DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed August 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-68 are canceled. Claims 69-90 are new and currently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 77 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 2 and 3 recite, “the light source(s)” suggesting encompassing multiple light sources. However independent claim 69 only introduces, “a light source”. Claim 77 should be amended to state, “the light source”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 81 and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 81 recites the limitation "the handle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No handle has been introduced in the claims.
Claim 88 recites the limitation “device controller” in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No remote controller has been introduced in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 69, 72-77, 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Diamantopoulos et al. (US 4,930,504).
Regarding claim 69, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses an instrument for performing pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia preceding or accompanying a medical or dental procedure, comprising: a body (fig. 4) comprising a light emitting portion (fig. 6); and a light source 80 (fig. 6) configured to emit light through the light emitting portion to target a site on the skin or mucosa of an animal, including a human, that is to undergo the pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia, the light source configured to simultaneously emit light at multiple distinct peak wavelengths (“two or more wavelengths of radiation from the array 60 simultaneously pass through some point in the tissue 100 being stimulated” col. 40-43) falling within a spectral range of 615nm to 1100nm with at least one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a near-infrared spectral range of between about 900nm to 1100nm and at least one other one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a spectral range of between about 615nm to 900nm (col. 6, line 45 to col. 7, line 36).
Regarding claim 72, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the light source is configurable by an operator to dynamically adjust at least one of an emitted power, peak wavelength power distribution, and pulse modulation for achieving a desired level of PBM analgesia (col. 9, 38-61).
Regarding claim 73, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the light source comprises a multi-wavelength emitter (col. 6, line 45 to col. 7, line 36).
Regarding claim 74, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the light source comprises a plurality of LEDs (fig. 6-8) configured to emit light at the respective peak wavelengths (col. 6, line 45 to col. 7, line 36).
Regarding claim 75, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses further comprising a controller 70 (fig. 4) configured to selectively control at least one of a pulse frequency and pulse energy of the light source sufficient to produce pre-emptive PBM analgesia (col. 9, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 76, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the controller is configured to set a duty cycle for the emitted light (col. 6, line 40-41).
Regarding claim 77, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the controller operates the light source in pulsed mode and preferably wherein pulsing is achieved by electrical current pulse, or chopping a continuous wave beam emitted by the light source (col. 9, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 89, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses a method of administering pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia comprising: providing an instrument for performing pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia preceding or accompanying a medical or dental procedure, comprising: a body (fig. 5) comprising a light emitting portion (fig. 6); and a light source 80 (fig. 6) configured to emit light through the light emitting portion to target a site on the skin or mucosa of an animal, including a human, that is to undergo the pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia, the light source configured to simultaneously emit light at multiple distinct peak wavelengths (“two or more wavelengths of radiation from the array 60 simultaneously pass through some point in the tissue 100 being stimulated” col. 40-43) falling within a spectral range of 615nm to 1100nm with at least one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a near-infrared spectral range of between about 900nm to 1100nm and at least one other one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a spectral range of between about 615nm to 900nm (col. 6, line 45 to col. 7, line 36); and controlling the light source to emit light to the target site for administering pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia (col. 9, 38-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamantopoulos et al. (US 4,930,504) in view of Parker et al. (US 2017/0361124).
Regarding claim 70, Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the light source is further configured such that a relative power distribution for the emitted light is weighted toward one or more longer ones of the wavelengths within the spectral range. Parker et al. teaches an analogous photobiomodulation device where an example spectral power distribution (fig. 2a) is provided describing wavelength ranges where the relative power distribution for emitted light is weighted toward longer wavelengths (800 nm) as compared to shorter wavelengths (600 nm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diamantopoulos et al. to select a relative power distribution for the emitted light is weighted toward one or more longer ones of the wavelengths within the spectral range as taught by Parker et al. as selecting these specific weights is no more than a mere design choice, selected from a finite number of choices, the results of such a modification being reasonably predictable.
Claim(s) 71, 80-83, 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamantopoulos et al. (US 4,930,504).
Regarding claims 71 and 90, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses a minimum treatment energy density of 7.2 Joules/cm2 is achievable with the instrument (col. 9, lines 45-47). It appears that one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the instrument to have a radiant exposure of light delivered to the target tissue falling between about 8 to 12 Joules/ cm2, as it involves only adjusting the parameters of stimulation disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Diamantopoulos et al. to have a radiant exposure of light delivered to the target tissue falling between about 8 to 12 Joules/ cm2 as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general working conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 80, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses the light emitting portion is disposed on a head (fig. 6) which is in turn connected to the body (fig. 4) via an elongated neck 46 (col. 4, lines 30-31). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have thought the head and at least a portion of the neck of the instrument capable of being inserted into the patient’s oral cavity for administering pre-emptive PBM dental analgesia in order to more effectively treat dental pain and swelling (col. 11, line 54).
Regarding claim 81, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein at least a portion of the neck 62 (“output line” col. 4, lines 30-31) and/or light emitting head is curved or otherwise has a longitudinal axis that is offset (fig. 4) with respect to a longitudinal axis of the handle (35 U.S.C. 112 rejection) thereby allowing the light emitting head to be capable of accessing posterior areas of the oral cavity.
