DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “intermediate-speed” in claims 1-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “intermediate-speed” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “intermediate” is defined as “being or occurring at the middle place, stage, or degree or between extremes” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe what the Applicant considers to be an “intermediate-speed”
The term “high-speed” in claims 1-2, 5-8, and 10-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-speed” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “high” is defined as “of greater degree, amount, cost, value, or content than average, usual, or expected” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe what the Applicant considers to be a “high-speed”.
Claims 3-4 and 9 are rejected based on their dependencies.
The term “thin-walled” in claims 1, 6-8, and 10-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin-walled” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “thin” is defined as, “having little extend from one surface to its opposite” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe what the Applicant considers to be a “thin-walled” flange compared to what the Applicant considers to be a “regular” or “standard” flange.
Claims 2-5 and 9 are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 (as well as they are understood by the Examiner) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smook (US PGPUB 2016/0363212 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smook discloses a wind turbine generator parallel-stage intermediate-speed shaft train connecting structure ([0003], Fig. 1), comprising:
a sun shaft (111);
a downstream shaft portion (See annotated Fig. 1 above);
a high-speed gear (105), the high-speed gear being arranged outside of the downstream shaft portion in an axial direction (Fig. 1), and an axial position of the downstream shaft portion being fixed relative to a wind turbine generator box ([0003] indicates the transmission is used in a drive-train of a wind power plant; Fig. 1); and
a thin-walled flange ring (see annotated Fig. 1 above), the thin-walled flange ring having an elasticity (implicit, all real objects have an elasticity) and being fixedly connected to each of the sun shaft and the high-speed gear to cause the sun shaft to rotate the high-speed gear (Fig. 1), so as to allow the thin-walled flange ring to absorb a floating shift of the sun shaft by elastic deformation (The Examiner notes that if the sun shaft moves, it follows that other portions of the device also move with the sun shaft as they are enmeshed).
Regarding claim 2, Smook discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein rolling bearings (109) are provided between the downstream shaft portion and the high-speed gear to allow for the rotation of the high-speed gear relative to the downstream shaft portion (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 3, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein the downstream shaft portion is fixedly connected to the wind turbine generator box ([0003], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein the rolling bearings are configured as a pair of tapered roller bearings (Fig. 1) arranged in the form of an O ([0042], the tapered bearings are “planetary”).
Regarding claim 5, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein outer rings of the rolling bearings are constructed integrally with the high-speed gear (Fig. 1, 109 & 105).
Regarding claim 6, Smook discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein a friction lining (121) is provided on an abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Smook discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein connecting pins (129) are further provided on abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Smook discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein an abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear is an end face perpendicular to an axis (Fig. 1, the Examiner notes the axis is the axis shown in Fig. 1 that is parallel with the sun shaft).
Regarding claim 9, Smook discloses a wind turbine generator ([0003] parallel-stage intermediate-speed shaft train, comprising the wind turbine generator parallel-stage intermediate-speed shaft train connecting structure according to claim 1 as above.
Regarding claim 10, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein a friction lining (121) is provided on an abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein connecting pins (129) are further provided on abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Smook discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein an abutment surface (107) of the thin-walled flange against the sun shaft and the high-speed gear is an end face perpendicular to an axis (Fig. 1, the Examiner notes the axis is the axis shown in Fig. 1 that is parallel with the sun shaft).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 8,038,402 B2 discloses a compact geared drive train.
US PGPUB 2003/0125158 A1 discloses a planetary gear stage.
/RYAN C CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745