2. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zeller et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0223802), herein after referred to as Zeller.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zeller discloses a display device (Figures 1-9 D+10) comprising:
a head (D) including a display panel (Figure 1 depicts electronic device D with a display);
a stand (12) supporting ([0020]) the head (D); and
a connector (14) connecting ([0029]) the head (D) and the stand (12), the connector (14) including ([0028]) a rotary assembly (46+24) rotatably connecting ([0024] and [0027]-[0029]) the head (D) to the stand (12),
wherein the rotary assembly (46+24) comprises:
a rotary connector (46) including a rotator (30) coupled (via 56+44 [0029] and [0034]) to the head (D) so as to rotate together ([0032] ball 30 rotate with socket assembly 14 (comprises socket 46)) with the head (D), and a stator (28) rotatably coupled ([0024]-[0025]) to the rotator (30) so as to rotate relative to the head (D); and
a cable (26) which is passing through (depicted in figures 5-7 and 9) the stator (28) and which is electrically connected ([0022], [0025], and [0027]) to the display panel (D).
Regarding claim 2, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the connector (14) comprises: a ball hinge (24) ([0024]-[0025]); and a bracket (50) to which the ball hinge (24) is rotatably coupled ([0031]), the bracket (50) being fixed (via 42 [0031]) to the head (D), wherein the ball hinge (24) comprises: a ball (30) surrounded (figures 2-3 and 6-7 depict wall 50 to surround ball 30 [0031]) by the bracket (52) of the head (D) and configured to move ([0032]) in contact with the bracket (50);
a body (34) extending from an outer surface (32) of the ball (30);
a ring ([0026] describes portion 34 as a cylindrical/ring portion) which is opposite the ball (30) with respect to the body (34) and which is formed at an end (figure 2 depicts end of extension of 34 to the cylindrical/ring shape) of the body (34); and
a hole (figure 2 reference hole housing connectors 39 through both portion 34 and ball 30) formed through the ball (30) and the body (34) and into which the cable (26) is inserted (Figure 3 depicts the hole through ball 30 in which connector 39 of cable 26 is inserted), and
wherein at least a portion of the hole gradually increases in diameter in a direction from the body toward the head (Figure 3 depicts the hole smaller in size/diameter to just fit connector 39 and figure 2 depicts the larger diameter hole facing the head D, to be engaged with wall 50 [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the ball includes a cutting part that is cut from the hole to the outer surface of the ball in a radial direction of the ball (Figure 2 reference hole cut through inner surface 34 and outer surface 32 including radial direction of ball 30).
Regarding claim 4, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the cutting part is further cut from a hole formed inside the body toward an outer surface of the body (Figure 2 reference hole cut through inner surface 34 and outer surface 32 including radial direction of ball 30).
Regarding claim 5, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the connector (14) comprises a joint (28) coupled to the stand (12), the joint (28) including a pin (64) that protrudes in a direction intersecting a direction from the head (D) toward the joint (28) ([0036]), and
wherein the ring ([0026] describes portion 34 as a cylindrical/ring portion) of the ball hinge (24) includes a pin hole (66) into which the pin (64) is inserted ([0036]), the pin hole (66) being formed in a direction parallel to the direction in which the pin (64) protrudes ([0036] and figures 2-3 and 7 depict pin 64 in hole 66).
Regarding claim 6, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein the joint (28) comprises:
an upper part (68) positioned over the ring ([0026] describes portion 34 as a cylindrical/ring portion) of the ball hinge (24) (figures 5-6 depict projection 68 over ring to be within recess 70 [0036]); and
a lower part (figure 3 lower 52) ([0031]) which is positioned under (depicted in figures 5-6) the ring ([0026] describes portion 34 as a cylindrical/ring portion) of the ball hinge (24) and which is coupled (via socket 46) to the upper part (68),
wherein the lower part (lower 52) includes a slot (generally reference as 18) formed through an upper surface and a lower surface of the lower part and extending along a circumference of the lower part (Figure 2 reference arms 52 cut along the circumference to engage the ball 30 [0031]), the slot (18) having at least a portion (38+39) overlapping a cutting part (figure 2 opening in 34 to fit 39 [0027]) of the ball hinge (24) ([0031]), and
wherein the cable (26) is bent (bend of 26 depicted in figure 3 to enter hole designated via 39) in the hole (figure 2 reference hole housing connectors 39 through both portion 34 and ball 30) of the ball hinge (24) to be placed in the slot (18).
Regarding claim 7, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the lower part (lower 52) comprises:
a first slot wall (52S, the northmost arm 52 depicted in figure 3) that defines a front boundary of the slot;
a second slot wall (52E) which defines a front boundary of the slot and which is spaced apart from the first slot wall in a circumferential direction of the lower part (Figure 3 reference arms 52 separated via slots to create 4 depicted arms 52 (north east west south) surrounding wall 50.); and
an opening (slots separating arms 52) formed between the first slot wall (52N) and the second slot wall (52E), the opening being disposed so as not to vertically overlap the hole (figure 2 reference hole housing connectors 39 through both portion 34 and ball 30) of the ball hinge (24), and
wherein the cable (26) is engaged with (via 28 and 30 [0031]) any one of the first slot wall (52S) or the second slot wall (52E).
Regarding claim 8, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the connector comprises:
a mount (42) coupled (via 56 and 44 [0029] and [0034]) to the head (D) and the rotator (30) of the rotary assembly (46+24); and
a cover (46) coupled to the mount (42) and in which the ball (30) of the ball hinge (24) and the bracket (50) are accommodated ([0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the mount (42) comprises:
a rear mount (generalized as 46 in figure 3) having a hole through which the rotator (30) passes, the hole being formed at a center of the rear mount (figure 3 depicts socket 46, on rear of 42, having a center hole defined by 50 and 52 to accommodate the ball 30, [0031]); and
a front mount (47) which is positioned at a front of the rear mount (mounting area of socket 46 defined by 50 and 52) and which is coupled to the rear mount (figure 3 depicts socket 46 on rear with display mount area on front (depicted in figure 1)),
wherein the rotary assembly (46+24) comprises a first substrate (body 42 comprises material to connect front and back surfaces as depicted in each figure) that is disposed between the rear mount (generally socket 46) and the front mount (front surface of 42) and fixed to the rear mount ([0030]), the first substrate being exposed at a rear through the hole of the rear mount (Figure 3 reference hole defined by 50 exposing 18 in body 42), and
wherein the rotator (30) is electrically connected (via 18+39+38) to the first substrate ([0020 [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 10-15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Zeller discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein the head (D) comprises:
a back cover to cover one surface of the display panel (figures 6-7 depict back surface of display D directly touching 14 via 47).
However, Zeller does not specifically disclose the subject matter of claims 2, 8, and 9 further comprising:
a mount groove recessed forward from a rear surface of the back cover;
a protruding portion protruding rearward from the rear surface of the back cover, the protruding portion defining a boundary of the mount groove; and
a coupling groove formed on an inner surface of the protruding portion, and
wherein the mount comprises a coupling protrusion protruding from an outer circumferential surface of the front mount in a radial direction of the front mount, the coupling protrusion being inserted into the coupling groove of the back cover.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621