DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 10 – 14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musoll et al (US11424905) hereinafter Musoll in view of Leung et al (US20190205270) hereinafter Leung.
As to claim 1, Musoll discloses a method comprising: receiving, at a group of upstream serial data transceivers (Fig. 2, and modules L0 – L15 comprising said), a plurality of serial data lanes associated with a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) data link (COL. 3, lines 49 – 59), and responsively generating respective deserialized lane-specific data words (Fig. 2, and module 181); selecting a first or a second group of downstream serial data transceivers, the first and second group of downstream serial data transceivers having respective PCIe data links to first and second endpoints, respective (Figs. 3 & 4, with programmable mask link 219, COL. 6, lines 20 – 35); storing the deserialized lane-specific data words for each serial data lane in corresponding PCS-mode first-in-first-out buffers (FIFOs) associated with the selected group of downstream serial data transceivers, the corresponding PCS-mode FIFOs having output alignment across the plurality of serial data lanes (Figs. 2 with PCS/PMA mode, and Fig. 8, and FIFO , module 321); and providing the deserialized lane-specific data words for transmission via the selected group of downstream serial data transceivers (Fig. 2, and COL. 4, lines 47 – 60).
Musoll does not teach transceivers spread across at least two circuits on a multi-die module (MCM).
Leung teaches in Fig. 2a plurality of circuits across multi-die module, (Fig. 2, and circuits 204, and 208 on a module, para. 0022). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claim 11, Musoll discloses an apparatus comprising: an upstream pseudo-port comprising physical layer circuits (PHYS) (Fig. 2, and modules L0 – L15 comprising said), a plurality of serial data lanes associated with a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) data link (COL. 3, lines 49 – 59), and responsively generating respective deserialized lane-specific data words (Fig. 2, and module 181); selecting a first or a second group of downstream serial data transceivers, the first and second group of downstream serial data transceivers having respective PCIe data links to first and second endpoints, respective (Figs. 3 & 4, with programmable mask link 219, COL. 6, lines 20 – 35); storing the deserialized lane-specific data words for each serial data lane in corresponding PCS-mode first-in-first-out buffers (FIFOs) associated with the selected group of downstream serial data transceivers, the corresponding PCS-mode FIFOs having output alignment across the plurality of serial data lanes (Figs. 2 with PCS/PMA mode, and Fig. 8, and FIFO , module 321); and providing the deserialized lane-specific data words for transmission via the selected group of downstream serial data transceivers (Fig. 2, and COL. 4, lines 47 – 60).
Leung teaches in Fig. 2a plurality of circuits across multi-die module, (Fig. 2, and circuits 204, and 208 on a module, para. 0022). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claims 2, and 12, Musoll discloses the method, wherein the corresponding PCS-mode FIFOs have read pointer locations set responsive to detection of alignment symbols in each of the plurality of serial data lanes, the read pointers synchronously set responsive to an alignment found signal generated according to a reference clock shared between the first and second circuit dies (Fig. 8. and COL. 11, lines 5 – 50).
Leung teaches Leung teaches in Fig. 2a plurality of circuits across multi-die module, (Fig. 2, and circuits 204, and 208 on a module, para. 0022). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claims 3, and 13, Musoll discloses the method, wherein the first endpoint is a primary endpoint and the second endpoint is a redundant endpoint, and wherein the second group of downstream serial data transceivers is selected responsive to a failure on the first PCIe data link (Fig. 4, and COL.7, Lines 10 – 20, where a failure is revealed).
As to claims 4, and 14, Leung discloses the method, wherein the selected group of downstream serial data transceivers is selected using lane routing logic in each circuit die of the ICM (Fig. 1, and para. 0004). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claim 5, Leung discloses the method, wherein the lane routing logic is configured via a CPU on a leader die of the at least two circuit dies of the ICM (Fig. 9, and para. 0034, where master logic determines data pattern). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claims 10, and 20, Musoll discloses the method, further comprising receiving, at a second group of upstream serial data transceivers, a plurality of serial data lanes associated with a second PCIe data link, and further comprising selecting another of the first and second group of downstream serial data transceivers and responsively routing deserialized lane-specific data words associated with the second PCIe data link to the selected another of the first and second group of downstream serial data transceivers (Fig. 3, where the aggregation engine 203 bundles a plurality of lane controller via the link masks, and outputs of different configurations to transmit to a plurality of endpoints, COL. 5, lines 43 – 59).
Leung teaches Leung teaches in Fig. 2a plurality of circuits across multi-die module, (Fig. 2, and circuits 204, and 208 on a module, para. 0022). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to realize the system of Musoll in the module of Leung for power and space efficiencies, (para. 0003).
As to claim 16, Musoll discloses the apparatus, wherein the CPU on the leader circuit die is configured to receive an instruction to configure the multiplexing switching circuits (Fig. 8 where FIFO controller 327 receives instruction COL. 11, lines 10 – 45).
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musoll/Leung, and further in view of Junk (US22023039644).
As to claims 6, 15, Musoll/Leung does not disclose the method, wherein the leader die communicates with a follower die using a serial peripheral interface (SPI) connection.
Junk teaches the method, wherein the leader die communicates with a follower die using a serial peripheral interface (SPI) connection (para. 0047). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Musoll/Leung with the capability of Junk to provide global control to all the LD controllers, (para. 0003).
Claims 7 - 9, and 17 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musoll/Leung/Junk, and further in view of Sharma et al (US20180285227) hereinafter Sharma.
As to claims 7, and 17, Musoll/Leuing/Junk does not disclose the method, further comprising instructing the leader die to configure the lane routing logic based on command received over a system management bus (SMBus).
Sharma teaches the method, further comprising instructing the leader die to configure the lane routing logic based on command received over a system management bus (SMBus), (Fig. 9. and para. 0080). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Musoll/Leung/Junk with the capability of Sharma to provide a flexible and global control capability to all the LD controllers, (para. 0021).
As to claims 8, and 18, Sharma discloses the method, further comprising instructing the leader die to configure the lane routing logic based on command received over a virtual channel (para. 0052, where a universal protocol supports many different protocols). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Musoll/Leung/Junk with the capability of Sharma to provide a flexible and global control capability to all the LD controllers, (para. 0021).
As to claims 9, and 19, Sharma discloses the method, wherein the command received over the virtual channel is detected by detecting vendor-defined messages in control skip ordered sets (Fig. 5, and para. 0053). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Musoll/Leung/Junk with the capability of Sharma to provide a flexible and global control capability to all the LD controllers, (para. 0021).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20180081761, US1055555, and US12499019, among others teach programmable PCIe data flow management.
/C.A.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184