DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in reply to an application filed on 04/17/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending examination.
the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
3.
Claim Objection
1)
Claims 1, 3, 8 and 18 are objected to, because these claims have typographical errors. The examiner suggests the following correction:
Claims 1, and 8:
Replacement of “said elementary operations” with “said one or more elementary operations”.
Claim 3:
Replacement of “instructions following in said code the instructions corresponding to the detected operation codes” with “instructions following in said code, the instructions corresponding to the detected operation codes”.
Claim 18:
Replacement of “said product is run on the computer” with “said product is running on the computer”.
2)
Claim 4 is objected to because the Applicant mentioned the terms "NOP”, “HINT”, and “RISC-V” in the claim without clarifying the meaning of these terms as mentioned in the specification. Examiner requests the applicant to spell out the definitions of this acronym in the claim, for example No Operation (NOP), Hardware-Induced Native Translation (HINT), and Reduced Instruction Set Computing Five (RISC-V).
4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claims 1:
The claim recites “an instruction corresponding to said operation code”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner suggests the Replacement of “an instruction corresponding to said operation code” with “an instruction corresponding to operation code”.
The claim recites “executing an instruction in one of said secure modes”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner suggests the Replacement of “executing an instruction in one of said secure modes” with “executing an instruction in one of secure modes”.
For claim 17:
The claims recite “wherein said replacement instruction has at least one different operand than the operands of the instruction it replaces”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner suggests the Replacement of “wherein said replacement instruction has at least one different operand than the operands of the instruction it replaces” with “wherein said replacement instruction has at least one different operand than operands of the instruction it replaces”.
For claim 18:
The claims recite “loadable into the memory”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner suggests the Replacement of “loadable into the memory” with “loadable into a memory”.
For claims 1, 18 and 19:
It is unclear to which “instruction “the phrase “this instruction” refers to, for example claim 1 recites the term “instruction” multiple times. Applicant should address this issue. Examiner interpreted the claims to the best of his knowledge.
For claim 3:
It is unclear to which instruction, the term “the instructions” refers to, for example claim 1 recites “executing instructions” and claim 3 recites “instructions”. Applicant should address this issue. Examiner interpreted the claims to the best of his knowledge.
For claims 9 and 10:
It is unclear to which instruction, the term “said instructions” refers to, for example claim 1 recites “executing instructions” and the above claims recite “executing instructions”. Applicant should address this issue. Examiner interpreted the claims to the best of his knowledge.
For claim 14:
It is unclear to which instruction, the term “said instructions” refers to, for example claim 1 recites “executing instructions” and claim 9 recites “instructions”. Applicant should address this issue. Examiner interpreted the claims to the best of his knowledge.
5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. US 2009/0290712 (hereinafter Henry), and further in view of Roquelaure et al. US 2009/0327672 (hereinafter Roquelaure).
Regarding claim 1 Henry teaches a method for securing against physical or logical attacks an execution of a machine language instructions code comprising a plurality of operation codes, said operation codes being defined by a determined instruction set architecture defining for each operation code one or more elementary operations to be performed when executing an instruction corresponding to said operation code, said method being performed by an electronic system comprising a processor configured for executing instructions in both a non-secure mode of execution and at least one secure mode of execution securing an execution of said instructions against attacks, wherein (Henry teaches SEMENABLE instructions causes the mode of the microprocessor to transition to a secure mode, wherein a non-secure mode is the first state that the microprocessor defaults to when first powered up after fabrication, wherein the non-secure mode is also called "born free" mode, wherein the born free mode is the manufactured state of the microprocessor and provides for normal execution of non-secure application programs, which are accessed in system memory via the system bus [0048-0049], fig. 2, wherein the microprocessor may provide a secure execution mode of operation that allows an application program to be executed in a highly secure environment within the microprocessor itself [0020], [0064]. The secure code include performing critical security tasks such as verifying certificates, encrypting data, decrypting data, monitoring normal system software activities, verifying the integrity of normal system software, tracking resource usage, and controlling installation of new software [0045]),
executing an instruction in said non-secure mode comprises executing, by the processor, only said elementary operations defined in the determined instruction set architecture for the operation code corresponding to this instruction (Henry teaches a born free mode is the manufactured state of the microprocessor and provides for normal execution of non-secure application programs [0048]),
executing an instruction in one of said secure modes comprises triggering, by the processor, an execution of a different set of elementary operations than said elementary operations defined in the determined instruction set architecture for the operation code corresponding to this instruction (Henry teaches SEMENABLE instructions causes the mode of the microprocessor to transition to a secure mode, wherein a non-secure mode is the first state that the microprocessor defaults to when first powered up after fabrication, wherein the non-secure mode is also called "born free" mode, wherein the born free mode is the manufactured state of the microprocessor and provides for normal execution of non-secure application programs, which are accessed in system memory via the system bus [0048-0049], wherein the microprocessor may provide a secure execution mode of operation that allows an application program to be executed in a highly secure environment within the microprocessor itself [0020], [0064]).
