DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner and an initialed copy is attached.
Citation Notation
The following citations are made for the convenience of the reader:
Citations to PG publications are made to paragraph number under the ¶ format. Citations to other publications made under the format “ col 1/2” or pp 1 are directed to column and line number or to a page - whichever is appropriate. It is noted that any reference to a figure or a table is also directed to any accompanying text in the specification or the document. Notwithstanding those citations, the reference(s) is (are) relied upon for the teachings as a whole.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the variables in formula (II) is not unclear/unreadable. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The variables in formula (II) in claim 2 are unclear/unreadable. Claim 20 is dependent on claim 2 thus inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of “ropes thereof”; the limitations is indefinite since it is unclear as to which limitation is the “ropes thereof” is being referenced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis (US-20190031908-A1).
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 18, 19 and 21: Louis discloses a polyaryl ether composition comprising a PAEK and various additives/fillers such as talc, mica, wollastonite (thus meeting the claimed non-fibrous) and carbon nanofillers such as carbon nanotubes and graphite (abs, ¶51-77, and 127-140 and examples). Further, Louis discloses various loading amounts for the PAEK (more than 50 wt.%) and fillers (0.5-50 wt.%) (¶76-126 and 127-140). The Louis reference(s) disclose(s) the claimed invention but do(es) not explicitly disclose the specific components with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention and their loading amounts. Nevertheless, given that Louis discloses each of the components and similar loading amounts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and their respective loading amounts since Louis teaches each one and similar amounts to gain the benefit of “improve adhesion to metal, toughness and impact resistance, while retaining high strength, temperature performance and chemical resistance” (¶34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components are disclosed would not have made any of them, such as the various additives/fillers such as talc, mica, wollastonite and carbon nanofillers such as carbon nanotubes and graphite, less obvious. Here, Louis discloses all the claimed components with similar amounts and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the claimed component would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claims 2 and 20: Louis discloses the claimed PAEK (¶51-71 and 86-126).
Claims 3-5: Louis discloses the carbon nanotubes (which would either be SWCNT, DWCNT or MWCNT) and does not require hollow carbon nanospheres.
Claims 7-9: Louis discloses the flaky feature and the non-conductive feature is expected since mica/talc/glass is non-conductive (¶127-140).
Claims 15-17 and 22: Louis discloses applying the composition on various substrates “a rod, a slab, a sheet, a tube, a billet, or in any other three dimensional shape that lends itself to further machining into a finished article” (¶154 and 223-246). Regarding the claimed discharge, resistivity and shrinkage properties, if a prior art reference teaches the substantially identical structure/material/product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcome to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hibri (US-20170362379-A1).
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 18, 19 and 21: El-Hibri discloses a polyaryl ether composition comprising a PAEK and at least 5 wt.% of various carbon nanofiller such as carbon nanotubes and non-fibrous fillers such as talc, mica, kaolin (abs, ¶44-59 and examples). The El-Hibri reference(s) disclose(s) the claimed invention but do(es) not explicitly disclose the specific components with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention and their loading amounts. Nevertheless, given that El-Hibri discloses each of the components and similar loading amounts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and their respective loading amounts since El-Hibri teaches each one and similar amounts to gain the benefit of “to provide abrasion protection, corrosion protection” (¶3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor. It is also noted that the fact that many components are disclosed would not have made any of them, such as the various additives/fillers such as talc and mica and carbon nanofillers such as carbon nanotubes, less obvious. Here, El-Hibri discloses all the claimed components with similar amounts and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the claimed component would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claims 2 and 20: El-Hibri discloses the claimed PAEK (¶44 et seq.).
Claims 3-5: El-Hibri discloses the carbon nanotubes (which would either be SWCNT, DWCNT or MWCNT) and does not require hollow carbon nanospheres.
Claim 9: The non-conductive feature is expected since mica/talc/glass is non-conductive.
Claims 15-17 and 22: El-Hibri discloses applying the composition on various substrates (¶8-20 and 61-80). Regarding the claimed discharge, resistivity and shrinkage properties, if a prior art reference teaches the substantially identical structure/material/product, it would be reasonable that the same function and/or property would be imparted or exhibited. See MPEP 2112.01. Applicant is welcome to provide any evidence that the disclosed material is exceedingly different from the claimed material - thus the claimed properties would inevitably not be present.
Claim(s) 15-17 and 22 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis or El-Hibri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stern (cited in the IDS).
The Louis or El-Hibri reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electrostatic dissipation end-applications with shrinkage and resistivity measurements. It is noted that the Louis or El-Hibri reference discloses applying the composition on various substrates and the claim(s) call(s) for an electrostatic discharge application. In an analogous art, the Stern reference discloses that electrostatic discharge applications of PAEK compositions onto various shaped substrates are well known in the art to provide enhanced protective properties (abs, ¶2, 3, 13-20, 79, 108-151, claims 26 and 36). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Stern to the teachings of Louis or El-Hibri would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and compositions for the benefit gain of enhanced insulation and protection. See MPEP 2143. Further, it is noted that obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the substitution and/or optimization would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764