DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 5/22/25. By virtue of this amendment, claims 16-20 are newly added, thus, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 13, the phase “at one filter device”. It is unclear what kind of filter device, since the filter device can be inductor or capacitor or smooth capacitor…etc. Furthermore, in specification, paragraph [13] disclose only control signal is transmitted to the filter device or the superimposed DC voltage is used for the transmission of the electrical energy. Therefore, Examiner assume that, at least one of (the inductor or the capacitor or smooth capacitor) as at least one of the filter device.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 &1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Adams et al (US Pub.No:2022/0174883) in view of Brandes et al (US Pub.No:2014/0232288).
With respect to claim 1, Adames et al disclose a lighting apparatus comprising: a circuit board having at least two illuminating segments(figure 1,9, 10-11), each illuminating segment comprising at least one LED unit that comprises at least one LED for generating light, wherein the at least one LED unit of each of the illuminating segments comprises one or more of a first LED which has a first color temperature, and a second LED which has a second color temperature that deviates from the first color temperature(paragraph [58] for the two or more sets of broad-spectrum LEDs may exhibit different correlated color temperatures (CCT), such that once varying intensities of the light generated by both sets of broad-spectrum LEDs is mixed); a controller (figures 11 and 13,( 1140, 1104 or 1390,1304) )that generate different control signals for controlling the LED units (1144, 1146) in the illuminating segments, wherein by way of control signals, the LED units of different illuminating segments are switched on and/or off with a time offset(paragraphs[64, 154,159,177,181]) and the color temperature and/or the bright-ness of the generated light can be are modified by means of the controller(paragraphs [121-128 and 148-163]), a two-wire transmission line(figures 11 or 13, at least two lines for transmit voltage or current); at least one filter device(at least one of inductor(1130,1134)) and at least one microprocessor(1142); wherein the transmission line transmits a voltage characteristic, a DC voltage on which at least one of the control signals from the controller (figures 11 and 13,( 1140, 1104 or 1390,1304)) as been superimposed, to the filter device(1130,1134), wherein the filter device (each inductor(1130,1134)) separates the control signal from the DC voltage, wherein the filter device transmits at least the DC voltage to at least one of the LED units and transmits the separated control signal to the microprocessor(1104 or 1304), and wherein the microprocessor (1104 or 1304)controls the LED unit based on the basis of the control signal.
Adams et al do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one LED unit of each of the illuminating segments comprises one or more pairs of a first LED which has a first color temperature, and a second LED which has a second color temperature that deviates from the first color temperature;
Brandes et al disclose at least one LED unit of each of the illuminating segments comprises one or more pairs of a first LED which has a first color temperature, and a second LED which has a second color temperature that deviates from the first color temperature. Figures 4 and 6C, paragraphs [133 and 155].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Brandes et al into the method and apparatus of Adams et al to arrange at least one or mor pair of LED which different color temperature.
With respect to claim 2, Adames et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose wherein the first LED and the second LED are each capable of generating white light. Paragraph [155] of Brandes et al.
With respect to claim 3, Adames et al as modified claim 1 above, disclose wherein the first color temperature deviates from the second color temperature by at least 1000 K. Figure 6c of Brandes et al.
With respect to claim 4, Adames et al as modified above, disclose all limitations recite in claim 1 above, except for the first LED and the second LED are connected in antiparallel and controlled by the same microprocessor.
The limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to arrange or select or intend to use, it does not provide any different or solve any different from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
With respect to claim 5, Adames et al disclose wherein each of the illuminating segments comprises at least one microprocessor and/or at least one filter device, and the transmission line transmits the voltage characteristic to the filter device of each of the illuminating segments.
Figure 11 or 13.
With respect to claim 6, Adames et al as modified claim 5 above, disclose the microprocessors (controllers (110,112,114,116)) in the different illuminating segments are configured differently. Figure 1, paragraph [64].
With respect to claim 7, Adames et al disclose, wherein the circuit board extends longitudinally, and the illuminating segments are arranged offset from one another in a longitudinal direction (L) of
the circuit board. Figure 1 or 9.
With respect to claim 8, Adames et al disclose in figures 1,9 11 or 13, wherein the at least one microprocessor successively switches on the LED units in the illuminating segments in an order of arrangement of the illuminating segments in the longitudinal direction (L), based on the control signal generated for the time-offset switch-on, and/or successively switches off the LED units in the illuminating segments in reverse order of arrangement of the illuminating segments in the longitudinal direction (L), based on the control signal generated for the time-offset switch-off. Paragraphs [64,177].