Henry does not teach detecting in said code successive operation codes forming a determined sequence of operation codes called a gadget, executing one or more instructions comprised in said code in a secure mode of execution based on said detected gadget. Roquelaure substantially teaches a triggering code may include a sequence of instruction codes, wherein when detecting a piece of information during the execution of the program by the processing unit, and if the information is detected, triggering the execution of a hidden subprogram by the processing unit [0023], and [0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry such that the invention further includes detecting in said code successive operation codes forming a determined sequence of operation codes called a gadget, executing one or more instructions comprised in said code in a secure mode of execution based on said detected gadget. One would have been motivated to do so to secure an integrated circuit storing confidential data (see Abstract and [0003]).
Regarding claim 2 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said instructions executed in said secure mode are instructions corresponding to the detected operation codes forming said gadget (Henry teaches a microprocessor may provide a secure execution mode of operation that allows an application program to be executed in a highly secure environment within the microprocessor itself [0020], and further Roquelaure teaches the triggering information belongs to the set of instructions executable by the processing unit, and wherein the triggering code can be a sequence of instruction codes [0019] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 3 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said instructions executed in said secure mode are instructions following in said code the instructions corresponding to the detected operation codes forming said gadget (Henry teaches a microprocessor may provide a secure execution mode of operation that allows an application program to be executed in a highly secure environment within the microprocessor itself [0020], and further Roquelaure teaches the triggering information belongs to the set of instructions executable by the processing unit, and wherein the triggering code can be a sequence of instruction codes [0019] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 4 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said gadget comprises a combination of operation codes among NOP and Hint in the RISC-V instruction set architecture [0086].
Regarding claim 5 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said gadget comprises a combination of operation codes characteristic of an attack (Henry teaches protecting against DOS attack [0178], and further Roquelaure teaches the triggering information belongs to the set of instructions executable by the processing unit, and wherein the triggering code can be a sequence of instruction codes [0019] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 6 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said gadget comprises a combination of operation codes characteristic of a sensitive operation (Henry teaches the triggering code on the one hand and on the other hand, the instruction codes of the hidden subprogram, are enciphered in different ways, for example using different encryption algorithms or using different secret keys [0080]).
Regarding claim 7 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said execution of a different set of elementary operations triggered by the processor is performed by the processor (Henry: [0020]).
Regarding claim 8 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said execution of a different set of elementary operations triggered by the processor comprises an execution of at least one of said elementary operations by an electronic circuit of the electronic system located outside said processor (Roquelaure teaches a plurality of integrated circuits that incorporated in a smart cards may have a plurality of coprocessors to perform sensitive calculations [0005]).
Regarding claim 9 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing instructions in said secure mode of execution comprises comparing operation codes corresponding to said instructions with a white list or a black list of operation codes (Henry teaches when the microprocessor operates in a secure mode, it is allowed to execute certain instructions within the host [0076], and [0104-0105]).
