the movable arm].
Regarding Claim 23:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the control parameter comprises a hydraulic flow rate, a hydraulic pressure, a hydraulic valve control parameter, or a hydraulic cylinder control parameter.
Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0015, 0021, & 0037 wherein parameters of the machine for the coupled work tool attachment may include hydraulic parameters, which may be used to control a hydraulic cylinder [i.e. the control parameter comprises a hydraulic cylinder control parameter].
Regarding Claim 27:
Matzelle discloses: A method, comprising: (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0005 a method for identifying the work tool attachment coupled to a machine from among a plurality of interchangeable work tool attachments)
detecting presence of a tool upon connection of the tool to a movable arm of a demolition robot; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0015 – 0016 & Figure 1, above, wherein the work machine may include a boom and stick, articulable with respect to one another [i.e. together, a movable arm] with a machine coupler, which may connect the work machine to an interchangeable work tool. Matzelle further discloses in at least Paragraph 0033 wherein a coupler determination step may be used to determine if an unidentified work tool is attached to the work vehicle, the step including the detection of if a machine coupler is closed or open by a coupler sensor, a work tool being identified to be attached if the coupler is closed [i.e. presence of the tool upon connection of the tool to the movable arm is detected])
retrieving identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool responsive to detecting the presence of the tool; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0024 wherein a data transmission device may be installed and located on a work tool attachment, the data transmission device including a wireless transmission functionality. At least Paragraph 0025 of Matzelle further discloses wherein a data storage on said transmission device may include identifying information and data about the work tool attachment, such as type or make of the attachment device, which may be broadcast from the data transmission device on the tool, and received by the work machine as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0027 [i.e. retrieve identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool]. At least Paragraphs 0033 & 0034 of Matzelle further discloses wherein the tool identification takes place following a determination of the machine coupler being closed [i.e. responsive to detecting the presence of the tool])
retrieving working data associated with the tool based on the identification data, the working data being usable to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool; and (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0025 & 0027 wherein identification data, including operating parameters, settings, and limitations for the work tool attachment may be transmitted from a data transmission device attached to the tool [i.e. retrieve working data associated with the tool based on the identification data], said operating parameters including kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine for the coupled work tool attachment as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0037 [i.e. the working data usable by the controller to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool])
affecting operation of the demolition robot based on the working data. (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0037 wherein the work machine may be configured for the coupled work tool attachment by configuring the kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine, the machine being operated autonomously or semi-autonomously based on said parameters as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0037 of Matzelle [i.e. affect operation of the demolition robot based on the working data])
Regarding Claim 28:
Claim 28 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 19, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 31:
Claim 31 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 22, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 32:
Claim 32 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 23, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 33:
Matzelle discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0005, 0017, & 0018 wherein an electronic machine controller, which may include a processor and memory , may be provided to perform configuration of a work machine’s operational parameters based on performing identification of the connected work tool [i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that may be executed by processing circuitry])
detect presence of a tool upon connection of the tool to a movable arm of a demolition robot; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0015 – 0016 & Figure 1, above, wherein the work machine may include a boom and stick, articulable with respect to one another [i.e. together, a movable arm] with a machine coupler, which may connect the work machine to an interchangeable work tool. Matzelle further discloses in at least Paragraph 0033 wherein a coupler determination step may be used to determine if an unidentified work tool is attached to the work vehicle, the step including the detection of if a machine coupler is closed or open by a coupler sensor, a work tool being identified to be attached if the coupler is closed [i.e. presence of the tool upon connection of the tool to the movable arm is detected])
retrieve identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool responsive to detecting the presence of the tool; (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0024 wherein a data transmission device may be installed and located on a work tool attachment, the data transmission device including a wireless transmission functionality. At least Paragraph 0025 of Matzelle further discloses wherein a data storage on said transmission device may include identifying information and data about the work tool attachment, such as type or make of the attachment device, which may be broadcast from the data transmission device on the tool, and received by the work machine as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0027 [i.e. retrieve identification data associated with the tool from an electronic memory of the tool]. At least Paragraphs 0033 & 0034 of Matzelle further discloses wherein the tool identification takes place following a determination of the machine coupler being closed [i.e. responsive to detecting the presence of the tool])
retrieve working data associated with the tool based on the identification data, the working data being usable to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool; and (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraphs 0025 & 0027 wherein identification data, including operating parameters, settings, and limitations for the work tool attachment may be transmitted from a data transmission device attached to the tool [i.e. retrieve working data associated with the tool based on the identification data], said operating parameters including kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine for the coupled work tool attachment as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0037 [i.e. the working data usable by the controller to affect operation of the demolition robot in accordance with a control parameter associated with the tool])
affect operation of the demolition robot based on the working data. (Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0037 wherein the work machine may be configured for the coupled work tool attachment by configuring the kinematic, hydraulic, and/or electrical parameters of the machine, the machine being operated autonomously or semi-autonomously based on said parameters as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0037 of Matzelle [i.e. affect operation of the demolition robot based on the working data])
Regarding Claim 34:
Claim 34 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 19, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 37:
Claim 37 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 22, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 29, & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzelle (US 2021/0123218 A1) as applied to claims 18, 27, & 33 above, and further in view of Noyer (US 2017/0325395 A1).