With respect to claim 9, Adames et al disclose the microprocessor identifies control signals to be generated by the controller and/or identify at least three different control signals. Figure 13.
With respect to claim 10, Adames et al disclose wherein the voltage characteristic is composed of first sections, in which the voltage is constant at the magnitude of a nominal voltage >0 V, and of second sections, in which the voltage is constant in which no voltage is applied. Paragraphs [61,134-135].
With respect to claim 11, Adames et al disclose wherein the DC voltage transmitted to at least one of the LED units has a smoothed characteristic, in comparison with the voltage characteristic
transmitted to the filter device. Figures 11 and 13.
With respect to claim 12, Adames et al disclose wherein further comprising a trigger device that is coupled to the controller in wired or wireless fashion and trigger generation of one of the control signals by the controller. Figures 11 and 13, paragraph [161].
With respect to claim 13, Adames et al disclose wherein the trigger device comprises a user-operated remote control that is mobile and comprises at least one first button for triggering the generation of a control signal for the time-offset switch-on and/or switch-off, at least one second button for triggering the generation of a control signal for modifying the color temperature and/or at least one further button for triggering the generation of a control signal for modifying the brightness. Figures 11 and 13, paragraph [161] for the light emitted by lighting system 1400 may be commanded to be dimmed (e.g., as wirelessly commanded by a user of lighting system 1400 via wireless network 1360 of FIG. 11, paragraphs [64, 154,159,177,181].
With respect to claim 14, Adames et al disclose further comprising a ballast that supplies the controller with electrical energy and transforms AC voltage from a power grid, to direct current. Figures 11,13.
With respect to claim 15, Adames et al disclose wherein the LED units of the illuminating segments are arranged on a front side of the circuit board (figure 1 or 9), and the at least one filter device and/or the at least one micro-processor (figure 1, controllers (110,112,114,116)) are/is arranged at least in part on a back side of the circuit board. Figures 11 or 13.
With respect to claim 16, Adames et al disclose wherein the microprocessors (controllers (110,112,114,116)) in the different illuminating segments switch on the at least one LED unit in the respective illuminating segment with a different time delay upon reception of the same control signal. Figure 1, paragraphs [ 64,177].
With respect to claim 17, Adames et al as modified claim 10 above disclose all limitations except for wherein in the second sections the magnitude of an intermediate voltage is lower than the nominal voltage, or no voltage is applied.
Adames et al disclose a mixture of both constant-voltage and constant-current DC stages may exist within AC/DC converter 1102 and may be individually selected for operation (e.g., via control 1148 of processor 1104) and individually connected to respective LED strings 1122, 1124 and/or 1138 via a multiplexer (not shown) within AC/DC converter 1102.Paragraph[127].
The limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to arrange or select or intend to use for different voltage to provide each group of light sources, it does not provide any different or solve any different from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
With respect to claim 18, Adames et al as modified claim 11 above, disclose wherein the DC voltage transmitted to at least one of the LED units has a gap free characteristic in comparison with the voltage characteristic transmitted to the filter device. Figure 11 for a mixture of both constant-voltage and constant-current DC stages may exist within AC/DC converter 1102 and may be individually selected voltage to the filter device (group of inductors).
With respect to claim 19, Adames et al as modified claim 14 above disclose all limitations except for wherein the ballast that supplies the controller with electrical energy and transforms AC voltage from a power grid with a nominal voltage of 230 V, to direct current with a nominal voltage of 12 V or 24 V.
Adames et al disclose a mixture of both constant-voltage and constant-current DC stages may exist within AC/DC converter 1102 and may be individually selected for operation (e.g., via control 1148 of processor 1104) and individually connected to respective LED strings 1122, 1124 and/or 1138 via a multiplexer (not shown) within AC/DC converter 1102.Paragaph[127].
The limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to arrange or select or intend to use for different voltage to provide each group of light sources, it does not provide any different or solve any different from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
With respect to claim 20, Adames et al disclose wherein the at least one filter device and/or the at least one micro-processor are/is arranged in full on the back side of the circuit board. Figures 1 and 11.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845