DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci et al. (US 2013/0099417) in view of Lofink et al. (US 2011/0123773). Regarding claim 10, Ricci et al. disclose “an embossing unit (Figure 1) comprising: an embossing group (items 3 and 7) for embossing a respective ply (V1) to which at least one feeding device (items 5 and 9) for feeding a further ply (V2) is associated, and a group for the distribution of liquids (item 4) which favor the reciprocal union of said plies, wherein the embossing group comprises an engraved steel roller (item 3, paragraph 4) and a rubber counter-roller (element 7, paragraph 4), wherein the rubber counter-roller of the embossing group exerts a thrust of a predetermined value on the respective engraved roller by a corresponding actuator (item 15), wherein, to the engraved roller of the embossing group, a marrying-roll (item 10) is also associated which exerts on the same engraved roller a radial thrust of a predetermined value by a respective actuator (item 16), wherein the thrust exerted by the counter-roller of the embossing group on the respective engraved roller is contained in a plane passing through the axis of rotation of the respective engraved roller and is inclined by a predetermined angle with respect to a plane passing through the same axis of rotation and also passing through the longitudinal axis of the marrying-roll (see the configuration in Figure 1), so as to produce a counter-thrust oriented in the opposite direction in relation to the radial thrust exerted on it by the marrying-roll (paragraph 39).” Ricci et al. fail to disclose that “the marrying-roll is made of steel.” Ricci et al. are silent with respect to the material of the marrying roll, therefore leaving the choice up to one having ordinary skill in the art. Examiner further notes that the embossing rollers 3 and 5 are steel, that the pressure rollers are covered with an elastic material (paragraph 4), and that the latter are shown differently in the Figure by having a shell around them (Figure 1). The marrying roll is represented in the figure in the same way that the embossing rollers are: without a shell. Therefore, Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would assume that the marrying roller is made from the same material as the embossing rollers, which is steel. Regardless, Lofink et al. disclose that steel marrying rollers are known in the art (penultimate line sentence of paragraph 81). It has been held that selection based upon a suitability for an intended purpose is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a marrying roll which is made of steel, because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose.
Regarding claims 11-15, Ricci et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 10 above, but fail to disclose a specific angle for the predetermined angle. However, Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angle determines the amount of contact (in terms of time of contact and circumferential distance) that the ply has with the roller 3 after V2 is joined to V1 with the adhesive applied by 4. Examiner further asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the dwell time on the roller 3 would affect the adhesive in that the adhesive will have time to diffuse between the two plies and allow the two plies to become more adhered to each other. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the angle to “between 110° and 120°” or to “110°” in order achieve the optimal or desired amount of adhesion between the two layers. Regarding claim 16, Ricci et al. further disclose “wherein the predetermined angle is adjustable (Figure 1, paragraph 40: roller 7 is adjustable about the axis 11B, thus changing the angle).” Regarding claim 17, Ricci et al. further disclose “wherein the device for feeding the further ply is also an embossing group (items 5 and 9).” Regarding claim 18, while Ricci et al. do not specifically disclose “wherein said counter-thrust and said thrust in modulus are of the same order of magnitude.” However, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the magnitudes of each thrust controls how much pressure is applied on the ply to be married by the two rollers, and therefore controls how well the two are married, and also how much the ply is compressed. It has been held that when the general conditions are disclosed in the art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the two magnitudes to be of the same order of magnitude in order to determine the optimal or workable amount of thrust for each in order to achieve a desired ply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the marrying roll is a solid steel roll) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this instance, the claim merely requires that the marrying roll be “made of steel.” In the rejection, in both instances where the limitation is addressed, the roll is at least partially made of steel. Thus, the limitation is met.
In response to Applicant’s arguments against the rejections based on optimization of ranges, MPEP §2144.05 sets forth that Applicant can rebut the prima facie case of obviousness by: A) showing that the range is critical; B) showing that the prior art teaches away; C) showing that the parameter was not recognized as result-effective; and/or D) showing that a claimed parameter is disclosed in a very broad range in prior art. Applicant has failed to show any of A-D. Applicant’s assertions that: - the range of angles is a “synergistic mechanical necessity”, or - the force-balancing requirement is “a mechanical stability requirement”do not rise to the level of evidence required to show a criticality of the ranges in question. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant's argument that the rejection does not address the tearing problem, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments that the use of a steel roller in the invention of Ricci et al. would require a substantial reconstruction or redesign is not persuasive. There is nothing in Ricci et al. which would discourage one having ordinary skill in the art from using a steel roller. In fact, Examiner maintains that one having ordinary skill in the art would assume that the roller is already steel. Examiner notes that the embossing rollers 3 and 5 are steel, that the pressure rollers are covered with an elastic material (paragraph 4), and that the latter are shown differently in the Figure by having a shell around them (Figure 1). The marrying roll is represented in the figure in the same way that the embossing rollers are: without a shell. Therefore, since Ricci et al. does not explicitly disclose that the marrying roller is different, based upon the differentiation in the drawings, Examiner asserts that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably assume that the marrying roller is made from the same material as the embossing rollers, which is steel.
Applicant’s argument that the Examiner has misapplied the test for obviousness in modifying Ricci et al. in accordance with Lofink et al. is not persuasive. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Additionally, the rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. See MPEP §2144(I). In this instance, it is the established legal precedent that selection based upon a suitability for an intended purpose is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Lofink et al. clearly show that in a similar embossing apparatus, marrying rolls are known to be suitably made of steel.
Further regarding Applicant’s argument that the force-balancing requirement is a mechanical stability requirement to prevent the tearing of the web, this statement lends credence to the rationale that one having ordinary skill in the art would experiment with the force balances in order to find the workable range of forces such that the necessary physical conditions for the machine to operate are met. This is one of the core tenets of the routine optimization rationale. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853