Regarding Claim 20:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a cloud computing service.
Matzelle does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a cloud computing service.
However Noyer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0010, 0039, & 0042 wherein a set of regulations for operating and optimizing the working of an attachment device to a work vehicle may be stored on and retrieved from a server [i.e. the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a cloud computing service].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Matzelle by incorporating the acquisition of regulations for operating and optimizing the working of an attachment device to a work vehicle from a server as taught by Noyer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Noyer in at least Paragraphs 0039 & 0042, the data set may be centrally stored, and thus interchangeably stored and sharable between various operators of a wide range of machine arrangements.
Regarding Claim 24:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the control parameter comprises an electric motor control parameter associated with an electric motor of the demolition robot.
Matzelle discloses in at least Paragraph 0015 wherein the vehicle actuators may include electric motors, with at least Paragraph 0037 of Matzelle disclosing wherein the parameters received may be kinematic and electric parameters. Matzelle however appears to be silent regarding wherein the parameters specifically comprise motor control parameters for the work machine.
However Noyer teaches in at least Paragraphs 0027 & 0064 wherein operating parameters, such as engine lugging, driving speed, driving range, and acceleration, may be modified to an optimal configuration based on information regarding an attachment device to a work vehicle [i.e. the control parameter comprises an electric motor control parameter associated with an electric motor of the demolition robot].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Matzelle by incorporating the adjustment of engine parameters based on an attached implement as taught by Noyer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Noyer in at least Paragraphs 0027 & 0064, the operation of the traction machine may be optimized, improving the running of the machine with different attached implements.
Regarding Claim 29:
Claim 29 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 20, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 35:
Claim 35 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 20, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 21, 30, & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzelle (US 2021/0123218 A1) as applied to claims 18, 27, & 33 above, and further in view of Robinson (US 2021/0145526 A1).
Regarding Claim 21:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot.
Matzelle does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot.
However Robinson teaches in at least Paragraphs 0021 & 0064 wherein a remote control console may receive information indicating a selectability of a tool, indicating if the tool is coupled to the robot or not. At least Paragraphs 0078 & 0079 of Robinson further teach wherein the control system is configured to determine a control mode for each robotic tool, and present a corresponding display [i.e. the controller is configured to retrieve the working data associated with the tool from a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Matzelle by incorporating the retrieval of data associated with the tool from a remote control as taught by Robinson.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Robinson in at least Paragraphs 0074 & 0079, the compatibility of connected tools and the selectability of said tools may be better assessed and subsequently communicated to a user, improving the remote control system.
Regarding Claim 30:
Claim 30 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 21, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 36:
Claim 36 recites substantially similar limitations as those found in Claim 21, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzelle (US 2021/0123218 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Bekmann (US 2015/0228185 A1).
Regarding Claim 25:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the control parameter is associated with a joystick, a button, or a display of a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot.
Matzelle does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the control parameter is associated with a joystick, a button, or a display of a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot.
However Beckmann teaches in at least Paragraphs 0005 & 0028 wherein a configuration of a work machine may be detected, such as the type and setup state of the work machine, with the operating and selection menu graphics being determined, selected, and displayed based on the configuration, the display being that of a remote control unit for the system as taught in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018 of Beckmann [i.e. the control parameter is associated with a display of a remote control device in communication with the demolition robot].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Matzelle by incorporating the adjustment of remote control display based on the connected device configuration as taught by Beckmann.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Beckmann in at least Paragraph 0006, the handling of the remote control system and the operation of the work machine may be simplified, improving the user interface with the work machine system.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matzelle (US 2021/0123218 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gratton (US 2021/0131071 A1).
Regarding Claim 26:
The demolition robot of claim 18, wherein the control parameter comprises a maximum travel distance associated with the tool or a maximum lifting height associated with the tool.
Matzelle does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the control parameter comprises a maximum travel distance associated with the tool or a maximum lifting height associated with the tool.
However Gratton teaches in at least Paragraph 0034 wherein a height limit may be associated with known implement types, which may be identified and applied to limit the movement range of a work implement attached to a work vehicle as taught in at least Paragraphs 0034 & 0035 of Gratton.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Matzelle by incorporating the configuration of a height limit based on known implement type as taught by Graatton.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Gratton in at least Paragraph 0034, the safety and operating efficiency of the work machine may be improved by limiting the movable height of the machine based on the implement type.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Kami (US 2016/0145827 A1): Kami recites a work vehicle, including an implement at the end of a boom, in which the work vehicle is controlled based on bucket dimensions relative to a work surface. Specifically, the speed at which the boom and tool attachement are moved in an environment may be altered.
Steketee (US 11,928,980 B2): Steketee recites a heavy-duty work vehicle, including a coupled tool, with the possible attachment tools being tracked by attached sensors. Based on a tool determined to be attached, coaching instructions may be provided to an operator, the instructions being based in part on the work machine the tool is connected to.
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661