Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Formon (PgPub US 20200062526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, The web material feed dispenser of Formon teaches a dispenser for dispensing sheet material from one or more rolls of sheet material (Abstract; [0049] ln 12-14), comprising:
a housing (12) having an interior volume so as to retain a first roll of sheet material ([0049] ln 12-16; Fig 1, Fig 2); and
a dispensing mechanism (100) disposed within the housing to dispense sheet material ([0050]), the dispensing mechanism including a drive roller (110) and a pressure roller (210) biased against the drive roller forming a nip (117) through which sheet material is dispensed ([0055] ln 5-11; [0054] ln 8-9), the pressure roller having a plurality of ribs (122) disposed thereon (Fig 3; [0079]), at least one of the plurality of ribs having a concave portion (118; [0075] ln 3-7), such that during rotation of the pressure roller at least a portion of the rib is not in contact with the drive roller (121, Fig 3; [0090]).
Regarding claim 2, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches at least 50% of the plurality of ribs comprise the concave portion (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches each of the plurality of ribs defines a drive roller contacting surface, wherein the drive roller contacting surface comprises about 50% to about 85% of a circumference of the one or more ribs and wherein the concave portion comprises about 10% to about 40% of the circumference of the one or more ribs ([0091]).
Regarding claim 4, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches placement of the concave portion on consecutive ribs is different (Fig 5, Fig 6A-6F; [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches the drive roller is coupled to a motor (18) configured to rotate the drive roller ([0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches a dispensing opening (16) through which sheet material is dispensed from the interior volume (Fig 2; [0051]; [0055] ln 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon further teaches a method of dispensing sheet material comprising dispensing sheet material from the dispenser of claim 1 ([0009]).
Claims 11, 15, 16, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeLuca (US Patent 4,307,639 A).
Regarding claim 11, the sheet dispenser of DeLuca teaches a dispenser for dispensing sheet material from one or more rolls of sheet material (Abstract, ln 1-2), comprising:
a housing (10) having an interior volume so as to retain a first roll of sheet material (Fig 1, Fig 7); and
a dispensing mechanism (Fig 8) disposed within the housing to dispense sheet material (Fig 7), the dispensing mechanism including a drive roller (62) and a pressure roller (84) biased against the drive roller forming a nip through which sheet material is dispensed (Col. 9 ln 67 to Col. 10 ln 3), the pressure roller having a plurality of ribs (102 + 94) disposed thereon (Fig 8; Col. 9 ln 67 to Col. 10 ln 7; Col. 9 ln 26-28), at least one of the plurality of ribs defining a convex portion (98, Fig 14), such that during rotation of the pressure roller the convex portion contacts the drive roller lifting the drive roller such that one or more of the plurality of ribs are not in contact with the drive roller (Col. 9 ln 10-21; Fig 10-12). The drive roller is lifted relative to the pressure roller when the convex portion contacts the drive roller.
Regarding claim 15, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca further teaches the pressure roller (84) is biased against the drive roller via a pressure roller arm (88, Fig 8; Col. 9 ln 14-25).
Regarding claim 16, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 15 as described above, DeLuca further teaches upon the convex portion contacting the drive roller, the pressure roller arm moves away from the drive roller (Col. 9 ln 10-21; Fig 10-12).
Regarding claim 19, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca further teaches a dispensing opening (24) through which sheet material is dispensed from the interior volume (Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Formon in view of Wooster (US Patent 2,404,421 A).
Regarding claim 5, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon does not teach a pressure roller arm. However, the towel dispenser of Wooster teaches the pressure roller is biased against the drive roller via a pressure roller arm (74, Fig 7, Fig 8; Col. 6 ln 23-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the web material feed dispenser of Formon with the addition of a pressure roller arm to allow for easier removal of the pressure roller (Col. 6, ln 47-53).
Regarding claim 7, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon is silent on the details of a front cover. However, the web material feed dispenser of Formon teaches the housing comprises a front cover (17) coupled to a back plate (10, Fig 6), the front cover being movable from a closed position to an open position (Col. 2 ln 47 to Col. 3 ln 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the web material feed dispenser of Formon by constructing the housing with a front cover coupled to a back plate to permit ready access to the interior of the housing (Col. 2 ln 47 to Col. 3 ln 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 7 as described above, Formon further teaches a roll retaining device (14) for holding the first roll of sheet material ([0049] ln 12-14).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Formon in view of Witt (PgPub 20070080255 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Formon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Formon does not teach control circuitry. However, the electric sheet dispenser of Witt teaches control circuity (145) configured with a sensor (150) and the dispensing mechanism (107, Fig 1) to initiate a dispense cycle upon detection of an object by the sensor ([0025] ln 1-4; [0028] ln 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the web material feed dispenser of Formon with control circuitry including a sensor to initiate a dispense cycle by the user when desired ([0051]).
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuca.
Regarding claim 12, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca does not teach at least 50% of the plurality of ribs comprise the convex portion. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378). The addition of ribs comprising the convex portion does not produce a new and unexpected result and therefore, would be an optimization of an existing invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the sheet dispenser of DeLuca by increasing the number of ribs with convex portions to better distribute the pressure of the convex portions across the sheet more evenly.
Regarding claim 13, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca does not teach each of the one or more ribs defines a drive roller contacting surface, wherein the drive roller contacting surface comprises about 50% to about 85% of a circumference of the one or more ribs and wherein the convex portion comprises about 10% to about 40% of the circumference of the one or more ribs. However, mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent (In re Williams, 4 USPQ 237). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the sheet dispenser of DeLuca by optimizing the range of contacting surface and convex portion ratios to optimally engage and pick up the leading free end of sheet material.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuca in view of Wooster.
Regarding claim 14, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca does not teach the placement of the convex portion on consecutive ribs being different. However, the towel dispenser of Wooster teaches placement of the convex portion on consecutive ribs is different (Fig 2; Col. 5 ln 55-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the sheet dispenser of DeLuca with different placement of convex portions on the ribs so the convex portions engage the paper alternatively so any unevenness in the feed and tendency for paper to become misaligned will be corrected by self-adjustment (Col. 5 ln 66-74).
Claims 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuca in view of Witt.
Regarding claim 17, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca does not teach a motor. However, the automatic towel dispenser of Witt teaches the drive roller (115a) is coupled to a motor (120) configured to rotate the drive roller ([0024] ln 9-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the sheet dispenser of DeLuca by attaching a motor to the drive roller to dispense the towel automatically ([0026] ln 8-11).
Regarding claim 18, DeLuca teaches the limitations of claim 11 as described above, DeLuca does not teach a control circuitry. However, the automatic towel dispenser of Witt teaches control circuity (145) configured with a sensor (150) and the dispensing mechanism (107, Fig 1) to initiate a dispense cycle upon detection of an object by the sensor ([0025] ln 1-4; [0028] ln 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the automatic towel dispenser of Witt with control circuitry including a sensor to initiate a dispense cycle by the user when desired ([0051]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 1,224,224 A discloses a towel paper holder with convex teeth on the pressure roller.
US Patent 5,061,232 A discloses a paper embossing dispenser with two rollers with ribs containing interlocking convex teeth.
US Patent 3,323,983 A discloses an apparatus for embossing paper sheets with two rollers with teeth.
PgPub US 2015/0335211 A1 discloses a web material dispenser with two rollers with teeth to dispense web material.
US Patent 4,960,248 A discloses a towel roll dispenser with a proximity sensor connected to a motor to dispense towel rolls.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619