Regarding claim 10 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing instructions in said secure mode of execution comprises executing said instructions based on a specific value stored in a memory, a Control Status Register or an internal register of said processor (Henry teaches a specific register bank comprises a plurality of MSRs, which are visible and accessible only by applications executed in a secure mode [0064].
Regarding claim 11 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 10, wherein said value stored in a memory, a Control Status Register or an internal register of said processor is a counter and said counter is updated after each execution of an instruction in said secure mode of execution (Henry teaches register write to the ratio MSR that establishes a maximum ratio between the value of the normal time stamp counter, which counts the number of cycles of signal CORE CLK during the execution of both non-secure code and secure code [0103]).
Regarding claim 12 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing instructions comprised in said code in said secure mode of execution comprises triggering an exception, failing silently or entering in an error mode (Henry teaches severe security exposure is detected, the SEM watchdog logic will cause the microprocessor to enter the degraded mode via bus CHK [0050], and [0075], and wherein the microprocessor is only allowed to execute certain instructions within the host ISA when it is operating in the secure execution mode, wherein restricted ISA operation precludes the execution of instructions that may present a security exposure for which the authorizing party wishes to preclude [0076]).
Regarding claim 13 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing instructions comprised in said code in said secure mode of execution comprises triggering a determined hardware configuration of said processor for enhancing security (Henry teaches severe security exposure is detected, the SEM watchdog logic will cause the microprocessor to enter the degraded mode via bus CHK [0050], and [0075], and wherein the microprocessor is only allowed to execute certain instructions within the host ISA when it is operating in the secure execution mode, wherein restricted ISA operation precludes the execution of instructions that may present a security exposure for which the authorizing party wishes to preclude [0076]).
Regarding claim 14 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 6, wherein said sensitive operation is a cryptographic operation, said instructions executed in said secure mode of execution are instructions executing said cryptographic operation and executing said instructions comprises executing a secure implementation of said instructions (Henry teaches the one or more secure application programs are encrypted via an asymmetric cryptographic algorithm using a private key belonging to an authorizing entity and are accessed from the system memory in their encrypted form [0043], and further Roquelaure teaches the hidden subprogram, are enciphered in different ways, for example using different encryption algorithms or using different secret keys [0080-0081]).
Regarding claim 15 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing instructions comprised in said secure mode of execution comprises executing at least one replacement instruction instead of an instruction comprised in said code (Henry teaches severe security exposure is detected, the SEM watchdog logic will cause the microprocessor to enter the degraded mode via bus CHK [0050], and [0075], and wherein the microprocessor is only allowed to execute certain instructions within the host ISA when it is operating in the secure execution mode, wherein restricted ISA operation precludes the execution of instructions that may present a security exposure for which the authorizing party wishes to preclude [0076]).
Regarding claim 16 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 15, wherein said replacement instruction comprises another code than the operation code of the instruction it replaces (Henry teaches severe security exposure is detected, the SEM watchdog logic will cause the microprocessor to enter the degraded mode via bus CHK [0050], and [0075], and wherein the microprocessor is only allowed to execute certain instructions within the host ISA when it is operating in the secure execution mode, wherein restricted ISA operation precludes the execution of instructions that may present a security exposure for which the authorizing party wishes to preclude [0076]).
Regarding claim 17 Henry as modified teaches the method of claim 15, wherein said replacement instruction has at least one different operand than the operands of the instruction it replaces (Henry teaches severe security exposure is detected, the SEM watchdog logic will cause the microprocessor to enter the degraded mode via bus CHK [0050], and [0075], and wherein the microprocessor is only allowed to execute certain instructions within the host ISA when it is operating in the secure execution mode, wherein restricted ISA operation precludes the execution of instructions that may present a security exposure for which the authorizing party wishes to preclude [0076]).
In response to Claim 18: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
In response to Claim 19: Rejected for the same reason as claim 1
Conclusion
/AYOUB ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494