Regarding claim 82, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the light source is further configured to emit light at wavelengths in the visible and/or red spectrums (col. 3, lines 7-10) for performing one or more additional dental functions selected from the group comprising: white light examination; near infrared (NIR) transillumination; fluorescence check; light curing; photocoagulation and photodynamic therapy (col. 11, lines 46-57).
Regarding claim 83, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses wherein the light source is integrated into at least one of the head (fig. 5) and neck of the instrument and wherein the head/neck is configured to be detachably coupled to the body (fig. 4) via an electrical coupling 62, thereby allowing the light source to be powered and controlled (col. 4, lines 20-32).
Claim(s) 78-79, 84, 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamantopoulos et al. (US 4,930,504) and further in view of Hetz (US 2022/0176148).
Regarding claim 78, Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose wherein for dental applications, the light emitting portion has an effective area of between about 0.2 cm2 to 0.8 cm2. Hetz teaches an analogous instrument (“probe”) for performing photobiomodulation where simultaneous wavelengths of light are delivered to tissues being treated ([0325]), the probe emitting a beam that can be tailored to the patient, for example, the beam could have a width of 0.1 cm to 5 cm ([0390]), suggesting that as a circular beam, the effective area of the light emitting portion would be between 0.2 cm2 to 0.8 cm2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diamantopoulos et al. to configure the effective area of the light emitting portion to be between 0.2 cm2 to 0.8 cm2 As Hetz teaches these parameters are known in the art as appropriate for treating via PBM.
Regarding claim 79, Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose a temperature sensor and display means configured to output a temperature reading. Hetz teaches an analogous instrument (“probe”) for performing photobiomodulation where a temperature sensor is provided with the probe ([0338]) to capture tissue or skin temperature information ([0245-0246]) and a display means to output a temperature reading ([0366]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diamantopoulos et al. to include a temperature sensor and display as taught by Hetz in order to better monitor the treatment area and communicate temperature readings.
Regarding claim 84, Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the light source is integrated into the body and wherein optical fibre(s) within the neck and head act as light guides for transmitting the emitted light through and out of the head for targeted delivery to the site. Hetz teaches an analogous instrument (“probe”) for performing photobiomodulation where a light source of the instrument is integrated in a body 3216 and optical fibers 3209 then act as light guides to transmit the light through the neck and out of a head of the instrument ([0500]; fig. 65-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the instrument of Diamantopoulos et al. such that the light source is integrated into the body and wherein optical fibre(s) within the neck and head act as light guides for transmitting the emitted light through and out of the head for targeted delivery to the site as Hetz teaches this arrangement is known in the art for performing the same function of delivering PBM to tissue/skin, and the results of such a known configuration would have been reasonably predictable in the art.
Regarding claim 88, Diamantopoulos et al. discloses a pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia system, comprising: an instrument (fig. 4) for performing pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia preceding or accompanying a medical or dental procedure, comprising: a body (fig. 5) comprising a light emitting portion (fig. 6); and a light source 80 (fig. 6) configured to emit light through the light emitting portion to target a site on the skin or mucosa of an animal, including a human, that is to undergo the pre-emptive photobiomodulation (PBM) analgesia, the light source configured to simultaneously emit light at multiple distinct peak wavelengths (“two or more wavelengths of radiation from the array 60 simultaneously pass through some point in the tissue 100 being stimulated” col. 40-43) falling within a spectral range of 615nm to 1100nm with at least one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a near-infrared spectral range of between about 900nm to 1100nm and at least one other one of the distinct peak wavelengths falling within a spectral range of between about 615nm to 900nm (col. 6, line 45 to col. 7, line 36).
Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose a remote controller configured to wirelessly communicate with the instrument or device controller (35 U.S.C. 112 rejection) for remote control thereof. Hetz teaches an analogous instrument (“probe”) for performing photobiomodulation where simultaneous wavelengths of light are delivered to tissues being treated ([0325]), the probe 3201 being communicatively connected wirelessly to a remote device 3217 for remote control of the instrument ([0500-0501]; fig. 66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Diamantopoulos et al. to include a remote controller configured to wirelessly communicate with the instrument for remote control thereof as taught by Hetz in order to provide a robust controller that can connect to a variety of other electronics architecture ([0487]) and can provide media information such as video or photographs to a user ([0554]).
Claim(s) 85-87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamantopoulos et al. (US 4,930,504) and further in view of Shalev et al. (US 2021/0030503).
Regarding claim 85, Diamantopoulos et al. does not expressly disclose the outer surface of the instrument comprises a contamination barrier. Shalev et al. teaches barrier devices for medical devices are known in the art to reduce the chances of cross-contamination and to protect the medical device from damage ([0007]). Given Diamantopoulos et al. discloses the instrument may be used for dental treatment (col. 11, lines 50-57), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument and include a contamination barrier as taught by Shalev et al. in order to better protect the instrument and to reduce cross-contamination between users.
Regarding claim 86, Diamantopoulos et al. in view of Shalev et al. disclose wherein the outer surface is sealable ([0010]).
Regarding claim 87, Diamantopoulos et al. in view of Shalev et al. disclose a protective sleeve configured to at least partially cover the outer surface to thereby operate as the contamination barrier ([0007]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796